Green Mountain Club
Montpelier Section

Reports for events in 1994

Date Report? Photos? Description of the event
Sat Mar 19
page
  Saturday March 19, 1994 X-C Ski at Trapp Family Touring Center Leader: Nancy Schulz The temperature was perfect for cross-country skiing: cold enough to keep...
Sun Apr 10
page
  Sunday April 10, 1994 Stow Pinnacle Leader: Nancy Schulz Two Laraway section members joined in this hike up Stowe Pinnacle. The going was easy and we never...
Sat Apr 16
page
  Saturday April 16, 1994 Bike Burlington Recreation Path Leader: Andrew and Reidun Nuquist Pouring rain. Participants: Andrew and Reidun Nuquist one non-member
Tue Apr 19
page
  Tuesday April 19, 1994 Walk Hills of Montpelier Leader: Nancy Schulz Our group included one new Montpelier section member and a woman from out of state who was...
Sat Apr 23
page
  Saturday April 23, 1994 Orienteering Session in Hubbard Park Leader: Andrew Nuquist This compass and map training session, arranged by Joan Heller, drew...
Sat Apr 30
page
  Saturday April 30, 1994 Canoe on Dead Creek Leader: Cindy Bigelow This was a joint canoe trip with the Sterling and Breadloaf sections of the Club. It was a...
Sun May 01
page
  Sunday May 1, 1994 Berlin Pond Leader: Michael Chernick On Sunday May 1 , 1994 , a day that had begun as cloudy, although by 1:00 p.m. the precipitation had...
Sat May 14
page
  Saturday May 14, 1994 Wildflower hike to Duck Brook Shelter from Route 2 Leader: Joe Bahr Wildflowers seen dandelions trailing arbutus hobblebush violet --...
Sun May 15
page
  Sunday May 15, 1994 Work Outing Spring walk-through on Bamforth Ridge Trail Leader: Eric Seidel Start: (trail work) 10:00 am Finish: 3:00-5:00 pm The annual...
Tue May 17
page
  Tuesday May 17, 1994 Evening workshop on Introduction to Backpacking Leader: Thomas Weiss, Reidun Nuquist, Peter Downey Reidun and I [Thomas] unpacked our...
Sat May 21
page
  Saturday May 21, 1994 Work Outing Spring walkthrough on LT at Smugglers Notch Variable Leader: Eric Seidel Start: 9:00 am Finish: 5:00 pm The Spring Walk-thru...
Sun May 22
page
  Sunday May 22, 1994 Bike Trip on Stowe Recreation Path Leader: Joan Heller David Morse walked most of the path -- three days after his knee job! Participants:...
Sun May 29
page
  Sunday May 29, 1994 Mt Hunger via the Worcester Trail Leader: Nancy Schulz Thanks to George Richardson's expert guidance, we were led up the Worcester Trail to...
Sat Jun 11
page
  Saturday June 11, 1994 Paddle on Missisquoi River and Dead Creek Leader: Dave Morse 6 canoes & 1 Kayak put in at the access off Rt #78 2 mLles west of Swanton....
Sun Jun 12
page
  Sunday June 12, 1994 Rise and Fall on Long Trail from Route 118 - Belvidere Mtn and Devils Gulch Leader: Nancy Schulz There were a total of 6 of us for this...
Sat Jun 18
page
  Saturday June 18, 1994 Bike Trip on Grand Isle Leader: Eric Seidel We gathered at MHS on a perfect, if very hot, summer morning. After the drive to Sandbar...
Sun Jun 26
page
  Sunday June 26, 1994 Nebraska Notch hike Trout Club to Butler Lodge and back about Leader: Michael Chernick Twelve persons attended a warm and bright day!s...
Sun Jul 10
page
  Sunday July 10, 1994 Canoe Winooski River from City of Winooski to Lake Champlain Leader: Andrew and Reidun Nuquist A pleasant trip. Participants: Reidun...
Sat Jul 16
page
  Saturday July 16, 1994 Climb Mt Garfield in White Mountains Leader: Dave Morse We left Montpelier at 7:00 a.m.and were at the trailhead on the Gale River Loop...
Sat Jul 16
page
  Saturday July 16, 1994 Work Hike, Bamforth Ridge Leader: Eric Seidel Start: 8:00 am Finish: 1: 00 pm Since the Bamforth work group had not been able to...
Sun Jul 17
page
  Sunday July 17, 1994 Will you walk 10 miles for a Camel? Your stamina will be tested Leader: Nancy Schulz Fifteen people joined me for this outing. We took six...
Sat Jul 23
page
  Saturday July 23, 1994 Summer Mystery Hike Leader: Thomas Weiss We met at MHS on schedule, when the mystery was revealed. The hike is the Peacham Bog Trail,...
Sat Jul 30
page
  Saturday July 30, 1994 Hike Southworth Mountain south of Middlebury Gap Leader: Joe Bahr [no text] Participants: Joe Bahr Michael Chernick Christie Carter Dave...
Sat Jul 30
page
  Saturday July 30, 1994 Work Hike Leader: Eric Seidel I went back to finish the section of LT to the tenting platforms. There was one more blowdown to be...
