Green Mountain Club
Montpelier Section

Reports for events in 2006

Date Report? Description of the event
Sun Jan 01
page
Jeff, Michael, Norman, Reidun, Andrew, Paul, and Ed got a comfortably late start on on the Elmore Mountain Trail on New Year's Day, hiked to the foundation,...
Sat Jan 07
page
On a perfect day with temperatures in the mid-twenties, 13 intrepid skiers began an afternoon of cross-country skiing at the Barre Country club. The two...
Sat Jan 07
page
The Tecumseh trailhead begins in the Waterville Valley ski area. We had to stop in at the ski area and ask where the trail starts but we found it easily, just...
Sun Jan 08
page
Sunday, January 8 -- Snowshoe or Hike. Plainfield. Spruce Mtn. Enjoy views from the tower. Easy/Moderate . Leader: Ken Hertz
Sat Jan 14
page
Saturday, January 14 -- Snowshoe. Calais. Local trails. Easy . Bring lunch and leader will supply beverage and cookies. Meet at the Maple Corner Store in...
Sun Jan 15
page
January 15, 2006 Mt Hunger, Waterbury trail The usual suspects attended. Paul D and Ed L hiked this usually unchallenging trail on a cold, windy day that...
Mon Jan 16
page
It was a wonderful day of skiing enjoyed by nine people. The day was sunny and crisp with no wind. Everyone thought we were brave to ski today as the weather...
Wed Jan 18
page
Minutes of the meeting.
Sat Jan 21
page
Saturday, January 21 -- Cross-country Ski. Morristown. Ski to scenic Beaver Meadow Lodge. Possible return by alternate route. 5 miles. Moderate/Difficult ....
Fri Jan 27
page
Friday, January 27 -- Montpelier. James P. Taylor Winter Series. Noble Hall Lounge, College St. at Vermont College/Union Institute. Admission Fee. Contact:...
Sat Jan 28
page
Saturday, January 28 -- Snowshoe. Northfield. Paine Mtn. 31/2 hrs. on trail. Moderate . Leader: Nancy Schulz
Sat Jan 28
page
Once again, another spectacular sunny day in the Whites. January has been kind to us on top of the peaks. We (Ed L, the other Paul D, & Chris H) headed up the...
Sun Jan 29
page
Sunday, January 29 -- Cross-country Ski. Warren. Blueberry Lake Touring Center. Various distances. All abilities. Bring lunch and beverage. TRAIL FEE....
Sat Feb 04
page
One more spectacular sunny and unusually warm winter hike for the 48-4K series. The day was supposed to be cloudy with the possibility of rain. Not even the...
Sun Feb 05
page
Sunday, February 5 -- Snowshoe. Groton State Park. Optional distances. Easy/Moderate . Bring lunch and beverage. Leader: Andrew or Reidun Nuquist
Sat Feb 11
page
Saturday, February 11 -- Cross-country. Stowe. Cotton Brook loop. 10 miles. Moderate . Leader: Steve Lightholder
Sat Feb 11
page
February 11, 2006 Mount Mansfield Summit via Long Trail from Rt 108, Stowe Finding yourself on a mountaintop on a day like yesterday is nature's way of...
Sat Feb 18
page
Saturday, February 18 -- Snowshoe. Worcester Mtn. Moderate . Leader: Charlene Bohl
Sat Feb 18
page
Dorothy, Cindy, Paul and Ed started from Couching Lion Farm on this cold, breezy day. In fact, it was neither as cold nor as windy as expected, and there was...
Sun Feb 19
page
Sunday, February 19 -- Snowshoe. Underhill. Hike to Butler Lodge via Butler Trail to LT, return via Nebraska Notch Trail. 6-7 mile loop. Difficult . Leader:...
Mon Feb 20
page
Monday, February 20 -- Back-country Ski. Worcester. Eagle Ledge loop. 5 +/- hrs. Difficult . Leader: Nancy Schulz
Sat Feb 25
page
Paul D & Ed L decided to take their chances finding the Maple Ridge trail as far as Wampahoofus would be possible, since it can be hard to follow in winter....
Sun Feb 26
page
We lucked out with enough snow to ski on again this year at Highland Lodge. It seems that every year we get snow just a few days before the trip. It was a...
