Green Mountain Club
Montpelier Section

Sources include published outing schedules, the Long Trail News (LTN), Trail Talk, and submissions to this web site.

Date

Report?

Photos?

Events and reports for 2011
Montpelier Section reports in the 2011 Long Trail News
Sat Jan 1
Saturday, January 1 -- Snowshoe. Plainfield. Spruce Mountain. Moderate. 4.4 miles round trip. Possibly climb the fire tower to celebrate 2011.     Leader: Steve Lightholder
Tue Jan 11
Tuesday, January 11 -- Cross-country Ski. Groton. Seyon Ranch, Groton State Forest. Moderate. Various distances. Meet at the Dept. of Labor parking lot, Montpelier.     Leader: Reidun and Andrew Nuquist
Thur Jan 13
Thursday, January 13 -- Cross-country Ski. Stowe. All abilities. Various distances. Stowe Mountain Resort. Trail Fee.     Leader: Mary Garcia, and Mary Smith
Fri Jan 14
Friday, January 14 -- Taylor Series Lecture. 7:00 P.M. GMC Headquarters, Waterbury Center.
Sat Jan 15
Saturday, January 15 -- Snowshoe. Worcester. Moderate. 4+/- miles round trip. Meet at 10:00 A.M.     Leader: Jim and Marie McWilliam,
Sun Jan 16
Sunday, January 16 -- Cross-country Ski. Barre. All abilities. Millstone Hill Touring Center. Trail fee.     Leader: Eric Seidel
Sat Jan 22
Saturday, January 22 -- Snowshoe. East Montpelier Trails. Moderate. 3 or 6 miles for those who like to backtrack. Meet at 12:30 P.M. at East Montpelier Elementary School.     Leader: Steve Lightholder
Sat Jan 29
Saturday, January 29 -- Snowshoe. Underhill. Difficult. Steep. 5.2 miles. Mt. Mansfield. Ascend the Frost and Maple Ridge Trails to the Forehead. Descend on the Wampahoofus and Butler Lodge Trails. Crampons necessary.     Leader: Paul DeLuca
Sun Jan 30
Sunday, January 30 -- Cross-country Ski. Greensboro. All Abilities. Various Distances. Highland Lodge Ski Touring Center. Trail Fee. Optional 5:30 pm dinner at the Lodge.     Leader: Mary Garcia
Tue Feb 1
Tuesday, February 1 -- Cross-country Ski. Stowe. Trapp Family Lodge Touring Center. Moderate-Difficult. Various distances. Fee. Bring lunch or buy at Trapp cabin. Meet at the Dept. of Labor parking lot, Montpelier.     Leader: Reidun and Andrew Nuquist
Sat Feb 5
Saturday, February 5 -- Snowshoe Festival. Green Mountain Club Headquarters, Waterbury Center.
Tue Feb 8
Tuesday, February 8 -- Snowshoe and Potluck Supper. Woodbury. Easy/Moderate. 5 miles. Home of Sally Sairs. Please bring your own bowl, cup and utensils. Flashlight or headlamp needed after 4:30 P.M. dinner. Meet at MHS at 12:00 noon.     Leader: Sally Sairs
Sat Feb 12
Saturday February 12 -- Snowshoe excursion in Northfield. Matt Krebs
Sat Feb 12
Saturday, February 12 -- Snowshoe. White Mtns., NH. Moderate. 7 miles. Zealand Falls Hut, with a possible trip up to Zeacliff. Hut fee. Limit 8.     Leader: Charlene Bohl and Paul DeLuca
Sun Feb 13
Sunday, February 13 -- Snowshoe. Elmore. Moderate. 5 miles. Elmore Mountain to the Wardens Cabin site.     Leader: Eric Seidel,
Sat Feb 19
Saturday, February 19 -- Cross-country Ski . Marshfield. All abilities. 23K of groomed trails. Beaver Brook Farm. Meet at 1:00 P.M. at the Old Schoolhouse Common parking lot to carpool.     Leader: Cynthia Martin and George Longenecker
Sun Feb 20
Sunday, February 20 -- Snowshoe. Duxbury. Moderate. 5 miles round trip. Snowshoe to Montclair Glen Lodge from the Couching Lion parking lot.     Leader: Michael Chernick
Sat Feb 26
Saturday, February 26 -- Cross-country Ski. Craftsbury Touring Center. All abilities. Various distances. Trail Fee.     Leader: Mary and Manny Garcia
Sun Mar 6
Sunday, March 6 -- Cross-country Ski or Snowshoe. Morristown. Beaver Meadow Lodge. Moderate-Difficult. 4.6 miles. Annual Chili Party.     Leader: Andrew and Reidun Nuquist and Fred and Nancy Jordan,
Tue Mar 8
Tuesday, March 8 -- Cross-country Ski. Stowe. Mt. Mansfield Cross-country Ski Touring Center. All abilities. Back country option, difficult. Trail fee. Bring lunch. Drinks and snacks available at ski lodge. Meet at MHS at 9:30 A.M.     Leader: George Longenecker and Cynthia Martin
Wed Mar 9
Wednesday, March 9 -- Executive Committee Meeting. All members are welcome. 6:30-8:00 P.M. Kellogg-Hubbard Library, 135 Main St., Montpelier.
