Green Mountain Club
Montpelier Section


See GMC Archives for all
Long Trail News and Long Trail Guides.
Sources include published outing schedules, the Long Trail News (LTN), Trail Talk, and submissions to this web site.

Date

Report?

Photos?

Events and reports for 2012
Montpelier Section reports in the 2012 Long Trail News
Sun Jan 1
Sunday, January 1 -- Snowshoe. Middlesex. White Rocks Mountain. Middlesex trailhead. Approximately 6.0 miles. Difficult.     Leader: Paul DeLuca.
Sun Jan 8
Sunday, January 8 -- Gore Mountain nbsp;   Leader: Michael Chernick
Tue Jan 10
Tuesday, January 10 -- Walk. Montpelier. Hubbard Park. 3+/- miles. Meet in front of the VT Historical Society, 109 State St., Montpelier at 2:00 P.M.     Leader: Ron Merkin
Sat Jan 14
Saturday, January 14 -- YAC Cross-country Ski. Stowe. Trapps Ski Touring Center. Easy. Various distances. Trail fee.     Leader: Lexi Shear.
Sat Jan 14
Saturday, January 14 -- Cross-country Ski. Graniteville. Millstone Hill Touring Center. Moderate. Various Distances. Trail Fee. Meet at MHS at 9:00 A.M.     Leader: Eric Seidel
Tue Jan 17
Tuesday, January 17 -- Cross-country Ski. East Montpelier. All levels. Various options possible. Morse Farm Ski Touring Center. Trail Fee. Enjoy our local ski center.     Leader: Reidun Nuquist.
Fri Jan 20
Friday, January 20 -- James P. Taylor Series. 7:00 P.M. Capital City Grange, Northfield Rd., Montpelier.
Sat Jan 28
Saturday, January 28 -- Snowshoe. Stowe. Mt. Mansfield Chin. Difficult. 5.2 miles. Ascend Long Trail from Rte 108. Hike to Taft Lodge and then summit the Chin. Crampons recommended.     Leader: Paul DeLuca.
Sun Jan 29
Sunday, January 29 -- Cross-country Ski. Craftsbury. Craftsbury Ski Touring Center. Various distances. Moderate. Trail Fee. Lunch on the trail. Meet at MHS at 9:30 A.M.     Leader: Cynthia Martin and George Longenecker
Tue Jan 31
Tuesday, January 31 -- Cross-country Ski. Stowe. Trapp's Ski Touring Center. Moderate. Various distances. Trail Fee.     Leader: Mary Smith or Mary Garcia.
Sat Feb 4
Saturday, February 4 -- Snowshoe Festival. Green Mountain Club, Waterbury Center. See Winter issue of the Long Trail News for details.
Tue Feb 7
Tuesday, February 7 -- Cross-Country Ski. Berlin. Dr. Burns Property. Easy/Moderate. Various Distances.     Leader: Fred Jordan.
Sat Feb 11
Saturday, February 11 -- Cross-Country Ski. Bolton. Bolton Ski Touring Center. Moderate. Various distances. Trail Fee.     Leader: Mary Smith or Mary Garcia
Sat Feb 11
Saturday, February 11 -- Snowshoe. Middlesex. Hunger Mountain. Moderate/Difficult. 5.4 miles. 1,900' elevation gain. Meet at 9:00 A.M. at Rumney School.     Leader: Charlene Bohl.
Sun Feb 12
Sunday, February 12 -- Snowshoe. Huntington. Moderate/Difficult. 7 miles round trip. Montclair Glen Lodge by the Forest City Trail. If unable to access trailhead because of road closure, snowshoe and destination will be changed.     Leader: Michael Chernick.
Sun Feb 12
Sunday, February 12 -- YAC-Stowe Pinnacle     Leader: Matt Krebs.
Sat Feb 18
Saturday, February 18 -- Snowshoe. Stowe. Mt. Mansfield Forehead. 5.2 miles. Difficult. Ascend Frost and Maple Ridge Trails from Stevensville Road, Underhill. Descend Wampahoofus and Butler Lodge Trails. Crampons required.     Leader: Paul DeLuca.
Sat Feb 18
Saturday, February 18 -- Snowshoe. Woodbury. Snowshoe and Potluck Supper. Home of Sally Sairs. Easy/Moderate. Various distances. Bring your own bowl, cup, utensils. Flashlight or headlamp needed after 4:30 P.M. dinner. Meet at 12:00 noon.     Leader: , Sally Sairs.
