Green Mountain Club
Montpelier Section

Reports for events in 1968

Date Report? Description of the event
Sun Jan 14
page
Janu 14, 1968 Marion Gorham Party by Leader: Dick Babcock We all thought something should be done to give Marion Gorham a good send-off and the Babcocks...
Sun Jan 21
page
Janu 21, 1968 Oyster Stew - Oyster Stew Hike to Taylor Lodge. Bring snowshoes, flashlight, bowl, cup & spoon. If you wish to spend the night, bring sleeping...
Sun Jan 28
page
Janu 28, 1968 Worcester Mountain - on snowshoes by Leader: Dave Morse Dave Morse led a party of 4 up Worcester Mountain on snowshoes. The others were Dave...
Thu Feb 01
page
Marion Gorham resigned her position at Vermont College, effective February 1, 1968, to become chairman of the nursing department at Northampton County...
Tue Feb 06
page
Tuesday, February 6 -- Moonlight hike in Trow Hill or Airport area Leader: George and Cynthia Brady
Fri Feb 16
page
Febr 16, 1968 Adirondack Loj: Overnight in the Adirondacks. Tentatively at Adirondack Loj - Hart Lake by Leader: Dick and Dot Babcock 8 hikers spent the...
Sun Mar 03
page
Marc 3, 1968 Hadd's Camp in Worcester by Leader: Dick and Dot Babcock Short Sunday afternoon hike, led by the Babcocks. Tomato soup was enjoyed at the Hadd's...
Tue Mar 12
page
Marc 12, 1968 Moonlight Hike in Bear Swamp, Middlesex Center area by Leader: Jerry Dix Another moonless moonlight hike, led by Jerry Dix in the Bear Swamp...
Sun Mar 24
page
Marc 24, 1968 Sugar-on-Snow - Parker Camp on the Trail near Johnson. by Leader: Dave Otis Dave Otis thought it would be fun to have sugar-on-snow on the Long...
Sun Apr 07
page
Apri 7, 1968 Long Trail - Jonesville to Bolton Lodge by Leader: Dave Morse Dave Morse led a hike over the new section of the Trail between Jonesville and...
Fri Apr 19
page
Section annual meeting, at Old Brick Church in East Montpelier
Sun Apr 21
page
Apri 21, 1968 Eagle Ledge: Long easy afternoon walk to Eagle Ledge in the Worcester-Elmore area. Bring the whole family, and bring a snack if you desire by...
Thu Apr 25
page
Newspaper report Winter Vandals Again Hit Sterling Pond Lodge in the Times-Argus is shown here.
Sun May 05
page
May 5, 1968 Otter Creek Paddle: An all day canoe trip on Otter Creek. Bring your own lunch. If you don't have your own canoe, possibly you could borrow one or...
Sun May 19
page
May 19, 1968 Camels Hump by Leader: Dave Hine [newspaper clipping] Three members of the Montpelier Section of the Green Mountain Club climbed Camel's Hump...
Sat Jun 01
page
Saturday, June 1 -- GMC annual meeting, Bavarian Castle in Proctorsville. Dinner costs $3.50 or $4.25. Tag sale for used hiking equipment.
Sun Jun 09
page
June 9, 1968 Work Hike to Smugglers' Notch: Trail Clearing Time. We hope all the snow will be gone by then. Bring axes, saws, and trail lunch. The Montpelier...
Sun Jun 23
page
June 23, 1968 Belvidere Mountain: All day hike on Long Trail from Route 118 to Hazen's Notch which includes going overBelvidere Mountain, A beautiful view is...
Sat Jul 06
page
July 6, 1968 Wheeler Mountain Picnic: Family Picnic - An afternoon hike up Wheeler Mountain in Barton. This is a short hike across a field and up on some rock...
Sun Jul 14
page
July 14, 1968 [date estimated by KH] [Newspaper, Times Angus, 7-16-68] Sterling Pond Lodge Repaired Sterling Pond Lodge near Mount Mansfield,...
Sat Jul 20
page
July 20, 1968 Overnight in Jefferson, NH and climb Mt Jefferson: Overnight campout at "Brady's Field" in Jefferson, New Hampshire. Bring your own tent,...
Sun Aug 04
page
Augu 4, 1968 Trail Clearing from Chilcoot Pass to Whiteface Shelter: Trail clearing work party from Chilcoot Pass to Whiteface Shelter, a 1 1/2 mile section of...
Sun Aug 18
page
Augu 18, 1968 Blueberry picking hike to White Rocks and Hunger Mountain: Sunday, August 18th - Blueberry picking hike to White Rocks and on Hunger Mountain in...
Sat Aug 24
page
August 24 - September 2, 1968 GMC Intersectional: Intersections! at Eden, Vermont (Mt. Norris Scout Reservation). Come for the whole week for for a few...
Sun Sep 08
page
Sept 8, 1968 Hike Gore Mountain: All day hike up Gore Mountain in the Northeast Kingdom. Approximately a 75 mile drive from Montpelier, and about four miles up...
Sat Sep 14
page
Sept 14, 1968 Afternoon walk on old abandoned road in the Worcester area by Leader: Frances Holmes September 14, 1968: Back road in Calais, led by Frances...
Sat Sep 21
page
Sept 21, 1968 Overnight in the Adirondacks: We will hike into leanto on Saturday and climb the Dixes on Sunday which include East Dix, South Dix and Dix...
Sun Sep 29
page
Sept 29, 1968 Cantilever Rock and Sunset Ridge Trail: Cantilever Rock and Sunset Ridge Trail on Mt. Mansfield. Bring-your-own-picnic supper at Underhill State...
Sat Oct 12
page
Octo 11, 1968 Overnight camping in the Adirondacks and Canoeing on Forked Lake. Bring your own canoe and tent and camping gear, Bring your camera, too, for the...
Sun Oct 20
page
Octo 20, 1968 Mt. Hale in the White Mountains by Leader: George Brady Called off because of weather.
Tue Oct 22
page
Tuesday, October 22 -- Planning meeting at home of Doris Washburn
Sun Nov 03
page
Nove 3, 1968 LT Hike from Rt 242 to Rt 58: All day hike on the Long Trail from Rt. 242 (Jay-Montgomery Center Road) to Rt. 58 (Hazen's Notch). Bring trail...
Sat Nov 16
page
Nove 16, 1968 Green Mountain Audubon Nature Center, Huntington. This is a nature preserve at the foot of the west side of Camel's Hump. Exploration of this...
Sun Dec 01
page
Dece 1, 1968 Blue Ridge Mountain near Rutland. This 3,295 foot mountain is located to the west of the Long Trail and north of Rt. 4 near Rutland. The Green...
Sat Dec 14
page
Dece 14, 1968 Spaghetti Supper at Parker Camp located on the Long Trail near Johnson 1.5 miles from the road via Davis Neighborhood Trail. It is 1.3 miles to...
Contents of previous years
© 2022 Montpelier Section of The Green Mountain Club, Inc.     Top     Sat 01 October 2022 Sat, 01 Oct 2022 01:02:01 -0400