Green Mountain Club
Montpelier Section

Reports for events in 2001

Date Report? Photos? Description of the event
Sat Jan 06
page
  Saturday, January 6, 2001 Cross country Ski/Snowshoe Annual Chili Party Leader: Peter Downey Great X-C ski snowshoe trip to Beaver Meadow. Weather was in the...
Tue Jan 09
page
  Tuesday, January 9, 2001 Snowshoe in Hubbard Park Montpelier a Leader: Nancy Schulz An eager group of snowshoers met me at Montpelier High School. The signin...
Thu Jan 11
page
  Tuesday January 11, 2001 Snowshoe in Hubbard Park Montpelier under a full moon Leader: Nancy Schulz Twenty-two people (including one child) gathered for this...
Sun Jan 14
page
  Sunday, January 14, 2001 Cross country Ski Craftsbury Ski Center Leader: Mary Garcia On January 14, 2001 at about 11:00 AM, fifteen enthusiastic x-country...
Sun Jan 21
page
  Sunday, January 21, 2001 Cross country Ski Little River State Park Leader: Nancy Schulz Much to my surprise, the group of skiers that assembled at Montpelier...
Sun Jan 28
page
  Sunday, January 28, 2001 Snowshoe Stevensville Trail to Butler Lodge Leader: Fred Jordan and Michael Chernick On Sunday, January 28, 14 members of the Green...
Sat Feb 03
page
  Saturday, February 3, 2001 Snowshoe Mountain Road in Stowe to Watson Camp Leader: Nancy Schulz Sunny, crisp day. Fresh powder on a solid base. Left cars at 10....
Sat Feb 03
page
  Saturday-Sunday, February 3-4, 2001 Overnight Snowshoe/Cross country Ski backpack to Zealand Hut Leader: Peter Downey and Michael Chernick Participants: Peter...
Sun Feb 04
page
  Sunday, February 4, 2001 Snowshoe & Potluck Dinner at Sally Sairs Leader: Sally Sairs Participants Doris Washburn Roberta Downey Karen Downey David Grundy...
Thu Feb 08
page
  Thursday, February 8, 2001 Snowshoe Irish Hill under a full moon Leader: Nancy Schulz Luckily, the freezing rain that was forecast held off until after our...
Sun Feb 11
page
  Sunday, February 11, 2001 Cross country Ski at Highland Lodge Greensboro Leader: Mark Haughwout Thirteen participants braved the sunny, but windy and cold day...
Sat Feb 17
page
  Saturday, February 17, 2001 Cross country Ski East Montpelier "Horn of the Moon" Leader: Nancy Schulz Only two interested people showed up for this snowmobile...
Sun Feb 18
page
  Sunday, February 18, 2001 Snowshoe Camel's Hump. From Couching Lion parking lot Leader: Michael Chernick The snowshoe from the winter recreational parking lot...
Sat Feb 24
page
  Saturday, February 24, 2001 Snowshoe Kettle Pond Groton State Forest Leader: Bryan Pfeiffer Groton State Forest sparkled and sang to 15 intrepid bushwhackers...
Sun Feb 25
page
  Sunday, February 25, 2001 Cross country Ski Catamount Trail from the Duxbury Road Leader: Nancy Schulz Sleet and freezing rain were forecast. Sleet was falling...
Sat Mar 03
page
  Saturday, March 3, 2001 Cross country Ski Stowe Mt. Resort Leader: Andrew & Reidun Nuquist Seven veterans showed up on this cool morning. The snow was old,...
Sun Mar 04
page
  Sunday, March 4, 2001 Snowshoe Calais. 5 miles. Easy to moderate. Leader: Joan Heller & Betty Moskowitz Eight snowshoers, including two non-members who were...
Fri Mar 09
page
  Friday, March 9, 2001 Full moon snowshoe North Branch Park Montpelier. Leader: Nancy Schulz Although, once again, we didn't see the moon on this "Moonlight...
Sat Mar 10
page
  Saturday, March 10, 2001 Snowshoe Worcester Mt Leader: Nancy Schulz The adventure began on this trip before we even got to the trailhead. My car balked at the...
Sun Mar 11
page
  Sunday, March 11, 2001 Snowshoe to Mt. Mansfield summit via LT from Rte 108 Leader: Ed Loewenton (no text) Participants Paul DeLuca Chris Hoch Ed Stuart...
Sat Mar 17
page
  Saturday, March 17, 2001 Snowshoe Woodward Mt Trail from the Waterbury Reservoir Dam Leader: Nancy Schulz Fantastic, spring-like weather graced this outing:...
Sun Mar 18
page
  Sunday, March 18, 2001 Snowshoe Mt. Hunger - Waterbury trail Leader: Ed Loewenton (no text) Participants Ed Loewenton Bob Schwartz Susan Bussiere Marya Zwig...
