Green Mountain Club
Montpelier Section

Reports for events in 1997

Date Report? Photos? Description of the event
Sat Jan 11
page
  Saturday January 11, 1997 X-C ski trip to Beaver Meadow Lodge for Chili Party Leader: Peter Downey [no text] Participants: Peter Downey Michael Chernick Jeff...
Sat Jan 18
page
  Saturday January 18, 1997 X-C skiing at Trapp Family Lodge (originally on East Montpelier trails) Leader: Nancy Schulz Steve and I were the only brave (or...
Sat Jan 25
page
  Saturday January 25, 1997 X-C ski trip to Bolton X-C Ski Center Leader: Steve Lightholder Fred and I showed up. Fred and I paid no attention to the forecast...
Sat Feb 01
page
  Saturday February 1, 1997 Mystery Snowshoe Hike in the Montpelier area Leader: Duncan Wilkie Hike started at 1 P.M. at Brown Derby. Hiked the hills between...
Sun Feb 02
page
  Sunday February 2, 1997 Ski in Montpelier's new North Branch Park Leader: Andrew & Reidun Nuquist Eighteen participants met at the park entrance off Elm...
Sat Feb 08
page
  Saturday February 8, 1997 Ski Snowshoe overnight to Zealand Hut White Mountains NH Leader: Peter Downey Ten participants took part in this overnight trip,...
Sun Feb 09
page
  Sunday February 9, 1997 X-C Ski in Calais area Leader: Joan Heller and Betty Moskowitz Great outing. Marvelous weather and conditions. Total of 16...
Sat Feb 15
page
  Saturday February 15, 1997 Snowshoe to Taft Lodge Leader: Cindy Lindemann [no text] Participants: Cindy Lindemann Doris Washburn Sally Sairs Steve Lightholder...
Sat Mar 08
page
  Saturday March 8, 1997 Snowshoe Hike up Mt. Elmore Leader: Dave Morse [Originally announced as Snowshoe Hike (depending on snow conditions) up Worcester...
Sat Mar 15
page
  Saturday March 15, ,1997 X-C Ski at Mt. Mansfield Touring Center Leader: Nancy Schulz Although there were only five of us on this outing, it represented one of...
Sun Mar 23
page
  Sunday March 23, 1997 Road Walk around Berlin Pond Leader: Duncan Wilkie A bright sunny day with a brisk northwest wind. Ice still solid on the pond, and the...
Sun Mar 30
page
  Sunday March 30, 1997 Walk or ski in Chelsea Leader: Charlene Bohl The date was selected from the calendar in a checkbook and I did not realize that it was...
Sun Apr 13
page
  Sunday April 13, 1997 Day Hikers Long Trail #13 Smuggler s Notch Road Leader: Thomas Weiss Five of us met at MHS. We picked up one other at the Holiday Inn in...
Sun Apr 20
page
  Sunday April 20, 1997 Bike ride to Warren Leader: Nancy Schulz Four participants left Montpelier High School parking lot at 9:30 a.m. under beautiful sunny...
Sun Apr 27
page
  Sunday April 27, 1997 Road walk in East Montpelier Leader: Michael Chernick [no text] Participants: Michael Chernick Cheri Popoff Marilyn Wilson Mary Garcia...
Sun May 04
page
  Sunday May 4, 1997 Wildflower walk to Duck Brook Shelter Easy Bring water lunch Leader: Ann Burcroff On a grey and windy day, seven participants kept warm by...
Sat May 17
page
  Saturday May 17, 1997 Work hike at Smuggler s Notch Leader: Eric Seidel and Mary Jo Llewellyn A wash-out; too much snow. Re-schedule Participants: Eric Seidel...
Sat May 24
page
  Saturday May 24, 1997 Work hike on Bamforth Ridge Leader: Eric Seidel Cruised trail to just below Gorham Lodge. Cleaned all waterbars. Rebuilt drainage...
Sat May 31
page
  Saturday May 31, 1997 Day Hiker s Long Trail # 14 Prospect Rock to Mad Tom Notch Leader: Thomas Weiss MHS 6:40 Ludlow 8:10 - 8:40 Mad Tom Notch 9:15 - 9:25...
Sun Jun 01
page
  Sunday June 1, 1997 Bicycle trip in Champlain Valley north from DAR State Park Leader: Andrew & Reidun Nuquist In a light rain, no one was at either Montpelier...
Thu Jun 05
page
  Saturday June 5, 1997 Lake Mansfield Trail to Taylor Lodge Leader: Dave Otis and Ann Burcroff [This outing does not appear in Trail Talk or in the Long Trail...
Sun Jun 08
page
  Sunday June 8, 1997 Hike Davis Neighborhood Path from public road to Corliss Camp Leader: Michael Chernick [no text] Participants: Michael Chernick George...
Sat Jun 21
page
  Saturday June 21, 1997 Day Hiker s Long Trail #15 Mad Tom Notch to USFS Road Leader: Thomas Weiss MHS 6:40 Rutland 8:10 - 8:20 Big Branch Lot 8:55 - 9:05 Mad...
Sat Jun 28
page
  Saturday June 28, 1997 Canoe the Winooski River from Bolton to Essex Junction Leader: Harlan Farnsworth and Andrew Nuquist 17 boats, 30 people, beautiful...
Sat Jun 28
page
  Saturday June 28, 1997 Rail Trail bike trip from Marshfield to Groton Leader: Esther Farnsworth Bumpy ride, lunch in Groton town gazebo, a [?] in Ricker Pond. ...
Sat Jul 12
page
  Saturday July 12, 1997 Day Hiker s Long Trail #16 USFS Road 10 to Vt 140 Leader: Thomas Weiss 7:20 Leave MHS 8:40 - 9:00 Rutland 9:20 - 9:55 Wallingford...
