Green Mountain Club
Montpelier Section

Reports for events in 2004

Date Report? Photos? Description of the event
Sat Jan 03
page
  A forecast of rain dampened the enthusiasm of those who called to enquire about this "Saturday Snow Surprise". The rain ended in the morning, leaving...
Sat Jan 17
page
  The Trapp Family Lodge was the destination I selected for this mystery snow surprise. I had noticed that members of the Sierra Club could ski on this...
Wed Jan 21
page
  The trip was cancelled because of very cold weather and inquiries from only two people that were possibly interested in doing the trip. Mary Garcia
Sun Jan 25
page
  On January 25, 2004, John G., Paul D., Jay M., and I hiked up the Long Trail from Rt 108 to the Chin on Mt. Mansfield. This usually difficult route was...
Tue Jan 27
page
  What good timing. Seven skiers enjoyed almost balmy temperatures for our afternoon exploration of the new trails across from Morse Farm. After many days of...
Sat Jan 31
page
  In the face of a howling wind and zero degree temperature we set off up the unplowed Route 108 into the Notch. Who should we meet coming out but Ken H and his...
Sun Feb 01
page
  With sunshine and food, fun things happen. Following a month of bitterly cold days, Februarys first day blessed us with sunshine and mild temperatures (in the...
Sat Feb 07
page
  It was a beautiful winter day with warm temperatures and great skiing conditions. We skied Race Loop 5.5k in the morning and Ruthie's Run and Ruthie's Run...
Sun Feb 08
page
  Sunday February 8, 2004 Cross-Country Ski Stowe Mtn Resort Touring Center Leader: Andrew Nuquist Slow down the wind, and it would have been a perfect day; new...
Sat Feb 14
page
  I was asked to be the substitute leader on this mystery ski. Fortunately, the weather gods blessed the day with temperatures in the high 20s and no wind. Kay...
Sat Feb 21
page
  Saturday February 21, 2004 Snowshoe Mansfield Forehead via Butler Lodge Trail Wampahoofus Leader: Ed Loewenton Location: Mount Mansfield - Butler Lodge Trail...
Sun Feb 22
page
  Everyone looks forward to the annual ski and dinner at Highland Lodge. Unlike some other years, the weather cooperated fully. There was new snow and the...
Sat Feb 28
page
  Better weather than what we had on this outing is hard to find. Joanne R, Thomas W, Kay M, and I were fortunate to have brilliant sunshine throughout our...
Sun Feb 29
page
  Sunday February 29, 2004 Cross-Country Ski Trapp Family Lodge Ski Center Leader: Marilyn and Bob Wilson Sunday, February 29, '04 was a beautiful, sunny, warm...
Sat Mar 06
page
  The lack of snow for many weeks, the recent warm weather and rain created ground conditions that were poor for back country skiing. The trips location was...
Sat Mar 20
page
  Todays trip had been scheduled originally for Little River State Park but lack of snow in recent weeks combined with warm temperatures made that destination a...
Sat Mar 27
page
  Saturday morning dawned dark and misty. Who would want to go up the mountain with me on a day like that? Nancy S, thats who. So off we went up the toll road....
Sun Mar 28
page
  A total of seven people (but no dogs) participated in this hike. We enjoyed an absolutely gorgeous, clear spring day, with temperatures approaching 60 degrees....
Sat Apr 10
page
  This was a day in Groton State Forest that couldn't decide whether to be winter or spring, and accordingly we couldn't decide whether to wear snowshoes or...
Sun Apr 11
page
  Eight people participated in this walk along the Stowe Rec Path. We started at the parking lot on Luce Hill Road and walked down to the Village, where we...
Sat Apr 17
page
  This ride was pretty well attended [9 people, including trip leader.] Temperatures were in the 60s. Several participants expressed that since it was their...
Sun Apr 18
page
  [13 people plus 2 dogs!] We were newcomers to Fuller Hill in Warren, and were impressed with the sweeping and constantly changing views. In the foreground were...
Sat Apr 24
page
  Ten of us gathered on a cool and windy "Spring" day to work on the East Montpelier trail South of Templeton Road. This middle section of the trail goes South...
Sat May 01
page
  It was almost 80 degrees on May 1 when eight GMCers walked on roads in Chelsea. We left the South Common, walked up Maple Avenue to the snow machine trail and...
Sun May 02
page
  Wildflower hike on Snake Mountain in Addison,VT: We hit it just right the best display of Trillium wild flowers I have ever seen in the last 10 years! The...
