Green Mountain Club
Montpelier Section

Reports for events in 1998

Date Report? Photos? Description of the event
Sat Jan 03
page
  Saturday January 3, 1998 Cross Country Ski wherever we can find snow Leader: Ann Burcroff We had our lesson at U32 High School and with the coach's permission...
Sun Jan 04
page
  Sunday January 4, 1998 Snowshoe Hike up Mt. Elmore Leader: Ed Loewenton On this crystal blue and calm day, Ruth and Ed hiked to the lookout tower, and looked...
Sun Jan 11
page
  Sunday January 11, 1998 Cross-country ski trip to Beaver Meadow Lodge chili party Leader: Peter Downey We had very little snow this year, so the trip was a...
Sun Jan 18
page
  Sunday January 18, 1998 Cross-Country Ski at Stowe Mountain Resort Touring Center Leader: Nancy Schulz A storm on Thursday brought much needed fresh powder to...
Sun Jan 25
page
  Sunday January 25, 1998 Snowshoe to Taylor Lodge via Lake Mansfield Trail Leader: Michael Chernick [no text] Participants: Michael Chernick David Kreindler...
Sat Feb 07
page
  Saturday February 7, 1998 Snowshoe from Bolton Notch Road to Buchanan Lodge Leader: Nancy Schulz I knew I would have a large crowd for this outing because of...
Sun Feb 08
page
  Sunday February 8, 1998 Cross-Country Ski at Highland Lodge in Greensboro Leader: Mark Haughwout The 18 members of this outing arrived at different times...
Sat Feb 14
page
  Saturday February 14, 1998 Cross-Country Ski Horn of the Moon loop in East Montpelier Leader: Nancy Schulz Due to the lack of snow in recent weeks, I knew...
Sun Feb 15
page
  Sunday February 15, 1998 Cross-country ski or snowshoe to Corliss Camp Johnson Leader: Cindy & Bob Lindemann [no text] Participants: Cindy & Bob Lindemann Jeff...
Sun Feb 22
page
  Sunday February 22, 1998 Cross-Country Ski Snowshoe on hills overlooking Montpelier Leader: Duncan Wilkie [no text] Participants: Duncan Wilkie Doris...
Sat Feb 28
page
  Saturday February 28, 1998 Snowshoeing at Bolton Ski Area Leader: Nancy Schulz I was surprised by the low turnout for this trip because it was a gorgeous day...
Sat Mar 07
page
  Saturday March 7, 1998 Cross-Country Ski the Stowe Recreation Path 10 4 miles round Leader: Nancy Schulz Due to the absence of snowfall in many weeks, I had a...
Sun Mar 08
page
  Sunday March 8, 1998 Cross-Country Ski North Branch Trails in Montpelier Leader: Ann Burcroff Very poor snow conditions, warm day -- No one showed up.
Sat Mar 14
page
  Saturday March 14, 1998 Cross-Country Ski at Craftsbury Nordic Ski Center Leader: Steve Lightholder With an icy snow cover under gray skies in Montpelier,, six...
Sun Mar 15
page
  Sunday March 15, 1998 Snowshoe Hike in Camel s Hump State Park Leader: Michael Chernick [no text] Participants: Duncan Wilkie Michael Chernick Jenny Macys...
Wed Mar 25
page
  Steve Haupt, Wolfgang Hokenmaier, Cris Cote, Nancy Schulz, Steve Lightholder, Dave ____________, and Ed Loewenton gathered at the Winter end of Route 108, near...
Sat Mar 28
page
  Saturday March 28, 1998 Snowshoe Hike to Chin on Mt Mansfield 5 4 miles round trip Leader: Ed Loewenton on web site as March 25 with this text: March 25, 1998...
Sat Apr 11
page
  Saturday, April 11, 1998 Road Walk in Adamant, Calais and East Montpelier Leader: Nancy Schulz This Saturday continued the streak of unusually fine days for...
Sun Apr 12
page
  Sunday April 12, 1998 Road Walk in North Montpelier, Calais and East Montpelier Leader: Nancy Schulz Despite the number of phone calls I received expressing...
Sat Apr 18
page
  Saturday April 18, 1998 Paddle La Platte River Leader: Nancy Schulz Four kayakers gathered at Montpelier High school at 9:00 A.M. The temperature was...
Sun Apr 19
page
  Sunday April 19, 1998 Bike Montpelier o Warren Leader: Nancy Schulz Only one cyclist joined me on Sunday morning for this early season bike ride. At the start...
Sat Apr 25
page
  Saturday April 25, 1998 Mud Season Road Walk i n Brookfield Leader: Elaine Flint and Steve Lightholder Eleven of us walked and / or ran around a road loop in...
Sun May 03
page
  Sunday May 3, 1998 Bike Trip from Worcester to Elmore Leader: Andrew & Reidun Nuquist Saturday's rain ended by daylight Sunday, but with dark clouds overhead...
