Green Mountain Club
Montpelier Section

Reports for events in 2011

Date Report? Description of the event
Sat Jan 01
page
On a very warm New Year's Day, Cara, Cynthia, George, Paul, Bert and I trudged up the mountain. Soft snow underfoot gave way to water and slush over ice on the...
Tue Jan 11
page
Tuesday, January 11 -- Cross-country Ski. Groton. Seyon Ranch, Groton State Forest. Moderate. Various distances. Meet at the Dept. of Labor parking lot,...
Thu Jan 13
page
The snow conditions were great. Everyone enjoyed the day. We did a loop in the morning starting on Timberlane, taking Cross Cut 2 to the Burt and returned on...
Fri Jan 14
page
Friday, January 14 -- Taylor Series Lecture. 7:00 P.M. GMC Headquarters, Waterbury Center.
Sat Jan 15
page
It was a very cold (zero degrees) but beautiful Saturday morning when fourteen of us set off on a snowshoe on the connector trail between Worcester and Calais....
Sun Jan 16
page
Ski outing to Millstone Hill Touring Center in Websterville, 1/16/2011 On a crisp and clear Sunday morning, nine of us (three new people, and 6 regulars) met...
Sat Jan 22
page
Saturday, January 22 -- Snowshoe. East Montpelier Trails. Moderate. 3 or 6 miles for those who like to backtrack. Meet at 12:30 P.M. at East Montpelier...
Sat Jan 29
page
Saturday, January 29 -- Snowshoe. Underhill. Difficult. Steep. 5.2 miles. Mt. Mansfield. Ascend the Frost and Maple Ridge Trails to the Forehead. Descend on...
Sun Jan 30
page
Our annual outing to cross-country ski at Highland Lodge was a very gray day with snow flurries. The temperature and the snow conditions were some of the best...
Tue Feb 01
page
The cross-country ski season started late, but once it arrived, it made up for lost time. Snow conditions were ideal in advance of our outing, and excellent on...
Sat Feb 05
page
Saturday, February 5 -- Snowshoe Festival. Green Mountain Club Headquarters, Waterbury Center.
Tue Feb 08
page
Tuesday, February 8 -- Snowshoe and Potluck Supper. Woodbury. Easy/Moderate. 5 miles. Home of Sally Sairs. Please bring your own bowl, cup and utensils....
Sat Feb 12
page
Saturday February 12 -- Snowshoe excursion in Northfield. Matt Krebs Saturday, February 12 -- Snowshoe. White Mtns., NH. Moderate. 7 miles. Zealand Falls...
Sun Feb 13
page
Sunday, February 13 -- Snowshoe. Elmore. Moderate. 5 miles. Elmore Mountain to the Wardens Cabin site. Leader: Eric Seidel,
Sat Feb 19
page
Four inches of new snow fell overnight covering the icy trails and saving the cancellation of the Saturday, February 19th cross country ski outing. Nine people...
Sun Feb 20
page
Sunday, February 20 -- Snowshoe. Duxbury. Moderate. 5 miles round trip. Snowshoe to Montclair Glen Lodge from the Couching Lion parking lot. Leader: Michael...
Sat Feb 26
page
It was a fine day for cross-country skiing. Perfect snow conditions with mild temperatures. Eight participants ate their lunch at the warming hut and then...
Sun Mar 06
page
Sunday, March 6 -- Cross-country Ski or Snowshoe. Morristown. Beaver Meadow Lodge. Moderate-Difficult. 4.6 miles. Annual Chili Party. Leader: Andrew and...
Tue Mar 08
page
Who'd think that pouring rain could lead to a record-breaking snowfall and terrific late winter ski conditions? Who'd think that March sun reflecting off snow...
Wed Mar 09
page
Minutes of the meeting.
Sun Mar 13
page
An early spring drizzle stopped as we tumbled out of our cars in the peaceful forest in search of animals. We peered through the trees and howled for our...
Sat Mar 19
page
A clear crisp night was perfect for the full moon outing in Smugglers Notch on Saturday, March 19th. Nineteen people, many wearing snowshoes, others on foot,...
Sun Mar 20
page
We met at MHS and at GMC on a beautiful clear almost Spring morning. From GMC's Waterbury Center campus to the trailhead took about ten minutes; we parked just...
Sun Mar 27
page
Sunday, March 27 -- Walk. Calais and East Montpelier. Walk around Sodom Pond. Easy. 5 miles. Meet at MHS at 1:00 P.M. Leader: Cynthia Martin and George...
Sun Apr 03
page
It is difficult to think of a more spectacular mud-season road walk than this 7.5 mile loop out of Warren village. This year the views lived up to the billing....
Fri Apr 08
page
Section Annual Meeting, at T. W. Wood Art Gallery
Fri Apr 08
page
Here are a few photos from my Montpelier Section Annual Meeting slide show on Rocky Mountain National Park. George Longenecker Larger photos on Facebook ...
