Green Mountain Club
Montpelier Section

Reports for events in 2015

Date Report? Description of the event
Thu Jan 01
page
Thursday January 01, 2015 Trekker road walk in Cabot by Reidun
Sat Jan 10
page
Saturday, January 10 -- YAC. Easy. Young Adventurers Club. Leader: Lexi Shear and Mike Wetherell.
Sat Jan 10
page
Saturday January 10, 2015 Cross-country Ski - Craftsbury by Mary
Tue Jan 13
page
Tuesday January 13, 2015 Trekker ski trip at Morse's by Reidun
Tue Jan 20
page
Tuesday January 20, 2015 Cross-country Ski - Bolton by Mary
Sat Jan 24
page
Saturday, January 24 -- Cross-country Ski. Bolton. Moderate. 4+/- miles. Honey Hollow. Ski a short section of the Catamount Trail and the Honey Hollow Road....
Sun Jan 25
page
Sunday January 25, 2015 Skiing at Ole's by Reidun
Sun Feb 01
page
Sunday February 01, 2015 Montpelier trails by Jill Aspinall Forecasted clouds stayed away, leaving a perfectly clear sky. Below zero temps weren't as nice, yet...
Tue Feb 03
page
Tuesday February 03, 2015 Trekker Snowshoeing in Hubbard Park by Reidun
Sun Feb 08
page
Sunday, February 8 -- Cross-country Ski. Groton. Moderate. Various Distances. Groton State Forest. Bring water and snack lunch. Leader: Cynthia Martin and...
Tue Feb 10
page
Tuesday February 10, 2015 Cross-country Ski - Stowe Mountain Resort by Mary
Thu Feb 12
page
Thursday February 12, 2015 Trekker ski trip by Reidun
Sat Feb 14
page
Saturday February 14, 2015 Little River State Park by George
Sun Feb 15
page
Sunday, February 15 -- Cross-country Ski. Craftsbury. Easy to moderate. Various distances. Craftsbury Nordic Center. Mostly open terrain. Bring lunch or...
Tue Feb 17
page
Tuesday February 17, 2015 Sabine Pasture to Elks Golf Course by Steve and Heather
Sat Feb 21
page
Saturday February 21, 2015 Cross Country Ski from Highland Lodge to Craftsbury by Phyllis
Tue Feb 24
page
Tuesday February 24, 2015 Trekker ski trip by Reidun
Wed Feb 25
page
Minutes of the meeting.
Sat Feb 28
page
Saturday February 28, 2015 Ski in Groton State Forest by Steve Lightholder Click on a photo to see the original version. See photo gallery on Facebook...
Sun Mar 01
page
Sunday, March 1 -- Snowshoe. Duxbury. Moderate. 5+/- miles round trip. Snowshoe to Montclair Glen Lodge from Couching Lion parking lot. Meet at MHS. Leader:...
Wed Mar 04
page
Wednesday March 04, 2015 Ski at Hardwick Trails by Steve
Fri Mar 06
page
Friday, March 6 -- Other. Waterbury Center. Taylor Series presentation at GMC headquarters, by Reidun and Andrew Nuquist, titled "Mountains at 15 Knots:...
Tue Mar 10
page
Tuesday March 10, 2015 Trekker Snowshoeing on Bamforth Ridge by Reidun Nuquist Click on a photo to see the original version. See photo gallery on Facebook...
Sat Mar 14
page
Saturday, March 14 -- Snowshoe. Lonesome Lake, Franconia Notch, NH. Moderate. 3.2 miles. Lafayette Place to the AMC hut for lunch, then go around the lake....
Sat Mar 21
page
Saturday March 21, 2015 Stowe Pinnacle Hike by Steve and Heather Bailey Click on a photo to see the original version. See photo gallery on Facebook (pull-down...
Sun Mar 29
page
Sunday March 29, 2015 Road Walk in East Montpelier by Ken Hertz Our group numbered nine, and we did a good job of staying together. The weather was gorgeous,...
