Green Mountain Club
Montpelier Section

Reports for events in 1969

Date Report? Description of the event
Sat Jan 04
page
Janu 4, 1969 Combined Winter Picnic and Snowshoe Hike with Burlington Section in the Middlebury area. A bonfire will be provided for lunch. Bring your own...
Sat Jan 18
page
Janu 18, 1969 Annual Oyster Stew Supper at Taylor Lodge located on the Long Trail 1.6 miles via the Lake Mansfield Trail. Bring your own silverware and cup and...
Sun Feb 02
page
Febr 2, 1969 All-Day Hike up Elmore Mountain which is a 2,608 peak east of Morrisville. There is a fire tower on the top of this mountain affording good views...
Wed Feb 05
page
Febr 5, 1969 Moonlight Snowshoe in the Northfield Street area. Bring flashlights. Refreshments will be served. by Leader: Juelia Desilets Eleven showed up for...
Fri Feb 14
page
Febr 14, 1969 Weekend at Grace Camp in the Adirondacks. We will drive to Keene Valley Friday night and hike about three miles through the valley to the camp....
Tue Feb 18
page
Tuesday, February 18 -- Planning meeting at Contact: Dick Babcock
Wed Mar 05
page
Marc 5, 1969 Moonlight Hike at Barre Country Club by Leader: Doris Washburn At last! A moonlight hike in the moonlight. It was a cold night - down near zero....
Sun Mar 09
page
Marc 9, 1969 Scragg Mountain in Waitsfield. This can be hiked either on snowshoes or cross-country skis. It is approximately three miles up this 2,923 foot...
Sun Mar 23
page
Marc 23, 1969 Steak dinner at Birch Glen Camp, with sugar-on-snow for dessert!! This camp is located 100 feet off the Long Trail 2.6 miles north of Appalachian...
Sat Apr 05
page
Apri 5, 1969 Terrace Street Afternoon hike. Bring the whole family. by Leader: Frances Holmes Still plenty of snow in the woods! The day was cloudy but not...
Fri Apr 18
page
section annual meeting at Old Brick Church Annex in East Montpelier
Sat Apr 19
page
Friday, April 19 -- Green Mountain Audubon Nature Center, Huntington Leader: Dot Babcock
Sun Apr 27
page
Apri 27, 1969 Black River Paddle, from Eligo Pond to Albany. Supper will be served at a nearby camp. by Leader: Cynthia and George Brady [newspaper clipping,...
Sun May 04
page
Sunday, May 4 -- Wiley Lodge and return from Jonesville via the LT over Robbins Mountain Leader: Dave Morse
Sun May 18
page
May 18, 1969 Camping and Paddle at Maidstone Lake: Overnight camping and canoeing trip at Maidstone Lake located in the northeastern part of the state. We will...
Tue May 20
page
Tuesday, May 20 -- Planning meeting at Contact: George Brady
Sun May 25
page
May 25, 1969 Trail clearing at Smugglers' Notch: The Montpelier Section is responsible for the maintenance of the Long Trail from Smugglers Notch to Chilcoot...
Sun Jun 08
page
Sunday, June 8 -- Trail clearing, LT in Smuggler's Notch area Leader: Jack Denton
Sun Jun 22
page
Sunday, June 22 -- Hike Camel's Hump via Burrows Trail Montclair Glen, and Forest City Trail Leader: Doris Washburn
Fri Jul 04
page
July 4, 1969 Camping and Canoeing, in Maine. Open to suggestions. by Leader: Dick and Dot Babcock [newspaper clipping] Over the fourth of July weekend,...
Sun Jul 13
page
July 13, 1969 Grandview Mountain in Addison. We should find interesting flora on this mountain, including pitcher plants. by Leader: Dave Otis [typed -...
Sun Jul 27
page
July 27, 1969 Mt. Hale in New Hampshire. This mountain in 4,077 feet high. There will be both a long (about ten miles) and a short hike here. by Leader: George...
Sun Aug 10
page
Augu 10, 1969 Hike in Heart Lake (Adirondacks). We will meet the Babcocks at Adirondack Loj at Heart Lake and climb Algonquin and Wright. by Leader: Dave Morse...
Wed Aug 20
page
Wednesday, August 20 -- Planning meeting at Contact: Jack Denton
Sun Sep 07
page
Sept 7, 1969 Trail Clearing in Madonna area: Trail clearing again to completed: the trail to White Face Mountain in the Madonna area. Bring clearing equipment...
Sat Sep 13
page
Sept 13, 1969 Camping, Hiking and Canoeing at Brighton State Park, Island Pond. Hiking on Bald Mountain in the Town of Westmore. Elevation 3315', excellent...
Sat Sep 20
page
Sept 20, 1969 Walk back roads of Worcester by Leader: Frances Holmes [excerpt from what appears to be a news release] On Saturday, September 20 There was an...
Sat Sep 27
page
Saturday, September 27 -- Hike Cushman Mtn in Eochester. Leader: David Morse
Sun Oct 05
page
October 5, 1969 Long Trail over Laraway Mountain from Barrows to Parker Camp. Near Johnson. Anyone wishing to work on End-to-End should plan on doing this section. Easy hike. Leader: David Morse [excerpt from what appears to be a news release] This group hiked the Long Trail over Laraway Mountain from Barrows Camp to Parker Camp on Sunday, October 5, 1969. Hikers were Richard and Dorothy Babcock; David Morse, Sally and Jefferson Sairs and Doris Washburn. Leah Ruth Denton, Secretary Participants: Richard and Dorothy Babcock David Morse Sally and Jefferson Sairs Doris Washburn
Sun Oct 05
page
Long Trail over Laraway Mountain from Barrows to Parker Camp. - Friday October 05 2018
Sun Oct 12
page
Octo 12, 1969 Missisquoi River Paddle: All day canoeing on the Missisquoi River. Foliage should be very good on this trip. Bring own lunch. by Leader: George...
Sat Oct 18
page
Octo 18, 1969 Scrabble Hill in Duxbury: A middle-of-the day hike on scrabble Hill in Duxbury. by Leader: Frances Holmes [excerpt from what appears to be a...
Sun Oct 26
page
Octo 26, 1969 Maple Ridge Trail on Mt Mansfield: Mount Mansfield hike up Maple Ridge Trail from Underhill to Butler Lodge. Excellent views on a clear fall day...
Sun Nov 09
page
Nove 9, 1969 Colvin Mountain in Adirondack Mountains near Ausable Club. A short and a long hike. Beautiful scenery in this area. by Leader: Dick and Dot...
Mon Nov 17
page
Monday, November 17 -- Planning meeting Contact: Doris Washburn
Sun Nov 30
page
Nove 30, 1969 LT between Middlebury Gap and Brandon Gap. This will be a 10 to 11 mile hike and perhaps on snowshoes. Another section for End-to-Enders to take...
Sun Dec 14
page
Dece 14, 1969 Cross-country ski trail in Berlin: Clearing and marking cross-country ski and snow- shoe trail in Berlin. Beef stew served out-of-doors in...
Sat Dec 20
page
Dece 20, 1969 Moonlight snowshoe to Buchanan Lodge on Bamforth Ridge Trail. .8 of mile from River Road. Hot drinks and refreshments will be served. by Leader:...
Contents of previous years
© 2022 Montpelier Section of The Green Mountain Club, Inc.     Top     Mon 26 September 2022 Mon, 26 Sep 2022 01:02:03 -0400