Green Mountain Club
Montpelier Section

Reports for events in 2008

Date Report? Photos? Description of the event
Sat Jan 05
page
  The day was a welcome relief as the cold spell finally broke. We were greeted by some sunshine and some good views. Myself, Carol, and Cari followed the Long...
Sun Jan 06
page
  Winter was on a holiday today as temperatures were above freezing, but not warm enough to make the snow slushy. All eleven cross-country skied the major loop....
Sat Jan 26
page
  The four of us (Jim, Jeff, Norm, and Ken) left MHS in my car on a fine January morning. Temperatures were below freezing but above zero, and there was a...
Sun Jan 27
page
  On a lovely Sunday morning, five small people and their parents came to Morse Farm to enjoy skiing. Two little people had their first experience on skis and...
Sun Jan 27
page
  Instead of going as usual to the Burke XC Nordic Center, we tried Darling Hill Nordic Center for the first time. (Both centers are run by Kingdom Trails, based...
Sat Feb 09
page
  The week had been very snowy and looked great for a snowshoe. The one problem was the parking lot to Kettle Pond was not plowed out. So a caravan of cars...
Sat Feb 16
page
  On a glorious February morning with temperature at 15 degrees, fourteen hardy people made the 2.3 mile climb from the parking lot to Beaver Meadow Lodge. We...
Sat Mar 15
page
  [The other] Paul and I met the night before and stayed at Joe Dodge Lodge. On Saturday after breakfast, we met up with Dennis and Steve and began our trek...
Sun Mar 16
page
  Four families (6 adults, 6 Kids) set out to find the Hubbard Park Tower. Several of the kids had never been to the tower before so this was an exciting...
Sun Apr 13
page
  After a burst of warm spring weather, this Sunday's adventure was downright cold. Occasional snow showers made things feel wintery all over again. As we...
Sat Apr 26
page
  It was still muddy in the woods and streams were hard to cross, so we walked a loop beginning at Rumney School. We walked Story Road, West Hill Road, Macey...
Sun Apr 27
page
  We like the highland town of Peacham! For the fourth time, we led the 5.3 mile road walk that circles the postcard-perfect village, the historic cemetery, and...
Tue May 06
page
  Our annual work day in the Montpelier parks, co-led with Parks Director Geoffrey Beyer, took place on a beautiful May day. Not even an occasional black fly...
Sun May 11
page
  We put in at the dam and went up the Little River until it got too shallow. A great day and a great trip. George Plumb
Sat May 17
page
  The spring work hike to Bamforth Ridge was preceded by adopters inspection hikes, which produced detailed reports on the trail conditions and required work....
Sun May 18
page
  Three families participated. We found the trail entrance just behind the elementary school. After exploring the trails for about 45 minutes, mud prevented us...
Sat May 24
page
  We had eleven people out for the spring work hike at Smugglers' Notch. The weather cooperated - no rain, and fairly cool temps. Eric and Robert formed a...
Sat Jun 07
page
  In preparation for the renovation of Montclair Glen Lodge this fall, the Green Mountain Club organized an airlift and several work hikes. The base for the...
Sun Jun 08
page
  The Monroe Skyline is a long ridge walk. The ridge is densely wooded, the trail itself is challenging, and there are enough viewpoints especially at the...
Sat Jun 21
page
  Cancelled due to thunderstorm predictions Paul DeLuca
Sat Jun 21
page
  The announcement was .... Hike. Benton, NH. Moderate. 7.2 miles round trip. 6 hrs. Summer Solstice up Mt. Moosilauke via the Benton Trail. George Longenecker...
Sat Jul 05
page
  Three of us hiked the Chittenden Brook Trail which leads from the east side of Brandon Gap to the Long Trail. We had a beautiful sunny day without too many...
Sun Jul 13
page
  Want to paddle on the Waterbury Reservoir with no motor boats or jet skis buzzing around? You pick an overcast day with rain predicted. Five of us - Andrew,...
Sun Jul 20
page
  After two days of severe thunderstorm and flash flood warnings, we had more rain. Two callers from the NEK section came by to say they would wait for better...
Sat Aug 09
page
  Ed and myself ascended via the Falling Waters Trail. The lower third of the trail followed a steeply descending stream with a number of waterfalls for which...
Sun Aug 24
page
  The Green Mt. Trail is in the Town of Wallingford. It extends northerly from Forest Road 10 in Mt. Tabor to Little Rock Pond. Tom and I hiked it on a perfect...
Tue Aug 26
page
  If only every outing could be so pleasant. Why so positive? Let's start with the weather. After a summer of rain and cancellations, August 26 fell in what...
Mon Sep 01
page
  On Monday September 1, 2008 (Labor Day), a party of six hikers including leader Michael Chernick and Karen, Tamar, Elise, Jennifer, and Ann hiked to the...
Sun Sep 14
page
  Phyllis suggested we go up the Long Trail and do the steepest part as an uphill, rather than a downhill. It was a good suggestion. It was cool and cloudy. We...
Tue Sep 16
page
  Five people enjoyed the bike ride from Waitsfield to Warren. We took a different approach to getting to the higher ground, but decided that there is a hill any...
Sat Sep 20
page
  We began our journey at the Zealand parking area. Myself, Charlene, Eric, and Phyllis, met up with Natalie, a new addition to our White Mountain adventures. We...
Sun Sep 21
page
  The Young Adventurer's Club (YAC) began its autumn outings with a walk along the Porcupine, Fisher, and Deer trails in the East Montpelier Town Forest near...
Sat Oct 04
page
  On a cloudy and windy fall day, the three of us hiked to the Morse bench. We stopped by Montclair Glen Lodge to observe the construction. The lodge has been...
Sun Oct 05
page
  We had a nice cool fall day to climb Mt. Elmore. The trees had a lot of different colors. Noah, Leah, and Linnaea found good sticks to walk with. We saw a lot...
Sat Oct 11
page
  Some of our fall work hikes at Smugglers' Notch have been cancelled due to snow. Not this one. The fall colors were still on the trees, and many hikers were...
Sun Oct 12
page
  After a wet summer with less paddling than usual, Montpelier Section owners of kayaks and canoes had a perfect fall day on the Marshfield Reservoir. Andrew,...
Sat Oct 25
page
  Our fall work hike to Bamforth Ridge was supported by fine weather and NINE WORKERS! All four workers from the Smugglers' Notch work hike (John, Fred, Andrew...
Sun Oct 26
page
  Lucky for us, the rain had just cleared out of Groton State Forest when we arrived at the Osmore Pond parking lot. The sun was shining and the three families...
Sat Nov 08
page
  The forecast called for rain but it turned out to be a pleasantly warm, overcast morning. The group of 25 adventurers gathered at the frog pond in Hubbard...
Sat Nov 15
page
  It was the opening day of deer rifle season, so the original plan was to walk in Burlington. However, the weather was iffy and no one felt like driving to...
Sat Dec 06
page
  Someone should stop me from leading trips that pass bakeries! All went well to begin with. Ten of us met in the parking lot by the Elm Street swimming pool for...
Sat Dec 13
page
  This hike was originally planned for Groton State Forest, but the plan was changed because muzzleloading season was not yet over. Thomas, Steven and I hiked...
Sun Dec 14
page
  Last week the trails here were so icy that crampons were required on the flat. The substantial recent snow made walking conditions much better, and our crew of...
Contents of previous years
© 2018 Montpelier Section of The Green Mountain Club, Inc.     Top     Tue 06 November 2018 Tue, 06 Nov 2018 20:55:18 -0500