Sat Apr 09
page
Saturday, April 9 -- Crazy wheels. Mud season bike ride. Location TBA. Leader: Shawn Keeley,
Sat Apr 16
page
Saturday, April 16 -- Road Walk. Berlin Pond. Easy. 5 miles, with option to go 8 miles depending on group preference. Leader: Kevin Ryan,
Sun May 08
page
Twenty-five moms, dads, grandparents, and, of course, kids joined YAC for a Mother's Day outing to Chickering Bog in Montpelier. We saw purple trillium, trout...
Sat May 21
page
12 regulars gathered at MHS in a heavy rain. After discussion of options, we decided to proceed to the Red Hen Bakery in Middlesex for coffee and snack in hope...
Sun May 22
page
Sunday, May 22 -- Wildflower Hike. Stowe. Moderate. 3-4 miles. Cotton Brook Section of Mt. Mansfield State Park. Walk on forest roads to a forest stand...
Sat May 28
page
Do to recent heavy rains, the Notch Brook was not fordable. Instead, our small group of five regular volunteers drove on to the Notch and swept the Sterling...
Sat Jun 04
page
Saturday, June 4 -- Hike. National Trails Day. LT Maintenance. Call Mari Zagarins at the GMC for details.
Wed Jun 08
page
Minutes of the meeting.
Sat Jun 11
page
Saturday, June 11 -- Canoe, Beach Party, and Picnic. YAC Paddling. Middlesex. Wrightsville Reservoir. Easy. Leader: Lexi Shear.
Sat Jun 18
page
June 18, Saturday - Rain Date: June 19, Sunday - Hike. White Mtns., NH. Moderate/Difficult. 7.4 miles. 6+ hours on the trail. Summit Mt. Moosi- lauke via...
Sun Jun 19
page
Hiking Boots and Lady's Slippers Next to one of the toughest little climbs on the Long Trial, just below the summit of Burnt Rock (3271) in Fayston, bloom...
Wed Jun 22
page
June 22, Wednesday - Rain Date: June 23, Thursday - Hike. Worcester. Moderate. 5 miles round trip. Worcester Mountain for late afternoon views on one of the...
Sat Jun 25
page
Saturday, June 25 -- Work Hike. Stowe. Smugglers' Notch. Near Sterling Pond. Work with the Long Trail Patrol to remove metal roofing from Watson Camp to the...
Sun Jun 26
page
Looking at the thin and broken cloud cover over the Montpelier High School parking lot, five of us decided to assume the clouds would thin out even more during...
Sat Jul 02
page
Geri, Maja, Robert and I climbed up the Elephant's Head Trail, actually a segment of the Long Trail, on a beautiful summer's day. The first obstacle was the...
Sat Jul 09
page
This was the first of several trips we plan to Nature Conservancy areas. The main event of the day was a kayak trip around Shelburne Pond. Owned and managed by...
Sun Jul 10
page
It was the kind of summer day you just dream of! Clear skies, warm sun, and a gentle breeze on top of Mount Elmore. The seven of us who hiked this little...
Sat Jul 16
page
We had a spectacular clear day for this hike. We ascended the Air Line Trail which climbs Durand Ridge. Above tree line, there are great views of the ominous...
Tue Jul 19
page
Kettle Pond is a glacial beauty. Four of us walked the three mile trail with its pines and rhododendrons. The resident loons were quiet on a warm afternoon....
Sat Jul 23
page
Saturday, July 23 -- Paddle. St. Albans. Lake Champlain. Moderate. 6 miles. Meet at Kilcare State Park boat launch and paddle to Burton and Wood Islands....
Sun Jul 24
page
Sunday, July 24 -- Hike. East Montpelier Trails. Various distances. Easy. A trails map at http://emsighnpost.com. Leader: Ken Hertz
Sat Jul 30
page
Seven of us hiked up to Stowe Pinnacle, a large bump on the side of Hogback mountain, and continued up the Hogback Trail until we intersected with the Skyline...
Sun Jul 31
page
In a joint event with the Northeast Kingdom Section, five Montpelier Section members drove north to hike from Route 105 at North Jay Pass to the Canadian...
Sat Aug 13
page
Mt. Carrigain in the White Mountains of New Hampshire is in the southeast corner of the Pemi Wilderness. With an elevation of 4700 feet, it is an impressive...
Sun Aug 14
page
The six of us who paddled down the Winooski to the mouth of the river, were not much impressed with the put-in below the bridge in Winooski. It was steep and...
Sat Aug 20
page
Seven people met at Underhill State Park to hike the Sunset Ridge Trail to the summit of Mount Mansfield. The weather was perfect, clear shy, light south wind,...
Sat Aug 27
page
Irene is coming! All media are talking about Hurricane Irene, due up here (or maybe not) starting tonight. But today is a good day to be out in the woods. ...
Mon Sep 05
page
Monday, September 5 -- Hike. White Mtns., NH. Mt. Hale via the Hale Brook Trail. Moderate. 7.7 miles. Descend to the Zealand Falls Hut via the Lend-a-Hand...
Wed Sep 07
page
Minutes of the meeting.
Sat Sep 10
page
Mike and I had a pleasant day in the woods on the way to Butler Lodge and back. We usually do this hike in the winter, so it was good to see it in another...