Sat Mar 24
page
  Saturday, March 24, 2001 Cross Country Ski Stowe Mt. Resort Leader: Steve Lightholder Spring is for skiing, when there's enough snow. There was plenty of snow...
Sun Mar 25
page
  Sunday, March 25, 2001 Snowshoe Stowe Pinnacle Leader: Michael Chernick (no text, except for a comment that the 3/10 hike was cancelled) Participants David...
Sat Mar 31
page
  Saturday, March 31, 2001 Snowshoe Paine Mountain - originally Bolton Valley Resort Leader: Nancy Schulz When I decided to offer this trip, I thought the only...
Sun Apr 01
page
  Sunday, April 1, 2001 Road Walk partly on historic Bayley Hazen Military Road Leader: Andrew & Reidun Nuquist One assumes early spring, often ski season, to be...
Sat Apr 07
page
  Saturday, April 7, 2001 Road Walk Brookfield. Leader: Elaine Flint and Steve Lightholder Charlene, Elaine, Sandy and I waked the byways of Brookfield in the...
Sat Apr 14
page
  Saturday, April 14, 2001 Bike Ride Montpelier to Moretown and return Leader: Fred Jordan On a day that dawned with a fresh snow shower, soon became a fine...
Sun Apr 22
page
  Sunday, April 22, 2001 Road Walk East Montpelier Center to Adamant Leader: Jamie Cope (see report for 4/29) Participants Faith Bieler
Sun Apr 29
page
  Sunday, April 29, 2001 Road Walk Montpelier North St. to Horn of the Moon Road Leader: Jamie Cope Both Sunday road walks, April 22 and 29th, were blessed with...
Sat May 05
page
  Saturday, May 5, 2001 Bike Ride Kent's Comer to Calais area Leader: Bob & Marilyn Wilson This bike tour is listed number 15 in "25 Mountain Bike Tours in...
Sun May 06
page
  Sunday, May 6, 2001 Early Spring Wild Flower Hike Snake Mt. Leader: Ann Burcroff Directions: Rte 2 -> Middlesex, 100B S. -> Rte 100 S to Waitsfield, Rte 17...
Sat May 12
page
  Saturday, May 12, 2001 Bike Ride Sharon & South Strafford from South Royalton Leader: Nancy Schulz Six bicyclists caravanned in three cars to the start of this...
Sun May 13
page
  Sunday, May 13, 2001 Canoe/Kayak Molly's Fall's Pond (aka Marshfield Reservoir). Leader: Nancy Schulz The fact that the outing occurred on Mothers' Day...
Sat May 19
page
  Saturday, May 19, 2001 Work Trip Smugglers Notch Leader: Eric Seidel Outing Report _ GMC Montpelier Section Submitted by John Buddington ( Thu 24-May-01 )...
Sun May 20
page
  Sunday, May 20, 2001 Canoe/Kayak Peacham Pond Leader: Nancy Schulz Today proved to be yet another gorgeous day, in a long multi-week stretch of great weather....
Thu May 24
page
  Thursday, May 24, 2001 Bike Ride to Brookfield (not on Trail Talk schedule) Leader: Nancy Schulz Today;s overcast, cool conditions worked to our advantage,...
Sat May 26
page
  A dozen trail workers came out on the first day of a holiday weekend. The day was cloudy, in the 50's, with rain in the late afternoon. We divided into two...
Sun Jun 03
page
  Sunday, June 3, 2001 Hike AT from Rte. 12 in Pomfret Leader: Michael Chernick The four hikers who participated in this outing encountered a severe rainstorm,...
Sat Jun 09
page
  Saturday, June 9, 2001 Bolton Valley to Harrington View, at GMC Annual Meeting Leader: John Buddington & Reidun Nuquist There were 26 hikers, all but one from...
Sat Jun 09
page
  There were 26 hikers, all but one from the Montpelier Section or the GMC staff. Fred Jordan selected the route and gave it the apt name "From Beaver Ponds to...
Sat Jun 23
page
  Saturday, June 23, 2001 Bike Ride Worcester to Elmore and return Leader: Mary Garcia and Mary Slater On June 23, the weather forecast thunder storms in the...
Sun Jun 24
page
  Sunday, June 24, 2001 Hike Camel's Hump loop from Huntington Leader: Michael Chernick (no text) Participants Michael Chernick Tom Weiss Paul DeLuca Pablo Rubio
Sun Jul 01
page
  Sunday, July 1, 2001 Hike Danby Baker's Peak Summit Leader: Duncan Wilkie July 1, 2001 - Hike Baker's Peak in Danby,VT via the Baker's Peak Trail, Long Trail...
Sat Jul 07
page
  Saturday, July 7, 2001 Hike Long Trail: Appalachian Gap to Lincoln Gap Leader: Steve Lightholder On a bright July day six of us: Mitchell Stupp, Charlene Bohl,...
