Green Mountain Club
Montpelier Section

Reports for events in 2002

Date Report? Photos? Description of the event
Sat Jan 05
page
  Saturday January 5, 2002 Cross-country Ski Snowshoe Annual Chili Party at Beaver Meadow Leader: Peter Downey Participants Peter Downey Mich Stupp Ann Burcroff...
Sun Jan 06
page
  Sunday January 6, 2002 Snowshoe the Hills of Montpelier 2-3 miles Easy with easy Leader: Duncan Wilkie [from email dated 03/14/2003] only Doris Washburn showed...
Sat Jan 12
page
  Saturday January 12, 2002 Cross-country Ski Burke Mt Ski Touring Center TRAIL FEE Various Leader: Bob & Marilyn Wilson Everyone had a good time skiing a...
Sun Jan 13
page
  Sunday January 13, 2002 Cross-country Ski Berlin Easy to moderate Will adjust pace Leader: Andrew & Reidun Nuquist Nice to be out on a Sunday afternoon, but...
Sat Jan 19
page
  Saturday January 19, 2002 Cross-country Ski Stowe Mt Resort Cross-Country Ski Center Leader: Mary Garcia and Mary Slater-479-1236 Mary Slater and I led seven...
Sat Jan 26
page
  Saturday January 26, 2002 Cross-country Ski Snowshoe Irish Hill to Paine Mt Leader: Nancy Schulz Nature produced yet another unseasonably warm winter day for...
Sun Jan 27
page
  Sunday January 27, 2002 Snowshoe Butler Lodge Trail from Stevensville to Long Trail Leader: Michael Chernick and Fred Jordan On a late January Sunday morning,...
Mon Jan 28
page
  Monday January 28, 2002 Full Moon Snowshoe Montpelier North Branch Nature Center trails Leader: Nancy Schulz Snowshoers came from as far away as White River...
Sat Feb 02
page
  Saturday February 2, 2002 Overnight Snowshoe Cross-country Ski backpack to Zealand Falls Leader: Michael Chernick and Peter Downey Snow surface was mostly...
Sun Feb 03
page
  Sunday February 3, 2002 Cross-country Ski Stowe Mountain Resort (originally Edson Hill Ski Touring Center) Leader: Reidun Nuquist The only person who showed up...
Sat Feb 09
page
  Saturday February 9, 2002 Cross-country Ski Trapp Family Lodge Stowe TRAIL FEE Various Leader: Ray & Sylvia Kingsbury It was a beautiful, sunny February day...
Sun Feb 10
page
  Sunday February 10, 2002 Snowshoe & Potluck Dinner at Sally Sairs home Woodbury Bring Leader: Sally Sairs Four hard souls braved the unfavorable conditions and...
Sat Feb 16
page
  Saturday February 16, 2002 Cross-country Ski Explore various trails in Little River State Park Leader: Nancy Schulz I was not surprised to arrive at the...
Sun Feb 17
page
  Sunday February 17, 2002 Snowshoe Camel's Hump from Couching Lion parking lot via Monroe Trail Leader: Michael Chernick On Sunday February 17, 2002, a morning...
Sat Feb 23
page
  Saturday February 23, 2002 Snowshoe Calais 5 miles Easy to moderate Please confirm by Leader: Joan Heller and Betty Moskowitz It was a glorious day to be...
Sun Feb 24
page
  Sunday February 24, 2002 Cross-country Ski the trails in Duxbury Approximately 3 Y2 Leader: Nancy Schulz The continuing lack of fresh snowfall dampened...
Tue Feb 26
page
  Tuesday February 26, 2002 Moonlight Cross-country Ski Smugglers Notch Rte 108 4-5 miles Leader: Andrew & Reidun Nuquist The predicted rain held off, and...
Wed Feb 27
page
  Wednesday February 27, 2002 Full Moon Snowshoe Paine Mt Approximately 3 hrs on the trail Leader: Nancy Schulz A light snow was falling as five intrepid...
Sat Mar 02
page
  Saturday March 2, 2002 Snowshoe Woodward Mt Trail from Waterbury Reservoir dam to Leader: Nancy Schulz After taking care of the car shuttle, six eager...
Sat Mar 16
page
  Saturday March 16, 2002 Snowshoe Hunger Mt via the no longer maintained Worcester Trail Leader: George Richardson, Jr. and Nancy Schulz George Richardson, Jr....
Sun Mar 17
page
  Sunday March 17, 2002 Snowshoe Stowe Pinnacle 3 5 miles Snowmelt alternative round Leader: Michael Chernick On Sunday, March 17, a wonderfully mild day, six...
