Green Mountain Club
Montpelier Section


See GMC Archives for all
Long Trail News and Long Trail Guides.
Sources include published outing schedules, the Long Trail News (LTN), Trail Talk, and submissions to this web site.

Date

Report?

Photos?

Events and reports for 1988
Montpelier Section reports in the 1988 Long Trail News
Thur Jan 7
Thursday, January 7 -- Planning meeting     Host: Andrew and Reidun Nuquist
Sun Jan 10
Sunday, January 10 -- x/c ski Bolton - Cotton Brook loop Difficult     Leader: Dave Morse
Sun Jan 17
Sunday, January 17 -- x/c ski at Camel's Hump touring center     Leader: Marilyn Wilson
Sun Jan 24
Sunday, January 24 -- x/c ski at Highland Lodge     Leader: Andrew and Reidun Nuquist
Trail Talk number 20 January 1988
Sat Jan 30
Saturday, January 30 -- x/c ski in Plainfield     Leader: David Keith
Sat Feb 6
Saturday, February 6 -- x/c ski on the Catamount Trail from The Farm Resort on Rt 100 to the Village Store in Elmore Easy/Moderate     Leader: Jean Coello
Sun Feb 7
Sunday, February 7 -- x/c ski in Brookfield on private trails     Leader: Andrew and Reidun Nuquist, and Harlan Farnsworth
Sun Feb 14
Sunday, February 14 -- ski/snowshoe up Spruce Mtn Moderate/Difficult     Leader: David Keith
Sat Feb 20
Saturday, February 20 -- x/c ski down the Mt Mansfield Toll Road, prepared for the Stowe Derby the following day Difficult     Leader: Andrew Nuquist
Sun Feb 21
Sunday, February 21 -- x/c ski at Bolton Valley Resort     Leader: Peter Downey
Sun Feb 28
Sunday, February 28 -- x/c ski on Davis Neighborhood Brook Trail in Johnson to Parker Camp     Leader: Peter Downey
Wed Mar 2
Wednesday, March 2 -- Moonlight x/c ski on Newhouse property in Berlin     Leader: David Morse
Sat Mar 5
Saturday, March 5 -- x/c ski at Hilltop Touring Center in Wolcott     Leader: Judy Illingworth
Sat Mar 12
Saturday, March 12 -- x/c ski in Groton State Forest Moderate     Leader: Harlan Farnsworth
Sun Mar 13
Sunday, March 13 -- x/c ski on East Montpelier loop with stops at Farnsworths and Slaytons     Leader: Esther Farnsworth
Sat Mar 19
Saturday, March 19 -- x/c ski in Northfield     Leader: Ken Kidd
Sun Mar 20
Sunday, March 20 -- x/c ski at Craftsbury Touring Center     Leader: David Keith
Sat Mar 26
Saturday, March 26 -- x/c ski at Hazen's Notch Touring Center     Leader: Jean Coello and David Morse
Sat Apr 2
Saturday, April 2 -- Maintenance hike/snowshoe to Sterling Pond, to inspect the shelter     Leader: David Morse
Fri Apr 8
Friday, April 8 -- Montpelier Section Annual meeting, at Christ Church in Montpelier     Contact: Esther Farnsworth and Barbara Slayton
Minutes in Longhand
Budget
Thur Apr 21
Thursday, April 21 -- Planning meeting     Host: Judy Illingworth
Sat Apr 30
Saturday, April 30 -- Mystery hike     Leader: Marilyn Wilson
Sat May 7
Saturday, May 7 -- Bicycling in Burlington Easy     Leader: Bob Johnson
Trail Talk number 21 May 1988
Sun May 15
Sunday, May 15 -- Hike Spruce Easy Mtn     Leader: Peter Downey
Sat May 21
Saturday, May 21 -- Work session and walk through- LT from Smuggler's Notch to Chilcoot Pass, plus Elephant's Head Trail     Leader: David Shepard
Sat May 28
Saturday, May 28 -- GMC Annual Meeting
Mon May 30
Monday, May 30 -- Canoe on Green River Reservoir near Morrisville Easy/Moderate     Leader: George Richardson
Sat Jun 4
Saturday, June 4 -- Work session to relocate the LT near Sterling Pond     Leader: David Shepard
Sun Jun 5
Sunday, June 5 -- Hike Mt Moosilauke in NH Moderate/Difficult     Leader: Peter Downey
Sun Jun 12
Sunday, June 12 -- Work session on Mt Hunger up Middlesex Trail     Leader: David Shepard
Fri Jun 17
Friday, June 17 -- Extra Work session to Sterling Pond     Leader: Andrew Nuquist
Jun 18
June 18-19 -- Backpacking trip to Tillotson Camp on the LT, from Rt 118 to Rt 58     Leader: Peter Downey
Sat Jun 25
Saturday, June 25 -- Canoe on Chittenden Reservoir     Leader: George Richardson
Sun Jul 10
Sunday, July 10 -- Hike Camel's Hump via Forestry Trail and Alpine Trail Moderate     Leader: David Morse, Andrew and Reidun Nuquist
Sat Jul 16
Saturday, July 16 -- Work session on Elephant's Head Trail     Leader: David Shepard
