Green Mountain Club
Montpelier Section

Reports for events in 1987

Date Report? Description of the event
Sun Jan 04
page
Sunday, January 4 -- c/c ski at Hilltop Ski Touring Center, Wolcott Leader: Paul Wallace-Brodeur
Wed Jan 07
page
Wednesday, January 7 -- Planning meeting Host: Esther Farnsworth
Sun Jan 11
page
Sunday, January 11 -- x/c ski at Bolton Valley Touring Center Leader: Reidun and Andrew Nuquist
Sat Jan 17
page
Saturday, January 17 -- X/C Ski at Burke Mt Touring Center Leader: Dave Morse
Sun Jan 18
page
Sunday, January 18 -- Ski/snowshoe at Groton Forest Moderate Leader: Tom Kastner
Sat Jan 24
page
Saturday, January 24 -- Ski at Ole's Cross Country Center in Warren Easy/Moderate Leader: Jean Coello
Sat Jan 31
page
Saturday, January 31 -- Help paint the GMC Office in Montpelier
Sun Feb 01
page
Sunday, February 1 -- Snowshoe with Breadloaf Section at the Audubon Nature Center Leader: Esther Farnsworth
Sun Feb 08
page
Sunday, February 8 -- X/C Ski at Highland Lodge, Greensboro Leader: Nuquists
Thu Feb 12
page
Thursday, February 12 -- Moonlight ski near the Berlin airport Easy Leader: Dave Morse
Sun Feb 15
page
Sunday, February 15 -- Snowshoe in the Worcester area Leader: Mary Deaett
Sun Feb 22
page
Sunday, February 22 -- X/C ski East Montpelier loop Moderate Leader: Farnsworths
Sun Mar 01
page
Sunday, March 1 -- Snowshoe Camel's Hump Difficult Leader: Andrew Nuquist
Sat Mar 07
page
Saturday, March 7 -- X/C ski Cram Hill in West Brookfield Difficult Leader: Harlan Farnsworth
Sat Mar 14
page
Saturday, March 14 -- X/C ski at Mt Mansfield Touring Center Leader: Marilyn Wilson
Tue Mar 17
page
Tuesday, March 17 -- Planning meeting Host: Barbara Hermann
Sun Mar 22
page
Sunday, March 22 -- X/C ski behind the Outdoor Outlet Store in Waterbury Center Leader: Gosselins
Fri Apr 03
page
Section Annual Meeting, at the First Baptist Church
Sun Apr 05
page
Sunday, April 5 -- Ski/snowshoe Rt 108, Smuggler's Notch Road Moderate Leader: Bob Johnson
Sun Apr 12
page
Sunday, April 12 -- Snowshoe Camel's Hump via Forestry Trail Moderate/Difficult Leader: Cindy Cook
Sat Apr 25
page
Sat April 25, 1987 8 a m canoe Dead creek Wildlife Waterfowl Area Addison Easy Bring lunch binoculars Leader Tom Kastner 426 3734 by Leader: Tom Kastner [no...
Sat May 09
page
Sat May 9, 1987 10:30 a m Canoe on Waterbury Reservoir and hike in Little River State Park Put canoes in at Waterbury Center ramp off Rt 100 Bring picnic...
Sat May 16
page
Saturday, May 16 -- Burlington bike oath by bike or by foot Leader: Joe Gosselin
Fri May 22
page
G M C Annual Meeting at Green Mountain College Poultney Vt
Sat May 30
page
Saturday May 30, 1987 Hike up to Tuckerman Ravine on east side of Mt Washington N H by Marilyn Wilson We had a great hike on a good day for hiking. The wind...
Sat Jun 06
page
Sat June 6, 1987 7:45 a m Annual trail maintenance and walk through our section's trails Breakfast provided by club at 8:30 a m at Smuggler's Notch picnic...
Sat Jun 13
page
Sat June 13, 1987 9 a m Work on a short relocation of the Long Trail near Sterling Pond Bring lunch and brush clippers Leader Dave Shepard 223 5824 by...
Sun Jun 14
page
Sund June 14, 1987 12:30 p m Hike Spruce Mt 1 p m Plainfield P O Moderate Leader Dave Keith Plainfield Vt by Leader: Dave Keith It was a good turnout and a...
Sat Jun 20
page
Sat June 20, 1987 8 a m Canoe Missisquoi River Easy Bring lunch and binoculars Leader Dave Morse 223 7126 by Leader: Dave Morse [no text]
Sun Jun 28
page
Sun June 28, 1987 7:30 a m MHS 8:30 Marshfield P O Hike Mt Jefferson NH Elevation 5,515 feet via Caps Ridge Trail 5 mile round trip Moderate Bring lunch and...
Mon Jun 29
page
GMC invoice for section labels
Sat Jul 11
page
Saturday, July 11 -- Hike Mt Abraham Moderate Leader: Sue Maywood
Sat Jul 18
page
Saturday, July 18 -- Overnight bike hike to Grande Isle State Park Leader: Paul Perley
Sat Jul 25
page
Saturday, July 25 -- Mt Mansfield via Sunset Ridge Trail Difficult Leader: Barbara Hermann
Sat Aug 01
page
Sat August 1, 1987 9 a m canoe Lake Champlain to Woods Island Primitive over night camping Bring your own gear and food Leader Harlan Farnsworth 223 2240 by...
