Green Mountain Club
Montpelier Section

Reports for events in 2003

Date Report? Photos? Description of the event
Sat Jan 04
page
  Saturday January 4, 2003 Cross-Country Ski Stowe Mtn Resort Touring Center Various Leader: Bob or Marilyn Wilson Lots of powder snow! Skiing was fantastic! We...
Sun Jan 05
page
  The morning dawned with light snow falling and cold temperatures the ground mantled by a fresh blanket of snow. This was an idyllic setting for the fifteen...
Sat Jan 11
page
  Saturday January 11, 2003 Cross-Country Ski Snowshoe Hike Annual Chili Party at Beaver Leader: Peter Downey [no text] Participants Peter Downey Roberta Downey...
Sun Jan 12
page
  Early Saturday morning our small group, Ken Austin, Lexi Shear, and I, headed to North and Middle Tripyramids in New Hampshire. We were happy to find that the...
Wed Jan 15
page
  On a cold, crisp Wednesday fourteen people enjoyed an outing at Burke. The snow conditions were excellent. We skied to a cabin on the cross-country trail. The...
Sun Jan 19
page
  Sunday January 19, 2003 Mystery Snowshoe Moderate Call Leader: Steve Lightholder This trip was advertised as a moderate snowshoe hike, and it was. Marty and I...
Sun Feb 02
page
  Sunday February 2, 2003 Snowshoe & Potluck Dinner at Sally Sairs home Woodbury Sally Sairs Leader: Sally Sairs [no text] Participants: Sally Sairs Joan E....
Sat Feb 15
page
  Saturday February 15, 2003 Cross-Country Ski Worcester Eagle Ledge loop 6 miles Difficult Leader: Nancy Schulz At 7:30 A.M., the thermometer at my apartment...
Mon Feb 17
page
  Monday February 17, 2003 Full Moon Snowshoe Irish Hill Berlin Moderate Expect 3 hrs Leader: Nancy Schulz Temperatures rebounded dramatically into the mid and...
Sat Feb 22
page
  Saturday February 22, 2003 Snowshoe Butler Lodge Trail from Stevensville to Long Trail Leader: Michael Chernick and Fred Jordan This trip was originally set...
Sun Feb 23
page
  Sunday February 23, 2003 Cross-Country Ski Highland Lodge Greensboro Various distances Leader: Mark Haughwout This event was cancelled due to rainy conditions...
Sat Mar 01
page
  This trip was scheduled as a moderate mystery cross-country ski. A tour of the Cotton Brook area seemed to fit the bill. We had decent weather: temperatures...
Sun Mar 02
page
  Sunday March 2, 2003 Cross-Country Ski Hazen s Notch Ski Center Montgomery Center Leader: Andrew & Reidun Nuquist This was not the best of days, for traveling...
Sat Mar 15
page
  Saturday March 15, 2003 Snowshoe Woodard Mountain Trail from Waterbury Dam to Bolton Leader: Nancy Schulz Mother nature delivered fabulous weather for this...
Sun Mar 16
page
  On a clear day the seven of us enjoyed a nice ski on Bolton ski touring trails. The sun was warm but the snow remained firm and a good ski was had by all. The...
Sat Mar 22
page
  Saturday March 22, 2003 Cross-Country Ski Stowe Mtn Resort Touring Center Leader: Steve Lightholder Cloudy skies? Forecast of rain? No reason not to ski. At...
Sun Mar 23
page
  Sunday March 23, 2003 Road Walk Around Berlin Pond 5 miles Easy Bring your camera Leader: Jamie Cope and Fred Jordan No one showed up. Cold and grey.
Sat Mar 29
page
  Saturday March 29, 2003 Mystery Snowshoe 5-6 hrs Difficult Meet at 9:00 A M Leader: Nancy Schulz True fans of winter recreation joined, me for a mystery...
Sun Mar 30
page
  Sunday March 30, 2003 Mud Season Road Walk Out Terrace Street to Middlesex 5-8 miles Leader: Reidun and Andrew Nuquist Our mud season road walk was that and a...
Sat Apr 12
page
  Saturday April 12, 2003 Bike Ride Montpelier to Moretown and return Leader: Ray and Sylvia Kingsbury On a sunny April Vermont morning Sylvia and I were joined...
Sun Apr 13
page
  Sunday April 13, 2003 Walk Stowe Bike Path -- Easy Bring money for lunch Leader: Priscilla Daggett On this brisk, sunny day, three hikers set out from the...
Sat Apr 19
page
  The five mile loop surrounding Peacham, settled in 1776, is the treasure of Central Vermont walks. The variety of 18th century architecture, the rolling hills...
