Green Mountain Club
Montpelier Section

Reports for events in 1999

Date Report? Description of the event
Fri Jan 01
page
Fri January 1, 1999 Start the New Year off on the right foot with a snowshoe outing - East Montpelier Trail by Leader: Nancy Schulz Temperatures started out...
Sat Jan 02
page
Saturday, January 2 -- Beginner's x/c ski lesson Leader: Ann Burcroff
Sat Jan 09
page
Sat January 9, 1999 Snowshoe up Elmore Mountain by Leader: Ed Loewenton In a moderate to heavy snowfall, we hiked to the chimney. The heavy, fluffy snow...
Sun Jan 10
page
Sund January 10, 1999 Chili Party at Beaver Meadow Lodge by Leader: Peter Downey For this trip we had plenty of new snow to ski to Beaver Meadow. About 25...
Sat Jan 16
page
Satu January 16, 1999 Snowshoe up Mt. Hunger via the Waterbury Trail. by Leader: Nancy Schulz The day dawned clear and calm, a relief after the storminess of...
Fri Jan 22
page
Friday, January 22 -- Taylor Series at Mad River Barn in Waitsfield sponsored by the Montpelier Section
Sat Jan 23
page
Minutes of the meeting.
Sun Jan 24
page
Sun January 24, 1999 Snowshoe up to Taylor Lodge by Leader: Michael Chernick [no text]
Sat Jan 30
page
Sat January 30, 1999 Cross-country ski at Trapp Family Lodge. by Leader: Nancy Schulz We were fortunate to have had some snow on the Thursday prior to...
Sat Feb 06
page
Sat February 6, 1999 Annual cross-country ski trip to Highland Lodge in Greensboro by Leader: Mark Haughwout The 18 members of this outing arrived at...
Sun Feb 07
page
Andrew Nuquist from the archives Sunday February 7, 1999 Snowshoe hike and potluck supper at Sally Sairs home in Woodbury Leader: Sally Sairs Participants:...
Sat Feb 13
page
Saturday, February 13 -- GMC Snowshoe Festival
Sun Feb 14
page
Sun February 14, 1999 Ski trip on Catamount Trail from Cobb Brook to Camel's Hump Nordic by Leader: Fred Jordan Due to a lack of snow cover, this trip was...
Sat Feb 20
page
Saturday, February 20, 1999 Three-camp tour in Johnson. Joint trip with Sterling Section. Travel to Grace Camp, Corliss Camp, and Camp Weasel. Snowshoe...
Sun Feb 21
page
Sund February 21, 1999 Cross-country ski Horn of the Moon loop in East Montpelier by Leader: Nancy Schulz Marilyn Wilson and Ray and Sylvia Kingsbury joined...
Thu Feb 25
page
Minutes of the meeting.
Thu Feb 25
page
Thursday, February 25 -- Planning meeting Host: Nancy Schulz
Sat Feb 27
page
Sat February 27, 1999 Cross-country ski at Top Notch Touring Center Trail pass permits by Leader: Nancy Schulz Despite the gorgeous weather, this outing...
Sat Mar 06
page
Satu March 6, 1999 Snowshoe up Camel's Hump by Leader: Steve Lightholder Ed Loewenton, Nancy Schulz and I ignored winter storm warnings and set out to climb...
Sat Mar 13
page
Satu March 13, 1999 Snowshoe up Spruce Mountain in Plainfield by Leader: Joan Kahn We had perfect snow conditions when we snowshoed up Spruce Mountain --...
Sun Mar 14
page
Sund March 14, 1999 Snowshoe to Mt Mansfield summit up Long Trail to Chin return by Leader: Ed Loewenton The day was overcast but warm and not windy, even at...
Sat Mar 20
page
Sat March 20, 1999 Cross-country ski at Stowe Mountain Resort Touring Center by Leader: Marilyn Wilson (originally Nancy Schulz) Cross country skiing today...
Sat Mar 27
page
Satu March 27, 1999 Snowshoe at Bolton Valley by Leader: Nancy Schulz I knew I would have a large crowd for this outing because of the high volume of calls...
Sat Mar 27
page
On a perfect early Spring day, with a deep blue, cloudless sky and a temperature over 50 degrees, Beth Stern, Jen Kruszewski, Ed Loewenton, Clare Buckley,...
Sat Apr 03
page
Sat April 3, 1999 Road Walk - Adamant, Calais and East Montpelier by Leader: Nancy Schulz Due to the warm weather and lack of snowfall, the state closed all...
Sat Apr 10
page
Sat April 10, 1999 Road walk in Brookfield by Leader: Steve Lightholder Nineteen hardy souls: Ann Burcroff, Priscilla Page, Eva Mendelsohn, Nancy Schulz,...