Sun Feb 19
Sunday, February 19 -- Cross-country Ski. Marshfield. Moderate. Various distances. Meet at 12:00 P.M. at MHS.     Leader: Cynthia Martin and George Longenecker
Tue Feb 21
Tuesday, February 21 -- Cross-country Ski. Stowe. Mt. Mansfield Touring Center. All abilities. Various Distances. Trail fee. Lunch on the trail. Meet at 9:30 A.M.     Leader: Cynthia Martin and George Longenecker
Sat Feb 25
Saturday, February 25 -- Cross-country Ski. Peacham. Difficult. 4 miles. Beach Road to Peacham Bog, Groton, and return.     Leader: Steve Lightholder.
Sun Feb 26
Sunday, February 26 -- Ski at Craftsbury    Leader: Steve Lightholder.
Sat Mar 3
Saturday, March 3 -- Ski Coburn Pond     Leader: Charlene Bohl
Sat Mar 3
Saturday, March 3 -- Snowshoe. Avery's Gore. Gore Mountain. Snowshoe to fire tower/summit. Difficult. 8 miles round trip. Co-listed with the Northeast Kingdom Section.     Leader: Michael Chernick.
Sun Mar 4
Sunday, March 4 -- Cross-country Ski. East Montpelier. Coburn Pond. Easy. 2 miles. Meet at MHS at 1:00 P.M.     Leader: Thomas Weiss.
Wed Mar 7
Wednesday, March 7 -- Combined Executive Committee & Membership Meetings. Executive Committee Meeting at 6:00 P.M. and Membership Meeting at 7:30 P.M. Planning events from June 1 - August 31, 2012. All members are welcome at both meetings. Location yet to be determined.
Thur Mar 8
Thursday, March 8 -- Cross-country Ski. Stowe. Mt. Mansfield Touring Center. All abilities. Various distances.     Leader: Mary Garcia and Mary Smith.
Sat Mar 10
Saturday, March 10 -- Snowshoe. Elmore. Rte. 12 to Little Elmore Pond. Moderate. 4 miles round trip.     Leader: Priscilla Daggett.
Sun Mar 11
Sunday, March 11 -- YAC Worcester Mountain Snowshoe    Leader: Shawn Keeley
Sun Mar 18
Sunday, March 18 -- Hike/Snowshoe. Moscow. Walk or snowshoe along Cotton Brook Road. Distance depends on group and conditions.     Leader: Ken Hertz.
Sat Mar 24
Saturday, March 24 -- Cross-country Ski. Groton State Forest. Moderate. Snow conditions will determine location and length. Meet at MHS at 1:00 P.M.     Leader: George Longenecker and Cynthia Martin.
Sun Apr 1
Sunday, April 1 -- Walk. East Montpelier. Walk a portion of the East Montpelier Trails. Some unpaved roads. Easy. 6+/- miles.     Leader: Ken Hertz.
Fri Apr 13
Friday, April 13 -- Section Annual Meeting. Montpelier. Vermont College of Fine Arts. Noble Hall Reading Room. College Street. The meeting Packet
Sat Apr 14
Saturday, April 14 -- YAC Hubbard Hunt     Leader:Michael Wetherell
Sat Apr 14
Saturday, April 14 --     Leader: Mary Garcia and Mary Smith.
Sun Apr 15
Sunday, April 15 -- Walk. Stowe Bike Path. Paved. Easy. 10 miles round trip.     Leader: Michael Chernick.
Sat Apr 21
Saturday, April 21 -- Walk. Berlin. Berlin Pond short or long loop. Easy/Moderate. 5-8 miles depending on group preference and snow conditions. Meet at 8:00 A.M. at MHS due to limited parking at the pond.     Leader: Reidun Nuquist.
Sat Apr 28
Saturday, April 28 -- Walk. Groton. From the Nature Center at Groton State Pond to Peacham Bog. Moderate. 5.6 miles.     Leader: Phyllis Rubenstein.
Sat May 5
Saturday, May 5 -- Walk. Montpelier. Moderate. 3-4 hours. Walk through Hubbard Park to Gould Hill Road onto trail to North Branch Park. Return to State House.     Leader: Fred Jordan.
Tue May 8
Tuesday, May 8 -- Bike Ride. Waterbury to Huntington Gorge. Moderate. 25 miles. Bring water and lunch. Helmet required.     Leader: Mary Garcia and Mary Smith.