Thu Mar 28
page
  Thursday March 28, 2002 Full Moon Snowshoe Spruce Mt 4 4 miles 1 180 elevation gain Leader: Nancy Schulz A calm, clear, comfortable evening provided an...
Sat Mar 30
page
  Saturday March 30, 2002 Cross-Country Ski back country loop in Worcester Approximately Leader: Nancy Schulz Only one intrepid adventurer, Steve Lightholder,...
Sat Apr 06
page
  Saturday April 6, 2002 Cross-Country Ski Mystery location Leader: Nancy Schulz Although this trip was advertised as a ski outing, snow conditions for backwoods...
Sat Apr 06
page
  Saturday April 6, 2002 Walk Champion Lands in Essex County cosponsored with Northeast Leader: Destination: Maidstone Lake - Former Champion Lands / West...
Sat Apr 13
page
  Saturday April 13, 2002 Canoe Kayak Mystery paddle Leader: Nancy Schulz Perhaps due to a forecast of rain, no one showed up for this outing. This was...
Sat Apr 20
page
  Saturday April 20, 2002 Road Walk Mystery location Length depends on location and conditions Leader: Priscilla Daggett On a cool, sunny day with a brisk...
Sat Apr 27
page
  Saturday April 27, 2002 Canoe Kayak Missisquoi River and Dead Creek loop 12-mile flat-water Leader: Eric Seidel and Nancy Schulz The paddling party consisted...
Sun Apr 28
page
  Sunday April 28, 2002 Road Walk Chelsea 6 5 miles Easy moderate with moderate pace Leader: Reidun & Andrew Nuquist Only three brave souls joined us on this...
Sat May 04
page
  Saturday May 4, 2002 Hike Ski Pinkham Notch to Tuckerman Ravine NH This outing Leader: Bob & Marilyn Wilson Saturday, May 4th was a great day for climbing up...
Sun May 05
page
  Sunday May 5, 2002 Road Walk around Berlin Pond plus a 4-mile extension 9 miles Leader: Ray & Sylvia Kingsbury It was a beautiful Vermont Sunday for the 6...
Sun May 12
page
  Sunday May 12, 2002 Mother s Day Road Walk Middlesex loop Mom s Welcome Approximately Leader: Nancy Schulz Steve Larose agreed to substitute for me as leader...
Wed May 15
page
  Wednesday May 15, 2002 Trail Work in Hubbard Park Leader: Reidun Nuquist This extracurricular work hike was originally scheduled for May 14, which dawned wet,...
Sat May 18
page
  Saturday May 18, 2002 Work Hike Spring walkthrough Long Trail on Bamforth Ridge Leader: John Buddington The Plan Priority Task 1 Clean drainage from River...
Sun May 19
page
  Sunday May 19, 2002 Bike Ride Northfield Moretown loop Approximately 30 miles Leader: Nancy Schulz Conditions for cycling were not ideal. It was chilly and...
Sat May 25
page
  Saturday May 25, 2002 Work Hike Spring walkthrough Sterling Pond to Chilcoot Pass Leader: John Buddington The Plan Priority Task 1 Clip and clean drainages on...
Sun May 26
page
  Sunday May 26, 2002 Bike Ride Moretown Waitsfield and Warren loop Mostly paved Leader: Nancy Schulz For the second Sunday in a row, Ruth Hare was the only...
Sun Jun 02
page
  Sunday June 2, 2002 Bike Ride Fairlee VT - Haverhill NH 25 miles Moderate with Leader: Andrew & Reidun Nuquist Wearing long sleeves and wind-breakers, five...
Sat Jun 15
page
  Saturday June 15, 2002 Bike Ride South Hero 25 miles Moderate Helmet required Optional Leader: Mary Slater or Mary Garcia Canceled because of
Sun Jun 16
page
  Sunday June 16, 2002 Hike Burnt Rock Mtn from No Fayston to Burnt Rock (3168 ) Leader: Reidun & Andrew Nuquist Three brave hikers joined us on a cool day with...
Sat Jun 22
page
  Saturday June 22, 2002 Canoe Kayak Caspian Lake Easy with slow pace Rain cancels Leader: Joan Heller or Betty Moskowitz Cancelled due to
Thu Jun 27
page
  Thursday June 27, 2002 Hike Waterbury Reservoir Walk upstream toward Moscow from the Leader: Andrew Nuquist The north end of the Waterbury Reservoir, near...
Sun Jun 30
page
  Sunday June 30, 2002 Hike Camel s Hump from west side (Huntington) up Forest City Leader: Sylvia Kingsbury or Marilyn Wilson Co-leaders, Sylvia Kingsbury and...
