Green Mountain Club
Montpelier Section

Reports for events in 1997

Date Report? Description of the event
Sat Jan 11
page
Sat January 11, 1997 X-C ski trip to Beaver Meadow Lodge for Chili Party by Leader: Peter Downey [no text]
Thu Jan 16
page
Minutes of the meeting.
Sat Jan 18
page
Sat January 18, 1997 X-C skiing at Trapp Family Lodge (originally on East Montpelier trails) by Leader: Nancy Schulz Steve and I were the only brave (or...
Sat Jan 25
page
Sat January 25, 1997 X-C ski trip to Bolton X-C Ski Center by Leader: Steve Lightholder Fred and I showed up. Fred and I paid no attention to the forecast...
Sat Feb 01
page
Sat February 1, 1997 Mystery Snowshoe Hike in the Montpelier area by Leader: Duncan Wilkie Hike started at 1 P.M. at Brown Derby. Hiked the hills between...
Sun Feb 02
page
Sun February 2, 1997 Ski in Montpelier's new North Branch Park by Leader: Andrew & Reidun Nuquist Eighteen participants met at the park entrance off Elm...
Sat Feb 08
page
Satu February 8, 1997 Ski Snowshoe overnight to Zealand Hut White Mountains NH by Leader: Peter Downey Ten participants took part in this overnight trip,...
Sun Feb 09
page
Sund February 9, 1997 X-C Ski in Calais area by Leader: Joan Heller and Betty Moskowitz Great outing. Marvelous weather and conditions. Total of 16...
Sat Feb 15
page
Satu February 15, 1997 Snowshoe to Taft Lodge by Leader: Cindy Lindemann [no text]
Sat Mar 01
page
Saturday, March 1 -- x/c ski backcountry trails at Trapp Cross Country Ski Area Difficult Leader: Cindy Lindemann
Sun Mar 02
page
Sunday, March 2 -- x/c ski at Highland Lodge in Greensboro Leader: Andrew and Reidun Nuquist
Sat Mar 08
page
Satu March 8, 1997 Snowshoe Hike up Mt. Elmore by Leader: Dave Morse [Originally announced as Snowshoe Hike (depending on snow conditions) up Worcester...
Sat Mar 15
page
Satu March 15, ,1997 X-C Ski at Mt. Mansfield Touring Center by Leader: Nancy Schulz Although there were only five of us on this outing, it represented one of...
Sun Mar 23
page
Sund March 23, 1997 Road Walk around Berlin Pond by Leader: Duncan Wilkie A bright sunny day with a brisk northwest wind. Ice still solid on the pond, and the...
Sun Mar 30
page
Sun March 30, 1997 Walk or ski in Chelsea by Leader: Charlene Bohl The date was selected from the calendar in a checkbook and I did not realize that it was...
Sun Apr 13
page
Sun April 13, 1997 Day Hikers Long Trail #13 Smuggler s Notch Road by Leader: Thomas Weiss Five of us met at MHS. We picked up one other at the Holiday Inn...
Fri Apr 18
page
Section Annual Meeting, at St. Augustine's Church
Sat Apr 19
page
Saturday, April 19 -- Canoe/kayak on Connecticut River Moderate/Difficult Leader: Nancy Schulz
Sun Apr 20
page
Sund April 20, 1997 Bike ride to Warren by Leader: Nancy Schulz Four participants left Montpelier High School parking lot at 9:30 a.m. under beautiful sunny...
Sun Apr 27
page
Sun April 27, 1997 Road walk in East Montpelier by Leader: Michael Chernick [no text]
Sun May 04
page
Sun May 4, 1997 Wildflower walk to Duck Brook Shelter Easy Bring water lunch by Leader: Ann Burcroff On a grey and windy day, seven participants kept warm...