Wed May 9
Wednesday, May 9 -- Montpelier parks work day     Leader: Reidun Nuquist
Thur May 10
Thursday, May 10 -- Work Hike. (Rain Date: May 11, Friday) Montpelier. All abilities. Our annual work day in Montpelier Parks. Give something back to the city parks which we enjoy year-round. Bring water and lunch. Wear work clothes and gloves. Tools provided.     Leader: Reidun Nuquist, with Parks Director Geoff Beyer.
May 12
Sarurday, May 12 -- YAC Stowe Bike Path Ride     Leader: Lexi Shear
Sun May 13
Sunday, May 13 -- Paddle. Swanton. Missisquoi National Wildlife Refuge. Moderate. Various Distances. This is another outing exploring areas in the Nature Conservancy guide. Bring kayak or canoe, PFD, lunch, and binoculars. Meet at MHS at 9:00 A.M.     Leader: Cynthia Martin and George Longenecker.
Sat May 19
Saturday, May 19 -- Work Hike. Duxbury. LT/Bamforth Ridge. All abilities. 3-4 miles round trip. Wear sturdy boots, work clothes and gloves. Meet at MHS at 8:00 A.M.     Leader: Eric Seidel.
Sat May 26
Saturday, May 26 -- Work Hike. Stowe. Smugglers' Notch. LT/Elephant's Head and Sterling Pond Trails. All abilities. Various distances. Wear sturdy boots, work clothes and gloves. Meet at MHS at 8:00 A.M.     Leader: Eric Seidel.
Sat Jun 2
Saturday, June 2 -- Hike. Middlesex. Bushwhack through the Middlesex Town Forest to Chases Mountain. Difficult. 2257' elevation. Hardwood forest with some steep pitches. No trails. Limited group size. Registration required.     Leader: John Buddington
Sun Jun 3
Sunday, June 3 -- Hike. Plainfield. Spruce Mountain. Young Adventurers Club. Easy. For all ages.     Leader: Alyssa Krebs and Gretchen Elias
Tue Jun 5
Tuesday, June 5 -- Membership/Planning Meeting. Plan events for September, October, and November. 6:30 P.M.
Wed Jun 6
Wednesday, June 6 -- Executive Committee Meeting. 6:30 P.M. All members are welcome.
Sat Jun 9
Saturday, June 9 -- GMC Annual Meeting. See Long Trail News for details.
Tue Jun 12
Tuesday, June 12 -- Bike Ride. South Hero. Champlain Islands. Moderate. 25+/- miles. Bring water and lunch. Helmet required.     Leader: Mary Garcia and Mary Smith
Wed Jun 13
Wednesday, June 13 -- Hike. Middlesex. Hunger Mountain from the Middlesex Trailhead. Moderate. 5.8 miles round trip. Meet at 4:00 P.M. at Rumney School. Return early evening under (nearly) full moon.     Leader: Charlene Bohl
Sat Jun 16
Saturday, June 16 -- Bike Ride. Lebanon, NH. Ride the Northern Rail Trail from Lebanon, NH, east and south toward Grafton, NH. Easy. Total distance is 25 miles one way, but we'll do whatever distance the group is comfortable with. 50 mile maximum. Helmet and windbreaker required. Bring water, lunch or money to buy it.     Leader: Steve Lightholder
Sun Jun 17
Sunday, June 17 -- Hike. Killington. Hike to Pico Camp and Churchill Scott Shelter. Moderate. 8 miles.     Leader: Paul deLuca
Sat Jun 23
Saturday, June 23 -- Paddle. Greensboro. Kayak/canoe on Caspian Lake. Moderate. Meet at MHS. Bring lunch.     Leader: Joan Heller
Sun Jun 24
Sunday, June 24 -- Hike. Underhill. Stevensville Road Trailhead, up the Nebraska Notch Trail to the Long Trail, then across the LT to Butler Lodge,descend on Butler Lodge Trail to Stevensville. Moderate. 6.0 miles.     Leader: Michael Chernick
Sat Jun 30
