Green Mountain Club
Montpelier Section

Reports for events in 2005

Date Report? Photos? Description of the event
Sat Jan 01
page
  I was pleased that Bob C traveled all the way from Swanton for the first of the 50/50 outings. Bob, Bill C, Charlene B, and Eric Y joined me for the launch of...
Sun Jan 02
page
  We had an interesting and diverse group this day: Dave B and Carol D, section members; Patrick B, former member of the Vt National Guard Mountain Division...
Sat Jan 15
page
  The skimpy amount of snowfall this winter didn't affect the mood of the party of snowshoers. Paul, Matt, Ed and I enjoyed the bright sunshine, the lack of...
Sat Jan 15
page
  A X-C skier's dream. A crisp, sunny day with about 5" of powder on some of the side trails that we skied on. The trees were ladened with snow and the water...
Sat Jan 22
page
  Saturday, January 22, 2005 started out as very cold at -17 degrees in Montpelier at 6 am; by the time we reached the base lodge at Mad River Glen Ski Area...
Sun Jan 23
page
  No show. Most likely due to the extreme cold on morning of the trip. The sky was blue and ground conditions would have been favorable. Alas! Nancy Schulz
Mon Jan 24
page
  It was a delightful night to be out: approximately 20 degrees and calm. I was surprised, therefore, that this trip (50/50 #4) didn't attract a larger crowd....
Sat Jan 29
page
  On a bright winter's day four of us hiked through Groton State Forest. There was just enough snow to use snowshoes and the 20 degree temperature seemed just...
Sat Jan 29
page
  After the recent wave of extreme cold, I hoped that today's forecast would draw people out. It was a sunny, calm day with temperatures predicted to rise above...
Tue Feb 01
page
  Nine of us showed up to ski at our local ski touring center where the snow cover was moderate and the trails relatively hard. But we had a good time anyway. ...
Sat Feb 05
page
  Perhaps due to the long stretch of snowless days, Brian M was the only skier to join me on this sunny, calm, warm, wonderful day. The Eagle Ledge loop...
Sun Feb 06
page
  February 6, 2005 Ski Trip to Hazen's Notch Association It had long been a goal of mine to ski at the Hazen's Notch Association. Over the years I had heard...
Sun Feb 06
page
  Monroe, Alpine, and Long Trails This was early spring hiking at its best! The snow was solid and compact and offered good traction, it was clear, sunny,...
Mon Feb 07
page
  A fading sun glittered off low-hanging clouds and the peaks surrounding Nebraska Notch as our party of five departed from the Cottonbook parking lot for a...
Sat Feb 12
page
  What a treat to ski in fresh, deep powder after such a long drought! Thursday's storm which left about 7 inches in downtown Montpelier was most welcome!...
Sun Feb 13
page
  It was a glorious day. Mother Nature gave us a good dumping of snow during the week which made for great skiing - the best of the season. It was a blue wax...
Sat Feb 19
page
  Lack of fresh snow prompted me to convert this ski trip to a snowshoe. Ruth H, Charlene B and I followed my usual loop in reverse. We ascended Hedgehog Hill...
Sun Feb 20
page
  Butler Lodge trail, Long Trail to Forehead, return on Wampahoofus Paul D and I waited at the trailhead until about 8:45, but no one showed up. Michael C...
Mon Feb 21
page
  This mystery snowshoe (#9 in the 50/50 series) attracted a mix of GMC Montpelier Section regulars and new faces. Thomas W and Allen J were joined by a couple...
Sat Feb 26
page
  The Woodward Mountain trip was once again blessed with a perfect winter day. Brilliant sunshine, no wind, a packed surface with reasonably fresh powder, and...
Tue Mar 01
page
  No show. Several factors may be the cause. It was Town Meeting Day - and most folks either don't have it off or - they attend their town meeting. It was also...
Sat Mar 05
page
  Steve L joined me for one of my favorite winter outings - the ski into Beaver Meadow Lodge the long way (using VAST and Burling trails.) The presence of...
Sat Mar 05
page
  I was glad that I had arranged good weather for this outing. It was sunny but not too warm, and snow conditions were very good. There were 8 of us - some had...
Sun Mar 06
page
  Jill and Dave attended this experimental first attempt at a workshop for improving winter hiking skills. We practiced using poles as spikes for very steep...
Sat Mar 19
page
  Originally advertised as a ski in Groton State Forest, this outing was changed to a snowshoe at App Gap due to the lack of fresh snow. Steve L and I enjoyed...
Sat Mar 19
page
  Clare B., Ed L, Paul D, & Frank D. snowshoed up the Sterling Pond Trail (formerly a section of the Long Trail) to Sterling Pond & Watson Camp. It was a...
