Green Mountain Club
Montpelier Section

Reports for events in 2012

Date Report? Photos? Description of the event
Sun Jan 01
page
  We had a rather large group on a fairly warm foggy New Year's Day. With the lack of snow, bare boots were all that was necessary. We were joined by Dave and...
Sun Jan 08
page
  This hike was originally scheduled for March 3, and was co-listed with the Northeast Kingdom Section. The hike occurred on Sunday January 8 with...
Sat Jan 14
page
  Three hardy souls met at MHS and traveled together to Millstone Hill. The snow cover was thin, but the place was very quiet, and we enjoyed the peace and...
Sun Jan 29
page
  A mild, sunny day made for a pleasant ski at the Craftsbury Outdoor Center. Despite rain the week before conditions were surprisingly good. A group of five...
Sat Feb 11
page
  We didn't need our snowshoes, but we hiked on Hunger Mountain from the Middlesex side. Eric and Lori turned around at the Gully, but Scott, Thomas and Charlene...
Sun Feb 12
page
  It was a very cold February morning when four kids and their parents attempted to hike the Stowe Pinnacle. We set off from the parking lot around 10 am....
Sun Feb 19
page
  The ski outing to Marshfield was cancelled due to lack of snow on the groomed trails. Instead the group snowshoed Big Deer in Groton State Forest where there...
Tue Feb 21
page
  There was enough snow and the temperature was ideal for a good trek at the Stowe-Mount Mansfield Center on my 66th birthday. Though icy in spots on the lower...
Sun Feb 26
page
  This trip was scheduled as something entirely different, a trip across Peacham Bog by the winter route. However, with the snow-starved winter we've had, that...
Sat Mar 03
page
  It was a nice day for skiing: middle 30s, overcast, occasional snow flakes in the air, non-sticky snow. We skied around the site, about 3/4 mile long, a former...
Sat Mar 10
page
  It was still winter in the "Worcester Woods" when a small group of explorers set out to find the mysterious Little Elmore Pond. There was still plenty of...
Sun Mar 11
page
  YAC Worcester Mountain Snowshoe Sunday March 11, 2012 On a day that seemed more spring than winter, we gathered at Shawn Keeley's house and hiked up the road...
Sun Mar 18
page
  With record high temperatures, I expected the Cotton Brook Road to be clear and dry. It was not to be. When the five of us arrived, we could drive only as far...
Sun Apr 01
page
  Marilyn, Steve and I drove from MHS to the trailhead on Dodge Road, then walked down "section 3" of the East Montpelier Trails, which is described as ...
Sat Apr 14
page
  Eleven people enjoyed a beautiful day with a walk around Sodom Pond. We noted that the beavers had been working on the dam on the stream near the Music...
Sat Apr 14
page
  YAC had a beautiful spring morning -- warm temperatures, clear blue skies, spring flowers -- for the Hubbard Hunt. We all gathered at the pond by the entrance...
Sun Apr 15
page
  Stowe Bike Path April 15, 2015 The Sunday April 15 Stowe bike path walk occurred in its entirety on a beautiful spring day with two participants, the leader...
Sat Apr 21
page
  Grey skies and a dreary weather forecast kept members indoors this afternoon. But the four of us who showed up at Berlin Pond were rewarded for being intrepid....
Sat Apr 28
page
  Peacham Bog April 28, 2012 On Saturday, April 28, 2012, 11 of us hiked a 5.4 mile loop to Peacham Bog in Groton State Park. It was a wonderful spring hike....
Wed May 09
page
  This was our annual volunteer work day for the Montpelier parks system, under the guidance of Parks Director Geoffrey Beyer. He had us, as the 'experts,'...
Sat May 12
page
  YAC Stowe Bike Path Ride Saturday May 12, 2012 YAC families hit the trail on two wheels in Stowe. We rolled out of the parking lot, over the bridge, around the...
Sun May 13
page
  Mothers Day for the Great Blue Herons on the Missisquoi was a day for nest building. Six of us kayaked in the Missisquoi National Wildlife refuge and watched...
Sat May 19
page
  Bamforth Ridge/LT work trip Saturday May 19, 2012 13 volunteers (including two new volunteers) met at Mont. High School to carpool to the trail head. The usual...
Sat May 26
page
  Smugglers Notch/LT work trip Saturday May 26, 2012 6 volunteers (including 2 new ones) met at the Elephants Head/LT picnic area. Two people drove on up the the...
