Green Mountain Club
Montpelier Section


See GMC Archives for all
Long Trail News and Long Trail Guides.
Sources include published outing schedules, the Long Trail News (LTN), Trail Talk, and submissions to this web site.

Date

Report?

Photos?

Events and reports for 1985
Montpelier Section reports in the 1985 Long Trail News
Fri Jan 4
Friday, January 4 -- Moonlight ski     Leader: Paul Ohman
Sun Jan 6
Sunday, January 6 -- x/c ski at Mt Mansfield Touring Center     Leader: Andrew Nuquist
Wed Jan 9
Wednesday, January 9 -- Planning meeting     Host: Farnmsworths
Sun Jan 13
Sunday, January 13 -- Snowshoe from Middlebury Gap to Boyce Shelter Difficult     Leader: George Longenecker
Trail Talk number 11 January 1985
Sat Jan 19
Saturday, January 19 -- x/c ski at Burke Mtn Moderate     Leader: Jack Lesnick
Sun Jan 27
Sunday, January 27 -- ski East Montpelier loop Moderate     Leader: Harlan Farnsworth
Sat Feb 2
Saturday, February 2 -- x/c ski at Highland Lodge, Greensboro     Leader: Andrew Nuquist
Mon Feb 4
Monday, February 4 -- Snowshoe at Brodeur's     Leader: Paul Wallace-Brodeur
Sat Feb 9
Saturday, February 9 -- ski/snowshoe at Farr's     Leader: Dorothy Farr
Sun Feb 10
Sunday, February 10 -- x/c ski at Craftsbury     Leader: Jack Lesnick
Sat Feb 16
Saturday, February 16 -- x/c ski Groton State Park     Leader: Dave Morse
Feb 17
February 17 - 18 -- Snowshoe to Butler Lodge Difficult     Leader: George Longenecker and Cynthia Martin
Sun Feb 24
Sunday, February 24 -- x/c ski in Northfield     Leader: Kenneth Kidd
Sun Mar 3
Sunday, March 3 -- Snowshoe Mt Hunger Difficult     Leader: Andrew Nuquist
Mar 9
March 9-10 -- x/c ski Catamount Trail Association, Craftsbury towards Lowell and the Bailey-Hazen Road     Leader: Jack Lesnick
Sun Mar 17
Sunday, March 17 -- x/c ski at Groton     Leader: Cynthia Martin
Mar 29

