Green Mountain Club
Montpelier Section


See GMC Archives for all
Long Trail News and Long Trail Guides.
Sources include published outing schedules, the Long Trail News (LTN), Trail Talk, and submissions to this web site.

Date

Report?

Photos?

Events and reports for 2000
Montpelier Section reports in the 2000 Long Trail News
Trail Talk number 54
Sat Jan 1
Saturday, January 1 -- Snowshoe/hike Big Deer Mtn and Osmore Pond loop in Groton State Forest Moderate     Leader: Steve Lightholder
Sun Jan 2
Sunday, January 2 -- Beginners x/c ski lesson - 2 mile tour at U-32     Leader: Ann Burcroff
Fri Jan 7
Friday, January 7 -- Montpelier Section sponsoring Taylor Series
Sat Jan 8
Saturday, January 8 -- ski/snowshoe to chili party at Beaver Meadow Lodge Moderate     Leader: Peter Downey
Sun Jan 9
Sunday, January 9 -- Snowshoe/hike Elmore Mtn Easy/Moderate     Leader: Ed Loewenton
Sat Jan 15
Saturday, January 15 -- GMC Snowshoe Festival
Sun Jan 16
Sunday, January 16 -- nowshoe/walk on Montpelier trails and Road loop (North Branch and Hubbard Park, Hill St, and Gould Rd) Moderate     Leader: Nancy Schulz
Thur Jan 20
Thursday, January 20 -- x/c ski at Smuggler's Notch Moderate     Leader: Andrew and Reidun Nuquist
Sun Jan 23
Sunday, January 23 -- Snowshoe/hike Montclair Glen Lodge Moderate     Leader: Michael Chernick
Sun Jan 30
Sunday, January 30 -- ski/snowshoe from Stevensville to Taylor Lodge Moderate     Leader: Fred Jordan
Sat Feb 5
Saturday, February 5 -- Snowshoe from Mountain Road in Stowe to Watson Camp via LT Difficult     Leader: Nancy Schulz
Feb 5
February 5-6 -- ski/snowshoe to Zealand Falls Hut in NH Difficult     Leader: Michael Chernick
Sun Feb 6
Sunday, February 6 -- x/c ski East Montpelier loop on snowmobile trail Easy     Leader: Esther Farnsworth and Priscilla Daggett (scheduled for Harlan Farnsworth)
Report includes comment on Harlan's passing.
Feb 12
February 12 Snowshoe at Bolton Valley Moderate/Difficult     Leader: Nancy Schulz
Sun Feb 13
Sunday, February 13 -- x/c ski at Highland Lodge in Greensboro     Leader: Mark Haughwout
Wed Feb 16
Wednesday, February 16 -- Snowshoe to Taft Lodge; cosponsored by GMC, Stowe Area Association, and Tubbs Snowshoes Difficult     Leader: Nancy Schulz and Karen Sharpwolf
Thur Feb 17
Thursday, February 17 -- Planning meeting     Host: Ann Burcroff
Sat Feb 19
Saturday, February 19 -- x/c ski in Calais Easy     Leader: Betty Moskowitz and Joan Heller
Sun Feb 20
Sunday, February 20 -- x/c ski at Burke Mtn Ski Touring Center     Leader: Andrew and Reidun Nuquist
Sat Feb 26
Saturday, February 26 -- x/c ski at Craftsbury Ski Center     Leader: Steve Lightholder
Sun Feb 27
Sunday, February 27 -- x/c ski on Middlesex trails Moderate     Leader: Ann Burcroff
Sat Mar 4
Saturday, March 4 -- ski/snowshoe the Hills of Montpelier Easy     Leader: Duncan Wilkie
Sun Mar 5
Sunday, March 5 -- snowshoe/hike on Appalachian Trail, Rt 12 to Winturri Shelter Difficult     Leader: Michael Chernick
Fri Mar 10
Friday, March 10 -- Slide/picture show     Host: Harlan and Esther Farnsworth
Sat Mar 11
Saturday, March 11 -- x/c ski at Stowe Mtn Resort Touring Center     Leader: Bob and Marilyn Wilson
Sun Mar 12
Sunday, March 12 -- Snowshoe to Mt Mansfield summit - up LT to Chin, return on LT Difficult     Leader: Ed Loewenton
Fri Mar 17
Friday, March 17 -- Moonlight snowshoe/hike Irish Hill in Berlin     Leader: John Buddington
Trail Talk number 55 March 2000
Sun Mar 19
Sunday, March 19 -- Snowshoe Mt Crawford, White Mtns NH Difficult     Leader: Steve Lightholder
Sat Mar 25
Saturday, March 25 -- x/c ski Bolton Valley Nordic Center     Leader: Fred Jordan