Sun Aug 07
page
  Sunday August 7, 1994 Sashay along Skyline - Mt Hunger to Stowe Pinnacle via Skyline Leader: Nancy Schulz Twelve individuals in all. Gorgeous summer day....
Sat Aug 13
page
  Saturday August 13, 1994 Hike Swim or Paddle at Lake Elmore After ascending 1 450-foot Leader: Nancy Schulz The weather was not great as we began this hike...
Sat Aug 20
page
  Saturday August 20, 1994 Ten for Distance Ten for Beauty - Mt Mansfield via Underhill State Park Leader: Nancy Schulz 12 individuals, including myself. A...
Sun Aug 21
page
  Sunday August 21, 1994 Hike up Worcester Mountain 3 5 miles Leader: Dave Morse Cancelled because of thunderstorm. Rescheduled for October 22, 1994.
Sat Aug 27
page
  Saturday August 27, 1994 Hike to Abbey Pond Leader: Doris E. Washburn After a night of rain , we climbed to Abbey Pond on a hot muggy morning. The many...
Sat Sep 10
page
  Saturday September 10 - Sunday September 11, 1994 Overnight backpacking hike Smugglers Notch to Route 15 in Johnson Leader: Reidun and Andrew Nuquist [no text]...
Sat Sep 17
page
  Saturday September 17, 1994 Scouting on Bamforth Ridge Leader: Eric Seidel Originally scheduled for Smugglers' Notch, but diverted to Bamforth Ridge due to...
Sun Sep 18
page
  Sunday September 18, 1994 Willoughby Wanderer - Lake Willoughby, Mt. Pisgah, Mt. Hor Leader: Joe Garso (originally Nancy Schulz) Weather was clear and sunny,...
Sun Sep 25
page
  Sunday September 25, 1994 Work hike Bamforth Ridge Leader: Eric Seidel Originally scheduled for Smugglers' Notch, but diverted due to demise of GMC work crew....
Sat Oct 01
page
  Saturday October 1, 1994 From Pond to Peak - Lake Mansfield Trout Club to Mt Mansfield Leader: Nancy Schulz Much to my surprise, this hike attracted only five...
Sat Oct 08
page
  Saturday October 8, 1994 Road Walk in Maple Comers area of Calais Four plus miles Easy Leader: Joan Heller & Betty Moskowitz We had a beautiful day and a nice...
Sat Oct 15
page
  Saturday October 15, 1994 Let's Smuggle an Elephant through the Notch Leader: Nancy Schulz We had a glorious autumn day on which to hike. The group consisted...
Sun Oct 16
page
  Sunday October 16, 1994 Hike up Irish Hill in Berlin Leader: Harlan Farnsworth Great day! Nice leisurely walk. People not familiar with area glad to learn of...
Sat Oct 22
page
  Saturday October 22, 1994 Hike up Worcester Mountain 5 miles round trip moderate to steep Leader: Dave Morse After being completely washed out by a thunder...
Sun Oct 23
page
  Sunday October 23, 1994 Canoe kayak Green River Reservoir Leader: Eric Seidel The weather was almost perfect. The water was calm, the sky was clear and the...
Sat Oct 29
page
  Saturday October 29, 1994 Historical walk in town of Essex New York Leader: Dave Morse Meet at Montpelier H.S. Ferry at Charlotte [no other text] ...
Sun Oct 30
page
  Sunday October 30, 1994 Hiking Tour of Montpelier cemeteries Leader: Nancy Schulz Spectacular warm, sunny weather, combined with a moderate distance and a...
Sat Nov 05
page
  Saturday November 5, 1994 Work Hike on Bamforth Ridge Leader: Eric Seidel We broke up into four groups with one party going up the Forestry Trail and working...
Sat Nov 12
page
  Saturday November 12, 1994 Work Hike in Smugglers' Notch Leader: Eric Seidel Once again the last work party of the year encountered ice on the trail. The...
Sun Nov 20
page
  Sunday November 20, 1994 Hike Stowe Recreation Path Leader: Michael Chernick Nice weather for a fall walk. Participants: Michael Chernick Steve Fettner David...
Sun Dec 04
page
  Sunday December 4, 1994 Hike or Snowshoe to Montclair Glen Lodge via Forestry Dean Trails Leader: Michael Chernick [no text] Participants: Michael Chernick...
Sat Dec 10
page
  Saturday December 10, 1994 Hike or Snowshoe Spruce Mountain Leader: Nancy Schulz Not enough snow to wear snowshoes but enough to make plenty of atmosphere. A...
Sun Dec 18
page
  Sunday December 18, 1994 Hike or Snowshoe to Taylor Lodge via Winter detour Leader: Michael Chernick Party of 5 had successful trip to aprox 1 mile past Taylor...
Sat Dec 31
page
  Saturday December 31, 1994 New Year s Eve Party at Farnsworth home Leader: Harlan and Esther Farnsworth Afternoon hike in Hubbard Park. Appetizers at...
Reports from previous years
© 2018 Montpelier Section of The Green Mountain Club, Inc.     Top    Wed 19 September 2018