Green Mountain Club
Montpelier Section


See GMC Archives for all
Long Trail News and Long Trail Guides.
Sources include published outing schedules, the Long Trail News (LTN), Trail Talk, and submissions to this web site.

Date

Report?

Photos?

Events and reports for 1981











Trail Talk number 1
Montpelier Section reports in the 1981 Long Trail News
Sun Jan 4
Sunday, January 4 -- Snowshoe hike up Worcester Mtn     Leader: George Longenecker
Wed Jan 7
Wednesday, January 7 -- Slide show: "Endangered Species" by Ann Winchester of the Central Vermont Audubon Society     Host: Babcocks
Jan 17
January 17 - 18 -- Oyster Stew at Sally Sairs'     Contact: Reidun Nuquist
Sat Jan 24
Saturday, January 24 -- Cross country skiing from Montpelier to Middlesex     Leader: Andy Nuquist
Sun Feb 1
Sunday, February 1 -- Cross country skiing at Poffenbergers's in Brookfield (date changed to January 25)     Leader: Andy Nuquist
Sun Feb 8
Sunday, February 8 -- Cross country skiing at Trapp Family Lodge     Leader: Paul Ohman
Wed Feb 11
Wednesday, February 11 -- Moonlight cross country ski or snowshoe at Barre Country Club     Leader: Doris Washburn
Sun Feb 15
Sunday, February 15 -- Cross country skiing at Highland Lodge in Greensboro     Leader: Andy Nuquist
Sun Feb 22
Sunday, February 22 -- Cross country skiing at Mt Mansfield Touring Center     Leader: Harry Peet and Jacqui Sulek
Sun Mar 1
Sunday, March 1 -- Snowshoe hike up Camel's Hump     Leader: Gorge Longenecker and Harry Peet
Sun Mar 8
Sunday, March 8 -- Ski or snowshoe in Groton State Park     Leader: Reidun Nuquist and Dot Babcock
Sun Mar 22
Sunday, March 22 -- Rescheduling date if needed, else snowshoe hike up Mt Hunger     Leader: Dave Morse
Mon Mar 23
Monday, March 23 -- Planning meeting     Host: Babcocks
Apr 3
Friday, April 3 -- Montpelier Section Annual Meeting, at Unitarian Church in Montpelier     Contact: George or Sue Longenecker
1981 Spring Schedule
Sun Apr 5
Sunday, April 5 -- Flatwater canoeing at Dead Creek Waterfowl Area, Addison County     Leader: Dave Morse
Tue Apr 21
Tuesday, Apr 21 -- Slide show: Vermont Wilderness     Host: Nuquists
Sun May 10
Sunday, May 10 -- Annual Mother's Day wildflower hike to Duck Brook Shelter     Leader: Sally Sairs
Sun May 17
Sunday, May 17 -- Preliminary trail work party on the LT from Smuggler's Notch to Chilcoot Pass     Leader: Andrew Nuquist
May 23
May 23-24 -- GMC annual meeting
Sun Jun 7
Sunday, June 7 -- Trail work on the LT     Leader: George Longenecker and Reidun Nuquist
Sun Jun 14
Sunday, June 14 -- Hike in the White Mountains to Lonesome Lake and Kinsman North and South via the AT and return via the Reel Brook Trail     Leader: George Longenecker
Jun 20
June 20 - 21 -- Ausable Lakes High Peaks Expedition in the Adirondacks     Contact: Ed Janeway
Jul 3
July 3 - 5 -- Canoe trip to Knight Island in Lake Champlain near N. Hero     Leader: Andrew Nuquist
Sun Jul 19
Sunday, July 19 -- Trail work on Mt Hunger     Leader: George Longenecker
Jul 25
July 25 - 26 -- Overnight canoe trip on the Saco River in Maine     Leader: Andrew Nuquist
Sun Aug 2
Sunday, August 2 -- Bike trip in the Craftsbury area     Leader: Paul Wallace-Brodeur
Aug 22
August 22 - 23 -- Canoeing trip to Maidstone Lake VT     Leader: Norma Kawecki
Sat Sep 12
Saturday, September 12 -- Birthday party for David Morse at Taylor Lodge     Leader: Sue Longenecker
Mon Sep 14
Monday, September 14 -- Planning meeting     Host: Nuquists
Trail Talk number 1 September 1981[Note: The day-of-the-week shown is taken from the published schedule, and does not always agree with a calendar. ]
Sun Sep 27
Sunday, September 27 -- Hike from Smugglers' Notch to Mt Mansfield via Bear Pond Trail and down the Hell Brook Trail     Leader: Andrew and Reidun Nuquist
Sun Oct 4
Sunday, October 4 -- Camel's Hump from Couching Lion Farm     Leader: Andrew Nuquist
Sun Oct 18
Sunday, October 18 -- Hike Mt Mansfield via Sunset Ridge trail, with side trip to Cantilever Rock     Leader: Andrew and Reidun Nuquist
Sat Oct 24
Saturday, October 24 -- Maintenance hike for LT from Smuggler's Notch to Chilcoot Pass     Leader: Reidun Nuquist
Sun Oct 25
Sunday, October 25 -- Hike to Seyon Ranch area in Groton State Park     Leader: Doris Washburn
Sun Nov 1
Sunday, November 1 -- Hike to Peacham Bog in Groton State Forest     Leader: George Longenecker
Sun Nov 8
Sunday, November 8 -- Hike Mt Hunger from the Middlesex side     Leader: David Morse
Wed Nov 18
Wednesday, November 18 -- Slide show: "Follow the Sun" about the Cumberland Island National Seashore and Okefenokee Swamp, by George Longenecker     Host: Dorothy and Richard Babcock
Nov 21
November 21-21 -- Overnight to Sally Sairs' on the Calais-Woodbury line     Leader: Reidun Nuquist and Sally Sairs
Sun Dec 6
Sunday, December 6 -- Hike Rattlesnake Trail to Mt Moosalamoo     Leader: Claude Janeway
Sat Dec 19
Saturday, December 19 -- Annual Christmas party at Duck Brook Shelter     Leader: Paul Wallace-Brodeur

No Montpelier Section reports in the 1982 Long Trail News

© 2018 Montpelier Section of The Green Mountain Club, Inc.     Top     Mon 15 Oct 2018 Mon, 15 Oct 2018 16:34:17 -0400