Sun Jul 08
page
  Sunday, July 8, 2001 Hike Gore Mt. Island Pond Leader: Michael Chernick and Luke O'Brien The 5 attendees on the July 8 Gore Mountain outing enjoyed a...
Sat Jul 14
page
  Saturday, July 14, 2001 Kayak the Winooski River Leader: Fred Jordan On a day that promised showers and cloudy skies when we left Montpelier turned into a nice...
Sun Jul 15
page
  This was billed as an inspection hike for one of the trails we maintain. It turned out to be more inspection and less hiking. We were continually examining the...
Tue Jul 17
page
  Tuesday, July 17, 2001 - July 20 Friday Canoe/ Kayak at Harriman and Somerset Reservoirs Leader: Andrew & Reidun Nuquist Five cars, seven boats, and eight...
Sat Jul 21
page
  On Saturday, July 21, Ed Loewenton, Nick Newton, Paul Deluca, and Cynthia Takos arrived at the Pinkham Notch Visitor Center at the foot of Mount Washington at...
Sun Jul 22
page
  Sunday, July 22, 2001 Bide Ride Randolph from Montpelier Leader: Jill Aspinall and Rick Molz (no text) Participants Jill Aspinall Guy Amundsen Rick Molz Anne...
Sat Jul 28
page
  This is the fifth year for this trip, with the best attendance yet: Ed Loewenton, Paul Deluca, and Clare Buckley were repeat customers, and Nick Newton and...
Sun Jul 29
page
  Sunday, July 29, 2001 Hike Groton State Forest Leader: Thomas Weiss We met at Montpelier High School at 9 and were on our way a few minutes later. After a...
Sat Aug 04
page
  Saturday, August 4, 2001 Bike Ride Missisquoi Valley Rail Trail Leader: Doris Washburn and Priscilla Daggett (originally Ann Burcroff) Four members of the...
Sat Aug 11
page
  Saturday, August 11, 2001 Lake Willoughby Paddle Leader: Ann Burcroff (not in original schedule) It was one of those perfect days that make you sorry for all...
Sun Aug 12
page
  Sunday, August 12, 2001 Hike Middlebury Gap to Silent Cliff and Cave and then to Lake Pleiad Leader: Duncan Wilkie Joan Shields, Thomas Weiss, Suzie Wilson,...
Thu Aug 16
page
  Thursday, August 16, 2001 Hike Stratton Mt. Long Trail to South Summit Leader: Duncan Wilkie August 16, 2001 "Battle of Bennington Holiday". Yes, all State...
Sat Aug 18
page
  Saturday, August 18, 2001 Canoe/Kayak Mystery Paddle Leader: Steve Lightholder It was leader's choice, and no one disputed the leader's choice of Mollys Falls...
Sun Sep 02
page
  Sunday, September 2, 2001 Hike Mt. Hale Trail to summit, Lend-A-Hand trail to Zealand Hut then down Zealand Trail. Leader: Paul DeLuca (originally listed as...
Sun Sep 09
page
  Sunday, September 9, 2001 Hike at Stowe Mountain Resort Leader: Andrew & Reidun Nuquist How very different cross-country ski trails look in summer! At Stowe...
Sat Sep 15
page
  Saturday, September 15, 2001 Bike Ride Middlesex to Waitsfield, Duxbury to Stowe Leader: Nancy Schulz Two eager cyclists, Rick Molz and Jill Aspinall, joined...
Sun Sep 16
page
  Sunday, September 16, 2001 Hike Elmore Mt Leader: Christie Carter A small but fun group. Although the early morning temperature was 40 degrees, the day was...
Sat Sep 22
page
  Saturday, September 22, 2001 Hike Northeast Kingdom Fall Foliage Leader: Nancy Schulz Surprisingly, only two other hikers joined me for this Northeast Kingdom...
Sun Sep 23
page
  Sunday, September 23, 2001 Hike Hunger Mt. Middlesex side Leader: Jim & Marie McWilliam We had fourteen people of the Hunger Mountain trip. The day was partly...
Sun Sep 23
page
  Sunday, September 23, 2001 Canoe East Inlet area of the Connecticut Lakes Leader: Nancy Schulz I didn't realize that work had begun on a dam at East Inlet in...
Sat Sep 29
page
  Saturday, September 29, 2001 Hike Maple and Sunset Ridges loop Leader: Nancy Schulz A calm and crisp day drew a group of nine to join me for this circuit on...
Sun Sep 30
page
  Saturday, September 30, 2001 Work Hike - Elephant's Head Trail (not on original schedule) Leader: Bill Clark report by John Buddington It was a clear fall day,...
Sun Sep 30
page
  Sunday, September 30, 2001 Hike Galehead Mt. White Mts. Leader: Steve Lightholder report by Michael Chernick On a glorious fall day 3 hikers ascended the Gale...