Sun Apr 20
page
  The gods of nature dealt us a very fine Easter Sunday for this canoe/kayak outing to the LaPlatte River Marsh. Seven paddlers entered the water at 1:00 P.M....
Tue Apr 22
page
  Oh no! The weather was lousy last year for the Montpelier Section's first volunteer day in Hubbard Park, and now it was cool and rainy again, with worse...
Sat Apr 26
page
  Saturday April 26, 2003 Bike Ride Worcester to Elmore Leader: Mary Garcia and Mary Slater- Cancelled because of rain
Sun Apr 27
page
  Sunday April 27, 2003 Village Road Walk Hyde Park to Morristown Comers Leader: Andrew and Reidun Nuquist Another successful walk from Vermont Life's Vermont...
Sat May 03
page
  Saturday May 3, 2003 Road Walk At the base of Hunger Mtn Leader: Jim and Marie McWilliam This was a lovely walk on an early spring morning. We would do this...
Sun May 04
page
  Sunday May 4, 2003 Road Walk Groton State Park Leader: Thomas Weiss The three of us met at the New Discovery ranger station on a sunny, warm (low 60's) day....
Sat May 10
page
  Saturday May 10, 2003 Bike Ride Grand Isle Leader: Priscilla Daggett and Sylvia Kingsbury On a perfect spring day, 10 of us started out from the Snow Farm...
Sun May 11
page
  Sunday May 11, 2003 Canoe Kayak Molly's Falls Pond (aka Marshfield Reservoir) Leader: Nancy Schulz Three solo kayakers stopped en route to Marshfield Dam to...
Sat May 17
page
  Saturday May 17, 2003 Work Hike Bamforth Ridge Leader: John Buddington Scouting The plan was based on a scouting hike by Reidun N, Fred J, and Andrew N on...
Sun May 18
page
  Monday May 18, 2003 Bike Ride Bike Morrisville via Randolph Road and Upper Elmore Road Leader: Jim and Marie McWilliam We had a very small turnout for our...
Sat May 24
page
  Saturday May 24, 2003 Work Hike Smugglers Notch Leader: John Buddington Priority Task 1 Clear blowdowns, if any reported, between Chilcoot and Elephants Head...
Mon May 26
page
  Monday May 26, 2003 Bike Ride Bike to Granville Gulf Leader: Nancy Schulz It was raining at the meeting time and the forecast was for steady rain throughout...
Sat May 31
page
  Eleven volunteers and three staff members turned out on the last day in May to carry 200 pounds of bark mulch to Montclair Glen Lodge. The sun broke through...
Sun Jun 01
page
  Sunday June 1, 2003 Hike Mt Ascutney via Windsor and Weathersfield Trails Leader: Michael Chernick Cancelled - no one showed up because of the bad weather
Sat Jun 07
page
  Saturday June 7, 2003 Canoe Kayak plus Free Fishing Day for all Vermont residents Leader: Duncan Wilkie Nobody showed up for the outing. I went [alone] and the...
Tue Jun 10
page
  Tuesday June 10, 2003 Evening Bike Ride Montpelier Leader: Jill Aspinall and Rick Molz [no text] Participants: Steve Lightholder Barbara Stager Rick Molz Jill...
Sat Jun 14
page
  Saturday June 14, 2003 Canoe Kayak Great Hosmer and Little Hosmer Ponds Leader: Joan Heller Cancelled - Rained out
Sun Jun 15
page
  Sunday June 15, 2003 Bike Ride Marshfield Peacham Groton Leader: Nancy Schulz Seven cyclists pedaled away from Marshfield at 10:00 A.M. under partly cloudy...
Sat Jun 21
page
  The first day of summer was pleasantly warm and humid. Five of us climbed up the Halfway House Trail to Mansfield's ridge. The views were good and the bugs...
Sun Jun 22
page
  The early morning drizzle ended as our group of eight started up the trail. Ann B was there to identify plants; Bob J brought three non-member participants,...
Sat Jun 28
page
  Saturday June 28, 2003 Mystery Bike Ride Leader: Nancy Schulz Marilyn Wilson, Guy Amundsen and I petalled away from the Crossett Brook school in Duxbury on a...
Sun Jun 29
page
  For two consecutive years, a few Montpelier Section members and guests have enjoyed a June exploration of the north, Moscow, arm of the Waterbury Reservoir....
Sun Jul 06
page
  Sunday July 6, 2003 Mystery Hike Leader: Nancy Schulz A nice sized group of five hiker headed down Route 108 from the top of Smugglers' Notch shortly after...