Fri Apr 10
page
Section Annual Meeting, at Christ Church
Tue Apr 14
page
Tuesday April 14, 2015 Road Walk. Maple Corner Loop. 6 miles by Andrew
Sat Apr 18
page
Saturday April 18, 2015 Walk Adamant by Mary
Sun Apr 19
page
Sunday, April 19 -- Walk. Stowe. Moderate. 10+/- miles round trip. Stowe Bike Path. Paved. Leader: Michael Chernick.
Sat Apr 25
page
Saturday, April 25 -- Hike. Groton. Moderate. 5.4-mile loop. Peacham Bog in Groton State Park. This trail offers two opportunities to view the bog with its...
Sun Apr 26
page
Sunday April 26, 2015 Burlignton Bike Path /North Branch Montpelier by Michael Chernick The group started at Montpelier Recreation Field and then on the North...
Tue Apr 28
page
Tuesday April 28, 2015 Middlesex road walk by Reidun
Sun May 03
page
Sunday May 03, 2015 Little River History Trail by Ken Hertz Five people left MHS at ten, met one car at the Waterbury Park & Ride, and two more up at the gate...
Thu May 07
page
Thursday May 07, 2015 Walk Montpelier, East Montpelier by Manuel Garcia Photos of some of the former plants along this area were viewed by the group. We saw...
Sat May 09
page
Saturday May 09, 2015 Work Hike to Duxbury by Steve
Tue May 12
page
Tuesday, May 12 -- Walk. Fayston. Moderate. 6 miles on Center Fayston Road, Kew Vasseur Road, and Bragg Hill Road. We'll need to do a car spot. Meet at VT...
Sat May 16
page
Saturday May 16, 2015 Work Hike to Smugglers Notch by John Buddington One group of four worked from Barnes Camp to the second slide. We hiked up along what...
Sun May 17
page
Sunday May 17, 2015 Spring Wildflower Hike, Little River State Park, Waterbury by George Longenecker & Cynthia Martin 15 of us walked the trails looking for...
Tue May 19
page
Tuesday May 19, 2015 Bike Ride - Middlesex by Mary Garcia
Thu May 21
page
Thursday, May 21 -- Bike Ride. Chelsea. Moderate to Difficult. 25 miles. Begin in Washington and bike to Chelsea, where we will have lunch. Back roads and...
Tue May 26
page
Tuesday May 26, 2015 Trekker Moretown bike ride by Reidun
Thu May 28
page
Thursday May 28, 2015 Work hike Sterling Pond trail by Steve
Sat May 30
page
Saturday May 30, 2015 Worcester Mountain by Phyllis Rubenstein and Charlene
Tue Jun 02
page
Tuesday, June 2 -- Work Hike. Montpelier Parks. Rain Date: June 3, Wednesday. All abilities. A day to give back to the city parks we enjoy year round. 6 +/-...
Wed Jun 03
page
Minutes of the meeting.
Fri Jun 05
page
Friday June 05, 2015 Long Trail Divisions 1 and 2 by Phyllis Rubenstien Below are three photos at the Vermont / Massachusetts border, taken by
Sat Jun 06
page
Saturday, June 6 -- Bike Ride. Peru, NY. Moderate. "Acres of Apples" is a side trip to the Lake Champlain bikeways network. Park in Burlington, take the...
Tue Jun 09
page
Tuesday, June 9 -- Bike Ride. Hardwick. Moderate. 27 miles. Rte. 14 to No. Wolcott and return on Rte. 15. Bring lunch and water. Helmet required. Leader:...
Wed Jun 10
page
Wednesday, June 10 -- Paddle. Shelburne Bay. Moderate. Explore the LaPlatte River and/or cruise the bay, depending on the weather. Leader: Steve Lightholder...
Sat Jun 13
page
Saturday June 13, 2015 Appalachian Gap to Stark's Nest by John Buddington We noted a few bicycle riders from the Killington Stage Race as we crossed...
Tue Jun 23
page
Tuesday June 23, 2015 Bike Ride Calais by Mary
Fri Jun 26
page
Friday June 26, 2015 Trekkers strawberry ride by Reidun
Sat Jun 27
page
Saturday June 27, 2015 Burnt Rock Hike by Cynthia Martin and George
Tue Jun 30
page
Tuesday June 30, 2015 Acres of Apples bike ride by Reidun
Fri Jul 03
page
Friday, July 3 -- Hike. Montpelier. Easy. Independence Day Parade. Join fellow section members on the year's shortest hike by marching from the Meadow area...