Sat Mar 04
page
In a winter of challenging snow conditions, this short notice outing was lucky. My backcountry ski on the Catamount Trail (from Morrisville to Elmore) was...
Sat Mar 04
page
Mother Nature treated us with a fresh snowfall, giving most trails sufficient coverage. Who would have thought that we'd see more wildlife at a touring center...
Sat Mar 04
page
On Saturday morning, we met at the high school. Our group of 8 included Paul D., Ed L., Dave B., Lexi, Charlene B., Michael C., Chris H., and Steve L....
Sun Mar 05
page
What a beautiful day! Yesterday's light snow was undisturbed on the ground, the sky was clear and bright blue, the predicted wind was calm, and the...
Mon Mar 06
page
Minutes of the meeting.
Sat Mar 11
page
Saturday, March 11 -- Snowshoe. Marshfield. Groton State Forest. Easy . Snowshoe around Kettle Pond. Leader: Priscilla Daggett
Sat Mar 11
page
Mount Moriah was a quite surprise. I scheduled the hike simply to peak bag a doable late winter hike. The mountain does not get a lot of publicity in all the...
Wed Mar 15
page
Unfortunately, due to the lack of snow, Ole's was closed on March 15th, as it was for much of this Global Warming season. Deb Kirchwey
Sat Mar 18
page
Saturday, March 18 -- Snowshoe. Eden. Snowshoe loop on the Long Trail, Babcock Trail and back country. 4+ miles. Moderate/Difficult . Leader: Rick Molz
Sat Mar 25
page
We (Ed L., Paul "the other" D, and myself) left the NH 16 parking lot at 9:15am and headed up the Nineteen-Mile Brook Trail for Carter Dome. We wore, once...
Sat Apr 08
page
Section Annual Meeting, at Bethany Church
Sat Apr 22
page
Seven of us: Robert, Terry, Thomas, Mitch, Victoria, Karen and myself went to the Little River area near Waterbury Dam to hike up Woodward Hill. (This hike is...
Sun Apr 23
page
Cancelled. Rain all day. Reidun Nuquist
Sun Apr 30
page
Our fun group of seven had a perfect day for a bike ride: sunny and neither too warm nor too cold. Motorized traffic was calm on the route from Montpelier to...
Tue May 02
page
Another productive day in the North Branch park! Twelve adults, counting parks director Geoff Beyer and his Americorps assistant, and four young girls worked...
Sun May 07
page
Sunday, May 7 -- Paddle. Peacham Pond. Easy . PFD required. Leader: George Plumb Sunday, May 7 -- Bike Ride. Montpelier to Lake Elmore. Spring onto your...
Sat May 13
page
Saturday, May 13 -- Road Walk. Chelsea. 6-7 miles. Moderate . Meet at noon. Leader: Charlene Bohl Saturday, May 13 -- Bike Ride. Montpelier. Spring onto...
Sun May 14
page
This spring I decided to try scheduling work hikes on Sundays instead of Saturdays because people do house chores on Saturdays (i.e., going to the dump, etc.)...
Sun May 21
page
Sunday, May 21 -- Bike Ride. A circular route from Port Kent, New York, passing Peru, NY and Ausable Chasm. 28.4 miles, including 4 miles from Oakledge Park...
Sun May 21
page
It's been a very wet week or two, with the occasional break from rain being punctuated by the roar of lawn mowers. Sunday morning was bright enough to cast...
Sat May 27
page
Saturday, May 27 -- Bike Ride. St. Albans. Missisquoi Rail Trail. 52 almost level miles. Moderate . Helmet required. Meet at 8:00 A.M. Leader: Steve...
Sun May 28
page
I planned this work hike as late as possible in May because last year, I scheduled it too early in May and we had to snowshoe up the trail. We had an...
Thu Jun 01
page
Thursday, June 1 -- Evening Bike Ride and Clinic on "Safety Cycling". Easy bike ride follows. Montpelier. Tips on how to maximize your safety while...
Sun Jun 04
page
Cancelled due to weather. Rescheduling for September, 2006 Paul DeLuca
Tue Jun 06
page
It was an early summer buttercup-and-red-winged-blackbirds trip. After days of rain, we had a sunny and warm day. The rolling hills and prosperous farms around...