Wed Jul 09
page
  Wednesday July 9, 2003 Evening Bike Ride Montpelier Leader: Jill Aspinall and Rick Molz [no text] Participants: Jill Aspinall Rick Molz Lexi Shear Marilyn...
Sat Jul 12
page
  Saturday July 12, 2003 Elmore Three-For-All Bike to Elmore Hike to Summit Paddle Leader: Nancy Schulz Nine outdoor recreation enthusiasts took part in one or...
Sun Jul 13
page
  Sunday July 13, 2003 Watson Site Inspection Sterling Pond area for proposed locations Leader: Fred Jordan Draft Report 2nd Meeting Sterling Pond Subcommittee:...
Sat Jul 19
page
  A total of eight people walked around the two mile loop on a lovely summer day. Our group included GMC members from Burlington, Montpelier, White River...
Sun Jul 20
page
  Sunday July 20, 2003 Hike Belvidere Loop Leader: Nancy Schulz Three hikers departed from Montpelier and four drove directly to the trailhead near the Eden...
Sat Jul 26
page
  Saturday July 26, 2003 Canoe Kayak (looking for bog orchids) Locations not publicly Leader: Duncan Wilkie Only three people went on the outing, including the...
Sun Jul 27
page
  Sunday July 27, 2003 Hike Mt Mansfield via Laura Cowles and Sunset Ridge Trails Leader: Marilyn Wilson and Sylvia Kingsbury Our hike on western side of Mt....
Sat Aug 02
page
  Saturday August 2, 2003 Hike Mt Moosilauke Leader: Duncan Wilkie Nancy Schulz, Anne Ferguson, Charlene Bohl, Ed Loewenton, Gloria DeSousa, Peter Clark, and...
Sat Aug 09
page
  Saturday August 9, 2003 Canoe Kayak NE Kingdom - Newark Pond Newark; Leader: Duncan Wilkie or Faith Bieler, Suzie Wilson and Duncan Wilkie on August 9 first...
Tue Aug 12
page
  We assembled at Molligewock State Park around noon. After camp was established we proceeded to Errol NH to paddle the four miles back to the campground. The...
Sat Aug 23
page
  (from the archives) Saturday August 23, 2003 Hike Hunger Mt. via White Rocks; 6 miles round trip. Leader: Jim and Marie McWilliam This was one of those...
Sun Aug 24
page
  Sunday August 24, 2003 Poetry Hike LT South to the new Spruce Ledge Camp Leader: Reidun Nuquist Oh, what a bright, cool day after weeks of soggy weather! Nine...
Sun Aug 31
page
  Sunday August 31, 2003 Canoe Kayak Lake Willoughby Leader: Steve Lightholder We were a flotilla of twelve as we left the south shore of spectacular Lake...
Mon Sep 01
page
  Monday September 1, 2003 Hike to the summit of Mt Cabot Jefferson New Hampshire Leader: Michael Chernick [no text] Participants: Michael Chernick Anneliese...
Sat Sep 06
page
  Saturday September 6, 2003 Hike Bag three 4 000 footers in one day Hike out of Crawford Leader: Steve Lightholder We were seven peakbaggers as we started out...
Sun Sep 07
page
  Sunday September 7, 2003 Hike Moscow Lake Mansfield to Taylor Lodge continue on LT Leader: Ed Loewenton Five of us completed the approximately 11-mile trip,...
Sat Sep 20
page
  Saturday September 20, 2003 Work Hike LT - Bamforth Ridge Leader: John Buddington [accompanying photos not included] Priority Task 1 Carry 10-foot planks and...
Sun Sep 21
page
  Eleven humans and one black lab gathered at the Middlesex trailhead (after some driving around to setup the car shuttle.) We started our hike and soon found...
Sat Sep 27
page
  Saturday September 27, 2003 Bike Ride Adamant Calais East Montpelier Leader: Nancy Schulz A warm, breezy late September day made for pleasant cycling...
Sun Sep 28
page
  Sunday September 28, 2003 Paddle Vergennes Little Otter Creek Leader: Andrew and Reidun Nuquist Cancelled because of rain. Four people had planned to paddle.
Sat Oct 04
page
  Saturday October 4, 2003 Paddle Green liver Reservoir Morrisville Leader: Ann Burcroff My phone number was incorrect in Trail Talk and the weather was cold and...
Sun Oct 05
page
  Its difficult to have everything go perfectly on an outing. Our October 5th bike trip to Morrisville was no exception. It started well with a few enthusiastic...
