Green Mountain Club
Montpelier Section

Reports for events in 1964

Date Report? Photos? Description of the event
Sun Jan 05
page
  Sunday, January 5, 1964 Hardwood Flats: Get out your snowshoes for a walk off the Worcester Road. Leader: Frances Holmes Instead of Hardwood Flats as scheduled...
Sat Jan 25
page
  Saturday, January 25, 1964 Glen Ellen Lodge: Ride Mad River Glen Single Chair Lift to Stark's Nest. View Champlain panorama. Snowshoe via Long Trail to Lodge...
Tue Jan 28
page
  Tuesday, January 28, 1964 Moonlight Snowshoe in Middlesex; Slideshow and refreshments afterwards Dix Lodge: Moonlight snowshoe hike in the "wilds of Middlesex"...
Sun Feb 09
page
  Sunday, February 9, 1964 Oyster Stew at Taylor Lodge Leader: Dave Otis Twenty-two persons participated in the hike. The work party consisting of Dave Otis,...
Sun Feb 16
page
  Sunday, February 16, 1964 Groton Pond: Snowshoe in to the Desilets Camp for a pancake supper and possibly skating. Leader: Julia Desilets It snowed all morning...
Wed Feb 26
page
  Wednesday, February 26, 1964 Put's Place: Moonlight snowshoe hike in East Montpelier. Refreshments to follow. Leader: Put Clayton Nine persons participated:...
Sat Mar 07
page
  Saturday, March 7, 1964 All Day Snowshoe in Dowsville Dowsville: An all day snowshoe hike. About 9 miles. Bring a trail lunch. Better make it substantial....
Sat Mar 14
page
  Saturday, March 14, 1964 Adirondacks: Overnight to Johns Brook Lodge in Keene Valley. Leave Montpelier at 9:00 A.M. Saturday morning. Return Sunday afternoon...
Sat Mar 21
page
  Saturday, March 21, 1964 Butler Lodge: Bring snowshoes and a trail lunch. Approximately 6 miles round trip. Nicest lodge on the Long Trail according to Dave...
Sun Apr 05
page
  Sunday, April 5, 1964 Sugar on Snow Party: A popular family event in the past. Site to be chosen at a later date. Cost will probably be same as last year -...
Sun Apr 19
page
  Sunday, April 19, 1964 Supper on Mt Elmore - Wieners Suggested Mt. Elmore: Snowshoes will probably still be needed. Bring your supper. Wieners suggested. We'll...
Sun May 03
page
  Sunday May 3, 1964 Mystery Hike announced at the Annual Meeting Leader: Frances Holmes [excerpt from a news release] 24 persons showed up for a Mystery Hike...
Sat May 09
page
  Sunday May 10, 1964 Tuckerman Ravine: Bring skis or Just come along for the hike. 2.4 miles to Tuckerman Shelter via Tuckerman Ravine Trail from Pinkham...
Sun May 17
page
  Sunday May 17, 1964 Nichol's Ledge: A short hike but a beautiful view. Leader: Ann Otis 23 persons participated in this hike: all 5 Otises plus a friend of...
Sat May 23
page
  Saturday May 23, 1964 and Sunday May 24, 1964 Work Hike at Smugglers' Notch: One of our responsibilities is maintenance of the Long Trail from Smugglers Notch...
Sun Jun 14
page
  Sunday June 14, 1964 Jay Peak: Celebrate Flag Day by climbing Jay Peak. A variable length hike - 3 1/2 miles - or ambitious ones can go further. Bring trail...
Sat Jun 27
page
  Saturday June 27, 1964 Prospect Rock: Ithiel Falls Campground to Prospect Rock - 0.8 mi. Barrows Camp 2 miles further, optional. Flat into Barrows. Leader:...
Sun Jul 12
page
  Sunday July 12, 1964 Groton Pond: Return visit to Desilets Camp for a CHICKEN BARBECUE. Activities can include swimming, h1king, boating;, water skiing,...
Sat Jul 18
page
  Saturday July 18, 1964 The Long Trail: Clark Brook Trail to Lincoln Gap including Roosevelt and Grant Mountains - Vermont's Presidentals. We like to cover a...
Sun Jul 26
page
  Sunday, July 26, 1964 (originally scheduled for Saturday August 1, 1964) Mt. Moosilauke: It has been suggested that we make this an overnight for interested...
Sat Aug 15
page
  August 15, 1964 Mr. Hunger: No explanation necessary. Everybody knows about it but some of us have never climbed it. Leave Montpelier at 9:30 A.M. Lunch on...
Sun Aug 23
page
  Sunday, August 23, 1964 Corn Roast in Hubbard Park Leader: William Doyle Assisted by: Olene Doyle, David Otis, Ann Otis Attending: Plural Doyle 3 Plural Otis ...
Sun Aug 30
page
  September 8, 1964 news release GMC Intersectional at Mt. Morris Scout Reservation, Lake Eden held week of August 30 Participants: Gene Bamforth, Howard Bloom,...
Sat Sep 12
page
  September 12, 1964 Robbins Mt.: New section of the long Trail. Very scenic. Bring trail lunches. Leader: Dave Otis (originally Marion Gorham) Dave Otis led...
Sat Sep 26
page
  Saturday, September 26, 1964 Camel's Hump: Up via Dean and Long Trails - the most scenic route. Leader: Dave Otis Nine of us left Montpelier on Saturday to...
Sun Oct 11
page
  October 11, 1964 Middlesex Notch: A leisurely Sunday afternoon walk along an old woods road with beaver dams along the way and a pretty view. Leader: Juelia...
Sun Oct 25
page
  Sunday, October 25, 1964 Mt. Webster and Mt. Jackson: These peaks, tho most southerly of the seven peaks of the range extending SW from Mount Washington can be...
Sat Nov 07
page
  November 7, 1964 Adam's Apple of Mt. Mansfield: Up via Bear Pond Trail which includes steepest half mile of trail to be found in Vermont. From ridge striking...
Sat Nov 21
page
  November 21, 1964 Mt. Horrid: North of Vt. 73 (the Brandon-Rochester Highway in Brandon Gap) the Long Trail crosses a power line and ascends steeply to the...
Sat Dec 05
page
  December 5, 1964 Bolton Lodge: Food, folks! Corn chowder at Bolton Lodge 3.5 miles off U.S. 2. The Lodge, situated in a clearing providing a view of Camel's...
Wed Dec 16
page
  December 16, 1964 Jones Brook Road or unknown destination. A moonlight snowshoe hike - we hope. Frances will make final decision as to locality. Leader:...
Reports from previous years
© 2018 Montpelier Section of The Green Mountain Club, Inc.     Top    Wed 19 September 2018