Thu Jun 08
page
Thursday, June 8 -- Evening Bike Ride and Clinic on "Comfortable Cycling". Montpelier. Tips on how to stay comfortable in the saddle. Easy bike ride...
Sat Jun 10
page
Water, water everywhere! We started the weekend with a light drizzle. The wet theme continued throughout our trip. In just 2 soaking-wet days, we learned so...
Sat Jun 10
page
Saturday, June 10 -- Orienteering in Hubbard Park. Montpelier. Easy . Rusty with the map and compass? Try orienteering. Map and compass review at 9:00 A.M.,...
Sat Jun 10
page
Cancelled due to weather and high water. Paul DeLuca
Sun Jun 11
page
With only a few brief sprinkles of rain, and an occasional glimpse of small patches of blue between the clouds, this was a fine day for a hike in a uniformly...
Sun Jun 11
page
Sunday, June 11 -- Mountain Bike Ride. Stowe area - Mt. Mansfield State Forest. Cotton Brook. Difficult . 11 mile loop with options. 800' climb. Aerobically...
Sun Jun 11
page
It was a "penetratingly hot" day, as Phyllis put it, but at least it was dry. DRY!! We were going to go clockwise, up Maple Ridge and down the Long Trail and...
Wed Jun 14
page
Traven and I had a pleasant evening bike ride from Montpelier High School to the swimming hole in Moretown and back. And it didn't rain! Steve Lightholder
Wed Jun 14
page
Our bike ride on June 14th started at the Snow Farm Winery in South Hero with nine people biking. We stopped at the Grand Isle Ferry Dock for lunch as some...
Thu Jun 15
page
Thursday, June 15 -- Evening Bike Ride and Clinic on "Tire Changing". Montpelier. Easy bike ride follows. Instructions on how to change a bicycle tire....
Sat Jun 17
page
Saturday, June 17 -- Canoe/Kayak. Greensboro Reservoir. Moderate . PFD required. Leader: George Plumb
Sat Jun 17
page
Anne, Pippin, and I left MHS at 7 AM and, after spotting one car at Hazen's Notch, started hiking about 9. We stopped at the Belvidere Fire Tower (see photos)...
Thu Jun 22
page
Thursday, June 22 -- Montpelier. Evening Bike Ride and Clinic on "Simple Solutions to Common Problems". Easy bike ride follows. Tips on diagnosing and...
Sun Jun 25
page
From The Flume parking lot, we (myself, Ed L, Phyllis R, Frank D) hiked a flat .6 miles to the paved bike path on the Whitehouse Trail. Once on the bike path,...
Sun Jun 25
page
We had really great weather -sunny, but not too hot and a little breeze. For the morning part of the paddle there were almost no other boats on the lake and...
Tue Jun 27
page
Ten brave souls came along in spite of an uncertain weather forecast and torrential rain the day before. As we left Oakledge Park in Burlington, the southern...
Sat Jul 01
page
Armed with insight from locals, I opted to ride this selection from Vermont Life's Ten Great Bike Rides in the opposite (clockwise) direction. My earlier scout...
Sat Jul 08
page
Our group of 5 arrived at The Depot Camp Parking area and hit the trail at about 9:30 on a picture perfect day. The usual road walk of 3.6 miles to the turn...
Sun Jul 09
page
The Little Otter Creek Wildlife Management Area offers sufficient rewards to justify the drive from Montpelier to Ferrisburg. Sheltered from the winds ad...
Wed Jul 12
page
Minutes of the meeting.
Wed Jul 12
page
Wednesday, July 12 -- Paddle. Peacham Pond. Moderate . Bring snacks. PFD required. Leader: Steve Lightholder
Sat Jul 15
page
Michael, Bill, and I left MHS at 7:30, met Mary at the Eden Country Store, parked one car at the LT on Rte 242, drove around to the LT on Rte 58, and started...
Sun Jul 16
page
Paul & I met as usual at Joe's Pond, and were pleased to see Frank, Art, and Woody, three White Mountain veterans, who had been threatening to join one of our...
Thu Jul 20
page
It may have seemed too hot and humid to walk around the pond today. Manny and I were the only people to show up for this walk. However, there were two other...