Sat May 09
page
  Saturday May 9, 1998 Bike Trip to Brookfield Pond (Floating Bridge) Moderate about Leader: Fred Jordan Fred and Andy left the high school parking lot just...
Sat May 16
page
  Saturday May 16, 1998 Trail Work Hike - LT Bamforth Ridge Leader: Eric Seidel Work accomplished: LT from Winooski River to the Hut Clearing cleaned of all ice...
Sun May 17
page
  Photos by Andy Nuquist Some damage can be cleaned up with hand tools Some damage required a chain saw Lunch with a view May 24
Sun May 17
page
  Sunday May 17, 1998 Wildflower Hike to Duck Brook Shelter Leader: Ann Burcroff The predicted thunder showers were all over by the time we got to Jonesville, so...
Wed May 20
page
  Wednesday May 20, 1998 Picture Show Evening Bring slides pictures to share Leader: Fred Jordan The thunderstorm ended just in time for the arrival of the...
Sat May 23
page
  Saturday May 23, 1998 Canoe Trip on Otter Creek at Sudbury Leader: Fred Jordan With clear skies and moderate North winds, we launched all nine boats in the...
Sun May 24
page
  Sunday May 24, 1998 Trail Work - Long Trail North, Hazen's Notch to Buchanan Leader: Eric Seidel See photos on web site at...
Sat May 30
page
  Saturday May 30, 1998 Trail Work - Long Trail from Rt. 17 to intersection with the Jerusalem Trail. Leader: Eric Seidel Cleared ice storm damage and trimmed...
Mon Jun 01
page
  Underhill State Park (START) to Chin via Halfway House (A) trail to North Canyon Trail (B) and North Canyon Extension, cutoff to Ridge via Subway (C) , return...
Sat Jun 06
page
  Saturday June 6, 1998 Day Hiker s Long Trail #20 Sherburne Pass to David Logan Shelter Leader: Thomas Weiss MHS 6:30 - 6:40 Mountain Top Inn 8:10 - 8:55...
Sun Jun 21
page
  Sunday June 21, 1998 Hike from Vt 118 to Devil s Gulch Leader: Reidun & Andrew Nuquist This is a nice, easy circle from Route 118 south to Devil's Gulch and...
Wed Jun 24
page
  Wednesday June 24, 1998 Bike Trip mostly on unpaved roads in East Montpelier and Adamant Leader: Mary Garcia (originally Marilyn Wilson) On a very warm...
Sat Jun 27
page
  Saturday June 27, 1998 Day Hiker's Long Trail #21 from David Logan Shelter to Brandon Gap Leader: Thomas Weiss MHS 7:15 Brandon Gap 8:40 - 9:05 FS 99 start...
Sun Jun 28
page
  Sunday June 28, 1998 Circular Bike Trip from Hardwick to North Wolcott and back Leader: Doris Washburn On a beautiful cool sunny day, eight of us left Hardwick...
Sun Jul 05
page
  Sunday July 5, 1998 Hike up Camel's Hump via LT south (Bamforth Ridge) Leader: Steve Lightholder Four of us set out to climb Camel's Hump. Departing from the...
Thu Jul 09
page
  Thursday July 9, 1998 Mystery Full Moon Paddle (canoe or kayak) Leader: Barbara Agnew Cancelled - thunderstorms
Sat Jul 11
page
  Saturday July 11, 1998 Canoe kayak Lake Champlain Launch at Isle LaMotte Bridge Leader: Eric Seidel Cancelled due to
Sun Jul 12
page
  Sunday July 12, 1998 Hike the Lookout on the AT Difficult with moderate pace approximately Leader: Michael Chernick When GMC members embark on a hiking...
Sat Jul 18
page
  Saturday July 18, 1998 Day Hiker s Long Trail #22 Brandon Gap to Middlebury Gap Leader: Thomas Weiss MHS 7:10 Middlebury Gap 8:15 - 8:40 Brandon Gap 9:10 -...
Sun Jul 26
page
  Sunday July 26, 1998 Wildflower hike picnic and swim at Alburg Dunes State Park Leader: Ann Burcroff Very obscure road -- only commercial sign, "Palmer Sand...
Sat Aug 15
page
  Saturday August 15, 1998 Day Hiker s Long Trail #23 Middlebury Gap to Clark Brook Trail Leader: Thomas Weiss MHS 7:10 FS 55 at Gate 8:05 - 8:15 Middlebury Gap...
Sat Aug 22
page
  Saturday August 22, 1998 Paddle Green River Reservoir Leader: Steve Lightholder Five of us enjoyed a cruise on the Green River Reservoir. The sky was partly...
Sun Aug 23
page
  Sunday August 23, 1998 Hike Mt. Pisgah, Swim Lake Willoughby Leader: Ann Burcroff Beginning of S. trail is 1/2 mile South of the Lake -- obscure, but across...
Sun Aug 30
page
  Sunday August 30, 1998 Hike Mt Ascutney via Windsor Trail e Leader: Michael Chernick All went well. Participants: Michael Chernick Ashley and Jason Bird...