Sat Oct 11
page
  Saturday October 11, 2003 Mystery Photo Walk Leader: Jamie Cope The day was gorgeous and we photographed the vivid peak fall colors along the lanes of East...
Sun Oct 12
page
  Sunday October 12, 2003 Hike Trapp Family Lodge Leader: Nancy Schulz Five men and five women chose to join me on a sunny, warm, mid-October Sunday afternoon...
Mon Oct 13
page
  Five people (and no dogs) enjoyed a glorious autumn day, with the fall foliage at full color and the weather clear and warm. All participants were GMC members...
Sat Oct 18
page
  Saturday October 18, 2003 Work Hike Smugglers Notch Leader: John Buddington [accompanying photos not included] Priority Task 1 Clip from upper slide to...
Sun Oct 19
page
  Sunday October 19, 2003 Hike Kettle Pond Leader: Priscilla Daggett This was a Sunday afternoon that went both ways, weather-wise, turning raw and overcast,...
Sat Oct 25
page
  Saturday October 25, 2003 Work Hike Bamforth Ridge - Fall Maintenance Leader: John Buddington [accompanying photos not included] Priority Task 1 Clear drainage...
Sun Oct 26
page
  Sunday October 26, 2003 Hike Rte 100 to Canadian Border to Journey's End Shelter Leader: Michael Chernick [no text] Participants: Michael Chernick Nicole...
Sat Nov 01
page
  Saturday November 1, 2003 Hike Camel s Hump via Monroe Trail trail Leader: Ed Loewenton Michael C, Marilyn W, Marty L, Brenda C, Melissa M, a new face from the...
Sun Nov 02
page
  Sunday November 2, 2003 Walk Washington loop 9 miles Leader: Nancy Schulz Drippy weather didn't dampen spirits or deter six dedicated women from joining an...
Sat Nov 08
page
  Saturday November 8, 2003 Mystery Hike Leader: Nancy Schulz Wind was the big factor in this outing. There was plenty of it. Constant,, strong, cold wind made...
Sun Nov 09
page
  A total of seventeen people (but no dogs) enjoyed a lovely clear day, with temperatures reaching 32 degrees. The 5.7 mile walk took just two hours. Ken Hertz ...
Sat Nov 15
page
  Saturday November 15, 2003 Road Walk Marshfield Plainfield Leader: Nancy Schulz Seven walkers from Worcester, White River Junction, Waterbury, So. Burlington...
Fri Nov 21
page
  Friday November 21, 2003 Slide Show Walking in Tuscany and Umbria Leader: Reidun and Andrew Nuquist [no text] Participants: Peter and Roberta Downey Steve...
Sat Nov 22
page
  Saturday November 22, 2003 Road Walk Middlesex Leader: Nancy Schulz Nine walkers benefited from terrific November weather: clear, calm and sunny. Our route...
Sun Nov 23
page
  Sunday November 23, 2003 Road Walk Around Berlin Pond Leader: Michael Chernick [no text] Participants: Michael Chernick Ann Burcroff Andrew Nuquist Reidun...
Sun Nov 30
page
  Sunday November 30, 2003 Road Walk - Annual Tour of Burlington Leader: Steve Lightholder On an overcast and windy day, Andrew, Reidun, Kay, Thomas and I walked...
Sun Dec 07
page
  Sunday December 7, 2003 Snow Surprise Leader: Nancy Schulz A snowstorm that provided a wonderful incentive to ski came to an end about noon on Sunday, just in...
Sat Dec 13
page
  Saturday December 13, 2003 Hike East Montpelier Trail Leader: Steve Lightholder Ann, Joe, Cathie, Ken, Charlene, a dog named Sally and I set out to walk the...
Sun Dec 14
page
  Sunday December 14, 2003 Road Walk from Sparrow Farm in East Montpelier Leader: Andrew and Reidun Nuquist We lucked out. Home safely after our brisk, five mile...
Sat Dec 20
page
  Saturday December 20, 2003 Trapp Family Lodge (originally Bolton Valley X- Ski Center) Leader: Jill Aspinall and Rick Molz A clear, sunny day with great snow....
Sun Dec 21
page
  Sunday December 21, 2003 Snowshoe Hunger Mtn Waterbury side Leader: Michael Chernick Participants: Ed Loewenton (leader) John Griffo Bob Fuller Melanie Cote...
Mon Dec 22
page
  Monday December 22, 2003 Holiday Lights - an urban hike Leader: Nancy Schulz Billed as a Holiday Lights Hike, this outing was conceived after Trail Talk was...
Reports from previous years
© 2018 Montpelier Section of The Green Mountain Club, Inc.     Top    Wed 19 September 2018