Sun Mar 13
Sunday, March 13 -- Winter romp. East Montpelier Town Forest.     Leader: Mike Wetherell
Wed Mar 16
Wednesday, March 16 -- Event Planning & Membership Meeting. Planning events from March 1-May 31, 2011. All members are welcome.
Sat Mar 19
Saturday, March 19 -- Cross-country Ski, Snowshoe, or Walk. Stowe. Smugglers' Notch Full Moon Outing. Easy. 4 miles. Bring headlamp. Meet at MHS at 7:00 P.M.     Leader: Cynthia Martin
Sun Mar 20
Sunday, March 20 -- Hike/Snowshoe. Waterbury. Cotton Brook. Distance will be determined by group. Moderate. Walk the road and explore the trails above Waterbury Reservoir.     Leader: Ken Hertz
Sun Mar 27
Sunday, March 27 -- Walk. Calais and East Montpelier. Walk around Sodom Pond. Easy. 5 miles. Meet at MHS at 1:00 P.M.     Leader: Cynthia Martin and George Longenecker
Sun Apr 3
Sunday, April 3 -- Road Walk. Fuller Hill Road. Warren. 7.5 miles. Moderate. Great views of surrounding mountains. Bring water and lunch. Meet at MHS.     Leader: Reidun and Andrew Nuquist
Fri Apr 8
Friday, April 8 -- Montpelier Section Annual Meeting. T. W. Wood Gallery, College Hall, 36 College Street, Montpelier (on the campus of Vermont College of Fine Arts). Social: 5:30 PM; Dinner: 6:00 PM; Business meeting: about 7:00 PM; Speaker: about 7:30 PM.
Speaker: George Longenecker: Bears, Backpackers and Backcountry: Rocky Mountain National Park, the Wilderness Near the Metropolis.
The meeting Packet:   Budget     Directors     Membership     Outings     President     Publicity     Trails and Shelters     Treasurer     Web Site  
Sat Apr 9
Saturday, April 9 -- Crazy wheels. Mud season bike ride. Location TBA.     Leader: Shawn Keeley,
Sat Apr 16
Saturday, April 16 -- Road Walk. Berlin Pond. Easy. 5 miles, with option to go 8 miles depending on group preference.     Leader: Kevin Ryan,
Sun May 8
Sunday, May 8 -- Mystery Walk/Hike. Moderate. 6-8 miles.     Leader: will send message to the "List" a week prior to walk/hike describing event in more detail.     Leader: Charlene Bohl
Sun May 8
Sunday, May 8 -- YAC Wildflower Walk. Calais. Chickering Bog.     Leader: Mike Wetherell
Sat May 21
Saturday, May 21 -- Work Hike. Duxbury. LT/Bamforth Ridge. All abilities. 3-4 miles round trip. Wear work clothes and gloves. Meet at MHS at 8:00 A.M.     Leader: Eric Seidel
Sun May 22
Sunday, May 22 -- Wildflower Hike. Stowe. Moderate. 3-4 miles. Cotton Brook Section of Mt. Mansfield State Park. Walk on forest roads to a forest stand about 150 years old. Possibility of ladyslippers. Bring lunch. Meet at MHS at 9:00 A.M. or 10:00 A.M. at gate below the parking area at Cotton Brook.     Leader: Joe Bahr
Sat May 28
Saturday, May 28 -- Work Hike. Stowe. Smugglers' Notch. All abilities. 6 miles round trip. Wear work clothes and gloves. Meet at MHS at 8:00 A.M.     Leader: Eric Seidel
Sat Jun 4
Saturday, June 4 -- Hike. National Trails Day. LT Maintenance. Call Mari Zagarins at the GMC for details.