Sat Aug 08
page
Sat August 8, 1987 7:30 a m Hike Crawford Notch loop Mt Avalon Mt Willey and Mt Field Difficult Bring lunch Leader Dave Shepard 223 5824 by Leader: Dave...
Sun Aug 09
page
Sun August 9, 1987 1:30 p m Canoe and swim in Marshfield Reservoir Easy Bring food for picnic supper Leaders Emily and Joe Gosselin 244 7798 by Leader: Emily...
Sat Aug 15
page
Saturday, August 15 -- Hike Mt Pisgah and Mt Hor Moderate Leader: Sue Maywood
Sat Aug 22
page
Sat August 22, 1987 to August 30 G M C Intersectional at Goshen Vt See Long Trail News for Details or call G M C office by Leader: G M C Great location....
Sun Aug 30
page
Sunday, August 30 -- Hike Stowe Pinnacle Moderate Leader: Emily and Joe Gosselin
Thu Sep 10
page
Thursday, September 10 -- Planning meeting Host: Mary Garcia
Sat Sep 12
page
Sat September 12, 1987 9 a m Hike Burnt Rock Mt south of Camel's Hump via N Fayston Moderate Bring lunch Leader Harlan Farnsworth 223 2240 by Leader: Harlan...
Sat Sep 19
page
Satu September 19, 1987 Marshfield 9:30 a m Overnight canoe and camp on Maidstone Lake Easy Reservations by Sunday Sept 13 Leader Tom Kastner 426 3734 by...
Sun Sep 20
page
Sunday, September 20 -- Bike in South Royalton area Leader: Jean Coello
Sun Sep 27
page
Sund 27 September 1987 Hike up Hunger Mountain possibly more depending on conditions and interest Bring lunch Moderate meet at 9 a m Leaders Andrew and Reidun...
Sat Oct 03
page
Satu 3 October 1987 Canoeing on Green River Reservoir Morrisville Bring lunch Call trip leader if you do not have a canoe Meet at 9 a m Leader Phyllis Robinson...
Sun Oct 11
page
Sunday, October 11 -- Hike Three Brothers and Big Slide Mountains in the Adirondacks Moderate Leader: David Morse
Sat Oct 17
page
Satu 17 October, 1987 Hike Scragg Mountain Roxbury area Easy moderate Bring lunch Meet at Norwich University armory Northfield at 10 a m Leader Kenneth Kidd...
Sun Oct 18
page
Sund 18 October, 1987 Fall trail maintenance including cleaning of water bars on the Long Trail in Smuggler's Notch Bring tools and lunch Meet at 8:30 a m...
Fri Oct 23
page
Frid 23 October, 1987 Fund raising dinner to benefit Long Trail Protection Fund First Congregational Church Burlington see story elsewhere in this issue by...
Sat Oct 24
page
Satu 24 October, 1987 Hike Nebraska Notch Taylor Lodge Butler Lodge loop moderate 6.3 miles Bring lunch Meet at 8:00 a m Leader Harlan Farnsworth 223 2240 by...
Sun Nov 01
page
Sund 1 November, 1987 Hike Camel's Hump via Forestry Trail Moderate 7 miles Bring lunch Meet at 8:30 a m Leader Peter Downey 223 3376 by Leader: Peter Downey ...
Sun Nov 08
page
Sund 8 November, 1987 Hike suggested X-C ski trails in Groton State Forest Easy moderate Hike will be followed by Thanksgiving Rehearsal Dinner Call trip...
Sun Nov 22
page
Sund 22 November, 1987 r Slide show with feature speaker and or members slides from last year bring your pictures Don't forget dessert to share 6 30 p m...
Sun Dec 06
page
Sund 6 December, 1987 Hike on abandoned roads in Calais Woodbury area Easy moderate Followed by pot luck supper Call Reidun Nuquist at 223 3550 for...
Sat Dec 12
page
Saturday, December 12 -- Hike trails in Little River State Park Easy Leader: Joseph Gosselin
Sun Dec 20
page
Sund 20 December, 1987 Annual Christmas party at Duck Brook Shelter Jonesville Bring snack and gift value under 2 to share Easy hike Meet at 1 p m Leader...
Sun Dec 27
page
Sund 27 December, 1987 X-C skiing at Mount Mansfield Ski Touring Center Stowe All abilities Bring lunch Meet at 9 a m Leaders Andrew and Reidun Nuquist 223...
Thu Dec 31
page
Thursday, December 31 -- Moonlight x/c ski on East Montpelier trails Leader: Esther and Harlan Farnsworth
Contents of previous years
© 2022 Montpelier Section of The Green Mountain Club, Inc.     Top     Tue 27 September 2022 Tue, 27 Sep 2022 01:02:05 -0400