Fri Jul 03
page
Friday July 03, 2015 Long Trail Back Pack by Phyllis
Mon Jul 06
page
Monday July 06, 2015 Trekkers paddle on Marshfield Reservoir by
Sat Jul 11
page
Saturday, July 11 -- Hike. Duxbury. Difficult. 8+ miles. Camel's Hump. Ascend Bamforth Ridge; descend Monroe Trail. Car spot involved. Leader: Paul DeLuca
Sun Jul 12
page
Sunday July 12, 2015 Chickering Bog by Ken Hertz The entrance to Chickering Bog is 1.6 miles up Lightning Ridge Rd from VT 14. A small parking lot will be...
Wed Jul 15
page
Wednesday, July 15 -- Paddle. Milton. Moderate. Lake Champlain Sandbar to the mouth of the Lamoille River, and up the river as far as the cliffs. Requires a...
Thu Jul 16
page
Thursday July 16, 2015 Trekker Bike Ride from Worcester to Elmore by Mary
Sat Jul 18
page
Saturday, July 18 -- Hike. Windsor. Moderate. 5.4 miles. Mt. Ascutney. Hike to the summit via the Windsor Trail. Bring lunch and water. Leader: Michael...
Sun Jul 19
page
Sunday, July 19 -- Hike. Warren. Mt. Abraham. Moderate to Difficult. 5.2 miles round trip. 1600' elevation gain. Mt. Abraham via the LT from Lincoln Gap....
Sun Jul 26
page
Sunday, July 26 -- Hike. Mt. Hale, NH. Moderate. 6.5 +/- miles. Park at the Hale Brook Trailhead. Hike to summit via Hale Brook Trail, then Lend-a-Hand...
Sun Jul 26
page
Sunday July 26, 2015 Day at Elmore by Reidun
Sat Aug 01
page
Saturday, August 1 -- Hike. Johnson. Difficult. 12.9 miles. LT from Rte. 15 to Corliss Camp, and out via Davis Neighborhood Trail. Approx. 2800' elevation...
Sat Aug 01
page
Saturday August 01, 2015 Long Trail Section Backpack by Phyllis
Sun Aug 02
page
Sunday August 02, 2015 Beaver Meadow Lodge by Ken Hertz Seven people and one dog went out on a beautiful summer day for a jaunt in the woods. By Vermont...
Wed Aug 05
page
Wednesday, August 5 -- Hike. Washington. Easy. 3 hour poetry hike. On private land; crosses hayfields, through woods, high meadows with views from...
Fri Aug 07
page
Friday August 07, 2015 Long Trail Section Backpack August 7 by Phyllis
Sat Aug 08
page
Saturday, August 8 -- Hike. Franconia, NH. Difficult. 8.7 miles. Franconia Ridge. Ascend Lincoln and Lafayette via Falling Waters; descend Old Bridal Path...
Sun Aug 09
page
Sunday August 09, 2015 Long Trail Section Backpack August 9 by Phyllis
Sun Aug 09
page
Sunday August 09, 2015 Missisquoui Valley Rail Trail ride by Reidun Nuquist
Wed Aug 12
page
Wednesday, August 12 -- Paddle. Waterbury Reservoir. Moderate. Various distances. Lunch on shore. Leader: Steve Lightholder
Sun Aug 16
page
Sunday August 16, 2015 Long Trail Hike from Corliss Camp to Route 118 by Jill Aspinall On this particular occasion, four previous strangers shared the day...
Sun Aug 16
page
Sunday August 16, 2015 East Montpelier Trail by Ken Hertz The weather was gorgeous, not nearly as hot as I had feared. The seven of us marched right along,...
Sat Aug 22
page
Saturday, August 22 -- Hike. Mt. Washington, NH. Difficult. 9.2 mile round trip. Out and back via Ammonoosuc Ravine, Lake of the Clouds Hut, Crawford Path....