Friday, March 29 -- Montpelier Section Annual meeting, at Baptist Church in Montpelier     Contact: Mary Liss
Participation - a table with all events and all members
Budget
Wed Apr 3
Wednesday, April 3 -- Planning meeting     Host: Judy Illingworth
Sun Apr 7
Sunday, April 7 -- Easter sunrise service atop Mt Mansfield; Gondola ride up Easy     Leader: Shirley Schillhammer
Sat Apr 13
Saturday, April 13 -- Hike Stowe Pinnacle Moderate     Leader: Doris Washburn
Sun Apr 21
Sunday, April 21 -- Mystery bike trip in central VT     Leader: Paul Wallace-Brodeur
Trail Talk number 12 April 1985
Sat Apr 27
Saturday, April 27 -- Canoe Missisquoi wildlife refuge Easy     Leader: Dave Morse and Joe Gosselin
Sat May 4
Saturday, May 4 -- Hike Mt Elmore Easy     Leader: Joe and Emily Gosselin
Sun May 5
Sunday, May 5 -- Bike Danville loop Moderate/Difficult     Leader: Jean Coello
Sun May 12
Sunday, May 12 -- Mother's day wildflower hike Easy     Leader: Reidun Nuquist
Sat May 18
Saturday, May 18 -- Hike Mt Pisgah Moderate     Leader: Esther Farnsworth
Sat May 25
Saturday, May 25 -- GMC annual meeting and 75th anniversary celebration, Bolton Valley Lodge
May 26
May 26-27 -- Trail maintenance workshop in Stowe
Sat Jun 1
Saturday, June 1 -- Work party at Sterling     Leader: Paul Ohman and Esther Farnsworth
Sun Jun 2
Sunday, June 2 -- Work party     Leader: Dave Morse
Sat Jun 8
Saturday, June 8 -- Canoe Lamoille Easy     Leader: Dave Morse and Joe Gosselin
Sun Jun 16
Sunday, June 16 -- Hike Mt Belvidere Moderate     Leader: Joe Gosselin
Sun Jun 23
Sunday, June 23 -- Hike Scragg Mtn Moderate     Leader: Ken Kidd
Sun Jun 30
Sunday, June 30 -- Hike Mt Hunger Moderate     Leader: Andrew Nuquist
Jul 5
July 5-7 -- Long weekend outing to be announced
Sat Jul 13
Saturday, July 13 -- Hike Giant Mtn in the Adirondacks Difficult     Leader: Dave Morse
Sun Jul 21
Sunday, July 21 -- Hike Burnt Rock Mtn Moderate     Leader: Cynthia Martin
Sun Jul 28
Sunday, July 28 -- Hike Mt Cardigan (NH) Moderate     Leader: Paul Wallace-Brodeur
Aug 2
August 2-9 -- Appalachian Trail Conference
Sun Aug 11
Sunday, August 11 -- Canoe/swim at Marshfield Dam Easy     Leader: Judy Illingworth and Marilyn Wilson
Aug 17
August 17-25 -- Intersectional at Sunderland VT
Sat Sep 7
Saturday, September 7 -- Hike Lincoln Gap to Appalachian Gap Moderate     Leader: Harlan Farnsworth
Wed Sep 11
Wednesday, September 11 -- Planning meeting     Host: Farnsworths
Sun Sep 22
Sunday, September 22 -- Hike Worcester Mtn Moderate     Leader: George Longenecker
Trail Talk number 13 September 1985
Sat Sep 28
Saturday, September 28 -- Hike Mt Chocorua (NH) Moderate     Leader: Paul Wallace-Brodeur
Sat Oct 5
Saturday, October 5 -- Hike trails behind U-32 during Audubon festival Easy     Leader: Shirley Schillhammer
Sun Oct 6
Sunday, October 6 -- Hike nature conservancy area at Barr Hill in Greensboro Moderate     Leader: Andrew and Reidun Nuquist
Sun Oct 12
Sunday, October 12 -- Bike Danville loop Moderate/Difficult     Leader: Jean Coello
Sun Oct 20
Sunday, October 20 -- Hike Cascade and Porter Mtns in the Adirondacks Moderate     Leader: Dave Morse
Sat Oct 26
Saturday, October 26 -- Hike Mt Pisgah and Mt Hor Moderate     Leader: Esther and Harlan Farnsworth
Nov 2
November 2 -- Trail maintenance, Elephant's Head Trail     Leader: Paul Ohman
Nov 3
November 3 -- Trail maintenance LT from Smuggler's Notch to Chilcoot Pass     Leader: Andrew and Reidun Nuquist
Sun Nov 10
Sunday, November 10 -- Hike Osmore loop and Big Deer Mt at Groton State Park Easy     Leader: George Longenecker and Cynthia Martin
Sun Nov 17
Sunday, November 17 -- Slide show     Host: Nuquists
Sat Nov 23
Saturday, November 23 -- Hike Cathedral Rock in the Adirondacks Moderate     Leader: Dave Morse
Sun Dec 8
Sunday, December 8 -- Road walk in Calais Easy     Leader: Harlan Farnsworth
Sat Dec 21
Saturday, December 21 -- Christmas party at Duck Brook Shelter Easy     Leader: Sally Sairs and Reidun Nuquist
Sun Dec 29
Sunday, December 29 -- x/c ski at Mt Mansfield ski touring center     Leader: Nuquists

Montpelier Section reports in the 1986 Long Trail News

© 2018 Montpelier Section of The Green Mountain Club, Inc.     Top     Mon 15 Oct 2018 Mon, 15 Oct 2018 16:41:06 -0400