Green Mountain Club
Montpelier Section

Reports for events in 1996

Date Report? Photos? Description of the event
Sat Mar 23
page
  Saturday March 23, 1996 Snowshoe on Mt Elmore Leader: Nancy Schulz Much to my surprise, the trail up Mt. Elmore not only was completely covered, but also had 3...
Sat Mar 30
page
  Saturday March 30, 1996 Snowshoe Hike Mountain Road (Route 108) to Chin Leader: Nancy Schulz We had a great day for this outing. Sunny, calm, clear. We started...
Thu Apr 04
page
  Thursday April 4, 1996 Road hike: The Hills of Montpelier Under a Full Moon Leader: Nancy Schulz I suspect that the small turnout for this hike was due to 2...
Sat Apr 06
page
  Saturday April 6, 1996 Day Hiker s Long Trail Hike #6 Route 15 to Prospect Rock 4 Leader: Thomas Weiss My phone started ringing Wednesday night going right up...
Sun Apr 07
page
  Sunday April 7, 1996 Snowshoe up Camel s Hump via Bamforth Ridge Trail Leader: Nancy Schulz It may not have been the best idea to schedule a lengthy and...
Sat Apr 13
page
  Saturday April 13, 1996 Canoe kayak on Lake Champlain Leader: Nancy Schulz All of us (with the exception of Bobbie) met at Montpelier High school at 8:00 A.M....
Sun Apr 14
page
  Sunday April 14, 1996 Mystery Mud Walk Leader: Harlan Farnsworth Twelve of us found the mud, and also walked through a winter wonderland! We had received some...
Sat Apr 20
page
  Saturday April 20, 1996 Bike ride to Warren General Store Leader: Nancy Schulz It was a bit chilly as 12 cyclists gathered in Montpelier High School's...
Sun Apr 28
page
  Sunday April 28, 1996 Circular hike around Berlin Pond Leader: Michael Chernick [no text] Participants: Michael Chernick Steve Fettner Sally Sairs Ann Burcroff...
Sun May 12
page
  Sunday May 12, 1996 Day Hiker s Long Trail Hike #7 - Prospect Rock to Codding Hollow Leader: Thomas Weiss The day started with a flood watch until 11:00 A.M....
Sun May 19
page
  Sunday May 19, 1996 Trail Work on Bamforth Ridge Long Trail Leader: Eric Seidel After a wonderful breakfast we split into four work parties. The first...
Sat May 25
page
  Saturday May 25, 1996 Trail Work at Smuggler s Notch Spring walk-thru Various lengths Leader: Cindy Lindemann (originally Eric Seidel) Did LT to Chilcoot,...
Sat Jun 01
page
  Saturday June 1, 1996 Wildflower hike Big Deer area of Groton State Forest Leader: Doris Washburn " ... And what is so rare as a day in June . . . ?" A...
Sun Jun 02
page
  Sunday June 2, 1996 Wildflower hike Lincoln Gap Long Trail South and Cooley Glenn Trail Leader: Ann Burcroff and Duncan Wilkie [no text] Participants: Fred...
Sat Jun 15
page
  Saturday June 15, 1996 Ladyslipper hike - Lake Willoughby and Mt. Pisgah Leader: Cindy Lindeman [no text] Participants: Cindy Lindemann Steve Merchant Joe Bahr...
Sat Jun 22
page
  Saturday June 22, 1996 Day Hiker s Long Trail Hike #8 - County Road to Route 9 Leader: Thomas Weiss Leave MHS 6:40 Leave Rinkers 7:08 Rutland 8:05 - 8:17 LT at...
Sun Jun 30
page
  Sunday June 30, 1996 Paddle Chittenden Reservoir Leader: Andrew and Reidun Nuquist Rain held off long enough for us to follow the shoreline, lunch in a small...
Sun Jul 14
page
  Sunday July 14, 1996 Hike up Camel s Hump via Forestry & Alpine Trails Leader: Fred Jordan and David Morse The group stayed together up t6 the junction of the...
Sat Jul 27
page
  Saturday July 27, 1996 Day Hiker s Long Trail Hike #9 Route 9 to Glastenbury Mt Leader: Thomas Weiss (Originally listed for Sunday July 21) Leave MHS 6:37...
Sat Aug 03
page
  Saturday August 3, 1996 Elmore Mountain Leader: Joan Heller and Betty Moskowitz [report not found] Participants: Betty Moskowitz Joan Heller Bob Johnson Ken...
Sat Aug 10
page
  Saturday August 10, 1996 Work Hike Preparatory work for relocating Long Trail on Bamforth Leader: Eric Seidel Participants: Eric Seidel Mary Jo Llewellyn two...