Thu May 06
page
  This was our third annual work day for the Montpelier parks, and for the first time the sun was shining. It was a beautiful, warm spring day. We met Geoff...
Sat May 15
page
  This is the Spring work hike up Camels Hump for the Section. We had a great turnout of 13 people! Andy and Reidun had done a walk-through before hand, so we...
Sun May 16
page
  This hike was to look for flowers at the top of Lincoln Gap, where we found an unique colored Trillium which we named a special specie name in honor of the...
Sat May 22
page
  This was the Section's Spring work hike in Smuggler's Notch. While waiting at the Montpelier High School parking lot the rain came down hard and the few hardy...
Sat May 29
page
  When Rick M's helmet blew down the driveway at Montpelier High School, we got a glimpse of what we would be facing throughout the day. Indeed, the winds were...
Mon May 31
page
  This trip is ride number 30, page 165, from the 1997 edition of Short Bike Rides in Vermont by Sandy Duling. Rural, scenic landscape and a beautiful day. Well...
Sat Jun 05
page
  Despite forecasts of rain for both days, three of us journeyed to North Adams, MA for the AT approach to the LT, which begins along city streets. It felt...
Sat Jun 05
page
  An absolutely perfect day for outdoor pursuits meant that Priscilla C, Steve L, and I had great conditions for the bike ride to Warren. Priscilla met me at...
Sun Jun 06
page
  This special work hike was for the Section to work on Sterling Pond Shelter and surroundings. We had 10 regular Section members, two from the GMC Headquarters...
Mon Jun 07
page
  Fourteen of us gathered for a walk on the trails and dirt roads of East Montpelier. The weather was lovely. Most of the group was women and nearly half the...
Sun Jun 13
page
  Mary Slater is a hero! On this sparsely attended (2 of us including the leader) bike ride from Plainfield village to Orange and back, the leader suffered a...
Mon Jun 14
page
  Four women and three men decided to spend a warm June evening traipsing around Montpelier and East Montpelier with me. The eight of us gathered at the base of...
Sat Jun 19
page
  Ken, Charlene and Hal met at MHS and drove down to Appalachian Gap. Several people who had called to express interest in the trip did not show up, apparently...
Sat Jun 19
page
  Six bike riders left the Grand Union in Hardwick to bike through Greensboro, East Craftsbury and return to Hardwick. Rain was predicted, but the weather seemed...
Sun Jun 20
page
  A truly beautiful day in Smuggler's Notch!! Two members met the leader at the height-of-land and proceeded to repair, reconstruct, and generally improve the...
Mon Jun 21
page
  One veteran, one newcomer and I headed up the Middlesex Trail at 5:30 P.M. (It's interesting to be able to start a trip at a time that would be out of the...
Sat Jun 26
page
  Time: 9 hours Paul D. and I did the Mansfield Rock Circuit in chilly weather that threatened rain. We stayed dry, and toward mid-afternoon, started seeing...
Sun Jun 27
page
  Eight of us paddled the circumference of Caspian Lake. We had the whole lake pretty much to ourselves, except for a couple of loons and a mother merganser and...
Mon Jun 28
page
  I was surprised by the amount of interest in this trip. Nine hikers showed up at the meeting place and many are new to the GMC. Apparently, the combination of...
Sun Jul 04
page
  On a warm July Sunday, six of us a walked/waded in the Waterbury Reservoir instead of attending the Moscow July 4th parade. We started from what was once the...
Sat Jul 10
page
  Three of us completed this difficult 24-mile backpacking trip. At the meeting spot, a strikingly beautiful scarlet tanager greeted us. We climbed Stratton...
Sat Jul 10
page
  We put into the Otter Creek below the falls at Vergennes: nine people and one dog in eight boats. We paddled past good-sized sailboats tied up in the village,...
Sun Jul 11
page
  A bright, pleasantly warm summer day was the backdrop for this ride. Six cyclists departed from Route 100 in Duxbury - four via the dirt of River Road and two...
Mon Jul 12
page
  Rain threatened -- and then arrived -- as eight of us gathered in Elmore State Park. All participants wanted to forge ahead. A nice rain fell throughout the...
Sat Jul 17
page
  This was the third year for the Elmore Extravaganza. And once again rain threatened but didn't fall during any stages of the weekend. Ruck M and Jill A biked...
Mon Jul 19
page
  Very enjoyable trip. Let's do it again next year! George Plumb
Sat Jul 24
page
  Despite delightful temperatures and a drop in humidity, this ride attracted no participants. The fact the section offered five outings this weekend was...