Sat May 10
page
Saturday, May 10 -- Hike to Tuckerman Ravine in NH Moderate Leader: Cindy Lindemann
Sun May 11
page
Sunday, May 11 -- Mystery canoe trip Easy Leader: Duncan Wilkie
Sat May 17
page
Sat May 17, 1997 Work hike at Smuggler s Notch by Leader: Eric Seidel and Mary Jo Llewellyn A wash-out; too much snow. Re-schedule
Sat May 24
page
Satu May 24, 1997 Work hike on Bamforth Ridge by Leader: Eric Seidel Cruised trail to just below Gorham Lodge. Cleaned all waterbars. Rebuilt drainage...
Sat May 31
page
Satu May 31, 1997 Day Hiker s Long Trail # 14 Prospect Rock to Mad Tom Notch by Leader: Thomas Weiss MHS 6:40 Ludlow 8:10 - 8:40 Mad Tom Notch 9:15 - 9:25...
Sun Jun 01
page
Sun June 1, 1997 Bicycle trip in Champlain Valley north from DAR State Park by Leader: Andrew & Reidun Nuquist In a light rain, no one was at either...
Thu Jun 05
page
Satu June 5, 1997 Lake Mansfield Trail to Taylor Lodge by Leader: Dave Otis and Ann Burcroff [This outing does not appear in Trail Talk or in the Long Trail...
Sun Jun 08
page
Sun June 8, 1997 Hike Davis Neighborhood Path from public road to Corliss Camp by Leader: Michael Chernick [no text]
Thu Jun 12
page
Thursday, June 12 -- Planning meeting Host: Cindy Lindemann
Sat Jun 21
page
Satu June 21, 1997 Day Hiker s Long Trail #15 Mad Tom Notch to USFS Road by Leader: Thomas Weiss MHS 6:40 Rutland 8:10 - 8:20 Big Branch Lot 8:55 - 9:05 Mad...
Sat Jun 28
page
Satu June 28, 1997 Rail Trail bike trip from Marshfield to Groton by Leader: Esther Farnsworth Bumpy ride, lunch in Groton town gazebo, a [?] in Ricker Pond. ...
Sat Jun 28
page
Satu June 28, 1997 Canoe the Winooski River from Bolton to Essex Junction by Leader: Harlan Farnsworth and Andrew Nuquist 17 boats, 30 people, beautiful...
Sat Jul 12
page
Sat July 12, 1997 Day Hiker s Long Trail #16 USFS Road 10 to Vt 140 by Leader: Thomas Weiss 7:20 Leave MHS 8:40 - 9:00 Rutland 9:20 - 9:55 Wallingford...
Sun Jul 20
page
Sun July 20, 1997 Summer Mystery Hike l by Leader: Thomas Weiss We went to Silver Lake State Park in Barnard. We met at MHS at 10, and I revealed the...
Sat Aug 02
page
Sat August 2, 1997 Hike to Falls of Lana Rattlesnake Cliff and Mt Moosalamoo by Leader: Steve Lightholder (originally Cindy Lindemann) We five set out for...
Sun Aug 10
page
Sund August 10, 1997 Hike, swim and potluck supper at Lake Elmore by Leader: Cindy Lindemann Celebrate the lazy days of summer with an afternoon hike up Mt....
Sat Aug 16
page
Sat August 16, 1997 Day Hiker s Long Trail #17 Vermont 140 to Upper Road by Leader: Thomas Weiss MHS 7:15 Exit 4 7:40 - 7:45 Sunrise Chair 8:35 - 8:45 Upper...
Sun Aug 24
page
Sund August 24, 1997 Mountain or hybrid bike ride from East Montpelier to Greenwood by Leader: Steve Lightholder August 24 dawned gray and foreboding but a...
Thu Aug 28
page
Thu August 28, 1997 Canoe trip on Lake Willoughby by Leader: Andrew & Reidun Nuquist Beat the rain. 6 boats, 11 people
Sun Sep 07
page
Sun September 7, 1997 Bike ride in Champlain Valley Addison County by Leader: Reidun Nuquist and Mary Garcia We traveled north along Lake Street and Button...
Sun Sep 14
page
Sund September 14, 1997 Circular hike on Mt Mansfield by Leader: Duncan Wilkie Mt Mansfield - Hazelton Trail - over top, down Long Trail to ??? (Hike Mt...
