Green Mountain Club
Montpelier Section

Reports for events in 2000

Date Report? Photos? Description of the event
Sat Jan 01
page
  SATURDAY JANUARY 1, 2000 Hike Groton State Forest Leader: Steve Lightholder The Montpelier Section's first hike on the first day in the first year of the...
Sun Jan 02
page
  SUNDAY JANUARY 2, 2000 Beginner's Cross-country Ski Lesson Leader: Ann Burcroff A small group, including two young boys, had a beginning ski lesson. Snow was...
Sat Jan 08
page
  SATURDAY JANUARY 8, 2000 Cross-country Ski or Snowshoe to a Chili Party at Beaver Meadow Leader: Peter Downey Due to the lack of snow the trip turned into a...
Sun Jan 09
page
  On a typically warm January Sunday, Andrew and Reidun Nuquist, Thomas Weiss, Paul DeLuca, Ben Gerdesby, and Ed Loewenton walked to the Chimney on Mount Elmore....
Sun Jan 16
page
  SUNDAY JANUARY 16, 2000 Snowshoe Walk on Montpelier Trails & Road Leader: Nancy Schulz Five human hikers and one canine enjoyed a three-hour loop through the...
Thu Jan 20
page
  THURSDAY JANUARY 20, 2000 Moonlight Ski at Smuggler s Notch Leader: Andrew Nuquist Great planning! A moonlight ski trip on the night of a total lunar eclipse....
Sun Jan 23
page
  SUNDAY JANUARY 23, 2000 Snowshoe Hike Montclair Glen Lodge Leader: Michael Chernick A cold day that was milder in the woods. We returned by the Aliss Trail to...
Sun Jan 30
page
  SUNDAY JANUARY 30, 2000 Snowshoe Cross-country Ski from Stevensville to Taylor Lodge Leader: Fred Jordan Today was like winning the lottery. The day dawned...
Sat Feb 05
page
  SATURDAY FEBRUARY 5, 2000 Snowshoe from Mountain Rd in Stowe to Watson Camp via Long Trail Leader: Nancy Schulz Clare Buckley, Rick Theken, Ed Loewenton and I...
Sat Feb 05
page
  SATURDAY FEBRUARY 5 - Sunday February 6, 2000 Overnight Snowshoe Cross-country Ski Zealand Valley Leader: Michael Chernick and Peter Downey This two day outing...
Sun Feb 06
page
  SUNDAY FEBRUARY 6, 2000 Cross-country Ski E Montpelier loop Leader: Esther Farnsworth and Priscilla Daggett We had a beautiful, if windy, day. It was to be...
Sat Feb 12
page
  SATURDAY FEBRUARY 12, 2000 Snowshoe at Bolton Valley TRAIL FEE Leader: Nancy Schulz On a clear, cold morning, five of us gathered at Bolton's ew nordic...
Sun Feb 13
page
  SUNDAY FEBRUARY 13, 2000 Annual Cross-country Ski trip at Highland Lodge Greensboro Leader: Mark Haughwout 23 people arrived during the day to go x-country...
Wed Feb 16
page
  WEDNESDAY FEBRUARY 16, 2000 Snowshoe to Taft Lodge Leader: Nancy Schulz Karen Sharpwolf contacted me several months ago and asked if I would co-lead a snowshoe...
Sat Feb 19
page
  SATURDAY FEBRUARY 19, 2000 Cross-country Ski in Calais Leader: Betty Moskowitz and Joan Heller Cancelled due to inclement weather. (A foot of snow fell during...
Sun Feb 20
page
  SUNDAY FEBRUARY 20, 2000 Cross-country Ski at Burke Mt Ski Touring Center Leader: Andrew & Reidun Nuquist [no text] Participants: Andy and Carlene Squires Joan...
Sat Feb 26
page
  SATURDAY FEBRUARY 26, 2000 Cross-country Ski at Craftsbury Ski Center Leader: Steve Lightholder They said it might rain. Nancy Schulz and I went skiing anyway....
Sun Feb 27
page
  Sunday FEBRUARY 27, 2000 Cross-country Ski at Craftsbury Ski Center Leader: Ann Burcroff Cancelled due to very warm weather -- melting snow and mud.
Sat Mar 04
page
  SATURDAY MARCH 4, 2000 Snowshoe Cross-country Ski the Hills of Montpelier Leader: Duncan Wilkie or [no text] Participants: Laurelae Oehler Sam and Bobbie...