Sat Jul 24
page
  There were only three of us to do this short loop in East Montpelier. It was a beautiful day for biking. We started at the East Montpelier Elementary School...
Sun Jul 25
page
  A fine day for being outdoors! The rain took a break, and the temperature range was a comfortable 65-70. The four of us (Mary from Burlington, Mary from...
Sun Jul 25
page
  Three Section members and one non-member participated. The Route was: Pinkham visitor center to Summit via Tuckerman, Huntington Ravine, Alpine Garden, Lions...
Sat Jul 31
page
  Six of us walked the North Branch Nature Trails with naturalist Susan Sawyer. Undeterred by early morning showers, overcast skies and high humidity, we learned...
Sat Jul 31
page
  Six of us walked the North Branch Nature Trails with naturalist Susan Sawyer. Undeterred by early morning showers, overcast skies and high humidity, we learned...
Mon Aug 02
page
  This Monday hike started at the Long Trail parking area on Duxbury Road as part of a pleasant summer afternoon. Four of us, and one dog, dissipated some...
Sat Aug 07
page
  August 7, 2004 Hike - Groton State Forest This was a day in which the weather steadily improved, contrary to the weather forecast. Twelve hikers set out...
Mon Aug 09
page
  Ten people and one dog participated in the walk around Berlin Pond. After much rain, threats of rain and unseasonably cool weather, it was great to have a day...
Mon Aug 09
page
  Monday, August 9th The group, consisting of Sally S., her son John S., Steve L., Edward K., Fred and Nancy J., met at noon at the Wayside Picnic Area, 5 miles...
Sat Aug 14
page
  The weather gods smiled on us this day, one of the few rain-free days of early August. The four of us drove from the MHS parking lot to Plainfield and then out...
Sat Aug 14
page
  We lucked out with a fine summer day for a bike ride. Ten of us had similar thoughts and met at the green in Bristol. After a group photo we set off, soon...
Sun Aug 15
page
  Nine of us, including two members of the Worcester Section, enjoyed a fine summer's day on Lake Willoughby, Vermont's only 'fjord'. We paddled around the lake,...
Mon Aug 16
page
  A flurry of phone calls in advance resulted in two individuals showing up to hike Paine Mountain. The others perhaps were put off by the possibility of rain....
Sat Aug 21
page
  Scouting trip The hike is number 43 in 50 Hikes in Vermont. Hiking time was about 3 hours, driving time from Montpelier about 1 1/2 hours (via Rte 12 to...
Sun Aug 22
page
  Outstanding weather contributed significantly to the enjoyment of this trip. Three of the members of today's party departed from Montpelier and linked up with...
Tue Aug 24
page
  By parking in Enosburg Falls and pedaling round-trip to Richford, we avoided having to spot cars and enjoyed the pleasant twenty-mile ride through rural...
Sat Aug 28
page
  The day was hot and humid; however, five of us enjoyed the trip to Middlesex. We took our time and drank plenty of water. There was a cool breeze most of the...
Sat Aug 28
page
  On a hot and humid day at the end of August, two of us went to Manchester to climb Mt. Equinox. The Equinox Preservation Trust has a network of trails at the...
Sat Aug 28
page
  Despite a forecast calling for thunderstorms Saturday afternoon and all day Sunday, one brave trip participant decided to go for it. We started out at a brisk...
Sun Aug 29
page
  Emily B, and I started on a hot, humid day threatening rain (as expected for summer '04) from the parking area reserved for common people near the Mansfield...
Mon Aug 30
page
  [The hike was scheduled as Trails in Orange but] Due to the forecast of thunder, lightning, and heavy rain (and considering that the weather of the prior two...
Sat Sep 04
page
  Ed L, Paul D, & Theresa S got an early (8:30) start at the Appalachia Parking lot on Rt 16, taking the Airline trail all the way to the summit of Mt Adams. ...
Mon Sep 06
page
  I'm so glad that George P called me and expressed interest in doing this ride! If he hadn't called, I doubt that I would have done it by myself. As it...
Sat Sep 11
page
  September 11, 2004 was bright and sunny. A perfect day for a trip to the White Mountains. Three of us set out to climb Mt. Tripyramid. We parked along the...
Sat Sep 11
page
  We reached our original destination, Goddard Shelter, in good time and it would have made a nice place to overnight because it was pleasantly situated in a...
Sat Sep 18
page
  Last night's rain was ending as we departed Montpelier, and the clouds started to lift as we drove up Camel's Hump Road in Huntington Center. We had visions of...