Sat Sep 20
page
Sat September 20, 1997 Day Hiker s Long Trail # 18 - Upper Road to Sherburne Pass by Leader: Thomas Weiss MHS 7:10 LT at Mendon Mtn 8:30 - 8:40 LT at Upper...
Sun Sep 21
page
Sunday, September 21 -- Bike ride by Willoughby and Crystal Lakes Moderate Leader: Doris Washburn
Sat Sep 27
page
Saturday September 27, 1997 Mystery canoe trip with early foliage Leader: Barbara Agnew Canoe Trip to Island Pond, What a truly glorious day we had for...
Wed Oct 01
page
photo by Ed Loewenton Moon over Mt Mansfield Photo by Judith Fabian Reproduced with Permission
Sat Oct 04
page
Sat October 4, 1997 Road walk on Craftsbury back roads by Leader: Sharon Levin Though the day was misty, nine of us enjoyed the rich leaf colors, the...
Sat Oct 11
page
Satu October 11, 1997 Day Hiker's Long Trail # 19 - Lake Mansfield to Vt 108 by Leader: Thomas Weiss Temperature was 37 degrees and skies were clear when we...
Thu Oct 16
page
Thursday, October 16 -- Planning meeting Host: Eric Seidel
Sun Oct 19
page
Sun October 19, 1997 Hike Butternut Mountain via Corliss Camp on Davis Neighborhood Trail by Leader: Andrew and Reidun Nuquist Sixteen hikers from as far...
Sat Oct 25
page
Sat October 25, 1997 Work hike Long Trail north from Smuggler s Notch by Leader: Eric Seidel The Notch Road was closed due to a foot or more of new snow. We...
Sat Nov 01
page
Sat November 1, 1997 Work hike on Long Trail Bamforth Ridge by Leader: Eric Seidel We had excellent weather (in spite of the forecasted rain) and did...
Sun Nov 02
page
Sun November 2, 1997 Hike Stowe Recreation Path by Leader: Michael Chernick [no text]
Sun Nov 09
page
Sun November 9, 1997 Hike up Irish Hill by Leader: Duncan Wilkie [no text]
Sat Nov 15
page
Satu November 15, 1997 Road walk - Maple Corner by Leader: Nancy Schulz Eight of us began walking from the Curtis Pond spillway at 10:40 A.M. on the...
Sun Nov 16
page
Sun November 16, 1997 Road walk East Montpelier by Leader: Nancy Schulz In addition to seven walkers, we also had Willie Rebmann with us. Willie is a mutt...
Sun Nov 23
page
Sund November 23, 1997 Road and trail walk park to park loop in Montpelier by Leader: Nancy Schulz Under overcast skies with temperatures in the 30's, we met...
Sat Nov 29
page
Sat November 29, 1997 Hike Burlington's Intervale and Recreation Path by Leader: Steve Lightholder What could be finer than a walk along the lakeshore in...
Fri Dec 05
page
Friday, December 5 -- GMC Taylor Winter Series
Sun Dec 07
page
Sunday December 7, 1997 Snowshoe Hike up Mt Mansfield Toll Road Leader: Nancy Schulz A large turnout for this outing. Ten of us gathered at Montpelier High...
Fri Dec 12
page
Friday, December 12 -- GMC Taylor Winter Series
Sat Dec 13
page
Sat December 13, 1997 Snowshoe Hike from Route 108 to Watson Camp via Long Trail by Leader: Nancy Schulz A small group of five gathered for this outing,...
Sun Dec 14
page
Sund December 14, 1997 Snowshoe Hike to Montclair Glen Lodge by Leader: Michael Chernick Twelve snowshoers journeyed on a day with powdery snow conditions...
Fri Dec 19
page
Friday, December 19 -- GMC Taylor Winter Series
Sat Dec 20
page
Sat December 20, 1997 Holiday Hike or Snowshoe around Osmore Pond in Groton State Forest by Leader: Steve Lightholder On a mild December afternoon with pale...
Contents of previous years
© 2022 Montpelier Section of The Green Mountain Club, Inc.     Top     Sun 25 September 2022 Sun, 25 Sep 2022 01:02:06 -0400