Fri Apr 16
page
Section Annual Meeting, at Christ Church
Sun Apr 18
page
Sun April 18, 1999 Circular road walk around Berlin Pond by Leader: Michael Chernick [no text]
Sat Apr 24
page
Sat April 24, 1999 Snowshoe Hike up Stowe Pinnacle by Leader: Nancy Schulz Cancelled due to state rules against early spring use.
Sun Apr 25
page
Sun April 25, 1999 Canoe Kayak on Shelburne Pond by Leader: Nancy Schulz Steve Lightholder and I drove up to Shelburne Pond together and ran into Thea and...
Sat May 01
page
Sat May 1, 1999 Bike from Alburg to Isle La Motte by Leader: Richard W. Hoffman Only two other people took part in this bicycle outing to Alburg - Isle La...
Sun May 02
page
Sun May 2, 1999 Paddle the perimeter of Peacham Pond by Leader: Nancy Schulz Nine boats took to the water on this very balmy day: 4 canoes and 5 kayaks. We...
Tue May 04
page
Minutes of the meeting.
Sat May 08
page
Sat May 8, 1999 Circular paddle involving Missisquoi River Lake Champlain and by Leader: Nancy Schulz The forecast of possible thunderstorms was sufficient...
Sun May 09
page
Sun May 9, 1999 Mother's Day mystery paddle by Leader: Nancy Schulz Seven of us gathered at noon in the parking lot of Montpelier High School as the rain...
Sat May 15
page
Sat May 15, 1999 Wildflower hike to Middlesex Notch by Leader: Ann Burcroff We were a little late for hepatica, Dutchman's britches, but still saw 25...
Sun May 16
page
Sun May 16, 1999 Day Hikers Long Trail Hike #26 River Road to Bolton Notch Road by Leader: Thomas Weiss MHS 8:15 Bolton Notch Road 8:35 - 8:45 B.N.Road at...
Sat May 22
page
Sat May 22, 1999 Spring Walk-Thru Work Hike: Long Trail Bamforth Ridge by Leader: Eric Seidel Spring walk thru on LT from River Road to Gorham. This was...
Sun May 23
page
Sun May 23, 1999 Bike Ride Lunenburg VT and Lancaster NH by Leader: Andrew and Reidun Nuquist This spring bike ride felt more like summer, with temperatures...
Sat May 29
page
Satu May 29, 1999 Spring Walk-Thru: Long Trail Smuggler s Notch by Leader: Eric Seidel This was the Spring walk-thru for this section of the LT. The Trail...
Sat Jun 05
page
Four canoes and four kayaks put into the Winooski River about two miles south of Waterbury at a picnic area on rte 2. The quick water at the start of the trip...
Sun Jun 06
page
Sun June 6, 1999 Hike up Elmore Mountain by Leader: Andrew and Reidun Nuquist no text
Sat Jun 12
page
GMC annual meeting, at Sun Bowl Lodge / Stratton Mountain Lodge
Sat Jun 12
page
Sat June 12, 1999 Hike to Lonesome Lake in White Mountains NH by Leader: Steve Lightholder Russ and Juanita Mallard, Chris Terry, Paul DeLuca. Cynthia...
Sun Jun 13
page
Sun June 13, 1999 Bike trip on bike paths of South Burlington, Burlington and Colchester by Leader: Fred Jordan We parked the cars at the Overlook Park on...
Wed Jun 16
page
Wed June 16, 1999 Bike trip and picnic on the Groton Bike path by Leader: Fred Jordan A leisurely bike trip often or so miles was taken. Some of the path...
Sat Jun 19
page
Satu June 19, 1999 Work Hike on Long Trail Bamforth Ridge bog-bridging and blazing by Leader: Eric Seidel This very enthusiastic group took on the...
Sun Jun 20
page
Sun June 20, 1999 Hike Ascutney Mountain via Windsor and Weathersfield Trails by Leader: Michael Chernick [no text]
Mon Jun 21
page
Sunset on the longest day of 1999. Taken from the tower on Mt. Elmore.
Thu Jun 24
page
Minutes of the meeting.
Sat Jun 26
page
Satu June 26, 1999 Day Hikers Long Trail Hike #27:Bolton Notch Road to Nebraska Notch by Leader: Thomas Weiss Leave M.H.S 7:10 Trout Club Parking 7:45 - 8:15...
Sun Jun 27
page
Sund June 27, 1999 Hike up Mt Mansfield from Underhill State Park via Laura Cowles and Sunset Ridge Trails by Leader: Andrew and Reidun Nuquist Of nine...
Sat Jul 03
page
Sat July 3, 1999 Bike on the Missisquoi Valley Rail Trail by Leader: Steve Lightholder A small group of us cycled the Missisquoi Valley Rail Trail from St....
