Green Mountain Club
Montpelier Section

Reports for events in 2007

Date Report? Photos? Description of the event
Sat Jan 06
page
  The second Young Adventurers Club event was a total hit. An eager crowd of 25 people of varying sizes braved the ludicrous 50 degree temperatures for a walk...
Sun Jan 07
page
  Chickering Bog is a 129 acre preserve of The Nature Conservancy, with access off Lightning Ridge Road in Calais. (112 acres owned by TNC, with a conservation...
Sat Jan 20
page
  It was a cold and blustery day, but ten of us came out to hike Spruce Mountain. It had snowed 6-8 inches the night before and the trail had not been broken. ...
Sun Jan 21
page
  (no text provided) Michael Chernick Larger photos on Facebook Our disclaimer The traditional VIEW FROM THE BEAVER POND (Photos by Ken) Original...
Sun Jan 28
page
  With the walk listed as "call leader for start time", we knew when everyone had gathered at MHS and were able to leave there without delay. Temperature was...
Sun Feb 04
page
  It was a crisp cold day. The snow conditions were good considering we had not had much snow fall this year. There was some fresh snow from the day before...
Sun Feb 11
page
  text Michael Chernick and Ken Hertz Breaking trail in virgin snow (Photos by Ken) Paul and Jeff Descending - Michael and Fred
Sun Feb 18
page
  Thanks to the wonderfully humungous Valentine's Day storm which dumped 2-4 feet of snow on our heads, there was plenty of friendly snow for the day's...
Sat Feb 24
page
  The ski at Craftsbury Ski Touring Center was just a great day out. The temperature and snow conditions were perfect for X-C skiing. Everyone was eager to ski...
Sun Feb 25
page
  Advertised as easy, 5 miles, I decided after the 30-inch Valentine's Day snowstorm to emphasize easy over 5 miles and changed the direction of our walk. As...
Sat Mar 03
page
  The weather can sure change the outcome of any trip in the White Mountains. The Original plan of summitting the Wildcats via the Polecat ski trail and...
Sun Mar 18
page
  The weather once again posed a challenge. A foot of fresh snow fell on Friday night so the trip was pushed to Sunday. Myself, Ed, and Dennis decided to give...
Sun Mar 18
page
  This was a true winter wonder. Despite temps in the 50s midweek, a foot of new snow blanketed the woods Sunday morning, with a light breeze, more falling...
Sat Mar 24
page
  It was spring conditions with blue sky when we snowshoed from the Middlesex Trailhead for Mt. Hunger to the summit of White Rocks. In the summer, the trail...
Sun Mar 25
page
  The first recorded outing of our section was a Sugar on Snow party at this location. For our fiftieth anniversary celebration some 25 people participated in a...
Sat Mar 31
page
  The third time was a charm! The trip that had been cursed and cancelled twice by bad weather, happened on a picture perfect, endless viewing, Spring day. ...
Sun Apr 01
page
  Today's adventure had been scheduled for Smugglers' Notch, but warm temperatures causing rapid snow melting and gloopy footing made us change our plans. ...
Sat Apr 07
page
  We arrived early at the Hancock Notch Trailhead on the Kancamagus Highway. This trailhead is at the top of a hairpin turn coming out of Lincoln. We parked at...
Sat Apr 21
page
  A large crew of 12 adults and 11 kids (ranging in age from 9 months to 5 years) headed off to Chickering bog in search of swamp monsters. The trail, which...
Sun May 06
page
  9 Children ages 15 months - 5 years and 7 adults participated in this outing. We parked at the parking lot next to Berlin Pond right by the interstate and...
Sat May 12
page
  Nine able cyclists set off from Montpelier High School on this slightly cool but fine May morning. Enroute to Northfield, a malfunctioning front derailleur...
Sat May 19
page
  Six people showed up for our first scheduled work hike of the year - John B, Allen J, Andrew and Reidun N, Geoff C and Ken. Earlier this month an inspection...
Sat May 19
page
  Threats of infernal drizzle scared off other folks, but intrepid Ben and Linnaea found some time in their busy napping schedules to get out and explore the...
Sat May 26
page
  We had perfect weather for our spring work hike at Smugglers' Notch. Nine people gathered at the picnic area near Barnes Camp Two drove up to the Notch and...
Sat May 26
page
  Well, it was not meant to be. The late winter snow that made for great winter snow shoeing is still there. Isolation requires 5 stream crossing that were...
Sat Jun 02
page
  Today's adventure began a smidge threatening. Dark clouds loomed and a forecast for intermittent rain made us wary. We met at the end of Eagle Ledge Road on...
Sat Jun 16
page
  This rather long hike was advertised as "call leader for starting time," but only Michael C and one lady from Burlington called, and only Michael showed up....
Sat Jun 16
page
  I had a good turnout for what some consider to be the most dreaded hike of a 48-4k series. Owls Head is a long walk in the woods. 18.6 miles (round trip) to...
