Green Mountain Club
Montpelier Section

Reports for events in 1966

Date Report? Photos? Description of the event
Sun Jan 09
page
  Sunday, January 9, 1966 Oyster Stew at Taylor Lodge: Annual Oyster Stew Hike up to Taylor Lodge. Workers leaving Montpelier at 10:00 a.m. Eaters will leave at...
Sat Jan 22
page
  Saturday, January 22, 1966 Butler Lodge: Leaving Montpelier at 9:00 a.m., we will hike up the Stevensville Brook Trail to Butler Lodge, having a trail lunch...
Sun Feb 06
page
  Sunday, February 6, 1966 Chicken and Biscuit Supper at Desilets Camp at Groton Pond. Bring skates, snowshoes, etc., depending upon what you wish to do. Leader:...
Sun Feb 20
page
  Sunday, February 20, 1966 Camel's Hump: Snowshoe hike up Camels Hump or to Montclair Glen Lodge, depending on the weather and snow conditions. Bring trail...
Fri Mar 04
page
  Friday, March 4 1966 A weekend trip to the Adirondacks. Leaving Montpelier at 6:00 p.m. Friday night, camping overnight Friday and Saturday nights, and...
Thu Mar 10
page
  Thursday, March 10, ,1966 Moonlight Hike in East Montpelier: Moonlight snowshoe hike up the old railroad tracks in East Montpelier. Followed by sliding,...
Sun Mar 20
page
  Sunday, March 20, 1966 Mt. Mansfield: Family Ski Party at Glen Ellen Ski Area. Bring your own lunch (or lunch will be available at the base lodge.) You may...
Sun Mar 27
page
  Sunday, March 27, 1966 Sugar-on-Snow party at Joslin Farm: Sugar-on-Snow Party at Joslin Farm in Montpelier. Snow- shoes might be necessary to get over to the...
Sun Apr 03
page
  Sunday, April 3, 1966 Worcester Mountain: A hike up Worcester Mountain. Possibly, snowshoes will be necessary. Bring trail lunch. Leader: Dave Otis It was a...
Sun Apr 17
page
  Sunday, April 17, 1966 Road Walk in Berlin: Mystery Sunday afternoon walk on a back road. Possibly muddy conditions, so dress feet accordingly. Leader: Frances...
Sat Apr 30
page
  Saturday, April 30, 1966 Spaghetti Hike to Buchanan Lodge: SPAGHETTI SUPPER, 5:00 p.m. RESERVATIONS NECESSARY. One group will leave Montpelier at 10:30 a.m....
Sun May 15
page
  Sunday, May 15, 1966 Tuckerman Ravine: Ski or hike. Very scenic. Bring trail lunch, or lunches are available at Ravine Hut. Approximately one mile hike into...
Sun May 22
page
  Sunday, May 22, 1966 Work Hike to Smugglers' Notch: TRAIL CLEARING TIME. Bring axes, saws, etc., and a trail lunch. FREE hearty breakfast will be served to all...
Wed May 25
page
  Wednesday and Thursday, May 25 and 26, 1966 Governor's Conference on Natural Beauty Several members of our section attended part or all of the Governor's...
Sun Jun 05
page
  Sunday, June 5, 1966 Mt Mansfield from Underhill: The Montpelier Section will join the Killington Section on a hike to Cantilever Rock and on up to the Chin,...
Sun Jun 26
page
  Sunday, June 26, 1966 Camel's Hump: Up the Callahan Trail to Gorham Lodge on Camel's Hump to Jonesville via relocation of Long Trail, 10.5 miles. Bring frail...
Sun Jul 10
page
  Sunday, July 10, 1966 Carrigain Mountain: A trip to the White Mountains. We will climb Carrigain Mountain via the Signal Ridge Trail and descent via the...
Sun Jul 24
page
  Sunday, July 24, 1966 Chicken Barbecue at Desilets: SUMMER PICNIC. At Desilets Camp on Groton Pond. Boating, swimming, etc. Chicken barbecue at 5:30 p.m. Bring...
Sun Aug 07
page
  Sunday, August 7, 1966 Spruce Mountain in Plainfield: Spruce Mountain - to visit the Rogers family. An easy hike on a Sunday afternoon. Leader: George Brady...
Sun Aug 21
page
  Sunday, August 21, 1966 Mt. Mansfield: Mt. Mansfield - drive up the Toll Road to explore some of the UVM Outing Club trails on top. Picnic lunch or supper...
Sat Aug 27
page
  Saturday, August 27 to Monday, September 5, 1966 Intersectional at Stratton Mountain Boy Scout Camp, Stratton, Vermont Saturday - Arrival at camp. Set up tents...
Sat Sep 10
page
  Saturday, September 10, 1966 Scragg Mountain: Scragg Mountain - in the Waitsfield area. Also known as Mount Alice. Not a difficult climb. Leader: Marion Gorham...
Sun Sep 18
page
  Sunday, September 18, 1966 Carter Mountain: White Mountains - Carter Ridge area. Bring trail lunch. Leader: Dave Morse A group of five led by Dave Morse and...
Sun Oct 02
page
  Sunday, October 2, 1966 Burnt Rock Mountain: Burnt Rock via Long Trail from Appalachian Gap, or for a shorter hike via the Hedgehog Brook Trail. Possible...
Sun Oct 09
page
  Sunday, October 9, 1966 Bean supper at Bolton Lodge: Bean Supper at Bolton Lodge - Hike in via new Long Trail or drive in via access road from Jonesville....
Fri Oct 14
page
  Friday, October 14, 1966 Mt Marcy and the Adirondack: Mt.Marcy in the Adirondacks. Leave Montpelier Friday night. Stay at Grace Camp. Return to Montpelier...
Sat Oct 22
page
  Saturday, October 22, 1966 Mystery Walk Leader: Frances Holmes A mystery walk was led by Frances Holmes and included Howard Bloom and his wife, Eleanor Perry,...
Sun Oct 30
page
  Sunday, October 30, 1966 Killington Peak: Killington - Second highest mountain in the state. Bring trail lunch. Leader: Doris Washburn A group of six hikers...
Sun Nov 13
page
  Sunday, November 13, 1966 Smugglers' Notch Work Hike: Trail Clearing - Let's try to finish up the work we started last spring (when there was too much snow...
Sun Nov 27
page
  Sunday, November 27, 1966 Mr Mansfield via Haselton trail: An all-day hike up the Haselton Trail to the top of the toll road on Mt. Mansfield, a distance of...
Sun Dec 11
page
  Sunday, December 11, 1966 Christmas Party: You are cordially invited to a Christmas Party at Marion's home (RSVP, please). Come early, anytime after supper...
Tue Dec 27
page
  Tuesday, December 27, 1966 Moonlight Snowshoe: Moonlight snowshoe hike in the Barre Country Club area. Bring flashlight. Leader: Doris Washburn A moonlight...
Contents of previous years
© 2018 Montpelier Section of The Green Mountain Club, Inc.     Top     Wed 14 November 2018 Wed, 14 Nov 2018 20:55:21 -0500