Mon Aug 24
page
Monday August 24, 2015 Mt Abraham Hike by Steve and Heather
Mon Sep 07
page
Monday September 07, 2015 Mount Gore- Redirected by Michael
Sat Sep 19
page
Saturday September 19, 2015 Scrag Mountain by Phyllis Rubenstein
Sun Sep 20
page
Sunday September 20, 2015 Monadnock Mountain/Hedwaters Camp by Michael
Wed Sep 23
page
Wednesday September 23, 2015 Bike Ride - St. Johnsbury to Danville - Trekker Ride by Mary
Sat Sep 26
page
Saturday, September 26 -- Hike. Westmore. Moderate. 4.4 mile round trip. Mount Pisgah via the North trail. Leader: Paul DeLuca.
Sat Sep 26
page
Saturday September 26, 2015 Norton Pond Paddle by Cynthia Martin and George Longenecker Click on a photo to see the original version.See our photo gallery on...
Sun Sep 27
page
Sunday, September 27 -- Hike. Moscow. Difficult. 10.2 miles. Mt. Mansfield. Approx. 3,500' elevation gain. Ascend the Lake Mansfield Trail to Taylor Lodge,...
Tue Sep 29
page
Tuesday September 29, 2015 Bike Ride - Northfield - Trekker Event by Mary
Wed Sep 30
page
Minutes of the meeting.
Thu Oct 01
page
Thursday October 01, 2015 North Montpelier Pond paddle by Steve and Heather Bailey Click on a photo to see the original version.See our photo gallery on...
Tue Oct 06
page
Tuesday October 06, 2015 Bike Ride Stowe by Mary
Sat Oct 10
page
Saturday, October 10 -- Hike. Breadloaf Wilderness. Moderate. 2.5 miles. Hike to Skylight Pond in Breadloaf Wilderness. Then south to Burnt Hill, another...
Wed Oct 14
page
Wednesday October 14, 2015 Harrington View Hike from Bolton nordic center by Steve and Heather Bailey Click on a photo to see the original version.See our...
Sat Oct 17
page
Saturday October 17, 2015 Montpelier History Walk by Manuel Garcia
Tue Oct 20
page
Tuesday October 20, 2015 Walking the new LT relocation by Reidun Nuquist
Thu Oct 22
page
Thursday October 22, 2015 Bike Ride. Montpelier by Mary Garcia
Sat Oct 24
page
Saturday October 24, 2015 Smuggler's Notch work hike by Steve Bailey
Sat Oct 24
page
Saturday October 24, 2015 Bike Ride - Middlesex by Mary
Tue Oct 27
page
Tuesday October 27, 2015 Trekker walk in Hubbard Park by Andrew and Reidun Nuquist
Sat Oct 31
page
Saturday October 31, 2015 Work Hike Bamforth Ridge by Steve Bailey Click on a photo to see the original version.See our photo gallery on Facebook (pull-down...
Tue Nov 03
page
Tuesday November 03, 2015 Bike Ride - Berlin - Brookfield by Mary Garcia
Wed Nov 04
page
Wednesday November 04, 2015 Hike in Groton State Forest by Steve Lightholder
Sun Nov 08
page
Sunday November 08, 2015 Waitsfield Common Road Walk by Reidun Nuquist
Sat Nov 14
page
November 14, Saturday - Vermont Deer Rifle Season Opens. Ends November 29.
Sun Nov 15
page
Sunday November 15, 2015 Stowe Bikepath Walk by Michael Chernick
Sun Nov 22
page
Sunday November 22, 2015 Burlington Bike Path by Michael Chernick
Sun Dec 06
page
Sunday December 06, 2015 Waterbury Center road walk by Reidun Nuquist
Sat Dec 12
page
Saturday December 12, 2015 Dumpling Hill circumnavigation by John Buddington and Kathy Gohl The day was unusually pleasant for December. The temperatures were...
Wed Dec 16
page
Wednesday December 16, 2015 Wrightsville Reservoir walk by Andrew Nuquist What to do on a short, cool December day with no snow to ski Our option was to walk...
Contents of previous years
© 2022 Montpelier Section of The Green Mountain Club, Inc.     Top     Thu 29 September 2022 Thu, 29 Sep 2022 01:02:02 -0400