Sun Mar 05
page
  SUNDAY MARCH 5, 2000 Snowshoe Appalachian Trail to Wintturi Shelter Leader: Michael Chernick A very strange day as the weather continuously shifted from...
Fri Mar 10
page
  FRIDAY MARCH 10, 2000 Slide / Picture Show Leader: Esther Farnsworth Great Pictures and slides. Participants: Andrew Nuquist Priscilla Page Betty Moskowitz...
Sat Mar 11
page
  SATURDAY MARCH 11, 2000 Cross-country Ski at Stowe Mt Resort Touring Center Leader: Marilyn & Bob Wilson This outing was cancelled due to poor skiing...
Sun Mar 12
page
  SUNDAY MARCH 12, 2000 Snowshoe to Mt Mansfield Summit up Long Trail to Chin Leader: Ed Loewenton [no text] Participants: Pamela Whitney Ed Loewenton David...
Fri Mar 17
page
  FRIDAY MARCH 17, 2000 St Patrick s Day Moonlight Snow-shoe or Hike Irish Hill Berlin Leader: John Buddington We were fortunate: After a week of warm weather...
Sun Mar 19
page
  SUNDAY MARCH 19, 2000 Snowshoe Mt Crawford White Mts Leader: Steve Lightholder Michael and I had a great day for an outing: temperature at 40 degrees, bright...
Sat Mar 25
page
  SATURDAY MARCH 25, 2000 X-C Ski Bolton Valley Nordic Ctr Trail Fee Various distances Leader: Fred Jordan This was a very late season ski trip to the newly...
Sun Mar 26
page
  SUNDAY MARCH 26, 2000 Hike Paine Mountain via Clark route Northfield Leader: Nancy Schulz Although planned as a ski/snowshoe trip, this outing was impacted by...
Sun Apr 02
page
  SUNDAY APRIL 2, 2000 Road Walk Berlin Pond Leader: Michael Chernick.. [no text] Participants: Michael Chernick Marilyn Wilson Lynne Anderson Thomas Weiss Rick...
Sun Apr 09
page
  SUNDAY APRIL 9, 2000 Road Walk Brookfield Leader: Elaine Flint & Steve Lightholder Cancelled in the face of a spring snowstorm. But Michael Chernick deserves...
Sat Apr 22
page
  SATURDAY APRIL 22, 2000 Canoe Kayak (3 hrs ) Shelburne Pond Leader: Steve Lightholder (originally Nancy Schulz) Cancelled due to sleet.
Sat Apr 29
page
  SATURDAY APRIL 29, 2000 Canoe Kayak (3 hrs ) on Peacham Pond Leader: Nancy Schulz / Duncan Wilkie The reflection of the azure sky in the cold calm water was...
Sun Apr 30
page
  SUNDAY APRIL 30, 2000 Canoe Kayak Wrightsville Reservoir Leader: Cindy Lindemann Originally scheduled for Dead Creek, moved to Wrightsville Reservoir. It was...
Sat May 06
page
  SATURDAY MAY 6, 2000 Bike Ride Richmond - So Hinesburg Loop Paved roads 20-25 Leader: Marilyn & Bob Wilson Our bike trip began in Richmond on a cloudy morning,...
Sun May 07
page
  SUNDAY MAY 7, 2000 Wild Flower Walk - Duck Brook Shelter - Jonesville Leader: Ann Burcroff The distance according to the Long Trail Guide was 4+ miles, but...
Sat May 13
page
  SATURDAY MAY 13, 2000 Work Trip Walk thru on LT out of Smugglers Notch Leader: Eric Seidel This was the spring walk-through for this section of trail. While...
Sun May 14
page
  SUNDAY MAY 14, 2000 Bike Ride Loo Montpelier - Duxbury - Waterbury Leader: Marilyn Wilson (originally Nancy Schulz) Four bikers, Mary Slater, Fred Jordan,...
Sat May 20
page
  SATURDAY MAY 20, 2000 Work Trip Walk through from River Road to intersection Leader: Eric Seidel (the following report is as submitted by John Buddington) It...
Sun May 21
page
  SUNDAY MAY 21, 2000 Canoe Kayak on Lamoille River Wolcott to Morrisville Leader: Fred Jordan Three canoes and two kayaks entered the Lamoille River about a...
