Green Mountain Club
Montpelier Section

Reports for events in 1971

Date Report? Photos? Description of the event
Sun Jan 10
page
  January 10, 1971 Montclair Glen Lodge: Cross-country skiing or snowshoeing. An easy all day hike into this area. Leader: David Morse [excerpt from what appears...
Sun Jan 17
page
  January 17, 1971 Work on Taylor Lodge Leader: (not on schedule) [excerpt from what appears to be a news release about the January 23 Oyster Stew] The past...
Sun Feb 21
page
  February 21, 1971 Scragg Mountain from the east side in Roxbury. Bring trail February 21 lunch. Call leader for snowshoe or ski information and any other...
Sun Mar 07
page
  March 7, 1971 Ausable Lake in the Adirondacks, Snowshoe and Skiing Leader: Dick Babcock [excerpt from what appears to be a news release] On Sunday, March 7th,...
Sun Mar 21
page
  March 21, 1971 Steak Cookout at Wiley Lodge: (midday meal). Wiley Lodge on the Long Trail between Camel's Hump and Robbins Mountain. This will be approached...
Sun Apr 04
page
  April 4, 1971 Elmore Mountain Leader: Charles Bristow [As reported at section annual meeting] On April 4, a group led by Charles Bristow snowshoed up Elmore...
Sun Apr 25
page
  April 25, 1971 Paddle - Dead Creek in Addison County Leader: Dick and Dot Babcock [newspaper clipping] Members of the Green Mountain Club went on a six-mile...
Sat May 01
page
  May 1, 1971 Green-Up Day Leader: Sally Sairs [excerpt from what appears to be a news release] On Green-Up Day, May 1, members of the Montpelier section of the...
Sun May 02
page
  May 2, 1971 (Originally scheduled for April 18) Canoe Instruction - Novice White Water Leader: George Plumb [excerpt from what appears to be a news release] On...
Sat May 08
page
  May 8, 1971 Sterling Pond Lodge Inspection. This trip is to determine what can be done on Green Mountain Club Day at the Lodge. Bring snowshoes and a lunch....
Sat May 15
page
  May 15, 1971 Green Mountain Club Day. Trail clearing, if possible, and Lodge repairing at Sterling Pond Lodge. Breakfast will be served beforehand at the...
Sun Jun 06
page
  June 6, 1971 Canoe trip on the Winooski River ]Leader: Sally Sairs changed to Lamoille River, from Ithiel Falls to Jeffersonville [excerpt from what appears to...
Tue Jun 08
page
  June 8, 1971 Slide Show: Nuquist trip to Norway Leader: Andy Nuquist [excerpt from what appears to be a news release] Tuesday evening, June 8, Andy and Reidun...
Sun Jun 13
page
  June 13, 1971 Unscheduled Hike - Scragg Mountain [excerpt from what appears to be a news release] On Sunday, June 13, Richard and Dorothy Babcock, Andy,...
Sun Jun 20
page
  June 20, 1971 Trail work on the LT from Smuggler's Notch to Chilcoot Pass. Sterling Pond Lodge included. Bring equipment and a trail lunch. Supper served...
Sun Jul 04
page
  July 4, 1971 Canoe, Camp and Hike Forked Lake in the Adirondacks. Canoeing, camping and hiking, with campsites reached by canoe. Leader: Richard and Dorothy...
Sun Jul 18
page
  July 18, 1971 LT from Brandon Gap to Middlebury Gap Leader: Sally Sairs [excerpt from what appears to be a news release] The hike held last Sunday, July 18th,...
Sun Jul 25
page
  July 25 1971 Wheeler Mountain and Supper Cookout at Crystal Lake. Short hike to the open summit of Wheeler Mt. with good views of Lake Willoughby. Leader:...
Sun Aug 08
page
  August 8, 1971 LT from Jay Camp to Route 105 Leader: Charlie Bristow [excerpt from what appears to be a news release] Last Sunday, August 8th, a group of...
Sun Sep 19
page
  September 19, 1971 Chili Supper at Barrows Camp, which is a little north of the Johnson-Waterville Upper Road. Leader: Sally Sairs and Ross Burton [excerpt...
Sun Sep 26
page
  September 26, 1971 Crawford Path in the White Mountains Leader: Richard Babcock [excerpt from what appears to be a news release] Last Sunday's trip to the...
Sun Oct 03
page
  October 3, 1971 Came's Hump Leader: Andrew Nuquist [excerpt from what appears to be a news release] Members of the section climbed Camel's Hump last Sunday,...
Sun Oct 10
page
  October 10, 1971 Long Trail from VT 118 (Eden-Belvidere Highway) to Hazen's Notch Leader: Dave Morse [excerpt from what appears to be a news release] Last...
Sun Oct 17
page
  October 17, 1971 Long Trail from Burnt Rock Mountain to Montclair Glen Lodge Leader: Dave Morse [excerpt from what appears to be a news release] A small group...
Sun Oct 24
page
  October 24, 1971 Grand Monadnock in Jaffrey, NH Leader: Richard Babcock [excerpt from what appears to be a news release] Members from Montpelier and Concord,...
Sat Oct 30
page
  October 30, 1971 Wiener Roast Supper at Taylor Lodge. If you want to, bring your sleeping bags and stay overnight. Leader: Sally Sairs [excerpt from what...
Sun Nov 14
page
  November 14, 1971 Hiking in the Adirondacks, near the Ausable Club Leader: Richard and Dorothy Babcock [excerpt from what appears to be a news release] Last...
Sun Dec 05
page
  December 5, 1971 Supper Outing at Beaver Meadow Lodge Leader: Charles Bristow [excerpt from what appears to be a news release] Beaver Meadow Lodge was the site...
Sun Dec 19
page
  December 19, 1971 Christmas Party at Buchanan Lodge Leader: Sally Sairs [excerpt from what appears to be a news release] On Saturday evening, fifteen people...
Contents of previous years
© 2018 Montpelier Section of The Green Mountain Club, Inc.     Top     Tue 06 November 2018 Tue, 06 Nov 2018 20:55:38 -0500