Sat Oct 06
page
  Saturday, October 6, 2001 Hike Explore Mt. Equinox Leader: Nancy Schulz Mike Sinclair kindly offered to drive Faith Bieler and me to Manchester for the Mt....
Sat Oct 06
page
  Saturday, October 6, 2001 Hike & Cookout -- Flint Farm in Brookfield. Leader: Elaine Flint Today was cold, rainy and windy. Only two of us braved the weather...
Sun Oct 07
page
  Sunday, October 7, 2001 Photographers' Walk East Montpelier Adamant and area Leader: Jamie Cope The October 7th Sunday Photographers' Walk was scheduled for...
Mon Oct 08
page
  Monday, October 8, 2001 Hike Killington Peak via Bucklin Trail Leader: Steve Lightholder On the morning following the first snowfall of the season, John and...
Sat Oct 13
page
  Saturday, October 13, 2001 Fall Walk Through in Smugglers' Notch Leader: John Buddington We scheduled the fall walk-through at Smugglers Notch two weeks...
Sun Oct 14
page
  Sunday, October 14, 2001 Hike Mt. Ascutney Leader: Nancy Schulz With temperatures unseasonably warm (in the 60s) and under overcast skies, Steve Lightholder,...
Sat Oct 27
page
  Saturday, October 27, 2001 Hike Groton State Forest. Osmore Pond loop Leader: Doris Washburn Ten people showed an interest in going on this trip - six of them...
Sun Oct 28
page
  Sunday, October 28, 2001 Hike Long Trail Rte.105 to Canadian Border Leader: Michael Chernick The hike as conducted in mostly wintry conditions with a packed...
Sat Nov 03
page
  Saturday, November 3, 2001 Canoe/Kayak Green River Reservoir Leader: Andrew & Reidun Nuquist Cool but not cold, a breeze but not windy, clouds but not...
Sat Nov 03
page
  Saturday, November 3, 2001 Hike Scrag Mt. from Northfield side Leader: Nancy Schulz The group of ten that set out to hike Scragg Mtn enjoyed delightful weather...
Sun Nov 11
page
  Sunday, November 11, 2001 Mystery Road Walk Approximately 10 miles. Leader: Nancy Schulz A lovely, very light snow fell from gray skies as eleven walkers...
Sat Nov 17
page
  Saturday, November 17, 2001 Road Walk Pomfret East Barnard Leader: Michael Chernick A pleasant late fall road walk on the bak roads of Windsor County....
Sun Nov 18
page
  Sunday, November 18, 2001 Road Walk Peacham: partly on historic Bayley-Hazen Military Road Leader: Andrew & Reidun Nuquist Fifteen GMC members and guests...
Sat Dec 01
page
  Saturday, December 1, 2001 Road Walk around Berlin Pond. 5 Leader: Marilyn & Bob Wilson Our GMC activity, a walk around Berlin Pond, was well attended, with 31...
Sun Dec 02
page
  Sunday, December 2, 2001 Road Walk will include Montpelier's three cemeteries Leader: Andrew & Reidun Nuquist A December, snow-free, walk from Montpelier High...
Sat Dec 08
page
  Saturday, December 8, 2001 Hike/Snowshoe Bolton - Notch Road to Harrington's View. Leader: Nancy Schulz With temperatures in the high 20s and under sunny...
Sun Dec 09
page
  Sunday, December 9, 2001 Hike/Snowshoe Worcester Mt. 5 miles Leader: Jim & Marie McWilliam It was a small group, due to the snow. We chose not to do the final...
Sat Dec 15
page
  Saturday, December 15, 2001 Cross country Ski/ Snowshoe Mt.Mansfield TollRoad Leader: Steve Lightholder On a bright December day, Nancy Schulz, Michael...
Sun Dec 16
page
  Sunday, December 16, 2001 Hike/Cross country Ski/ Snowshoe North Branch East-Montpelier Trail Leader: Michael Chernick A walk during which Ann's testing of ski...
Sat Dec 22
page
  Saturday, December 22, 2001 Hike/Snowshoe around Kettle Pond Groton State Forest. Leader: Steve Lightholder Greg Wallace, Norman Grearson, Mielle Fox, Peter...
Sat Dec 29
page
  Saturday, December 29, 2001 Introduction to Cross-country Skiing Leader: Fred Jordan This was a fund and interesting afternoon with people interested in...
Sun Dec 30
page
  Sunday, December 30, 2001 Full Moon Cross-country Ski/Snowshoe East Montpelier trails Leader: Nancy Schulz There was enough snow on the ground for atmosphere...
Contents of previous years
© 2018 Montpelier Section of The Green Mountain Club, Inc.     Top     Wed 14 November 2018 Wed, 14 Nov 2018 20:55:15 -0500