Sat Aug 17
page
  Saturday August 17, 1996 Day Hiker s Long Trail #10 -Glastenbury Mt to Arlington West Leader: Thomas Weiss Leave MHS 6:46 Leave Rinkers Ludlow 8:16 - 8:35 LT...
Sun Aug 25
page
  Sunday August 25, 1996 Canoe on Otter Creek from Vergennes to Kingsland Bay Leader: Andrew & Reidun Nuquist Twenty-seven people launched 15 boats into the...
Tue Aug 27
page
  Tuesday August 27, 1996 Moonlight Canoe on Waterbury Reservoir Leader: Cindy Lindemann The threatening weather seemed to have kept some people at home since I...
Sat Sep 07
page
  Saturday September 7 - Sunday September 8, 1996 Hiking and Camping at Sugarloaf Campground Crawford Notch NH Leader: Joan Heller & Betty Moskowitz The report...
Sun Sep 08
page
  Sunday September 8, 1996 Hike to Little Rock Pond Leader: Duncan Wilkie Only two showed - me and Michael - because of hurricane warnings. Weather was windy,...
Sat Sep 14
page
  Saturday September 14, 1996 Work Hike on Bamforth Ridge Leader: Eric Seidel Purpose: Preparation for LT/Bamforth Ridge Trail relocation. The group joined the...
Sun Sep 15
page
  Sunday September 15, 1996 Hike up Giant Mountain in Adirondacks NY 7 miles moderate Leader: Bob and Cindy Lindemann Combo hike with Burlington section. [Their...
Sat Sep 21
page
  Saturday September 21, 1996 Work Hike on Bamforth Ridge Leader: Eric Seidel Purpose: Preparation for LT/Bamforth Ridge Trail relocation. The group joined the...
Sat Sep 21
page
  Saturday September 21, 1996 Day Hiker s Long Trail # 11 -- Arlington West Wardsboro Road to Prospect Rock Leader: Thomas Weiss Leave MHS 6:45 Rinkers 7:10 -...
Sun Sep 29
page
  Sunday September 29, 1996 Early Foliage Canoe Trip on Grafton Pond NH Leader: Barbara Agnew On a bright, cool, fall morning, seven of us drove the 75 miles to...
Sat Oct 05
page
  Saturday October 5, 1996 Day Hiker s Long Trail #12 -Smuggler s Notch to Lamoille River Leader: Thomas Weiss MHS 6:40 Lamoille River 7:40 - 7:55 Smugglers'...
Sat Oct 19
page
  Saturday October 19, 1996 Fall Work Hike in Smuggler's Notch Leader: Eric Seidel Twelve participants covered the LT from the Notch to Chilcoot Pass and the...
Sun Oct 20
page
  Sunday October 20, 1996 Walk Ridgeline from Irish Hill in Berlin to Paine Mountain Leader: Bill Osgood Cancelled because of bad weather The trip leader...
Sat Oct 26
page
  Saturday October 26, 1996 Fall Work Hike on Bamforth Ridge from River Road to Gorham Lodge Leader: Eric Seidel Thirteen participants. All drainage structures...
Sat Nov 02
page
  Saturday November 2, 1996 Hike Mt. Tabor - Old Job Trail Leader: Nancy Schulz and Duncan Wilkie Not counting Duncan and myself, there were eight hikers for...
Sun Nov 10
page
  Sunday November 10, 1996 Walk in Montpelier's new North Branch Park Leader: Andrew & Reidun Nuquist [no text] Participants: Andrew and Reidun Nuquist Doris...
Sun Nov 17
page
  Sunday November 17, 1996 Road Walk in East Montpelier Leader: Nancy Schulz 14 hikers (not including leader) began hiking about 9:30 A.M. Gorgeous blue skies,...
Sun Nov 24
page
  Sunday November 24, 1996 Hike the Stowe Bike Path Leader: Michael Chernick [no text] Participants: Michael Chernick Doris Washburn Carol Hignite Emily Neary...
Sat Dec 07
page
  Saturday December 7, 1996 Hike Mt Mansfield Toll Road Leader: Nancy Schulz Small group. Myself, 4 adults and one 8-year old. Overcast skies and seasonable...
Sun Dec 15
page
  Sunday December 15, 1996 Snowshoe to Montclair Glen Lodge Leader: Michael Chernick A clear and crisp day of snowshoeing up the Forestry and Dean Trails was...
Contents of previous years
© 2018 Montpelier Section of The Green Mountain Club, Inc.     Top     Wed 14 November 2018 Wed, 14 Nov 2018 20:55:17 -0500