Sun Mar 20
page
  March 20, 2005 Montpelier Parks Ski, Snowshoe & Potluck Supper A warm day with good snow cover tempted five snowshoers and one skier out for a foray in...
Wed Mar 23
page
  I was delighted that Paul Wallace-Brodeur came out of "GMC retirement" to join me on this evening outing in North Branch Park. (I had seen his name on a list...
Sun Mar 27
page
  The ten-day forecast had indicated that Easter Sunday would be cool and wet, but as the week progressed the forecast improved. We actually had a bright...
Sat Apr 02
page
  On April 2, 2005, despite the dismal rainy weather, 26 people gathered at the Morse Farm for a Sugar on Snow party to celebrate the 50th anniversary of the...
Sun Apr 03
page
  No show - most likely due to the arrival of warm weather in recent weeks, soggy ground conditions, rain the day before and forecast of rain the day of the...
Sun Apr 03
page
  As always, a very rewarding location for an easy road walk. Reidun and Andrew Nuquist
Sat Apr 09
page
  No show. The arrival of warm weather, rain, and the lack of snow for the past month killed any interest in this trip. I was prepared to offer a hilly road...
Sun Apr 10
page
  Steve Lightholder substituted for the scheduled trip leader, Michael Chernick. It was a very pleasant Spring day with temperatures in the low 60s and only a...
Tue Apr 12
page
  This trip was originally listed as a Mystery Outing. I received four calls about this outing. None of the callers wanted to do a bike ride of approximately...
Thu Apr 14
page
  For a change, we had picked a perfect day for our work day in the Montpelier parks. The sun was shining, the birds were singing, and the brooks were gurgling....
Sat Apr 16
page
  A beautiful Spring day brought forth a bevy of boats. Eight paddlers entered the waters of Shelburne Pond at about 11:30 A.M. The sky was clear, the gentle...
Sun Apr 17
page
  A very warm April afternoon guaranteed that today's walk in Washington would provide challenging ground conditions. We encountered snow, ice, and lots of mud...
Sun Apr 17
page
  Cancelled due to no-shows. Bikers may have thought this was too far away for a short, early-in-the-season ride. We biked on out own out of Montpelier...
Sat Apr 23
page
  No show. A forecast of rain for Saturday combined with the reality of a light rain falling on Saturday combined to deter any bicyclists who might have come on...
Sun May 01
page
  Prior to the date of this outing, I had heard that the water level in the pond was exceptionally high and that, for this reason, it would be possible to...
Thu May 05
page
  I hadn't seen Steve L since he returned from his Spring AT trek in Pennsylvania and Maryland, so I was happy to have his company on the Park to Park loop....
Fri May 06
page
  We all (Jill A, Ken H, Bill C, and Duncan W) met at the trail head on the River Road, except for a trail adoptee (Steve T) who had started earlier in the...
Sat May 07
page
  We left from Montpelier with only three of us (Duncan W, Rick M and Michael C), so I thought it would be a quick work hike. At the notch we met two more...
Sat May 14
page
  A dubious forecast turned out to be dry except for a few raindrops on the way home. A brunch order error brought two meals for the price of one. A tough...
Sat May 21
page
  We were fortunate to have a clear day even if it was chilly and a little windy. After the fifty mile drive, we arrived at Black River put in some 4 miles...
Sun May 22
page
  The forecast wasn't good so I was surprised that two people were interested in risking a 40 mile ride. Three of us set off under threatening skies. In less...
Sun May 22
page
  Ten hardy volunteers braved a daylong drizzle and cool weather to begin site preparation for the Sterling Pond Shelter on Sunday, May 22, 2005. From the...
Sat May 28
page
  A slight increase in the temperature was all that was needed to bring out the black flies. Our party of five kayakers arrived at Green River Reservoir to...
Sun May 29
page
  A forecast of "likely showers with possible thunderstorms and hail region-wide" probably was responsible for today's "no shows." All the cool and threatening...
Mon May 30
page
  No one showed up, so the hike was cancelled. One person had called. The weather was the usual 20-40 percent chance of rain, with temperatures around 60. ...
Thu Jun 02
page
  This first clinic (in a series of four) was great fun. The night was warm and clear and full of the scent of flowers. Four eager cyclists gathered to hear...
Sat Jun 04
page
  After a difficult time with our rendezvous, due to the confusing fact that there are two parking lots within a mile of each other on Route 4, we finally did...
Sat Jun 04
page
  Get text from Richard Richard Hoffman
Tue Jun 07
page
  The day of our bike ride was sunny and warm with a breeze that saved us from being too warm. We started the ride with one person having a flat tire. That was...