Saturday, June 30 -- Canoe/Picnic. Middlesex. Wrightsville Reservoir. Young Adventurers Club. Easy.     Leader: Lexi Shear
Sat Jul 7
Saturday, July 7 -- Paddle. Woodsville, NH. Connecticut River from Woodsville, NH to Newbury, VT. Easy. 10 miles. PFD, lunch and water required. Car spot (or bicycle for the ambitious) required.     Leader: Steve Lightholder
Sat Jul 7
Saturday, July 7 -- Hike. Huntington. Camel's Hump from the Huntington side of the mountain. Difficult. 5.8 miles. Ascend by the Forest City, Dean and Long Trails; descend via the Burrows Trail.     Leader: Paul DeLuca
Sat Jul 14
Saturday, July 14 -- Hike. Worcester Mountain to Hunger Mountain via the Skyline Trail. Difficult. 11.8 miles. Car spotting required.     Leader: Phyllis Rubenstein
Sun Jul 15
Sunday, July 15 -- Hike. Morristown. Hike to Beaver Meadow Lodge and Whiteface Shelters. Difficult. 9 miles.     Leader: Ken Hertz,
Sun Jul 15
Sunday, July 15 -- Hike/Explore/Swim. East Montpelier. Coburn Pond. Former gravel pit area with 6 acre pond. Easy. 3 miles.     Leader: Ann Burcroff
Sun Jul 22
Sunday, July 22 -- Hike. Orange. Hike to top of Butterfield Mountain. Moderate. 8 miles total. 5 miles on logging roads and 3 miles bushwhacking.     Leader: Thomas Weiss
Sat Jul 28
Saturday, July 28 -- Hike. White Mtns., NH. Southern Presidentials. Difficult. Summit Mounts Monroe, Franklin, Eisenhower and Pierce. Ammonosuc Ravine and The Crawford Path. Car spotting required.     Leader: Paul DeLuca
Sat Aug 11
Saturday, August 11 -- Rain Date: August 12, Sunday -- Hike. White Mtns., NH. Summit Mt. Jefferson via Caps Ridge Trail. VERY STEEP AND DIFFICULT. Descent is group choice.     Leader: Paul DeLuca
Sun Aug 12
Sunday, August 12 -- Hike. Moscow. Taylor Lodge from the Lake Mansfield Trout Club. Moderate.     Leader: Ken Hertz
Sat Aug 25
Saturday, August 25 -- Hike/Backpack/Overnight. White Mtns., NH. Backpacking trip to "The Bonds", West Bond, Mt. Bond and Bondcliff. Difficult. Backpack from Zealand Parking Lot to Guyot Campsite (8 miles). Day hike to Bonds and return to campsite (5 miles). Backpack back to parking lot second day (8 miles).     Leader: Steve Lightholder
Tue Aug 28
Tuesday, August 28 -- Hike. Plainfield. Spruce Mountain. Moderate. 4.5 miles, 1,180 elevation gain. Relaxed end-of-summer hike and lunch.     Leader: Andrew and Reidun Nuquist
Sun Sep 2
Sunday, September 2 -- Hike. Waumbek, NH. Difficult though one of the easier NH 4,000 footers. 7.8 miles round trip. Largely below tree line on Starr King Trail via the summit of Mt. Starr King.     Leader: Michael Chernick
Wed Sep 5
Wednesday, September 5 -- Membership/Planning Meeting. Plan events for December, January, and February. 6:30 P.M. at the Old Shelter in Hubbard Park, Montpelier. You may bring a dessert to share.
Sat Sep 8
Saturday, September 8 -- Paddle. Morristown. Green River Reservoir. Moderate. PFD required. Bring lunch. If applicable, bring your Green Mt. Passport.     Leader: Joan Heller
Tue Sep 11
Tuesday, September 11 -- Executive Committee Meeting. 6:30 P.M. All members are welcome. You may bring a dessert to share.
website report
Sat Sep 15
Saturday, September 15 -- Hike. Johnson. Belvidere Mountain via LT north and enjoy the summit's 360 degree vista. Moderate. 5.6 mile hike round trip with 2,040' elevation change. Bring lunch.     Leader: Cynthia Martin or George Longenecker.