Wed Jun 8
Wednesday, June 8 -- Executive Committee Meeting. All members are welcome.
Sat Jun 11
Saturday, June 11 -- Canoe, Beach Party, and Picnic. YAC Paddling. Middlesex. Wrightsville Reservoir. Easy.     Leader: Lexi Shear.
Sat Jun 11
Saturday, June 11 -- GMC 101st. Annual Meeting. Camp Plymouth State Park, Plymouth, VT. See Long Trail News or www.greenmountainclub.org for details
Tue Jun 14
Tuesday, June 14 -- Event Planning & Membership Meeting. Planning events from September 1 - November 30, 2011. Meeting location is the Kellogg-Hubbard Library, Montpelier at 6:30 pm. All members are welcome.
Sat Jun 18
Saturday, June 18 -- Rain Date: June 19, Sunday
Sun Jun 19
Sunday, June 19 -- Hike. Fayston. Burnt Rock Mtn. Moderate. 5.2 miles round trip. Burnt Rock via the Hedgehog Brook Trail and Long Trail. Bring lunch and water.     Leader: Cynthia Martin and George Longenecker
Wed Jun 22
Wednesday, June 22 -- Rain Date: June 23, Thursday
Sat Jun 25
Saturday, June 25 -- Work Hike. Stowe. Smugglers' Notch. Near Sterling Pond. Work with the Long Trail Patrol to remove metal roofing from Watson Camp to the ski lift. Wear sturdy boots and bring heavy-duty work gloves. Bring lunch and water.     Leader: Eric Seidel
Sun Jun 26
Sunday, June 26 -- Bike Ride. St. Albans. Missisquoi Valley Rail Trail. Easy-Moderate-Difficult. Various distances and speeds. Bikers can go as far as they wish on this 26 mile (one-way) rail trail.     Leader: s will ride ca. 25 miles total at a Moderate pace. Bring lunch and water. Helmet required.     Leader: Reidun and Andrew Nuquist
Sat Jul 2
Saturday, July 2 -- Hike on Elephant's Head Trail     Leader: Steve Lightholder
Sat Jul 9
Saturday, July 9 -- Paddle, Walk. Charlotte. Easy. Nature conservancy gems. Visit two lovely and unique ecosystems described in the Nature Conservancy Guide Places to Walk, Paddle and Explore in Vermont. Canoe or kayak Shelburne Pond, followed by a short walk in Williams Woods Natural area. PFD required.     Leader: George Longenecker and Cynthia Martin
Sun Jul 10
Sunday, July 10 -- Hike, Swim. Mt. Elmore (2602'). Moderate with Moderate pace. 2.1 miles with 1450' ascent.     Leader: s extend a special invitation to new GMC members to join them. Mt. Elmore in the Worcester Range offers good views. A swim in Lake Elmore is optional after the hike. Bring lunch and water.     Leader: Reidun and Andrew Nuquist
Sat Jul 16
Saturday, July 16 -- Mount Adams, White Mountains, NH     Leader: Paul DeLuca
Tue Jul 19
Tuesday, July 19 -- Bike. Marshfield, Peacham and Groton. Easy. 15-20 miles. A section of the Cross VT Trail on the railroad bed. Helmet required. Meet 1:00 P.M. in the Old Schoolhouse Common parking lot in Marshfield.     Leader: Cynthia Martin
Sat Jul 23
Saturday, July 23 -- Paddle. St. Albans. Lake Champlain. Moderate. 6 miles. Meet at Kilcare State Park boat launch and paddle to Burton and Wood Islands. PFD required. Meet at MHS at 8:00 A.M.     Leader: Eric Seidel,
Sun Jul 24
Sunday, July 24 -- Hike. East Montpelier Trails. Various distances. Easy. A trails map at http://emsighnpost.com.     Leader: Ken Hertz
Sat Jul 30
Saturday, July 30 -- Hike. Stowe. Difficult. 11.1 miles. Stowe Pinnacle and Hogback Trails to the Skyline Trail and head north to Worcester Mtn. Lengthy car spot required. Bring food, water and headlamp.     Leader: Charlene Bohl, .
Sun Jul 31
Sunday, July 31 -- Hike. Avery's Gore. Moderate. 7.6 miles. Follow the historic fire warden's trail on the recently redeveloped Gore Mountain Trail.     Leader: Michael Chernick. Co-listed with the Northeast Kingdom Section.