Sat Jun 02
page
  Bushwhack: Chases Mountain Saturday June 02, 2012 We met at 9:00 at the Middlesex Notch WMA parking area on Notch Road. "Rain, heavy at times" was forecast....
Tue Jun 12
page
  Bike Ride - South Hero Tuesday June 12, 2012 Eight people enjoyed a 25 mile bike ride in the Champlain Islands even though it was a very windy day. We found a...
Wed Jun 13
page
  Sunset trip up Mt. Hunger Wednesday June 13, 2012 When the days are long, it is fun to start up Hunger late in the day. We met at 4 pm at Rumney and carpooled...
Sat Jun 16
page
  Bike Ride, Lebanon, NH Saturday June 16, 2012 Eric, Fred and I biked the Northern Rail trail from Lebanon, NH east as far as the hamlet of Grafton, 20 miles...
Sun Jun 17
page
  Pico Camp Sunday June 17, 2012 Our group of 3 met at the High School and decided against the loop involving a road walk. We ascended the Sherburne Pass trail...
Sat Jun 30
page
  YAC Wrightsville Paddle and Picnic Saturday June 30, 2012 YAC returned to Wrightsville Reservoir for our annual summer paddle and picnic. We canoed past the...
Sat Jul 07
page
  Paddle on the Connecticut Saturday July 07, 2012 The original plan for this trip was to put in at Woodsville and paddle down-river to South Newbury. But on a...
Sat Jul 14
page
  Skyline Trail from Worcester to Hunger Saturday, July 14, 2012 On Saturday, July 14, 2012, 3 of us hiked 11.8 miles from the base of Worcester Mountain, across...
Sun Jul 15
page
  Beaver Meadow Loop Sunday July 15, 2012 Michael was the only one to call, so I picked him up and we went directly to the trailhead. The hike is described as...
Sun Aug 12
page
  Lake Mansfield Trail to Taylor Lodge Sunday August 12, 2012 We left MHS at 8:30 and reach the Trout Club parking lot a bit after 9. Took a long break up at the...
Tue Aug 28
page
  Spruce Mountain Tuesday August 28, 2012 One of Central Vermont's favorite hikes is up Spruce Mountain in Plainfield and it did not disappoint this time either....
Sun Sep 16
page
  YAC Hike to Taylor Lodge and the Clara Bow Trail Sunday September 16, 2012 We broke out our hats and mitts for the first time this fall as the morning sun...
Sun Sep 16
page
  Belvidere Mountain Sunday September 16, 2012 Participants young and old climbed Mount Belvidere on the last Sunday of summer. Hikers shared the job of carrying...
Sun Sep 23
page
  Battell Shelter and Mt. Abe Sunday September 23, 2012 The weather forecast improved as the weekend drew near, so we had a good turnout - eight people went up...
Sun Oct 14
page
  Berlin, Irish Hill Sunday October 14, 2012 A group of optimistic YAC members ignored predictions of rain on Sunday and headed out to explore the Irish Hill...
Sun Oct 14
page
  Sunset Ridge, Mt. Mansfield Sunday October 14, 2012 When I planned the trip, I imagined us walking up Sunset Ridge on a sunny warm day in October. It was...
Sat Oct 20
page
  Middlesex Town Forest Bush-whack Saturday October 20, 2012 Three of us met at 9:00 at the Middlesex Notch Wildlife Management Area and headed west on the Class...
Sun Oct 21
page
  Bald Mountain hike Sunday October 21, 2012 Armed with Luke O'Brien's "Northeast Kingdom Mountain Trail Guide" and wanting to learn more about his corner of the...
Sat Oct 27
page
  Smuggler's Notch work hike Saturday October 27, 2012 Eight volunteers met in Montpelier on a warm and clearing morning and carpooled to the Elephant's Head/LT...
Sat Nov 03
page
  Bamforth Ridge work hike Saturday November 03, 2012 Nine volunteers met in Montpelier on a ch illy and cloudy morning and carpooled to the Bamforth Ridge/LT...
Sat Dec 01
page
  Paine Mountain to Irish Hill Bushwhack Sunday December 01, 2012 On Saturday, December 1, 2012, 3 of us hiked up Paine Mountain in Northfield, bushwhacked...
Sun Dec 16
page
  Peacham road walk Sunday December 16, 2012 Twelve brave souls came out to face cold, wind, and snow on an off-season road walk around scenic Peacham. We...
Contents of previous years
© 2018 Montpelier Section of The Green Mountain Club, Inc.     Top     Tue 06 November 2018 Tue, 06 Nov 2018 20:55:12 -0500