Green Mountain Club
Montpelier Section


See GMC Archives for all
Long Trail News and Long Trail Guides.
Sources include published outing schedules, the Long Trail News (LTN), Trail Talk, and submissions to this web site.

Date

Report?

Photos?

Events and reports for 1978
Montpelier Section reports in the 1978 Long Trail News
Sun Jan 8
Sunday, January 8 -- Cross country skiing around Spruce Mtn     Leader: John Wires
Mon Jan 16
Monday, January 16 -- Planning Meeting     Host: Babcocks
Thur Jan 19
Thursday, January 19 -- Moonlight cross country skiing or snowshoeing     Leader: Hamilton
Sun Jan 22
Sunday, January 22 -- Cross country skiing at Edson Hill in Stowe     Leader: Paul Wallace-Brodeur
Sun Jan 29
Sunday, January 29 -- Cross country skiing or snowshoeing at Hubabrd Park     Leader: Dick and Dot Babcock
1978 Spring Schedule
Fri Feb 3
Friday, February 3 -- Open house at GMC offices on the second floor of the Chittenden Trust building in Montpelier
Sun Feb 5
Sunday, February 5 -- Cross country skiing at Trapp Family Lodge in Stowe     Leader: Reidun and Andrew Nuquist
Sun Feb 12
Sunday, February 12 -- Cross country ski day at Trapp Family Lodge in Stowe, sponsored by GMC
Sun Feb 19
Sunday, February 19 -- Chili lunch at Groton State Park, Osmore Pond area     Leader: Reidun Nuquist and Doris Washburn
Wed Feb 22
Wednesday, February 22 -- Moonlight snowshoeing and cross country skiing in Berlin     Leader: David Morse
Sat Feb 25
Saturday, February 25 -- Cross country skiing for children at Hubbard Park     Leader: Nuqists
Sun Mar 5
Sunday, March 5 -- Snowshoeing on Camel's Hump     Leader: Paul Wallace-Brodeur
Sun Mar 12
Sunday, March 12 -- Cross country ski day at Trapp Family Lodge in Stowe, sponsored by GMC
Sun Mar 19
Sunday, March 19 -- Cross country skiing or snowshoeing in Middlesex Notch     Leader: Dick and Dot Babcock
Sun Apr 2
Sunday, April 2 -- Class I canoeing on the Dog, Winooski or Mad River     Leader: Andrew Nuquist
Fri Apr 7
Friday, April 7 -- Montpelier Section Annual meeting, at Bethany Church in Montpelier     Leader: Doris Washburn
Sat Apr 15
Saturday, April 15 -- White water canoe trip, including Gaysville     Leader: Andrew Nuquist
Sun Apr 16
Sunday, April 16 -- Mystery hike     Leader: Doris Washburn
Sun Apr 30
Sunday, April 30 -- Hiking on the Appalachian Trail in New Hampshire     Leader: Sally Sairs
Sun May 7
Sunday, May 7 -- Bicycling along Elmore Road     Leader: Reidun Nuquist
Mon May 8
Monday, May 8 -- Planning meeting     Host: Andrew and Reidun Nuquist
Sun May 14
Sunday, May 14 -- xxxWildflower hike in the Duck Brook - Jonesville area     Leader: Sally Sairs
May 27
May 27 - 29 -- GMC Annual Meeting
1978 Summer Schedule
Sat Jun 3
Saturday, June 3 -- Carry in rebuilding supplies for Taylor Lodge
Sun Jun 4
Sunday, June 4 -- Trail clearing on the LT between Smugglers' Notch and Chilcoot Pass     Leader: Paul Wallace-Brodeur
Jun 10
June 10 - 11 -- Flat water overnight canoe trip within 60 miles of Mopntpelier     Leader: Andrew and Reidun Nuquist
Sat Jun 24
Saturday, June 24 -- Fund raising cookout and auction in Hubbard Park
Sun Jun 25
Sunday, June 25 -- Mystery Ridge hike (Burnt Rock)     Leader: Fred Osborne
Sun Jul 9
Sunday, July 9 -- Hiking on Monadnock Mtn in the NEK     Leader: Sue and George Lomgenecker
Jul 21
July 21 - 23 -- Canoe and camp on the Saco River     Leader: Sally Sairs
Sun Aug 6
Sunday, August 6 -- Hike the Appalachian Trail from Lyme NH to Route 25A     Leader: Dave Morse
Sun Aug 20
Sunday, August 20 -- Hike and swim at Mt Pisgah and Lake Willoughby     Leader: Gorge and Sue Longenecker
Sun Aug 27
Sunday, August 27 -- Hike on Mt Hunger from the Middlesex side. Possible blueberry picking.     Leader: Fred Osborne
Sun Sep 10
Sunday, September 10 -- Corn roast at Groton State Park     Leader: Richard and Dorothy Babcock
Sun Sep 17
Sunday, September 17 -- Hiking on Mt Ascutney     Leader: Paul Wallace-Brodeur
Mon Sep 25
Monday, September 25 -- Planning meeting     Host: Paul Wallace-Brodeur
Sun Oct 1
Sunday, October 1 -- Hiking on Mt Mansfield from Stevensville by way of Butler Lodge and Wampahoofus Trail to the Forehead     Leader: Sue and George Longenecker
1978 Winter Schedule
Sun Oct 8
Sunday, October 8 -- Canoe on Dead Creek in Addison Country     Leader: Andrew Nuquist
Oct 14
October 14 - 15 --Mystery hike or canoe     Leader: Sally Sairs
Sat Oct 28
Saturday, October 28 -- Hike to the new Taylor Lodge for the annual Halloween party     Leader: Doris Washburn
Sun Nov 5
Sunday, November 5 -- Hike in the Amity Pond and Mt Tom area of Woodstock     Leader: Paul Wallace-Brodeur
Sun Nov 12
Sunday, November 12 -- Slide show: Nuquists in Norway and Morse in the Rockies Host: Dick and Dot Babcock
Mon Nov 20
Monday, November 20 -- Slide show: Washburn in Switzerland Host: Doris Washburn
Sun Dec 3
Sunday, December 3 -- Slide show: Gary Shangrew in Tasmania, Australia and New England Host: Dick and Dot Babcock
Sat Dec 9
Saturday, December 9 -- Christmas Party at Duck Brook Shelter (moved to Redstone)     Leader: Sally Sairs
Sun Dec 31
Sunday, December 31 -- Cross country ski or hike in Groton State Park     Leader: Andrew and Reidun Nuquist

Montpelier Section reports in the 1979 Long Trail News

© 2018 Montpelier Section of The Green Mountain Club, Inc.     Top     Wed 31 Oct 2018 Wed, 31 Oct 2018 16:38:17 -0400