Sat Aug 13
Saturday, August 13 -- Mt. Carrigain, White Mountains New Hampshire     Leader: Charlene Bohl
Sun Aug 14
Sunday, August 14 -- Paddle. Winooski. Moderate with Moderate pace. 10 miles. Winooski River to Lake Champlain. Flat water but some hazards to avoid and waves from the lake are likely at take-out. Option to paddle onto Lake Champlain before returning to take-out on river. Lengthy car spot required. Bring lunch and water for stop at Ethan Allen Homestead. Take-out in Colchester just upstream from mouth of the Winooski. PFD required. Meet at MHS.     Leader: Reidun and Andrew Nuquist
Sat Aug 20
Saturday, August 20 -- Hike. Stowe. Moderate. 7 miles. Sunset Ridge Trail to the Chin on Mt. Mansfield and return. Bring rain gear, food and water. Meet at MHS at 8:00 A.M.     Leader: Eric Seidel,
Sat Aug 27
Saturday, August 27 -- Hike. Moscow. Easy. Various distances. Cotton Brook area of Waterbury Reservoir. Explore the road and trails near the reservoir.     Leader: Ken Hertz
Mon Sep 5
Monday, September 5 -- Hike. White Mtns., NH. Mt. Hale via the Hale Brook Trail. Moderate. 7.7 miles. Descend to the Zealand Falls Hut via the Lend-a-Hand Trail. Return via the Zealand Trail.     Leader: Michael Chernick
Wed Sep 7
Wednesday, September 7 -- Executive Committee Meeting. All members are welcome. Home of Fred and Nancy Jordan.
Sat Sep 10
Saturday, September 10 -- Hike. Stevensville. Butler Lodge via the Nebraska Notch Trail and the Long Trail. Difficult. 6.5 miles. Lunch at the lodge. Return via the Butler Lodge Trail. Dress for the weather. Bring lunch.     Leader: Steve Lightholder
Sun Sep 11
Sunday, September 11 -- Paddle. Morristown. Green River Reservoir State Park. Moderate. 5+ miles. Enjoy the peaceful reservoir and its varied shoreline. Bring lunch. Swimwear optional. PFD required.     Leader: Reidun and Andrew Nuquist
Sun Sep 11
Sunday, September 11 -- YAC Chickering Bog     Leader: Emily Levin
Tue Sep 13
Tuesday, September 13 -- Event Planning & Membership Meeting. Planning events from December 1, 2011 to February 29, 2012. 7:00 P.M. You may bring a dessert to share. Home of Reidun and Andrew Nuquist.
Sat Sep 17
Saturday, September 17 -- GMC Volunteer Recognition Day. See Fall issue of Long Trail News for details.
Sun Sep 18
Sunday, September 18 -- Bike Ride. Johnson, Jeffersonville and Waterville loop. Easy. 17.2 miles. This loop along the Lamoille River takes you to idyllic Waterville and to the GMC's suspension bridge over the Lamoille River. Bring water and lunch. Helmet required.     Leader: Reidun and Andrew Nuquist
Sun Sep 18
Sunday, September 18 -- Work Hike on LT/Bamforth Ridge Trail     Leader: Eric Seidel
Sat Sep 24
Saturday, September 24 -- Hike. White Mtns, NH. Difficult. 8.5 miles. Bag four of the southern Presidentals, Monroe, Franklin, Eisenhower and Pierce, by going up the Ammonoosuc Ravine Trail,the Crawford Path and the Webster Cliff Trail. Car spot required.     Leader: Paul DeLuca,
Sun Sep 25
Sunday, September 25 -- Bike Ride. Middlesex. Moderate/Difficult. 20+/- miles. Loop heading north on Rte. 12, turning off on Portal Road to wind through Middlesex on dirt roads to the Red Hen Cafe, and returning to Montpelier on Rte. 2. Helmet required. Bring lunch or money for lunch at Red Hen Cafe. Meet at 10:00 A.M.     Leader: Ron Merkin
Sat Oct 1
Saturday, October 1 -- Hike. Westmore. Moderate. 4.2 miles. Bald Mountain via the Long Pond-Bald Mountain Trail. Panoramic views from the fire tower at the summit. Bring lunch. Meet at MHS at 10:00 A.M.     Leader: Cynthia Martin and George Longenecker
Sun Oct 2
Sunday, October 2 -- Hike. Orange. Butterfield Mountain. Moderate. 8 miles. 5 miles of logging roads and 3 miles of bushwhacking. Meet at 8:00 A.M.     Leader: Thomas Weiss
Tue Oct 4
Tuesday, October 4 -- Paddle. Marshfield. Marshfield Reservoir. Easy. 3-4 miles. PFD required. Bring lunch.     Leader: Joan Heller
Sat Oct 8
Saturday, October 8 -- Elephants Head Trail to Sterling Pond     Leader: charlene bohl
Sun Oct 9
Sunday, October 9 -- Hike. Stowe. Moderate. 5 miles with possible good weather extension to walk around Sterling Pond. 2,000' elevation gain. Hike the Long Trail, former Elephants Head Trail from VT Rte. 108 picnic area to Sterling Pond. Return on the Sterling Pond Trail. Car spot or road walk back to car.     Leader: Ken Hertz
Sat Oct 15
Saturday, October 15 -- Hike. Duxbury. Camel's Hump from Couching Lion Farm via the Monroe Trail, the Dean Trail, the Long Trail and back via the Monroe Trail. 7.2 miles. Moderate/Difficult. Possible partial descent on the Alpine Trail. One of the classic Vermont day hikes.     Leader: Paul DeLuca and Charlene Bohl
Sun Oct 16
Sunday, October 16 -- Work Day. Morse Farm Ski Touring Center. Easy. Various distances. Call Morse Farm, 223-0090 for more information.
