Green Mountain Club
Montpelier Section


See GMC Archives for all
Long Trail News and Long Trail Guides.
Sources include published outing schedules, the Long Trail News (LTN), Trail Talk, and submissions to this web site.

Date

Report?

Photos?

Events and reports for 1999
Montpelier Section reports in the 1998 Long Trail News
Fri Jan 1
Friday, January 1 -- Snowshoe on the East Montpelier Trail from Dodge Road to Haggett Road     Leader: Nancy Schulz
Sat Jan 2
Saturday, January 2 -- Beginner's x/c ski lesson     Leader: Ann Burcroff
Sat Jan 9
Saturday, January 9 -- Snowshoe/ski up Elmore Mtn Moderate     Leader: Ed Loewenton
Sun Jan 10
Sunday, January 10 -- ski/snowshoe to chili party at Beaver Meadow Lodge Moderate     Leader: Peter Downey
Sat Jan 16
Saturday, January 16 -- Snowshoe up Mt Hunger via the Waterbury Trail Difficult     Leader: Nancy Schulz
Fri Jan 22
Friday, January 22 -- Taylor Series at Mad River Barn in Waitsfield sponsored by the Montpelier Section
Jan 23
January 23 -- GNC Board of Directors Meeting, Report to
Sun Jan 24
Sunday, January 24 -- Snowshoe to Taylor Lodge Moderate     Leader: Michael Chernick
Sat Jan 30
Saturday, January 30 -- x/c ski at Trapp Family Lodge     Leader: Nancy Schulz
Sat Feb 6
Saturday, February 6 -- x/c ski at Highland Lodge in Greensboro     Leader: Mark Haughwout
Sun Feb 7
Sunday, February 7 -- Snowshoe hike and potluck supper at Sally Sairs' home in Woodbury Easy     Leader: Sally Sairs
Sat Feb 13
Saturday, February 13 -- GMC Snowshoe Festival
Sun Feb 14
Sunday, February 14 -- Ski the Catamount Trail from Cobb Brook to Camel's Hump Nordic ski Center Moderate     Leader: Fred Jordan
Sat Feb 20
Saturday, February 20 -- Ski/snowshoe to Grace Camp. Corliss Cam, and Camp Weasel with the Sterling Section Moderate     Leader: Cindy and Bob Lindemann
Sun Feb 21
Sunday, February 21 -- x/c ski the "horn of the Moon loop" in East Montpelier Moderate     Leader: Nancy Schulz
Thur Feb 25
Thursday, February 25 -- Planning meeting     Host: Nancy Schulz
Feb 25
February 25 -- Duties of the Section Treasurer
Feb 27
February 27-28 -- Overnight snowshoe to Carter Notch Hut in NH Difficult     Leader: Michael Chernick
Sat Feb 27
Saturday, February 27 -- x/c ski at Top Notch Touring Center     Leader: Nancy Schulz
Sat Mar 6
Saturday, March 6 -- Snowshoe on Camel's Hump Difficult     Leader: Steve Lightholder
Sat Mar 13
Saturday, March 13 -- Snowshoe up Spruce Mtn in Plainfield Easy     Leader: Joan Kahn
Sun Mar 14
Sunday, March 14 -- Snowshoe to Mt Mansfield summit up LT to Chin, return by LT or Profanity Trail Difficult     Leader: Ed Loewenton
Sat Mar 20
Saturday, March 20 -- x/c ski at Stowe Mtn resort Touring Center     Leader: Nancy Schulz
Sat Mar 27
Saturday, March 27 -- Snowshoe at Bolton Valley     Leader: Nancy Schulz
Photos and report by Steve Lightholder

