Green Mountain Club
Montpelier Section


See GMC Archives for all
Long Trail News and Long Trail Guides.
Sources include published outing schedules, the Long Trail News (LTN), Trail Talk, and submissions to this web site.

Date

Report?

Photos?

Events and reports for 1987
Montpelier Section reports in the 1987 Long Trail News
Sun Jan 4
Sunday, January 4 -- c/c ski at Hilltop Ski Touring Center, Wolcott     Leader: Paul Wallace-Brodeur
Wed Jan 7
Wednesday, January 7 -- Planning meeting     Host: Esther Farnsworth
Sun Jan 11
Sunday, January 11 -- x/c ski at Bolton Valley Touring Center     Leader: Reidun and Andrew Nuquist
Trail Talk number 17 January 1987
Sat Jan 17
Saturday, January 17 -- X/C Ski at Burke Mt Touring Center     Leader: Dave Morse
Sun Jan 18
Sunday, January 18 -- Ski/snowshoe at Groton Forest Moderate     Leader: Tom Kastner
Sat Jan 24
Saturday, January 24 -- Ski at Ole's Cross Country Center in Warren Easy/Moderate     Leader: Jean Coello
Sat Jan 31
Saturday, January 31 -- Help paint the GMC Office in Montpelier
Sun Feb 1
Sunday, February 1 -- Snowshoe with Breadloaf Section at the Audubon Nature Center     Leader: Esther Farnsworth
Sun Feb 8
Sunday, February 8 -- X/C Ski at Highland Lodge, Greensboro     Leader: Nuquists
Thur Feb 12
Thursday, February 12 -- Moonlight ski near the Berlin airport Easy     Leader: Dave Morse
Sun Feb 15
Sunday, February 15 -- Snowshoe in the Worcester area     Leader: Mary Deaett
Sun Feb 22
Sunday, February 22 -- X/C ski East Montpelier loop Moderate     Leader: Farnsworths
Sun Mar 1
Sunday, March 1 -- Snowshoe Camel's Hump Difficult     Leader: Andrew Nuquist
Sat Mar 7
Saturday, March 7 -- X/C ski Cram Hill in West Brookfield Difficult     Leader: Harlan Farnsworth
Sat Mar 14
Saturday, March 14 -- X/C ski at Mt Mansfield Touring Center     Leader: Marilyn Wilson
Tue Mar 17
Tuesday, March 17 -- Planning meeting     Host: Barbara Hermann
Sun Mar 22
Sunday, March 22 -- X/C ski behind the Outdoor Outlet Store in Waterbury Center     Leader: Gosselins
Fri Apr 3
Friday, April 3 -- Montpelier Section Annual meeting, at the Baptist Church in Montpelier     Contact: Esther Farnsworth
Budget
Trail Talk number 18 April 1987
Sun Apr 5
Sunday, April 5 -- Ski/snowshoe Rt 108, Smuggler's Notch Road Moderate     Leader: Bob Johnson
Sun Apr 12
Sunday, April 12 -- Snowshoe Camel's Hump via Forestry Trail Moderate/Difficult     Leader: Cindy Cook
Sat Apr 25
Saturday, April 25 -- Canoe Dead Creek Wildlife Waterfowl Area Easy     Leader: Tom Kastner
Sat May 9
Saturday, May 9 -- Canoe on the Waterbury Reservoir (from Waterbury Center ramp) and hike in the Little River State Park     Leader: Cynthia Martin and George Longenecker
Sat May 16
Saturday, May 16 -- Burlington bike oath by bike or by foot     Leader: Joe Gosselin
May 22
May 22-24 -- GMC Annual Meeting, at Green Mountain College in Poultney VT
Sat May 30
Saturday, May 30 -- Hike Tuckerman's Ravine Difficult     Leader: Marilyn Wilson
Sat Jun 6
Saturday, June 6 -- Trail maintenance and walk through, LT from Smuggler's Notch     Leader: Dave Shepard and Dave Morse
Sat Jun 13
Saturday, June 13 -- Trail work (relocation) on LT near Sterling Pond     Leader: Dave Shepard
Sun Jun 14
Sunday, June 14 -- Hike Spruce Mtn Moderate     Leader: Dave Keith
Sat Jun 20
Saturday, June 20 -- Canoe Missisquoi River Easy     Leader: Dave Morse