Sat Sep 12
page
  Eve Mendelsohn, John Buddington, and Ed Loewenton (Trip leader), started the climb at 10 AM, on the strength of Ed's promise that it would be sunny by mid...
Sun Sep 13
page
  Sunday September 13, 1998 Hike Spruce Mountain in Plainfield Leader: Reidun and Andy Nuquist This trip, designed as a "special hike for new and prospective...
Sat Sep 19
page
  Saturday September 19, 1998 Day Hiker s Long Trail #24 - Clark Brook Trail to Lincoln Gap Leader: Thomas Weiss MHS 7:10 Lincoln Gap, Warren 7:50 - 8:30 Clark...
Sat Sep 19
page
  Saturday September 19 - Sunday September 20, 1998 Overnight camping at Zealand Falls Campground in NH Leader: Betty Moskowitz & Joan Heller Very pleasant trip....
Sun Sep 20
page
  Sunday September 20, 1998 Country Road Bike Extravaganza Leader: Fred Jordan The day was hot and humid, and the fall color just starting to show. The four of...
Sat Sep 26
page
  Saturday September 26, 1998 Paddle the Otter Creek from covered bridge in West Salisbury Leader: Fred Jordan We had seven boats on the river. Three kayaks, and...
Sun Sep 27
page
  Sunday September 27, 1998 Bicycle Trip in St Albans Swanton Area Leader: Andrew & Reidun Nuquist Five of us gambled, and won. That the predicted torrential...
Sun Oct 04
page
  Sunday October 4, 1998 Hike Big & Little Deer Mountains in Groton State Park Leader: Doris Washburn Seven hikers left the New Discovery area headed for Big...
Sat Oct 10
page
  Saturday October 10, 1998 Day Hiker s Long Trail #25 Lincoln Gap to Appalachian Gap Leader: Thomas Weiss MHS 7:20 VT 100 at VT 17 7:50 - 8:35 Appalachian Gap...
Sun Oct 18
page
  From Rte. 12, towards Worcester Mtn along Hogback, back to Hunger, to White Rock. from the archives Sunday October 18, 1998 Hike Worcester Mountain to Hunger...
Sat Oct 24
page
  Saturday October 24, 1998 Hike Mt Mansfield Chin via Halfway House return on Sunset Trail Leader: Ed Loewenton (Outing report prepared afterwards by Nancy...
Sat Oct 31
page
  Saturday October 31, 1998 Work hike on Long Trail - Smuggler's Notch to Chilcoot Pass Leader: Eric Seidel Eight regular Montpelier volunteers were joined by...
Sun Nov 01
page
  Sunday November 1, 1998 Hike to Burnt Rock Mountain via Hedgehog Brook Trail Leader: Nancy Schulz I'm sure the weather discouraged some hikers from turning...
Sun Nov 08
page
  Sunday November 8, 1998 Work hike on Long Trail - Bamforth Ridge Leader: Eric Seidel Cleaned water bars. Built two stone bars. Cruised trail to Gorham. ...
Sat Nov 14
page
  Saturday November 14, 1998 Road walk loop in East Montpelier Calais area Leader: Nancy Schulz Twelve walkers carpooled the 15 miles to Woodbury's Cranberry...
Sat Nov 21
page
  Saturday November 21, 1998 Road walk on rolling dirt roads (possibly some Class 4) Leader: Nancy Schulz Five of us carpooled to the base of East Hill Road in...
Sun Nov 22
page
  Sunday November 22, 1998 Road and trail walk Leader: Nancy Schulz Thirteen of us met for today's walk under sunny skies, (Last year, we did the walk in snow!)...
Sun Nov 29
page
  Sunday November 29, 1998 Walking Tour of Burlington Leader: Steve Lightholder On an unusually warm and sunny Fall afternoon we set out to tour Burlington....
Sat Dec 05
page
  Saturday December 5, 1998 Snowshoe Hike up Mt Mansfield Toll Road Leader: Nancy Schulz The unseasonably warm weather in recent weeks insured that the outing...
Sun Dec 06
page
  Sunday December 6, 1998 Cross-Country Ski at Little River State Park Leader: Nancy Schulz Six people joined me for an outing at Little River State Park, which...
Sat Dec 12
page
  Saturday December 12, 1998 Snowshoe hike to Watson Camp Leader: Nancy Schulz Conditions for this outing proved to be very different from last year's. The...
Sat Dec 19
page
  Saturday December 19, 1998 Cross-country ski Cotton Brook Road Leader: Nancy Schulz Today's outing proved to be the perfect antidote top an overdose of...
Sun Dec 20
page
  Sunday December 20, 1998 Hike Snowshoe at Groton State Park on Kettle Pond and Owl's Head Leader: Steve Lightholder Twelve of us went for a hike around Kettle...
Reports from previous years
© 2018 Montpelier Section of The Green Mountain Club, Inc.     Top    Wed 19 September 2018