Sun Mar 26
Sunday, March 26 -- ski/snowshoe Paine Mtn via Clark route, Northfield Moderate     Leader: Nancy Schulz
Sun Apr 2
Sunday, April 2 -- Road walk, Berlin Pond Easy     Leader: Michael Chernick
Fri Apr 7
Friday, April 7 -- Montpelier Section Annual meeting, at Christ Church in Montpelier Contact: Cindy Lindemann or Marilyn Wilson. Meeting packet.
Apr 9
April 9 Road walk, Brookfield Moderate     Leader: Elaine Flint and Steve Lightholder
Sun Apr 16
Sunday, April 16 -- Road walk, Calais Moderate     Leader: Michael Chernick
Apr 17
April 17 -- Executive Committee meeting.
Sat Apr 22
Saturday, April 22 -- Canoe/kayak Shelburne Pond Moderate     Leader: Nancy Schulz
Sat Apr 29
Saturday, April 29 -- Canoe/kayak Peacham Pond Moderate     Leader: Nancy Schulz
Sun Apr 30
Sunday, April 30 -- Canoe/kayak Dead Creek, Addison County Easy/Moderate     Leader: Cindy Lindemann
Sat May 6
Saturday, May 6 -- Bike ride, Richmond - So Hinesburg loop Moderate     Leader: Marilyn and Bob Wilson
Sun May 7
Sunday, May 7 -- Wild Flower Walk, Duck Brook Shelter Easy     Leader: Ann Burcroff
Sat May 13
Saturday, May 13 -- Work trip, LT from Smuggler's Notch     Leader: Eric Seidel
Sun May 14
Sunday, May 14 -- Bike ride "Lots o Balls" loop, Duxbury Gap Road Moderate/Difficult     Leader: Nancy Schulz
Thur May 18
Thursday, May 18 -- Executive and Planning meeting     Host: Fred Jordan
Sat May 20
Saturday, May 20 -- Work trip, walk through on LT from River Road to Alpine Trail     Leader: Eric Seidel
Sun May 21
Sunday, May 21 -- Canoe/kayak on Lamoille River, Wolcott to Morrisville Easy     Leader: Fred Jordan
Sat Jun 3
Saturday, June 3 -- Appalachian Trail Hike # 2 - AT Norwich to West Hartford Difficult     Leader: Steve Lightholder
Sun Jun 4
Sunday, June 4 -- Bike the Burlington Rec Path and Colchester Causeway Moderate/Difficult     Leader: Andrew and Reidun Nuquist
Sat Jun 10
Saturday, June 10 -- GMC Annual Meeting, at The Inn of the Long Trail in Killington
Sun Jun 11
Sunday, June 11 -- Hike to Stony Brook Shelter dedication Easy
Sat Jun 17
Saturday, June 17 -- Bike ride, Northfield Falls - Moretown Common loop Moderate     Leader: Marilyn and Bob Wilson
Sun Jun 18
Sunday, June 18 -- Hike Mt Galehead NH Difficult     Leader: Michael Chernick and Steve Lightholder
Sat Jun 24
Saturday, June 24 -- Work Trip Build puncheon on LT below Gorham Lodge on Camel's Hump     Leader: Eric Seidel
Jul 1
July 1-2 -- Overnight camping at Hump Brook Tenting Area, Camel's Hump Easy     Leader: Andrew and Reidun Nuquist
Sat Jul 8
Saturday, July 8 -- Appalachian Trail Hike # 3 - West Hartford to Rt 12 in Woodstock Difficult     Leader: Steve Lightholder
Sun Jul 9
Sunday, July 9 -- Canoe/kayak on Green River Reservoir Easy     Leader: Christie Carter and Ann Burcroff
Sat Jul 15
Saturday, July 15 -- Hike Hunger Mtn, Waterbury Moderate     Leader: Ray and Sylvia Kingsbury
Trail Talk number 56 July 2000
Sun Jul 23
Sunday, July 23 -- Hike Mt Elmore Easy     Leader: Andrew and Reidun Nuquist
Sun Jul 30
Sunday, July 30 -- Hike Spruce Mtn, Plainfield Moderate     Leader: Esther Farnsworth
Thur Aug 3
Thursday, August 3 -- Canoe/kayak Green River Reservoir Easy     Leader: Andrew and Reidun Nuquist
Sat Aug 5
Saturday, August 5 -- Appalachian Trail Hike # 4 - Rt 12 Woodstock to Chateaugay Road in Barnard Difficult     Leader: Steve Lightholder
Sun Aug 6
Sunday, August 6 -- Canoe/kayak - Northeast Pond Hopping Easy     Leader: Duncan Wilkie
Sat Aug 12
Saturday, August 12 -- Hike, Mt Mansfield Rock Scramble - Up Hell Brook, Cliff and Canyon Trails, return via Hell Brook Trail ExtremelyDifficult     Leader: Ed Loewenton