Sat Jul 22
page
On Journey began at the Lafayette Campground where we took the Lonesome Lake Trail up. The weather at this point seemed OK. The first part of the hike is easy,...
Sun Jul 23
page
Sunday, July 23 -- Bike Ride. Northfield-Randolph loop. Moderate . 35+/- miles. Helmet required. Leader: Priscilla Daggett
Sat Jul 29
page
Paul, Art, Dave and I guessed right in choosing the rain date for this trip - a dry, clear day, revealing some of the best views I have had on a hike. Like...
Sun Jul 30
page
Saturday's muggy weather and occasional downpours gave way to Sunday's perfect hiking weather - dry air with moderate temperatures. Thomas, Cindy, Cathy and I...
Tue Aug 01
page
Tuesday, August 1 -- Bike Ride. Woodsville to Barnet and the Moore Reservoir. Moderate . 30+/- miles. Up Vermont side of Connecticut River, back down NH...
Sat Aug 05
page
A spectacular clear day in the Whites. We (myself, Charlene, Ed, Michael, and Paul) met up with Kathy H. from the Connecticut section at the Imp trailhead. We...
Sun Aug 06
page
A great day and a great paddle. George Plumb
Sat Aug 12
page
Saturday, August 12 -- Hike. Franconia Ridge. Falling Waters Trail, Ridge, return on Bridle Path. Difficult . Leader: Ed Loewenton
Fri Aug 18
page
DAY 1 - GARFIELD, GALEHEAD Ed, Charlene, Eric, and myself arrived at the Garfield trailhead at 9:00 after spotting Charlene's car at the Zealand Trailhead, our...
Sat Aug 19
page
The hike was advertised to meet at Montpelier at 7:30, so I told the two ladies from Burlington to meet me at the Jay Country Store at 8:30. My estimate of...
Tue Aug 22
page
Tuesday, August 22 -- Hike. Plainfield. Spruce Mtn. Moderate . 4.4 miles. Watch the sunset. Bring a flashlight. Leader: Steve Lightholder
Sat Aug 26
page
Everyone agreed that it was a perfect day for a bike ride. When five people gathered at the Grand Union in Hardwick to prepare for this bike ride, one person...
Sat Sep 02
page
Saturday, September 2 -- Hike. Elmore State Park. Moderate to slow pace, allowing time to explore. 2.8+/- miles. Trail to chimney. Family-friendly.Young...
Mon Sep 04
page
Our day began with the longest journey to date. The trip was over 130 miles each way as this is the most southern of the Whites. Ed, Paul the other D,...
Sat Sep 09
page
It was another good day where we beat the odds given by the weather forecasters. Ed, Michael, myself, Pat, and Jill attended and sponsored Mount Moriah for the...
Sun Sep 10
page
Sunday, September 10 -- Hike. Ripton. Difficult . 10.8 miles. "Side-to-Side" Series #1. Completed the TT? Join the adventure of hiking the side trails that...
Sat Sep 16
page
Saturday, September 16 -- Hike. Duxbury. Difficult . 7+ miles. Couching Lion Farm. Dean Trail to LT; north on LT to summit, descent on Monroe Trail. Bring...
Sun Sep 17
page
Fascinated by turtles Consider paddling the lower Lamoille River on a warm, clear day, and you may see hundreds of them, sunning themselves on logs and...
Sat Sep 23
page
Saturday, September 23 -- Hike. "White Mtns., NH. Difficult . 9.6 miles. 48-4,000' Series". "Hancocks (North and South)". Hancock Notch, Cedar Brook, and...
Sun Sep 24
page
The weather forecast called for 40% chance of rain, winds of 20+ miles and hour, and a high temperature in the mid 60s. The weather map showed a serious...
Sat Sep 30
page
Saturday, September 30 -- Hike. Keene, NY. Difficult . 12 miles plus road walk. Mt. Colvin and Blake Peak. Two Adirondack "4,000' footers via Ausable Club....
Sun Oct 01
page
Sunday, October 1 -- Hike. Ripton. Moderate . 7.3 - 9.3 miles. "Side-to-Side" Series #2. Skylight Pond Trail to LT to Burnt Hills Trail with Sucker Brook...