Sun Sep 11
page
A group of 20 (11 parents and 9 kiddos) explored Chickering Bog in Calais on a crisp fall day. We spotted lots of colorful caterpillars and mushrooms along the...
Sun Sep 11
page
The launch area at Green River Reservoir is a busy place on a beautiful weekend. Paddlers come and go all day. As we were putting in, we were happy to run...
Sat Sep 17
page
Saturday, September 17 -- GMC Volunteer Recognition Day. See Fall issue of Long Trail News for details.
Sun Sep 18
page
Ever been to Waterville I didn't think so. Few people have, including most of the bikers who rode with us in September. We got there by following busy Route...
Sun Sep 18
page
After receiving reports of trees down on the trail below Duxbury Window, I put together a group (two with chainsaws) of of four volunteers to clear them. The...
Sat Sep 24
page
Saturday, September 24 -- Hike. White Mtns, NH. Difficult. 8.5 miles. Bag four of the southern Presidentals, Monroe, Franklin, Eisenhower and Pierce, by...
Sun Sep 25
page
Sunday, September 25 -- Bike Ride. Middlesex. Moderate/Difficult. 20+/- miles. Loop heading north on Rte. 12, turning off on Portal Road to wind through...
Sat Oct 01
page
Saturday, October 1 -- Hike. Westmore. Moderate. 4.2 miles. Bald Mountain via the Long Pond-Bald Mountain Trail. Panoramic views from the fire tower at the...
Sun Oct 02
page
Sunday, October 2 -- Hike. Orange. Butterfield Mountain. Moderate. 8 miles. 5 miles of logging roads and 3 miles of bushwhacking. Meet at 8:00 A.M. Leader:...
Tue Oct 04
page
Tuesday, October 4 -- Paddle. Marshfield. Marshfield Reservoir. Easy. 3-4 miles. PFD required. Bring lunch. Leader: Joan Heller
Sat Oct 08
page
It was a gorgeous fall day to be outside. Eight of us started up the Elephants Head/LT from Route 108. The trail was twisty, interesting and a little...
Sun Oct 09
page
Sunday, October 9 -- Hike. Stowe. Moderate. 5 miles with possible good weather extension to walk around Sterling Pond. 2,000' elevation gain. Hike the Long...
Sat Oct 15
page
Saturday, October 15 -- Hike. Duxbury. Camel's Hump from Couching Lion Farm via the Monroe Trail, the Dean Trail, the Long Trail and back via the Monroe...
Sun Oct 16
page
Sunday, October 16 -- Work Day. Morse Farm Ski Touring Center. Easy. Various distances. Call Morse Farm, 223-0090 for more information.
Sat Oct 22
page
On Saturday, October 22, 2011, 12 of us hiked up Paine Mountain in Northfield. Several people in the group had hiked or snow shoed up Paine Mountain in years...
Sun Oct 23
page
Sunday, October 23 -- Hike. Burke. Burke Mountain. Moderate. 6 miles. Meet at 8:00 A.M. Leader: Thomas Weiss
Sat Oct 29
page
Six volunteers (including new volunteer Mike W., thanks Mike!) met at MHS to carpool for the 45 minute drive to the Notch. Thanks to excellent scouting by Fred...
Sat Nov 05
page
Another beautiful fall day. Ten volunteers set out from the trailhead at 8:45. Leaves and other debris was cleared from waterbars, dips, and ditches. A large,...
Sun Nov 06
page
We assembled at noon at Montpelier High School and carpooled west on US2 to Lower Barnet Hill Road and parked at the end of the maintained section. We walked...
Sun Nov 13
page
Eight walkers left Greensboro under partly cloudy skies and mild temperatures. The wind seemed brisk standing around, but soon the jackets came off and the...
Sun Nov 27
page
Sunday, November 27 -- Hike/Walk. Shelburne. Easy. 4+ miles. After Thanksgiving walk at Shelburne Farms. Enjoy farm vistas and a peek at the lake. Dress for...
Sat Dec 03
page
Saturday, December 3 -- Hike. Stowe. Moderate. 6 miles. Hike trails and woods roads in anticipation of winter. Meet at 9:00 A.M. Leader: Charlene Bohl
Tue Dec 06
page
Tuesday, December 6 -- Walk. Montpelier. Hubbard Park. Easy. 3+/- miles. Meet at 2:00 P.M. in front of the VT Historical Society, 109 State Street,...
Wed Dec 07
page
Minutes of the meeting.
Sun Dec 11
page
Twelve people (six kids and six adults)headed up Barrows Road toward the Clark route and Paine Mountain. Under clear blue cloudless skies, we wandered up...
Tue Dec 13
page
On a relatively mild December Tuesday, thirteen of us walked through the woods in the Irish Hill Area. From the trailhead on the back side of Berlin Pond we...
Contents of previous years
© 2022 Montpelier Section of The Green Mountain Club, Inc.     Top     Sun 25 September 2022 Sun, 25 Sep 2022 01:02:02 -0400