Sat Jul 06
page
  Saturday July 6, 2002 Hike Mt Ascutney Weathersfield Trail 6+ - miles with 2 000 Leader: Nancy Schulz Perhaps due to the 4 day Holiday weekend, there were no...
Sun Jul 07
page
  Sunday July 7, 2002 Canoe Kayak Paddle around Lake Ninevah (237 acres) in Mt Holly Leader: Nancy Schulz Two paddlers who had planned to join this trip changed...
Sat Jul 13
page
  Saturday July 13, 2002 Hike Jay Peak Rte 105 south to Rte 242 9 miles Difficult Leader: Steve Lightholder On a beautiful summer day, eight of us: Marty...
Sun Jul 14
page
  Sunday July 14, 2002 Hike Hunger Mtn From Middlesex side 6 miles Moderate Bring Leader: Jim & Marie McWilliam (no text) Participants Bob Schwarz Joanne Rouleau...
Tue Jul 16
page
  Tuesday July 16, 2002 Evening Bike Ride Montpelier 23 miles Roll ing hills on scenic Leader: Jill Aspinall or Rick Molz (no text) Participants Rick Molz...
Sat Jul 20
page
  Saturday July 20, 2002 Hike Belvidere Mtn then a paddle at Lake Eden Come for one Leader: Nancy Schulz and Steve Larose Superb summer weather enhanced the...
Tue Jul 23
page
  Monday July 22 - Thursday July 25, 2002 Canoe Kayak Androscoggin River Umbagog Lake NH Aziscohos Leader: Fred Jordan We all drove independently to Mollidgewock...
Thu Jul 25
page
  'reportbanner.pl We all drove independently to Molligewock Campground because of the distance. Arriving around 11:00 AM, we soon organized the camping...
Sat Jul 27
page
  Saturday July 27, 2002 Bike to Elmore State Park Hike Mt Elmore Bring lunch optional Leader: Nancy Schulz With the arrival of early morning rain followed by...
Sun Jul 28
page
  Sunday July 28, 2002 Hike Camel s Hump via Monroe and Alpine Trails 7 5 miles Difficult Leader: Steve Larose and Fred Jordan The hikers on this event were an...
Sat Aug 17
page
  Saturday August 17, 2002 Bike Missisquoi Valley Rail Trail St Albans to Richford 26 Leader: Andrew & Reidun Nuquist Four bicyclists from three GMC sections...
Sun Aug 18
page
  Sunday August 18, 2002 Hike Worcester Mtn 5 miles Moderate Wear appropriate weather Leader: Jim & Marie McWilliam The hike to the summit of Worcester Mt. was...
Sat Aug 24
page
  Saturday August 24, 2002 Hike Hazen s Notch Saturday A M arrival picnic lunch guided Leader: Andrew & Reidun Nuquist Last winter, while skiing with Rolf...
Sat Aug 24
page
  Saturday August 24, 2002 Canoe Kayak Kill Kare State Park St Albans to Wood s and Burton Leader: Steve Lightholder As the seven of us stood on the shore of...
Sun Aug 25
page
  Sunday August 25, 2002 Bike Montpelier 62 miles Difficult with moderate pace Ride Leader: Jill Aspinall or Rick Molz We received zero phone calls, and had zero...
Sun Sep 01
page
  Sunday September 1, 2002 Hike Carrigan Mtn NH Signal Ridge Trail 10 miles Difficult Leader: Michael Chernick or A magnificent vista was shared by all as we...
Sun Sep 08
page
  Sunday September 8, 2002 Two Choice Hike Moscow Mansfield Trail from Lake Mansfield Leader: Priscilla Daggett or Ed Loewenton or These two groups of hikers...
Sat Sep 14
page
  Saturday September 14, 2002 Bike Ride So Hero 25 miles Moderate Helmet required Call Leader: Mary Slater or Mary Garcia Mary Slater and I led an enjoyable bike...
Tue Sep 17
page
  Tuesday September 17, 2002 Hike and Bike Ride Mount Independence guided tour hike 2-3 Leader: Reidun and Andrew Nuquist Our day was two-phased; a two and...
Sat Sep 21
page
  Saturday September 21, 2002 Bike Ride Woodbury Calais East Montpelier Approximately 30 Leader: Nancy Schulz Perhaps the unseasonable warmth discouraged...
Sat Sep 21
page
  Saturday September 21, 2002 Hike Spruce Mountain Plainfield 4 miles Easy with moderate Leader: Jim & Marie McWilliam It was a hot, humid September day with...