Sun Sep 19
page
  Ok, so it was overcast. OK, so it was windy. OK, so it was kind of cold. This is Vermont! What do you expect? It was great weather for hill climbing and...
Tue Sep 21
page
  We had five participants on this bike ride. It was a beautiful fall day for biking. The ride was all up hill to Barnard, however, it was gradual and no one...
Sat Sep 25
page
  A balmy day in the Northeast Kingdom greeted our group of thirteen hikers. It turned out that this outing had been scheduled for the same day as the Burke...
Sat Sep 25
page
  A delightful day and a delightful small group. Two members were joined by two non-members. Our abilities were very well matched, and it was nice to have...
Sun Sep 26
page
  Today dawned cool and crisp with a morning mist that the sun broke through before 9:00. Anne F and I met Bob S at the Wheeler Mountain trailhead just after...
Mon Sep 27
page
  Good trip. We started at the State House, climbed the trail up to the Hubbard Park tower, then walked over to the cemetery. The foliage would be better a...
Fri Oct 01
page
  Our Montpelier Section weekend at Wheeler Pond Camps was our section's introduction to the camps, generously donated to the GMC last fall by Chris Hadsel and...
Sat Oct 02
page
  The hike was cancelled due to non-attendance. Scouting Hike Thursday September 2 Trip time (return to Montpelier) was 10 hours. Driving: The Hedgehog Brook...
Sun Oct 03
page
  It was a perfect autumn day, with clear skies and beautiful foliage. We couldn't have picked a better day for a walk in the woods. It was chilly in the...
Sat Oct 09
page
  The day was overcast but warm for October. The foliage was a nice addition to our ride although the colors didn't seem as vivid as we thought they should be...
Sat Oct 09
page
  Two of the individuals who had intended to come on this outing were thwarted by the disappearance of their car. The driver called me in the morning and...
Sat Oct 16
page
  The trail was wet and slippery in spots, but traction on the over 90% of the rock surfaces was good. OK, this trail may a bit more than moderately difficult...
Sat Oct 23
page
  I received two calls in advance for this outing: One from a woman who didn't own her own boat and one from a kayaker who lives in Hanover, NH. I frankly told...
Mon Oct 25
page
  A beautiful sunset was one of the rewards that we walkers received for our exploration of Barre's hills. We set out shortly after five and kept a brisk pace...
Sat Oct 30
page
  Sunday, October 30, 2004, was a dark rainy morning as people collected at the Montpelier High School parking lot. There was some discussion of canceling but...
Sun Oct 31
page
  Mary G and I logged 15 miles before rain forced us to abort. The afternoon was warm and windy, and, unfortunately, wet. I look forward to leading a cemetery...
Sat Nov 06
page
  On Sunday, November 6, 2004, we were fortunate to have partly clear skies with out rain or snow this late in the season. Most of the volunteers arrived at...
Mon Nov 08
page
  November 8, 2004 - Manny and I led a walk in downtown Montpelier. We had four others joined us on this venture. We did some hills. We enjoyed the view of the...
Sun Nov 14
page
  Eight people and two dogs enjoyed a two-hour road walk on the second day of (rifle) deer hunting season. We started at one in the afternoon, so the deer and...
Sun Nov 21
page
  Five walkers donned some orange and set out on a route that began and ended (appropriately) in Orange. We began on Emery Road, continued to Woodchuck Hollow,...
Mon Nov 22
page
  Bridges. They are the key to transportation in any city built around rivers. The cities either have easy traffic flow (pedestrian, bicycle and automotive),...
Sat Nov 27
page
  Ken H, Steve L and I drove to Waitsfield, put on our orange attire, and started the "Turkey Burner" stride of the Fayston hills. We benefited from a complete...
Sat Dec 04
page
  Five section members and friends took time off during a busy month to join us on a walk that was new to us. (We had driven it the week before to check it out.)...
Sun Dec 19
page
  As snow has been a rarity this winter, we didn't need snowshoes on this trip up Paine Mountain. Our group of five managed the packed surface with hiking boots...
Wed Dec 22
page
  The rain was a factor, I believe, in the low turnout for this tour of holiday lights my moonlight. Anne F and I took to the streets and admired the seasonal...
Sun Dec 26
page
  A little cloudy with occasional sun. The usual suspects showed up: Ed L & Paul D. I had been hoping for an icy surface to get some crampon practice in...
Reports from previous years
© 2018 Montpelier Section of The Green Mountain Club, Inc.     Top    Wed 19 September 2018