Sun Jul 20
page
  Sunday July 20, 1997 Summer Mystery Hike l Leader: Thomas Weiss We went to Silver Lake State Park in Barnard. We met at MHS at 10, and I revealed the secret...
Sat Aug 02
page
  Saturday August 2, 1997 Hike to Falls of Lana Rattlesnake Cliff and Mt Moosalamoo Leader: Steve Lightholder (originally Cindy Lindemann) We five set out for...
Sun Aug 10
page
  Sunday August 10, 1997 Hike, swim and potluck supper at Lake Elmore Leader: Cindy Lindemann Celebrate the lazy days of summer with an afternoon hike up Mt....
Sat Aug 16
page
  Saturday August 16, 1997 Day Hiker s Long Trail #17 Vermont 140 to Upper Road Leader: Thomas Weiss MHS 7:15 Exit 4 7:40 - 7:45 Sunrise Chair 8:35 - 8:45 Upper...
Sun Aug 24
page
  Sunday August 24, 1997 Mountain or hybrid bike ride from East Montpelier to Greenwood Leader: Steve Lightholder August 24 dawned gray and foreboding but a cool...
Thu Aug 28
page
  Thursday August 28, 1997 Canoe trip on Lake Willoughby Leader: Andrew & Reidun Nuquist Beat the rain. 6 boats, 11 people Participants: Andrew Nuquist Bob and...
Sun Sep 07
page
  Sunday September 7, 1997 Bike ride in Champlain Valley Addison County Leader: Reidun Nuquist and Mary Garcia We traveled north along Lake Street and Button...
Sun Sep 14
page
  Sunday September 14, 1997 Circular hike on Mt Mansfield Leader: Duncan Wilkie Mt Mansfield - Hazelton Trail - over top, down Long Trail to ??? Participants:...
Sat Sep 20
page
  Saturday September 20, 1997 Day Hiker s Long Trail # 18 - Upper Road to Sherburne Pass Leader: Thomas Weiss MHS 7:10 LT at Mendon Mtn 8:30 - 8:40 LT at Upper...
Sat Sep 27
page
  Saturday September 27, 1997 Mystery canoe trip with early foliage Leader: Barbara Agnew Canoe Trip to Island Pond, What a truly glorious day we had for this...
Wed Oct 01
page
  photo by Ed Loewenton Moon over Mt Mansfield Photo by Judith Fabian Reproduced with Permission
Sat Oct 04
page
  Saturday October 4, 1997 Road walk on Craftsbury back roads Leader: Sharon Levin Though the day was misty, nine of us enjoyed the rich leaf colors, the vistas,...
Sat Oct 11
page
  Saturday October 11, 1997 Day Hiker's Long Trail # 19 - Lake Mansfield to Vt 108 Leader: Thomas Weiss Temperature was 37 degrees and skies were clear when we...
Sun Oct 19
page
  Sunday October 19, 1997 Hike Butternut Mountain via Corliss Camp on Davis Neighborhood Trail Leader: Andrew and Reidun Nuquist Sixteen hikers from as far away...
Sat Oct 25
page
  Saturday October 25, 1997 Work hike Long Trail north from Smuggler s Notch Leader: Eric Seidel The Notch Road was closed due to a foot or more of new snow. We...
Sat Nov 01
page
  Saturday November 1, 1997 Work hike on Long Trail Bamforth Ridge Leader: Eric Seidel We had excellent weather (in spite of the forecasted rain) and did...
Sun Nov 02
page
  Sunday November 2, 1997 Hike Stowe Recreation Path Leader: Michael Chernick [no text] Participants: Michael Chernick Steve Lightholder Faith King Edna...
Sun Nov 09
page
  Sunday November 9, 1997 Hike up Irish Hill Leader: Duncan Wilkie [no text] Participants: Duncan Wilkie Suzie Wilson Ann Burcroff Art Hochborg Edna Martineau...
Sat Nov 15
page
  Saturday November 15, 1997 Road walk - Maple Corner Leader: Nancy Schulz Eight of us began walking from the Curtis Pond spillway at 10:40 A.M. on the...
Sun Nov 16
page
  Sunday November 16, 1997 Road walk East Montpelier Leader: Nancy Schulz In addition to seven walkers, we also had Willie Rebmann with us. Willie is a mutt...
Sun Nov 23
page
  Sunday November 23, 1997 Road and trail walk park to park loop in Montpelier Leader: Nancy Schulz Under overcast skies with temperatures in the 30's, we met at...
Sat Nov 29
page
  Saturday November 29, 1997 Hike Burlington's Intervale and Recreation Path Leader: Steve Lightholder What could be finer than a walk along the lakeshore in...
Sun Dec 07
page
  Sunday December 7, 1997 Snowshoe Hike up Mt Mansfield Toll Road Leader: Nancy Schulz A large turnout for this outing. Ten of us gathered at Montpelier High...
Sat Dec 13
page
  Saturday December 13, 1997 Snowshoe Hike from Route 108 to Watson Camp via Long Trail Leader: Nancy Schulz A small group of five gathered for this outing,...
Sun Dec 14
page
  Sunday December 14, 1997 Snowshoe Hike to Montclair Glen Lodge Leader: Michael Chernick Twelve snowshoers journeyed on a day with powdery snow conditions via...
Sat Dec 20
page
  Saturday December 20, 1997 Holiday Hike or Snowshoe around Osmore Pond in Groton State Forest Leader: Steve Lightholder On a mild December afternoon with pale...
Reports from previous years
© 2018 Montpelier Section of The Green Mountain Club, Inc.     Top    Wed 19 September 2018