Sat Apr 3
Saturday, April 3 -- Snowshoe up Worcester Mtn Difficult     Leader: Nancy Schulz
Sat Apr 10
Saturday, April 10 -- Road walk in Brookfield Easy     Leader: Steve Lightholder and Elaine Flint
Fri Apr 16
Friday, April 16 -- Montpelier Section Annual Meeting, at Christ Church in ntpelier
Packet
Sun Apr 18
Sunday, April 18 -- Road walk around Berlin Pond Easy     Leader: Michael Chernick
Sat Apr 24
Saturday, April 24 -- Snowshoe/hike up Stowe Pinnacle Moderate     Leader: Nancy Schulz
April -- Montpelier Section Annual Meeting - Not Found! We do have the annual assessment from GMC.
Trail Talk number 52 April 1999
Sun Apr 25
Sunday, April 25 -- Canoe/kayak on Shelburne Pond Easy/Moderate     Leader: Nancy Schulz
Sat May 1
Saturday, May 1 -- Bike from Alburg to Isle LaMotte and return Easy     Leader: Richard Hoffman
Sun May 2
Sunday, May 2 -- Paddle the perimeter of Peacham Pond Easy/Moderate     Leader: Nancy Schulz
May 4
May 4 -- Executive Committee meeting.
Sat May 8
Saturday, May 8 -- Circular paddle involving Missisquoi River, Lake Champlain, and Dead Creek Moderate/Difficult     Leader: Nancy Schulz and Steve Lightholder
Sun May 9
Sunday, May 9 -- Mystery paddle Moderate     Leader: Nancy Schulz
Sat May 15
Saturday, May 15 -- Wildflower hike to Middlesex Notch Easy     Leader: Ann Burcroff
Sun May 16
Sunday, May 16 -- Day Hiker's Long Trail # 26 - River Road to Bolton Notch Road Moderate     Leader: Thomas Weiss
Sat May 22
Saturday, May 22 -- Work hike and walkthrough, LT/Bamforth Ridge Trail     Leader: Eric Seidel
Sun May 23
Sunday, May 23 -- Bike ride, Lunenburg VT and Lancaster NH Moderate     Leader: Andrew and Reidun Nuquist
Sat May 29
Saturday, May 29 -- Work hike and walkthrough, KT from Smuggler's Notch     Leader: Eric Seidel
Sat Jun 5
Saturday, June 5 -- Canoe/kayak down the Winooski River from Middlesex to above Bolton Dam Easy/Moderate     Leader: Fred Jordan
Sun Jun 6
Sunday, June 6 -- Hike up Elmore Mtn Easy/Moderate     Leader: Andrew and Reidun Nuquist
Sat Jun 12
Saturday, June 12 -- Hike to Lonesome Lake in White Mountains NH, in via Cascade Brook Trail return via Basin Cascade Trail Moderate     Leader: Steve Lightholder
Jun 12
June 12 -- GMC Annual Meeting
Wed Jun 16
Wednesday, June 16 -- Bike trip and picnic on the Groton Path Easy     Leader: Fred Jordan
Sat Jun 19
Saturday, June 19 -- Work hike on LT/Bamforth Ridge Trail     Leader: Eric Seidel
Sun Jun 20
Sunday, June 20 -- Hike Ascutney Mtn via Windsor and Weathersfield Trails Moderate     Leader: Michael Chernick
Mon Jun 21
Monday, June 21 -- Hike to Elmore Mtn to see sunset from the tower     Leader: Ed Loewenton
Thur Jun 24
Thursday, June 24 -- Planning meeting     Host: Andrew and Reidun Nuquist
Sat Jun 26
Saturday, June 26 -- Day Hiker's Long Trail # 27 - Bolton Notch Road to Nebraska Notch Difficult     Leader: Thomas Weiss
Sun Jun 27
Sunday, June 27 -- Hike Mt Mansfield via Laura Cowles and Sunset Ridge trails Moderate/Difficult     Leader: Andrew and Reidun Nuquist
Sat Jul 3
Saturday, July 3 -- Bike on Missisquoi Valley Rail Trail Moderate     Leader: Steve Lightholder
Sat Jul 10
Saturday, July 10 -- Hike up Whiteface Mtn Difficult     Leader: Michael Chernick and Steve Lightholder
Sun Jul 11
Sunday, July 11 -- Hike up Paine Mtn via Clarke route in Northfield Easy     Leader: Bill Osgood
Sat Jul 17
Saturday, July 17 -- Kayak/canoe on Green River Reservoir Easy     Leader: Ann Burcroff
Sat Jul 17
Saturday, July 17 -- "Rocks in the Head" Mt Mansfield circuit - Hell Brook to Chin, down and around Cliff Trail, up to visitor center, over ridge to North Canyon, back to Chin and down Hell Brook Difficult     Leader: Ed Loewenton
Sun Jul 18