Sat Aug 19
Saturday, August 19 -- Mystery Bike Ride Moderate     Leader: Esther Farnsworth and Priscilla Daggett
Sun Aug 27
Sunday, August 27 -- Bike Ride, Isle LaMotte loop Easy     Leader: Mary Slater and Mary Garcia
Sun Sep 3
Sunday, September 3 -- Canoe/kayak Otter Creek, Vergennes - Lake Champlain Moderate     Leader: Andrew and Reidun Nuquist
Sat Sep 9
Saturday, September 9 -- Dave Morse memorial hike; construct a bench at the view point of the Allis Trail on Camel's Hump Moderate     Leader: Doris Washburn and Cindy Lindemann
Sun Sep 10
Sunday, September 10 -- Appalachian Trail Hike # 5 - Chateaugay Road in Barnard to River Road in Killington Difficult     Leader: Steve Lightholder
Tue Sep 12
Tuesday, September 12 -- Executive Committee Meeting     Host: Eric Seidel
Sat Sep 16
Saturday, September 16 -- Hike from Couching Lion Farm to Camel's Hump, return via Wind Gap Moderate     Leader: Fred Jordan
Sat Sep 23
Saturday, September 23 -- Hike Mt Graylock in Williamstown MA Easy     Leader: Duncan Wilkie
Sun Sep 24
Sunday, September 24 -- Bike ride around Lake Willoughby Moderate     Leader: Ray and Sylvia Kingsbury
Sun Oct 1
Sunday, October 1 -- Canoe/kayak on Peacham Pond Moderate     Leader: Joan Heller and Betty Moskowitz
Thur Oct 5
Thursday, October 5 -- Planning meeting     Host: Marilyn and Bob Wilson
Sat Oct 7
Saturday, October 7 -- Hike Mt Belvidere loop Moderate     Leader: Duncan Wilkie
Sun Oct 8
Sunday, October 8 -- Bike ride, Montpelier-Worcester-Adamant-Montpelier loop Moderate/Difficult     Leader: Fred Jordan
Sat Oct 14
Saturday, October 14 -- Appalachian Trail Hike # 6 - River Road, Killington to Rt 4, Mendon Difficult     Leader: Steve Lightholder
Oct 14
October 14 -- Vermont Foliage, Ed Loewenton's report posted on the original section web site
Sat Oct 21
Saturday, October 21 -- Work hike, LT south from River Road to Gorham Lodge     Leader: Eric Seidel
Sat Oct 28
Saturday, October 28 -- Work hike, LT from Smuggler's Notch to Chilcoot Pass     Leader: Eric Seidel
Sun Nov 5
Sunday, November 5 -- Hike Butternut Mtn via Davis Neighorhood Trail and LT (alternate is Devil's Gulch loop from Rt 118) Moderate     Leader: Andrew and Reidun Nuquist
Sat Nov 11
Saturday, November 11 -- Walk "Just for the Hills of It", the hills surrounding Montpelier     Leader: Esther Farnsworth and Priscilla Daggett
Sat Nov 18
Saturday, November 18 -- Walk the Burlington Bike Path Easy     Leader: Michael Chernick
Sat Nov 25
Saturday, November 25 -- Walking tour of Burlington Moderate     Leader: Steve Lightholder
Trail Talk number 57Winter 2000 - 2001
Sat Dec 2
Saturday, December 2 -- Snowshoe the Mt Mansfield Toll Road Moderate/Difficult     Leader: Nancy Schulz
Sun Dec 3
Sunday, December 3 -- Road walk in Marshfield and Plainfield Moderate     Leader: Nancy Schulz
Sun Dec 10
Sunday, December 10 -- Hike/Road walk the North Branch Trail - Sparrow Farm - North Street loop Moderate/Difficult     Leader: Andrew and Reidun Nuquist
Sat Dec 16
Saturday, December 16 -- Snowshoe Middlebury Gap, Noske Ski Trail - Burnt Hill Trail - Long Trail Moderate     Leader: Christie Carter and John Buddington
Sun Dec 17
Sunday, December 17 -- Hike in Groton State Forest - Kettle Pond and Owls Head Moderate     Leader: Steve Lightholder
Sat Dec 30
Saturday, December 30 -- x/c ski on private land in Stowe, near Moss Glen Falls Moderate     Leader: Nancy Schulz

Montpelier Section reports in the 2001 Long Trail News

© 2018 Montpelier Section of The Green Mountain Club, Inc.     Top     Wed 31 Oct 2018 Wed, 31 Oct 2018 16:41:07 -0400