Jul 23
July 23 - 31 -- Lake Champlain end-to-end     Leader: Andrew Nuquist
Sun Jul 24
Sunday, July 24 -- Hike Franconia Ridge in NH Difficult     Leader: Marilyn Wilson
Sat Jul 30
Saturday, July 30 -- Hike LT from Hazen's Notch to Rt 242. Moderate Investigate having the Section assume some responsibility for this part of the LT     Leader: David Shepard
Sun Aug 7
Sunday, August 7 -- Canoe on the Marshfield Reservoir     Leader: Phyllis Robinson and Judy Illingworth
Sun Aug 14
Sunday, August 14 -- Hike Worcester Mtn Moderate     Leader: Reidun Nuquist
Tue Aug 16
Tuesday, August 16 -- Canoe on the Missisquoi River Moderate     Leader: Barbara Slayton and Andrew and Reidun Nuquist
Sat Aug 20
Saturday, August 20 -- LT from Rt 118 through Devil's Gulch to David Neighborhood Trail, with the Burlington Section     Leader: Dot Meyer
Sat Aug 27
Saturday, August 27 -- Mystery bike trip     Leader: Bob Johnson
Sun Aug 28
Sunday, August 28 -- Canoe on the Wrightsville Reservoir     Leader: Harlan Farnsworth
Thur Sep 8
Thursday, September 8 -- Planning meeting     Host: Nuquists
Sun Sep 11
Sunday, September 11 -- Walk in Berlin Easy     Leader: Esther Farnsworth
Sat Sep 17
Saturday, September 17 -- Hike from Bolton Valley to Nebraska Notch Moderate/Difficult     Leader: David Morse
Sat Sep 24
Saturday, September 24 -- Hike from Granville to Breadloaf Mtn Moderate     Leader: Harlan Farnsworth
Trail Talk number 22 September 1988
Sun Sep 25
Sunday, September 25 -- Mt Mansfield via LT from Rt 108 to Taft Lodge and Chin Difficult     Leader: Peter Downey
Sat Oct 1
Saturday, October 1 -- Hike Mt Elmore Easy/Moderate     Leader: Phyllis Robinson
Sun Oct 2
Sunday, October 2 -- Work session on Mt Hunger     Leader: Dave Shepard
Sat Oct 8
Saturday, October 8 -- Hike on Franconia Ridge in NH Difficult     Leader: Marilyn Wilson
Sat Oct 8
Saturday, October 8 -- Hike Stowe Bicycle Path     Leader: Joe Gosselin
Sun Oct 9
Sunday, October 9 -- Hike Spruce Mtn Easy/Moderate     Leader: Barbara and Peter Slayton
Sat Oct 14
Saturday October 14 -- Fall Walk Through and trail maintenance from Smuggler's Notch to Sterling Pond     Leader: David Shepard
Sat Oct 15
Saturday, October 15 -- Hike Mt Pisgah and Mt Hor Moderate/Difficult     Leader: Barbara Slayton
Sun Oct 16
Sunday, October 16 -- Hike Mt Abraham from Lincoln Gap Moderate/Difficult     Leader: Mark Haughwout
Sat Oct 22
Saturday, October 22 -- Hike Mt Ellen on Jerusalem Trail Moderate     Leader: Harlan Farnsworth
Sun Oct 29
Sunday October 29 -- Bushwhack across Paine Mountain     Leader: Bill OsgoodLeader: Bill Osgood
Sun Oct 30
Sunday, October 30 -- Walk through LT from Smuggler's Notch to Chilcoot Pass plus Elephant's Head Trail     Leader: Dave Shepard
Sun Nov 5
Sunday November 5 -- Last chance canoe and kayak outing on Waterbury Reservoir     Leader: Andy Nuquist
Sun Nov 6
Sunday, November 6 -- Hike on Groton Forest to Big Deer Mtn     Leader: George Longenecker and Cynthia Martin
Sat Nov 11
Saturday November 11 -- Hike Adirondacks Ausable Club area     Leader: Dave Morse
Sun Nov 12
Sunday November 12 -- Montpelier in Perspective: View the city from Hill Street     Leader: Reidun Nuquist
Sun Nov 13
Sunday, November 13 -- Canoe on Waterbury Reservoir     Leader: Andrew and Reidun Nuquist
Thur Nov 16
Thursday November 16 -- Show and tell slide show at the Nuquists     Hosts: Andy and Reidun Nuquist
Sun Nov 19
Sunday November 19 -- Montpelier in Perspective II: View the city from North Street     Leader: Reidun Nuquist
Sun Nov 20
Sunday, November 20 -- Slide show: Bring your pictures to share     Host: Phyllis Robinson
Sun Nov 26
Sunday November 26 -- Montpelier in Perspective III: View the city from upper Terrace Street     Leader: Reidun Nuquist
Sat Dec 17
Saturday, December 17 -- Potluck supper     Host: Barbara Slayton
Sat Dec 31
Saturday, December 31 -- x/c ski in East Montpelier, plus wine and dinner     Host: Harlan and Esther Farnsworth

Montpelier Section reports in the 1989 Long Trail News

© 2018 Montpelier Section of The Green Mountain Club, Inc.     Top     Mon 15 Oct 2018 Mon, 15 Oct 2018 16:45:10 -0400