Sunday, July 18 -- Canoe on Marshfield Dam Reservoir (Molly's Falls Pond) Easy     Leader: Harlan and Esther Farnsworth
Sun Jul 25
Sunday, July 25 -- Bike ride in St Albans/Swanton area Easy     Leader: Richard Hoffman
Sat Jul 31
Saturday, July 31 -- Day Hiker's Long Trail # 28 - Appalachian Gap to Wind Gap Difficult     Leader: Thomas Weiss
Sun Aug 1
Sunday, August 1 -- Canoe/kayak to Four Brothers Islands from NY shore Moderate     Leader: Eric Seidel
Trail Talk number 53 July 1999
Sun Aug 8
Sunday, August 8 -- Paddle Lake Dunmore Easy/Moderate     Leader: Steve Lightholder
Sun Aug 15
Sunday, August 15 -- Hike Mt Mansfield via Lake Mansfield Trail to Forehead on LT Moderate/Difficult     Leader: Ed Loewenton
Sat Aug 21
Saturday, August 21 -- Day Hiker's Long Trail # 29 - Wind Gap to River Road Difficult     Leader: Thomas Weiss
Sun Aug 29
Sunday, August 29 -- Hike Mt Hale to Zealand Hut in NH Moderate     Leader: Michael Chernick
Sun Sep 12
Sunday, September 12 -- David P Morse memorial hike to Montclair Glen Lodge Moderate     Leader: Doris Washburn
Thur Sep 16
Thursday, September 16 -- Planning meeting     Host: Fred and Nancy Jordan
Sat Sep 18
Saturday, September 18 -- Bike in Burlington/Colchester area on bike paths     Leader: Richard Hoffman
Sat Sep 25
Saturday, September 25 -- Day Hiker's Long Trail # 30 - County Road to Massachusetts border Easy     Leader: Thomas Weiss
Sun Sep 26
Sunday, September 26 -- Hike Mt Grant and return from Lincoln Gap Moderate     Leader: Andrew and Reidun Nuquist
Sun Sep 26
Sunday, September 26 -- Work Hike App Gap to Birch Glen Camp Moderate     Leader: GMC/Seth Coffey
Sat Oct 2
Saturday, October 2 -- Bike on gravel roads in East Montpelier Easy     Leader: Fred Jordan
Sun Oct 3
Sunday, October 3 -- Hike to Camel's Hump summit from river via Bamforth Ridge Trail, return via Monroe Trail or Dean Trail Difficult     Leader: Ed Loewenton
Sat Oct 9
Saturday, October 9 -- Hike from Stowe Pinnacle to Worcester Mtn Difficult     Leader: Steve Lightholder
Sat Oct 16
Saturday, October 16 -- Bike ride in Waitsfield/Warren area Easy/Moderate     Leader: Richard Hoffman
Sat Oct 23
Saturday, October 23 -- Work hike on LT at Smuggler's Notch     Leader: Eric Seidel
Sat Oct 30
Saturday, October 30 -- Work hike on Bamforth Ridge Trail     Leader: Eric Seidel
Sun Oct 31
Sunday, October 31 -- Road walk in Pomfret/East Barnard area Moderate     Leader: Michael Chernick
Sat Nov 6
Saturday, November 6 -- Hike Worcester Mtn Moderate     Leader: Nancy Schulz
Sun Nov 7
Sunday, November 7 -- Canoe/kayak on Waterbury Reservoir Moderate     Leader: Andrew and Reidun Nuquist
Sun Nov 7
Sunday, November 7 -- Hike Stowe Pinnacle Moderate     Leader: Nancy Schulz
13
November 13 -- Road walk in Waitsfield/Warren area Moderate     Leader: Nancy Schulz
Sun Nov 14
Sunday, November 14 -- Road walk in Plainfield-East Hill Road and Spruce Mtn Road     Leader: Nancy Schulz
Trail Talk number 54 November 1999
Sat Nov 20
Saturday, November 20 -- Walk the Stowe Rec Path Easy     Leader: Michael Chernick
Sat Nov 27
Saturday, November 27 -- Appalachian Trail Hike # 1 - Norwich to Hanover Moderate     Leader: Steve Lightholder
Sat Dec 4
Saturday, December 4 -- Snowshoe/hike Mt Mansfield Toll Road Moderate/Difficult     Leader: Nancy Schulz
Sat Dec 11
Saturday, December 11 -- ski/hike the Cotton Brook loop in Stowe Moderate/Difficult     Leader: Nancy Schulz
Wed Dec 22
Wednesday, December 22 -- Full moon snowshoe in Hubbard Park     Leader: Nancy Schulz

Montpelier Section reports in the 1999 Long Trail News

© 2018 Montpelier Section of The Green Mountain Club, Inc.     Top     Sat 24 Nov 2018 Sat, 24 Nov 2018 11:17:46 -0500