Sat Oct 22
Saturday, October 22 -- Hike. Northfield. Paine Mountain. Moderate. 5.6 miles.     Leader: Phyllis Rubenstein
Sun Oct 23
Sunday, October 23 -- Hike. Burke. Burke Mountain. Moderate. 6 miles. Meet at 8:00 A.M.     Leader: Thomas Weiss
Sat Oct 29
Saturday, October 29 -- Work Hike. Stowe. Smugglers' Notch. Fall walk-thru on the Long Trail/Elephant's Head and Sterling Pond Trails. All abilities. Various distances. Wear sturdy boots, work clothes and gloves. Meet at MHS at 8:00 A.M.     Leader: Eric Seidel
Sat Nov 5
Saturday, November 5 -- Work Hike. Duxbury. Fall walk-thru to LT/Bamforth Ridge Shelter. All abilities. 3-4 miles round trip. Bring lunch. Wear sturdy boots, work clothes and gloves. Meet at MHS at 8:00 A.M.     Leader: Eric Seidel
Sun Nov 6
Sunday, November 6 -- Road Walk. Middlesex. Moderate. 6 miles. East Hill Road to Rte. 2 via Barnett Hill Road. Car Spot required. Meet at 12:00 noon.     Leader: John Buddington and Kathy Gohl
Sun Nov 13
Sunday, November 13 -- Road Walk. Greensboro. Moderate. 7 miles. Walk on dirt and paved roads around beautiful Caspian Lake. Bring water and lunch.     Leader: Fred Jordan
Sun Nov 27
Sunday, November 27 -- Hike/Walk. Shelburne. Easy. 4+ miles. After Thanksgiving walk at Shelburne Farms. Enjoy farm vistas and a peek at the lake. Dress for the weather. Meet at 12:00 noon.     Leader: Steve Lightholder
Sat Dec 3
Saturday, December 3 -- Hike. Stowe. Moderate. 6 miles. Hike trails and woods roads in anticipation of winter. Meet at 9:00 A.M.     Leader: Charlene Bohl
Tue Dec 6
Tuesday, December 6 -- Walk. Montpelier. Hubbard Park. Easy. 3+/- miles. Meet at 2:00 P.M. in front of the VT Historical Society, 109 State Street, Montpelier.     Leader: Ron Merkin
Wed Dec 7
Wednesday, December 7 -- Combined Executive & Membership/Planning Committee Meetings. Executive Meeting at 6:00 P.M. and Membership/Planning Meeting at 7:30 P.M. Planning events from March 1 - May 31, 2012. All members are welcome at both meetings. Pizza for the Executive Committee meeting and desserts for the Membership/Planning meeting. You may bring a dessert to share. Home of Ken Hertz.
Sun Dec 11
Sunday, December 11 -- YAC Hike. Fifth Anniversary hike. Paine Mountain, Northfield.     Leader: Mike Wetherell.
Tue Dec 13
Tuesday, December 13 -- Hike. Berlin. Irish Hill. Easy/Moderate. Various distances. Local trails in the area. Meet at 1:00 P.M., Staples parking lot off Paine Turnpike, Berlin.     Leader: Steve Lightholder

Montpelier Section reports in the 2012 Long Trail News

© 2018 Montpelier Section of The Green Mountain Club, Inc.     Top    Sun 15 Apr 2018