Sun Jun 28
Sunday, June 28 -- Hike Mt Jefferson (NH) via the Caps Ridge Trail Moderate     Leader: George Longenecker
Mon Jun 29
June 29 -- Bill for Section Labels
Sat Jul 11
Saturday, July 11 -- Hike Mt Abraham Moderate     Leader: Sue Maywood
Sat Jul 18
Saturday, July 18 -- Overnight bike hike to Grande Isle State Park     Leader: Paul Perley
Sat Jul 25
Saturday, July 25 -- Mt Mansfield via Sunset Ridge Trail Difficult     Leader: Barbara Hermann
Aug 1
August 1 - 2 -- Canoe Lake Champlain to Woods Island     Leader: Harlan Farnsworth
Sat Aug 8
Saturday, August 8 -- Hike Crawford Notch loop - Mt Avalon, Mt Willey and Mt Field Difficult     Leader: Dave Shepard
Sun Aug 9
Sunday, August 9 -- Canoe and swim in Marshfield Reservoir Easy     Leader: Emily and Joe Gosselin
Sat Aug 15
Saturday, August 15 -- Hike Mt Pisgah and Mt Hor Moderate     Leader: Sue Maywood
Aug 22
August 22 - 30 -- GMC Intersectional at Goshen VT
Sun Aug 30
Sunday, August 30 -- Hike Stowe Pinnacle Moderate     Leader: Emily and Joe Gosselin
Thur Sep 10
Thursday, September 10 -- Planning meeting     Host: Mary Garcia
Sat Sep 12
Saturday, September 12 -- Hike Burnt Rock, south of Camel's Hump, via N Fayston Moderate     Leader: Harlan Farnsworth
Sep 19
September 19-20 -- Canoe and camp on Maidstone Lake     Leader: Tom Kastner
Sun Sep 27
Sunday, September 27 -- Hike Hunger Mtn Moderate     Leader: Nuquists
Trail Talk number 19 September 1987
Sun Sep 20
Sunday, September 20 -- Bike in South Royalton area     Leader: Jean Coello
Sun Sep 27
Sunday, September 27 -- Hike Hunger Mtn Moderate     Leader: Andrew and Reidun Nuquist
Sat Oct 3
Saturday, October 3 -- Canoe on Green River Reservoir     Leader: Phyllis Robinson
Sun Oct 11
Sunday, October 11 -- Hike Three Brothers and Big Slide Mountains in the Adirondacks Moderate     Leader: David Morse
Sat Oct 17
Saturday, October 17 -- Hike Scragg Mtn, Roxbury area Easy/Moderate     Leader: Kenneth Kidd
Sun Oct 18
Sunday, October 18 -- Trail maintenance - LT from Smuggler's Notch     Leader: David Shepard
Fri Oct 23
Friday, October 23 -- Fund raising dinner - Will honor Senator Robert Stafford; master of ceremonies Lt Gov Howard Dean, honorary co-chair of the LT Protection Committee
Sat Oct 24
Saturday, October 24 -- Hike Nebraska Notch, Taylor Lodge, Butler Lodge loop ModerateModerate     Leader: Harlan Farnsworth
Sun Nov 1
Sunday, November 1 -- Hike Camel's Hump via Forestry Trail Moderate     Leader: Peter Downey
Sun Nov 8
sunday, November 8 -- Hike suggested x/c ski trails in Groton State Forest     Leader: Barbara Slayton
Sun Nov 22
Sunday, November 22 -- Slide show     Host: Phyllis Robinson
Sun Dec 6
Sunday, December 6 -- Road walk in Calais-Woodbury area     Leader: Sally Sairs
Sat Dec 12
Saturday, December 12 -- Hike trails in Little River State Park Easy     Leader: Joseph Gosselin
Sun Dec 20
Sunday, December 20 -- Annual Christmas party at Duck Brook Shelter     Leader: Reidun Nuquist
Sun Dec 27
Sunday, December 27 -- x/c ski at Mt Mansfield Ski Touring Center     Leader: Andrew and Reidun Nuquist
Thur Dec 31
Thursday, December 31 -- Moonlight x/c ski on East Montpelier trails     Leader: Esther and Harlan Farnsworth

Montpelier Section reports in the 1988 Long Trail News

© 2018 Montpelier Section of The Green Mountain Club, Inc.     Top     Mon 15 Oct 2018 Mon, 15 Oct 2018 16:43:47 -0400