Sat Jul 10
page
Five hikers braved the elements to ascend the north slope and summit of Whiteface Mountain in Lamoille County on a very overcast and ultimately stormy day....
Sun Jul 11
page
Sun July 11, 1999 Hike up Paine Mountain via Clark route in Northfield by Leader: Ann Walton and Becky Merrilees (originally Bill Osgood) no text
Sat Jul 17
page
Sat July 17, 1999 Kayak Canoe on Green River Reservoir by Leader: Fred Jordan (originally Ann Burcroff) The three canoes and one kayak set out from the...
Sat Jul 17
page
Sat July 17, 1999 Ed's infamous Rocks in the Head Mansfield circuit by Leader: Ed Loewenton Hellbrook -> Cliff -> Canyon -> Hellbrook 8 hours. Hot.
Sun Jul 18
page
Sun July 18, 1999 Canoe on Marshfield Dam Reservoir (Molly s Falls Pond) by Leader: Harlan and Esther Farnsworth Cancelled
Sun Jul 25
page
Sun July 25, 1999 Bike ride in St Albans Swanton by Leader: Richard W. Hoffman This bike outing went well and there were no mishaps. There were only three...
Sat Jul 31
page
Satu July 31, 1999 Day Hikers Long Trail Hike #28: Appalachian Gap to Wind Gap by Leader: Thomas Weiss MHS 7:15 63 State Forest 7:45 - 8:00 Appalachian Gap...
Sun Aug 01
page
Sund August 1, 1999 Canoe Kayak to Four Brothers Islands from NY shore of Lake Champlain by Leader: Eric Seidel Eight participants, with 5 kayaks and canoe,...
Sun Aug 08
page
Sun August 8, 1999 Paddle Lake Dunmore by Leader: Steve Lightholder Cancelled for lack of participants. Must be the rain that kept them away. Shucks, it's...
Sun Aug 15
page
Sund August 15, 1999 Hike Mt Mansfield via Lake Mansfield Trail to Forehead on LT by Leader: Ed Loewenton Michael Chernick used Forehead bypass; we regrouped...
Sat Aug 21
page
Sat August 21, 1999 Day Hikers Long Trail #29 -Wind Gap to River Road by Leader: Thomas Weiss MHS 7:10 Bamforth Lot 7:40 - 7:55 State Forest Lot 8:10 -...
Sun Aug 29
page
Sun August 29, 1999 Mt. Hale in NH' s White Mountains by Leader: Michael Chernick On Sunday August 29, hikers from the Montpelier GMC Section traveled to...
Sun Sep 12
page
Sunday September 12, 1999 David P Morse Memorial Hike to Montclair Glen Lodge Leader: Doris Washburn On a beautiful cool and sunny morning, 22 hikers headed for Montclair Glen Lodge to carry on a tradition set by David Morse to climb Camels's Hump every year on or near to the date of his birthday, September 13. David would have been 85 years of age the day after this trip. I offered a few brief words at the beginning of this trip explaining to newcomers who David was and what the Green Mountain Club and the mountains meant to him, and asked everyone to share thoughts of David as the group gathered at the junction of the Monroe and Dean Trails. We stopped again at the bridge over Riley Brook and shared more thoughts of David, and I read the following poem, sent to me by a friend after she learned of David's passing: MISS ME -- BUT LET ME GO When I come to the end of the road And the sun has set for me I want no rites in a gloom filled room Why cry for a soul set free. Miss me a little -- but not too long And not with your head bowed low Remember the love we once shared Miss me -- but let me go. For this is a journey that we all must take And each must go alone It's all a part of the Master's plan A step on the road to home. When you are lonely and sick at heart Go to the friends we know And bury your sorrows in doing good deeds Miss me -- but let me go. We had lunch at the Beaver Pond and enjoyed the excellent view of the top of the Hump. Many pictures on many cameras were taken here. Moose tracks were spotted in the mud on the edge of the pond. When we reached our destination, Montclair Glen Lodge, I explained how the family had dispersed David's ashes around the area on Father's Day, and also by the Beaver Pond and Ridley Brook, favorite spots of David's as he hiked the trail many times to work on the section of the Long Trail adopted by him for many years from the Lodge over Ethan Allen Mountain. It was a privilege to have David's two daughters with us (his son who lives in New Hampshire could not attend) as well as so many of David's friends and two young couples with a small baby who wanted to go on an organized hike. I hope they will join us again. Participants: Doris Washburn Beth Morse Bill Osgood Joan Heller Priscilla Daggett Christie Carter Ann Burcroff Bob Wilson Bob Johnson Jackie L. Crowe Fred and Nancy Jordan Marilyn Wilson Erin Kirchner James Sharp Jesse Rosado Reidun and Andrew Nuquist Barbara Watts Bob and Cindy Lindemann
Sun Sep 12
page
David P Morse Memorial Hike to Montclair Glen Lodge Leader: Doris Washburn - Wednesday September 12 2018
Thu Sep 16
page
Minutes of the meeting.