Sat Jun 23
page
  YAC's trip to Moss Glen Falls fell on a beautiful summer morning with temps in the 70s, blue skies, and big puffy white clouds. We saw lots of dragonflies...
Sun Jun 24
page
  On a gorgeous day, Jack Lutz of the Burlington Section and I hiked up the Gore Mountain Trail in Avery's Gore. There were a number of large and recent...
Sun Jul 01
page
  Three people joined me for this hike: Steve L, Angie G, and Murphy B (no, not Brown.) Two additional people called but did not appear. The weather was cool...
Sun Jul 01
page
  We made final assembly of our group of 8 at the Signal Ridge parking area off Sawyer River Road. The bottom section of the trail is a walk in the woods. There...
Sun Jul 22
page
  The East Montpelier Trail is a long-term plan for a trail through East Montpelier, connecting on one side to Montpelier's North Branch Park and on the other to...
Sun Jul 22
page
  We decided to do a totally different approach to Chocorua as originally planned. At Dennis' suggestion, we used The Champney Falls trail which eliminated...
Sun Jul 29
page
  What a fabulous day to be outdoors! Bright and sunny after several days of rain, with moderate summer temperatures. We were surprised to meet only one other...
Tue Jul 31
page
  We met at the Winter Street gate to Hubbard Park at 11:30 and hiked to the seven fireplaces for a spirited lunch and conversation. We were fortunate to find a...
Sun Aug 05
page
  Finally we were lucky, after having cancelled several trips due to miserable weather or threatening forecasts. It was a splendid summer day! Bob L., Bob S.,...
Sat Aug 18
page
  Dennis P, Carol C, and Myself met at the Nineteen Mile Brook Trailhead. We spotted a car there and traveled to the Glen Ellis Falls trailhead, one half mile...
Sun Aug 19
page
  It was a beautiful fall day, cool dry air with high temperature near 60. Think late September or any time in October. August 19! Oh well. Michael and Ken...
Sat Sep 01
page
  Our second attempt at this peak was a much more pleasurable experience. The stream crossings were easy and the weather made for a good viewing experience atop...
Thu Sep 13
page
  The day was perfect for biking. It was cool but sunny most of the time we were out. Eight people biked from Montpelier to the Red Kettle Restaurant in...
Sat Sep 22
page
  The early fall day was a delight, and the relaxed pace make the hike more enjoyable. We had time to enjoy mature at its best, and engage in interesting...
Sun Sep 23
page
  A glorious early autumn day lured 32 intrepid young adventurers and parents to Bald Hill in Plainfield on Sunday, September 23. After a brief welcome and...
Sat Sep 29
page
  One constant in the White Mountains is that you can never predict the weather and it changes at any given moment. Our group of 5 including 2 new additions,...
Sat Oct 06
page
  The day was sunny and pleasant when we left the MHS parking lot to drive to Johnson and the start of our bike ride. We wondered where all the GMCers were on...
Sat Oct 13
page
  This fall was very dry, and then the rains came. I was afraid that we would be washed out - or (as has been the case for several years) snowed out. But this...
Sun Oct 21
page
  We were fortunate to have chosen the one date with sunshine during a succession of cold, wet, and windy days. Ten hikers enjoyed the opportunity to walk south...
Sat Oct 27
page
  Wow! Nine people for a work hike in the rain. And three more planning to go in a day or two under drier conditions. Attending were John B, Fred J, Allen J,...
Sun Oct 28
page
  14 folks trekked on the newly rebuilt Mallory Brook Trail in East Montpelier. We especially appreciated the lovely bridge across the brook. Many of our smaller...
Sat Nov 03
page
  November offers some great outdoor opportunities with good footing and expansive views without the leaves on the trees. This was one of those days. Only the...
Sun Nov 04
page
  If you ever want to get out of the green tunnel, otherwise known as the Long Trail, Shelburne Farms is a good alternative. (From May to October, there is a...
Sat Nov 10
page
  Ann, Joann, Jack and I walked the roads of Brookfield, this being the first day of deer hunting. As we got out of the cars at Pond Village we were greeted by...
Sun Nov 18
page
  It was a great cool sunny day to have a hiking adventure in North Branch Park. It took us a little while to get going because the pool was so tempting, and...
Sat Dec 08
page
  This was a repeat of last winter's snowshoe ( Feb 25) - with a different set of people, an unexpected change to the trail, and quite a varied set of weather...
Sat Dec 15
page
  We had a fine day for this short outing, a snowshoe trip along the Long Trail from River Road to the Notte Bench at Duxbury Window. There was fresh snow on top...
Sat Dec 22
page
  Carol and I met at The Crouching Lion winter parking lot at 9:30. It was a cloudy but not overly cold day. The recent snow from Christmas on the trail was only...
Sat Dec 29
page
  Seven of us snowshoed around Kettle Pond. It was a mild winter's day with a couple of feet of snow on the ground. Fortunately it held us up so we only had to...
Reports from previous years
© 2018 Montpelier Section of The Green Mountain Club, Inc.     Top    Sun 16 September 2018