Sat Oct 07
page
Saturday, October 7 -- Hike. "White Mtns., NH. Difficult . 8.5 miles. 48-4,000' Series". "Tom, Field, and Willey." Avalon, A-Z, Willey Range, Ethan Pond and...
Sun Oct 08
page
This was the most glorious October day ever! The early morning 30-degree temperature rose to 70 degrees in the afternoon; the skies were clear and sparkly...
Wed Oct 11
page
Minutes of the meeting.
Sat Oct 14
page
Saturday, October 14 - Fall Foliage Hike. Moscow. Easy . 2-4 miles. (Waterbury Reservoir). Cottonbrook area. Family-friendly. Drained reservoir bed has...
Sun Oct 15
page
Sunday, October 15 -- Hike. Windsor-West Windsor. Moderate . 5 miles. Mt. Ascutney via Windsor Trail. Leader: Michael
Sat Oct 21
page
The Plan for this work hike was to clean the water bars on the Long Trail from the Elephant s Head Picnic area up the trail to the first slide and to...
Sun Oct 22
page
It was a beautiful late October day with clear blue skies, but there was snow on the mountain. There was enough snow on the trail to make it a little slippery...
Sat Oct 28
page
In the morning it was still rainy and it had rained most of Friday night, so the ground was super saturated. Three of us (Fred J, Robert L, and Duncan W ) met...
Sun Nov 05
page
Sunday, November 5 -- Hike. Worcester Mtn. (3,293') Moderate/Difficult . 5 miles. Leader: Reidun and Andrew
Sun Nov 12
page
Sunday, November 12 -- Road Walk. Warren. Fuller Hill. Moderate . 7.5 miles. Grand views of surrounding mountains. Bring lunch or buy at Warren general...
Sat Nov 18
page
Saturday, November 18 -- Hike. Rochester. "Side-to-Side" Series #3. Moderate hike. Difficult snowshoe. 6-6.6 miles. Chittenden Brook Trail to LT to Brandon...
Sun Nov 19
page
Sunday, November 19 -- Walk. Burlington Bike Path from boat house to Colchester bridge and return. Moderate . 10 miles. Leader: Michael
Sun Nov 26
page
Sunday, November 26 -- Walk. Burlington. Moderate . 10 miles. Tour of Burlington. UVM to Intervale to bike path, downtown and back to UVM. Dinner in...
Sat Dec 02
page
Saturday, December 2 -- Hike/Snowshoe. Killington. Moderate / Difficult . (4.6 to 10.4 miles) "Side-to Side" Series #4. Sherburne Pass Trail N to Deer Leap...
Sun Dec 03
page
We were departing MHS when Carol showed up, so she followed us to the destination parking lot; then the five of us started walking clockwise around the pond,...
Sat Dec 09
page
This was the YAC (Young Adventurers Club) kickoff adventure! An unusual crew of two babies, four parents and one grandparent (not all related) made their way...
Sun Dec 10
page
Sunday, December 10 -- Hike/Snowshoe, depending on conditions. Pomfret-Barnard. Moderate . 8 miles. Rte. 12 to Winturri Shelter. Leader: Michael
Sat Dec 16
page
Saturday, December 16 -- Johnson. Snowshoe/Cross-Country Ski/Hike depending on conditions. HOLIDAY PARTY. Moderate / Difficult . 6.6 miles round trip to...
Sun Dec 17
page
Sunday, December 17 -- Hike/Snowshoe, depending on conditions. Montpelier Hills. Easy . A Family Event. Bring a sled if snow. Meet at 1:00 P.M. at the...
Sat Dec 23
page
Saturday, December 23, -- Hike. "White Mtn., NH. 48-4,000' series". Moderate / Difficult . 6.4 miles. 5+ hrs. on trail. Summit Mt. Pierce via Crawford Path....
Sat Dec 30
page
Mt Pierce, or Mt Clinton as it was formerly called, is at the southern end of the Presidential range. Pierce makes for a nice early winter (lack of daylight)...
Contents of previous years
© 2022 Montpelier Section of The Green Mountain Club, Inc.     Top     Sun 25 September 2022 Sun, 25 Sep 2022 01:02:03 -0400