Sat Jun 03
page
  SATURDAY JUNE 3, 2000 Hike 2 - Appalachian Trail Norwich to West Hartford 9 miles Leader: Steve Lightholder Eight of us: Mitchell Stupp, Marilyn Wilson, Guy...
Sun Jun 04
page
  SUNDAY JUNE 4, 2000 Bike Burlington Recreation Path & Colchester Causeway Leader: Andrew & Reidun Nuquist [no text] Participants: Doris Washburn Mary Garcia...
Sat Jun 17
page
  SATURDAY JUNE 17, 2000 Bike Ride Northfield Falls - Moretown Common Leader: Marilyn & Bob Wilson First third of the ride began on a hot, humid morning. Clouds...
Sun Jun 18
page
  SUNDAY JUNE 18, 2000 Hike Mt Galehead (NH) Leader: Michael Chernick A 13 mile hike through the White Mts with stops at the new AMC Galehead Hut and atop Mt...
Sat Jun 24
page
  SATURDAY JUNE 24, 2000 Work Trip Build puncheon on LT below Gorham Lodge on Camel's Hump Leader: Eric Seidel (the following report is based on an outline...
Sat Jul 01
page
  SATURDAY JULY 1 - Sunday July 2, , 2000 Overnight camping Hump Brook Tenting Area Camel s Hump 3 4miles Leader: Andrew & Reidun Nuquist This hike was labeled...
Sat Jul 08
page
  SATURDAY JULY 8, 2000 Hike Appalachian Trail West Hartford to Rte 12 Woodstock Leader: Steve Lightholder Fourteen of us, Thomas Weiss, Roger Whitcomb, Marilyn...
Sun Jul 09
page
  SUNDAY JULY 9, 2000 Canoe Kayak on Green River Reservoir Leader: Christie Carter & Ann Burcroff In spite of an overcast day all who showed up had a very nice...
Sat Jul 15
page
  SATURDAY JULY 15, 2000 Hike Hunger Mountain Waterbury Leader: Ray & Sylvia Kingsbury Despite predictions of a 70 percent chance of rain, Sylvia and I joined...
Sun Jul 23
page
  Sunday July 23, 2000 Hike Mt Elmore Leader: Andrew & Reidun Nuquist While we were pleased to see one new face, we were sorry this easy hike "suitable for...
Sun Jul 30
page
  Sunday July 30, 2000 Hike Spruce Mt Plainfield Leader: Esther Farnsworth The threat of thunderstorms made me cancel hikes, but for those who did show, we hiked...
Thu Aug 03
page
  Thursday August 3, 2000 Canoe Kayak Green River Reservoir Leader: Andrew & Reidun Nuquist We bad expected a modest turnout for this mid-week trip scheduled for...
Sat Aug 05
page
  Saturday August 5, 2000 Hike 4 - Appalachian Trail Rte J 2 Woodstock to Chateaugay Leader: Steve Lightholder On a sunny day following a week of rain, fourteen...
Sun Aug 06
page
  Sunday August 6, 2000 Canoe Kayak Northeast Kingdom Pond hopping Leader: Duncan Wilkie On a sunny day paddlers Al Reed, Peg Blanchet, Ann Burcroff, Kathy Gohl,...
Sat Aug 12
page
  Saturday August 12, 2000 Hike Mansfield Rock Scramble Up Hell Brook Cliff Leader: Ed Loewenton Ed Loewenton & Paul DeLuca went for a walk up the Hellbrook...
Sat Aug 19
page
  Saturday August 19, 2000 Mystery Bike Ride Leader: Priscilla Daggett and Fred Jordan (originally Esther Farnsworth) The first mystery about this bike ride was,...
Sun Aug 27
page
  Sunday August 27, 2000 Bike Ride Isle La Motte Leader: Mary Slater and Mary Garcia Despite riding through two rain showers in the first mile, Ruth Hare, Doris...
Sun Sep 03
page
  Sunday September 3, 2000 Canoe Kayak Otter Creek Leader: Andrew & Reidun Nuquist This outing, on Labor Day weekend, was originally scheduled to float down...
Sat Sep 09
page
  Saturday September 9, 2000 Dave Morse Memorial Hike Leader: Doris Washburn On a beautiful warm and sunny day, we started our hike at the Couching Lion Farm...