Sun Sep 16
Sunday, September 16 -- YAC Hike to Taylor Lodge and the Clara Bow Trail     Leader: Mike Wetherell
Sat Sep 22
Saturday, September 22 -- Hike. Mount Moosilauke, NH. Difficult. 6.7 miles round trip. 3,300' of elevation gain. Summit via Gorgebrook Trail from Dartmouth Ravine Lodge. Descend Carriage Rd. and Snapper Trails.     Leader: Paul Deluca
Sun Sep 23
Sunday, September 23 -- Hike. Warren. Battell Shelter and Mt. Abraham. Moderate. 7 miles.     Leader: Ken Hertz
Sat Sep 29
Saturday, September 29 -- Hike. Bolton Bridge Project. Moderate. Join Dave Hardy, GMC Director of Field Programs, for an onsite visit of the proposed new foot bridge over the Winooski River. A joint venture with the Burlington Section. Bring lunch. Dress for hiking the LT from the Bolton Notch Road, down the new flag line/trail, over Stimson Mtn., and conclude at north side of Winooski River bridge site.     Leader: Fred Jordan and Pam Gillis
Sat Oct 6
Saturday, October 6 -- Paddle. Johnson. Lamoille River. Easy white water. Bring lunch. PFD required.     Leader: Fred Jordan
Sat Oct 13
Saturday, October 13 -- Hike. Underhill. Sunset Ridge Trail on Mt. Mansfield. Moderate/Difficult. 6.6 miles round trip.     Leader: Charlene Bohl
Sun Oct 14
Sunday, October 14 -- YAC Berlin, Irish Hill     Leader: Gretchen Elias
Sat Oct 20
Saturday October 20 -- Middlesex Town Forest Bush-whack     Leader: John Buddington
Sun Oct 21
Sunday, October 21 -- Hike. Westmore. Bald Mountain via Long Pond Trail. Moderate. 4.4 miles round trip with 1,450' ascent. Help us discover the Northeast Kingdom's popular 3,375' Bald Mountain. Bring lunch and water.     Leader: Reidun and Andrew Nuquist.
Sat Oct 27
Saturday, October 27 -- Work Hike. Stowe. Smugglers' Notch. Fall walk-thru on the LT/Elephant's Head and Sterling Pond Trails. All abilities. Various distances. Wear study boots, work clothes and gloves.     Leader: Eric Seidel
Sat Nov 3
Saturday, November 3 -- Work Hike. Duxbury. Fall walk-thru on LT to Bamforth Ridge Shelter. All abilities. 3-4 miles round trip. Bring lunch. Wear sturdy boots, work clothes and gloves.     Leader: Eric Seidel
Sat Nov 10
Saturday, November 10 -- Bike Ride. Young Adventurers Club. Trip location and details available at http://www.gmcmontpelier.org/events/yac or call Mike Wetherell or Lexi Shear
Sat Nov 10
Saturday, November 10 -- Walk. Burlington. Ethan Allen Homestead through the Intervale to the Burlington Bike Path. Easy. Avoid hunters. Optional meal in Burlington.     Leader: Charlene Bohl
Sun Nov 18
Sunday, November 18 -- Walk. Burlington Bike Path. Easy. From Echo Center to the Colchester municipal line across the Winooski River Bridge and return.     Leader: Michael Chernick
Tue Nov 27
Tuesday, November 27 -- Road Walk. Greensboro. Caspian Lake. Moderate. 7 miles. The road around beautiful Caspian Lake is mostly dirt, with a paved section. Bring lunch and water.     Leader: Reidun and Andrew Nuquist
Sat Dec 1
Saturday, December 1 -- Hike. Northfield. Moderate. 7-8 miles. Paine Mountain. Bushwhack to Irish Hill in Berlin. Car spotting involved. Limit: 8 people.     Leader: Phyllis Rubenstein
Sun Dec 2
Sunday, December 2 -- Hike. Elmore Mountain. Moderate. 3+/- miles round trip. Elmore Mountain chimney viewpoint with option to summit. Meet at MHS.     Leader: Michael Chernick
Sun Dec 9
Sunday, December 9 -- YAC. Montpelier. Easy. 1-2 miles. Young Adventurers Club. Winter Wander through Hubbard Park and Montpelier.     Leader: Shawn Keeley
Sun Dec 9
Sunday, December 9 -- Snowshoe. Woodstock. Moderate. 7.6 miles to Winturri Shelter on the AT. Meet at MHS.     Leader: Michael Chernick
Wed Dec 12
Wednesday, December 12 -- Meeting. Executive Committee. 6:30 P.M. Bring $5.00 contribution for pizza. All members are welcome.
Sun Dec 16
Sunday, December 16 -- Walk. Peacham. Moderate. 6.3 miles. Join     Leader: s for an early winter road walk in picture-perfect Peacham. Bring lunch. Meet at MHS.     Leader: Reidun and Andrew Nuquist
Sat Dec 29
Saturday, December 29 -- Hike. Groton. Moderate. 3 miles. Around Kettle Pond in Groton State Forest. Little elevation gain/loss; boulders and stumps to walk around. Dress for weather, including appropriate footwear.     Leader: Steve Lightholder

Montpelier Section reports in the 2013 Long Trail News

© 2018 Montpelier Section of The Green Mountain Club, Inc.     Top     Wed 31 Oct 2018 Wed, 31 Oct 2018 16:45:43 -0400