Thu Jun 09
page
  Four of us were eager to do the ride. Two of us met at the high school. Finally there was just rain, thunder and lightening who went out on the route. Oh...
Sun Jun 12
page
  On the way to the start of our hike, we were fortunate enough to see a moose cross Route 125. Kathy drove us to the start of the hike, and, bless her soul,...
Sun Jun 12
page
  Our group of five paddlers gathered near the dam of Waterbury Reservoir on a steamy Sunday morning. There was a brief talk about the history and the partial...
Thu Jun 16
page
  A rain-free window in an otherwise rainy week allowed this clinic and bike ride to happen. Three cyclists (who were eager to learn how to create and...
Sun Jun 19
page
  After an extended spell of hot and humid or rainy days, I felt very lucky to have the day nature provided for this 12 1/2 mile hike. A cool, dry, overcast...
Sun Jun 19
page
  After a bunch of rain,dreary weather the sun finally shone on Caspian Lake and six of us, all in kayaks,paddled the circumference of the lake, stopping to...
Tue Jun 21
page
  Kimber, Lynne, Kay, Thomas, & Ed reached the summit of Mt Hunger via the Waterbury Center trail in time for the sunset. The hike up was hot, humid, and buggy,...
Sat Jun 25
page
  Route: Up the Hedgehog Brook Trail to the LT, then north over Mt Ethan Allen and on to Montclair Glen Shelter, then down the Dean Trail to Couching Lion Farm....
Sun Jun 26
page
  The combination of a brutally hot day of 90+ -degree weather in combination with an too easy to miss trailhead made for a...
Sun Jun 26
page
  Eight people showed up on a 3-H day to hike from Lincoln Gap south to Battell Shelter. It is normally an easy hike as far as LT hikes go, but in the heat the...
Thu Jun 30
page
  A pleasant Thursday evening respite from the heat through the woods and meadows from the Montpelier Recreation Field and back. Michael Chernick
Sat Jul 02
page
  No shows for this bike ride. The weather was good and I had one call from someone who didn't have a bike and who wouldn't have a rental bike by the meeting...
Sat Jul 02
page
  Trip did not occur as no one but leader appeared at meeting point in Montpelier. Michael Chernick
Mon Jul 04
page
  Wind, wind, wind. This is the mantra of Dead Creek. If you paddle there, you've got to expect the wind to be blowing hard. Our paddle on July 4 was no...
Thu Jul 07
page
  I was fortunate to have a writer from the Montpelier Bridge present for this clinic. The Bridge had agreed to give some exposure to the 50/50 initiative - ...
Sat Jul 09
page
  The day started out in heavy rain, which never ended thanks to the remains of hurricane "Cindy", but that did not stop the first official work hike for the...
Sun Jul 10
page
  What a classic Vermont summer day we had for this outing: sunny, clear, hot but not humid. Six of us car-caravanned to Peacham where we had lunch on the...
Sat Jul 16
page
  A great day! The threat of the remnants of the hurricane bringing rain was just that, a threat. A hot day, but not too humid. Ed L. and myself had a...
Sun Jul 17
page
  The weather forecast called for showers and a chance of thunderstorms. We got a bit of drizzle and no hint of thunder. We did have warm (80 degree)...
Sat Jul 23
page
  We had considered leaving late, since we were a small group with a fast pace, and we figured we'd cover Saturday's 10.6 miles easily in 5-6 hours; being the...
Sat Jul 23
page
  We lucked out this time and had beautiful weather this Saturday! Again we had great attendance with 19 total volunteers over the entire day. We moved 17...
Thu Jul 28
page
  When I arrived to lead the walk around Berlin Pond, there was only one other woman there to do the walk. I discovered that she lived not too far from me even...
Sat Jul 30
page
  Twas a beautiful summer day with temperature in the 70s. We were all surprised that the entrance and boat rental fees had been waived that day because...
Sun Jul 31
page
  This was the 8th Edition of this trip, run counterclockwise for the second year. It never gets boring, since there is always a new way to go up, down, and...
Sun Jul 31
page
  Two cars with a total of five hikers left Montpelier to rendezvous with another hiker at the trailhead for Mt. Norris. The day was sunny and hot but not...
Tue Aug 02
page
  The plan was for Sally S, Steve L, Nancy and Fred J to meet in Jackman, Maine. After leaving a car at the Attean Pond takeout, we proceeded to Holeb Pond. ...
Thu Aug 04
page
  The shade of the Recreation Field tent was welcome as I gave tonight's clinic on "Simple Solutions to Common Bicycle Problems." Despite the hot, humid...