Sat Sep 28
page
  Saturday September 28, 2002 Work Hike Long Trail near Sterling Pond Install bog bridges Leader: John Buddington The Plan Priority Task 1 Install puncheons:...
Sun Sep 29
page
  Sunday September 29, 2002 Hike Wheeler Mountain southeast of Barton Possible additional Leader: Marilyn Wilson or Michael Chernick-223- or A small, but very...
Sat Oct 05
page
  Saturday October 5, 2002 Work Hike Long Trail on Bamforth Ridge Bog bridges and rock Leader: John Buddington The Plan Trail Talk description: Long Trail on...
Sun Oct 06
page
  Sunday October 6, 2002 Bike Ride around Lake Willoughby Lunch at Crystal Lake State Leader: Ray & Sylvia Kingsbury Nine bikers enjoyed the ride around Lake...
Sat Oct 12
page
  Sunday October 12, 2002 Canoe Kayak Lake Champlain south of Crown Point Paddle in Leader: Andrew & Reidun Nuquist The Narrows of Dresden is the striking name...
Sun Oct 13
page
  Sunday October 13, 2002 Visit Birds of VT Museum Huntington Talking demonstration Leader: Doris Washburn or Fred Jordan The venture to the Vermont Bird Museum...
Mon Oct 14
page
  Monday October 14, 2002 Hike Bolton Notch Road to Lake Mansfield on the LT 11 5 miles Leader: Nancy Schulz The participants ion this trip came from as far...
Sat Oct 19
page
  Saturday October 19, 2002 Work Hike Long Trail near Elephant s Head Clip branches and Leader: John Buddington The Plan Trail Talk description: Long Trail near...
Sat Oct 26
page
  Saturday October 26, 2002 Hike Big Deer Mountain Groton State Forest 4 miles round trip Leader: Priscilla Daggett The hike didn't happen. I waited at the...
Sun Oct 27
page
  Sunday October 27, 2002 Canoe Kayak Pond hop at mystery locations in eastern Vermont Leader: Nancy Schulz The trip was cancelled due to the forecast of...
Sun Nov 10
page
  Sunday November 10, 2002 Hike Long Trail south from Rte 15 in Johnson to Bear Hollow Leader: Reidun & Andrew Nuquist As we traveled Route 12 north out of...
Sat Nov 16
page
  Saturday November 16, 2002 Road Walk Moretown loop 8 miles 3Y2 hrs Moderate WEAR ORANGE Leader: Nancy Schulz The first day of rifle season did not deter six...
Sat Nov 23
page
  Saturday November 23, 2002 Road Walk Middlesex loop Approximately 8 5 miles Beaver ponds Leader: Nancy Schulz Anne Ferguson, Charlene Bohl, and I completed...
Sun Nov 24
page
  Sunday November 24, 2002 Mystery Road Walk Approximately 3 hrs Moderate WEAR ORANGE Leader: Nancy Schulz A small group of four explored the newly crated trails...
Sun Dec 01
page
  Sunday December 1, 2002 Annual Walking Tour of Burlington 8 miles Easy with steady Leader: Steve Lightholder Just the two of us, so we didn't go to Burlington....
Fri Dec 06
page
  Friday December 6, 2002 Slide Show: Zig-Zaging in Zagori: Walking in Northwestern Greece Leader: Andrew and Reidun Nuquist [no text] Participants: Kathy Gohl...
Sun Dec 08
page
  Sunday December 8, 2002 Snowshoe or Hike Appalachian Trail Rte 12 to Wintturi Shelter Leader: Michael Chernick This late fall / early winter hike was...
Sat Dec 14
page
  Despite threatening slush and slop this warm morning, our hardy group assembled at Barnes Camp, where the snowplow stops on Route 108 in Stowe. We hiked up the...
Sun Dec 15
page
  Sunday December 15, 2002 Village Walk Craftsbury Common 5 4 miles Easy to moderate Leader: Reidun or Andrew Nuquist [no text] Participants: Priscilla Page...
Thu Dec 19
page
  Thursday December 19, 2002 Full Moon Snowshoe North Branch Park Montpelier Leader: Nancy Schulz The overcast sky obscured the moon, but the clouds were a...
Sun Dec 22
page
  Sunday December 22, 2002 Hike Snowshoe Groton State Park Moderate Meet at 12:00 noon Leader: Steve Lightholder Six of us, Ed Loewenton, Jim Malumphy, Mike and...
Reports from previous years
© 2018 Montpelier Section of The Green Mountain Club, Inc.     Top    Wed 19 September 2018