Sat Sep 18
page
Satu September 18, 1999 Bike in Burlington Colchester area on bike paths by Leader: Richard W. Hoffman Cancelled due to leader's illness and lack of...
Sat Sep 25
page
Satu September 25, 1999 Day Hikers Long Trail #30 County Road to Massachusetts border by Leader: Thomas Weiss MHS 7:15 Rutland 8:30 - 8:45 Searsburg 10:15 -...
Sun Sep 26
page
Sund September 26, 1999 Work Hike App Gap to Birch Glen Camp by Leader: GMC/Seth Coffey Walked this section of trail removing blowdowns from Hurricane George....
Sun Sep 26
page
Sun September 26, 1999 Hike Mt Grant and return from Lincoln Gap by Leader: Andrew and Reidun Nuquist After many day hikes to Camel's Hump, Burnt Rock, Mt....
Sat Oct 02
page
Sat October 2, 1999 Bike Trip on gravel roads in East Montpelier About 20 miles by Leader: Fred Jordan On a clear October morning the seven of us met at...
Sun Oct 03
page
It was a dark and stormy night. The next morning wasn't much better: overcast, chilly, wet, windy. Driving to Montpelier at 7 AM, I reflected on the...
Sat Oct 09
page
Sat October 9, 1999 Hike from Stowe Pinnacle to Worcester Mountain by Leader: Steve Lightholder Sarah Berge, representing the Burlington Section, her...
Sat Oct 16
page
Sat October 16, 1999 Bike Ride in Waitsfield Warren Area by Leader: Andrew Nuquist (originally Richard W. Hoffman) A pleasant 15 mile circle on East Warren...
Sat Oct 23
page
Satu October 23, 1999 Work Hike on Long Trail at Smuggler s Notch by Leader: Eric Seidel Cancelled - Rain
Sat Oct 30
page
Sat October 30, 1999 Work Hike on Long Trail Bamforth Ridge by Leader: Eric Seidel Cleaned drainage structures, cruised and trimmed to below snow line at...
Sun Oct 31
page
Sund October 31, 1999 Road Walk in Pomfret East Barnard Area by Leader: Michael Chernick Trip cancelled for lack of attendance.
Sat Nov 06
page
Sat November 6, 1999 Hike Worcester Mountain by Leader: Nancy Schulz Eight of us gathered under sunny skies and set off from the trailhead at 9:45. It was a...
Sun Nov 07
page
Sund November 7, 1999 Canoe Kayak on Waterbury Reservoir by Leader: Andrew and Reidun Nuquist Outing cancelled to attend funeral in Middlebury, memorial...
Sun Nov 07
page
Sun November 7, 1999 Hike Stowe Pinnacle by Leader: Nancy Schulz Early morning clouds and snow flurries kept some folks away, but the five of us who hiked...
Sat Nov 13
page
Satu November 13, 1999 Road Walk in Waitsfield Warren Area by Leader: Nancy Schulz Bernice Vogel, her dog Bandit, Steve Lightholder, Anne Ferguson and I et...
Sun Nov 14
page
Sund November 14, 1999 Road Walk in Plainfield - East Hill Road and Spruce Mountain Road by Leader: Nancy Schulz Cancelled due to lack of participants,...
Sat Nov 20
page
SATU NOVEMBER 20, 1999 Walk Stowe Recreational Path by Leader: Michael Chernick There were seven hikers on this outing. Unfortunately, I have not been able to...
Sat Nov 27
page
SAT NOVEMBER 27, 1999 Hike 1 -Appalachian Trail Norwich to Hanover by Leader: Steve Lightholder As the morning's rain clouds blew away and blue sky...
Sat Dec 04
page
SAT DECEMBER 4, 1999 Snowshoe Hike Mt Mansfield Toll Road by Leader: Nancy Schulz A total of 10 hikers set off about 10:15 PM from the base of the toll...
Sat Dec 11
page
SAT DECEMBER 11, 1999 Cross-country Ski or Hike the Cotton Brook loop in Stowe by Leader: Nancy Schulz The forecast for today was quite a bit off. Rain from...
Wed Dec 22
page
WEDN DECEMBER 22, 1999 Snowshoe to Celebrate the Winter Solstice & full moon in Hubbard by Leader: Nancy Schulz Twenty-two people gathered for this hike, the...
Contents of previous years
© 2022 Montpelier Section of The Green Mountain Club, Inc.     Top     Sun 25 September 2022 Sun, 25 Sep 2022 01:02:05 -0400