Sun Sep 10
page
  Saturday September 10, 2000 Hike 5 - Appalachian Trail Chateaugay Road Barnard to River Road Leader: Steve Lightholder On a warm and sunny late summer day...
Sat Sep 16
page
  Saturday September 16, 2000 Hike Couching Lion Farm to Camel's Hump return by Wind Gap Leader: Fred Jordan The weatherman told us of the horrid things that...
Sat Sep 23
page
  Sunday September 23, 2000 Hike Mt Greylock Williamstown MA Leader: Duncan Wilkie The day was overcast, we left Montpelier at 8:30 am and reached Williamstown,...
Sun Oct 01
page
  Sunday October 1, 2000 Canoe Kayak on Peacham Pond Leader: Joan He1Jer & Betty Moskowitz We were composed of three kayaks and a canoe. It was a beautiful,...
Sat Oct 07
page
  Saturday October 7, 2000 Hike Belvidere Mt loop Leader: Duncan Wilkie The peak of foliage season was upon us, but the weather look threatening with low dark...
Sun Oct 08
page
  Sunday October 8, 2000 Bike Ride Montpelier Worcester-Adamant- Leader: Fred Jordan The weather forecast was not very good; they had predicted rain and snow,...
Sat Oct 14
page
  Saturday October 14, 2000 Hike 6 Appalachian Trail River Road Killington to Rte 4 Leader: Steve Lightholder On an exceptionally warm and sunny Fall day, nine...
Sat Oct 14
page
  Foliage in Lamoille County (North Central - includes, Stowe, Morrisville, Johnson; approx 45 minutes east and a bit north of Burlington) is just past its peak...
Sat Oct 21
page
  Saturday October 21, 2000 Work Hike Long Trail South from the River Road to Gorham Lodge Leader: Eric Seidel We cleaned and/or re-constructed all of the...
Sat Oct 28
page
  Saturday October 28, 2000 Work Hike Long Trail North from Rte 108 to Chillcoot Pass Leader: Eric Seidel All Drainage structures between the trailhead and...
Sun Nov 05
page
  Sunday November 5, 2000 Hike Butternut Mt via Davis Neighborhood Trail and LT Leader: Andrew & Reidun Nuquist Overcast sky and a light drizzle discouraged...
Sat Nov 11
page
  Saturday November 11, 2000 Walk "Just for the Hill of it" Leader: Esther Farnsworth and Priscilla Daggett No moon, but good light and a wonderful time. ...
Sat Nov 18
page
  Saturday November 18, 2000 Walk Burlington Bike Path Leader: Michael Chernick A pleasant walk on a brisk afternoon. Participants: Michael Chernick Christie...
Sat Nov 25
page
  Saturday November 25, 2000 Walk Tour of Burlington Leader: Steve Lightholder Turning our backs to a brisk south wind, twelve of us: Elaine Flint, Nancy Schulz,...
Sat Dec 02
page
  Saturday December 2, 2000 Snowshoe Mt Mansfield Toll Road Leader: Nancy Schulz Two GMC regulars and two new faces joined me for the annual toll road snowshoe....
Sun Dec 03
page
  Sunday December 3, 2000 Road Walk in Marshfield and Plainfield Leader: Nancy Schulz After scouting a road walk several weeks ago in the Stowe / Morristown...
Sun Dec 10
page
  Sunday December 10, 2000 Hike Road Walk Montpelier North Branch Park Trail - Sparrow Farm Leader: Andrew & Reidun Nuquist [no text] Participants: Andrew...
Sat Dec 16
page
  Saturday December 16, 2000 Snowshoe Middlebury Gap - Burnt Hill Leader: John Buddington and Christie Carter Five of us strapped on snowshoes and set out on the...
Sun Dec 17
page
  Sunday December 17, 2000 Hike Groton State Forest: Kettle Pond & Owls Head Leader: Steve Lightholder Cancelled: heavy rain and high wind
Sat Dec 30
page
  Saturday December 30, 2000 Cross-country Ski in Stowe on private land near Moss Glen Falls Leader: Nancy Schulz After meeting at the high school, three of us...
Contents of previous years
© 2018 Montpelier Section of The Green Mountain Club, Inc.     Top     Tue 06 November 2018 Tue, 06 Nov 2018 20:55:31 -0500