Sat Aug 06
page
  Placeholder Duncan Wilkie
Thu Aug 11
page
  Having known about the Mad River Path for many years, I decided to lead a walk on it to guarantee that I would indeed explore it. What a wonderful path it...
Sat Aug 13
page
  Placeholder Leader
Tue Aug 16
page
  As advertised, a flat-water paddle from Camp Kill Kare around Woods and Burton Islands on a beautiful summer day. We ate lunch on Woods Island, and cooled off...
Sat Aug 20
page
  Ann was unable to participate in the walk up Mt. Hunger, and those that did go reported that blueberries were absent. Ann Burcroff Kay and Thomas with...
Sun Aug 21
page
  This trip was a challenging one. The trip up the Great Gulf starts on a suspended walking bridge that really sways. The trail meets with the Dolly Copp...
Sat Aug 27
page
  We ascended via Falling Waters Trail. The lower third of the trail followed a steeply descending stream with a number of waterfalls for which the trail is ...
Sun Aug 28
page
  Rain. No shows. Cancelled Reidun Nuquist
Sun Aug 28
page
  The heavy weather Sunday morning discouraged a few people who had called about this trip, but two New York ladies who were spending the week in Waitsfield...
Mon Sep 05
page
  Our trip started with a surprise rain storm that the weather forecast did not predict. The trail ascends with 3 crossings of the Little River. In high...
Sun Sep 11
page
  It was another good turnout and a wonderful day. ED , Michael, myself, Charlene, Eric, Karen, Phyllis, and Debbie met up with our friends "Team Pokey" who...
Sun Sep 18
page
  The weather forecast called for a 30 percent chance of rain, but did not mention the almost constant drizzle that we encountered throughout the day. Only upon...
Thu Sep 22
page
  This late afternoon hike began in summer and ended in the fall. No, not a long hike but the autumnal equinox occurred as six of us walked through the ...
Sat Sep 24
page
  The trip began on sunny , bright, picture perfect fall day. We drove directly to the Ammonoosuc trailhead, near the Cog RR base station, which is where we...
Sun Oct 02
page
  This was an unusual "hike": No hills, no specified goal, just a rather informal stroll along a pretty creek valley in the terrain exposed by the draining...
Mon Oct 10
page
  With five late-morning cancellations due to gloomy skies, we were down to six paddlers for the foliage season trip to Green River Reservoir. All of us were...
Sun Oct 16
page
  Two people called about the hike, and both showed up - despite a rather dreary weather forecast. The participants were Lynda H from Orwell, Mary K from South...
Sat Oct 22
page
  At the suggestion of Paul D from the Burlington Section, we did this trip in reverse of our original plan of going up Greeley Ponds to the Osceola trail...
Sun Oct 23
page
  This was going to be a joint outing with the Killington Section, with David Wright, Long Trail Lodge historian from Middletown Springs as our guide. The trip...
Sun Oct 30
page
  On Halloween eve, three cyclists and I set out from the Rec Field parking lot in Montpelier. The goad was to bike past as many cemeteries as possible in...
Sun Oct 30
page
  Sue, Kim, Maureen, and Paul and I enjoyed this easy hike to the old cabin foundation just under the summit on a sunny, crisp fall day. There was enough snow...
Fri Nov 11
page
  The destination for this mystery hike was the Bamforth Ridge Trail. Steve L and I decided to take the trail to the point just below where it climbed steeply...
Sat Nov 12
page
  On this dirt road loop, we were four women and a dog. All of us wore some red and/or orange as this was the first day of rifle season. We parked at the end...
Sat Nov 12
page
  Mount Moosilauke, 4802' We began our trip at the base of the Dartmouth Ravine Lodge on the southern flank of the mountain utilizing the Gorge Brook Trail. ...
Sat Nov 19
page
  The trip had been listed as a road walk in the Connecticut Valley. When no inquiries arrived, Steve L and I opted to do a walk closer to home. We did a...
Fri Nov 25
page
  The snow that fell on Thanksgiving eve and Thanksgiving day added extra beauty to an already scenic area. Robert L, Anne F, and I began our afternoon by...
Sun Dec 04
page
  Ken was scheduled to lead this hike, but he had to call in an expert substitute, Mary Stone, one of the board members of East Montpelier Trails, Inc. About...
Sat Dec 10
page
  Nine of us hiked up the Davis Neighborhood Trail, a side trail to the LT in Johnson, to Corliss Camp. Half the group chose to use snowshoes, the other half...
Contents of previous years
© 2018 Montpelier Section of The Green Mountain Club, Inc.     Top     Wed 14 November 2018 Wed, 14 Nov 2018 20:55:12 -0500