Green Mountain Club
Montpelier Section

Sources include published outing schedules, the Long Trail News (LTN), Trail Talk, and submissions to this web site.

Date

Report?

Photos?

Events and reports for 1964
Montpelier Section reports in the 1964 Long Trail News
1964 Winter/Spring Schedule
Sun Jan 5
Sunday, January 5 -- Snowshoe walk the Hancock Brook Road in Worcester     Leader: Frances Holmes
Sat Jan 25
Saturday, January 25 -- Glen Ellen Lodge. Mad River Glen chair lift to Stark's Nest, then snowshoe via LT to the Lodge     Leader: Marion Gorham
Tue Jan 29
Tuesday, January 29 -- Dix Lodge, moonlight snowshoe hike in the "wilds of Middlesex"     Leader: Jerry Dix
Sun Feb 9
Sunday, February 9 -- Oyster Stew at Taylor Lodge     Leader: Dave Otis
Sun Feb 16
Sunday, February 16 -- Groton Pond - snowshoe in to the Desilets Camp for a pancake supper     Leader: Julia Desilets
Wed Feb 26
Wednesday, February 26 -- Put's Place, moonlight snowshoe in East Montpelier, followed by slides and refreshments     Leader: Put Clayton
Sat Mar 7
Saturday, March 7 -- Dowsville in Duxbury - all-day snowshoe hike     Leader: Frances Holmes
Sat Mar 14
Saturday, March 14 -- Adirondacks - overnight to Johns Brook Lodge in Keene Valley; climbed Giant Mtn and Lower Wolf Jaws     Leader: Dick Babcock
Sat Mar 21
Saturday, March 21 -- Butler Lodge via the Stevensville Trail; then the Rock Garden Trail to the Maple Ridge Trail; climbed to the Forehead via the Wampahoofus Trail; then descended via the Maple Ridge and Frost Trails     Leader: Dave Otis
Sun Apr 5
Sunday, April 5 -- Sugar on Snow. Site is to be determined. Cost is $1.00     Leader: Doris Farnsworth
Apr 17
April 17 -- Annual Meeting, at the Vermont College Snack Bar Chair: Ann Otis and Marion Gorham

Date changed to May 1

Sun Apr 19
Sunday, April 19 -- Mt Elmore, probably by snowshoe. Then a cookout supper.     Leader: Dave Morse
May 1
May 1 -- Montpelier Section Annual Meeting
LTN XXIV 4 November 1964
May 3
May 3 -- Mystery hike (a woods road in Roxbury) announced only at the Annual Meeting     Leader: Frances Holmes
1964 Spring and Summer Schedule
May 9
May 9-10 -- Tuckerman Ravine     Leader: Marion Gorham
Sun May 17
Sunday, May 17 -- Nichol's Ledge     Leader: Ann Otis
May 23
May 23-25 -- Sterling Pond Lodge - work hikes, LT from Smuggler's Notch to Chilcoot Pass; Sterling Pond Shelter; and Elephant's Head Trail.     Leader: Harlan Farnsworth and Dave Otis
Sat May 30
Saturday, May 30 -- GMC Annual Meeting, Long Trail Lodge     Contact: Dave Otis or Harlan Farnsworth
Sun Jun 14
Sunday, June 14 -- Celebrate Flag Day by climbing Jay Peak (LT from Jay-Richford Hwy to Jay-Montgomery Center Hwy)     Leader: Dave Otis
Jun 27
June 27 -- Prospect Rock and Barrows Camp from Ithiel Falls Campground     Leader: Dave Morse
Jul 12
July 12 -- Groton Pond - dinner at Desilets Camp     Leader: Juelia Desilets and Harlan Farnsworth
Jul 19
July 19 -- LT from Clark Brook Trail to Lincoln Gap     Leader: Dick Babcock
Jul 26
July 26 -- Mt Moosilauke in New Hampshire via the Beaver Brook Trail     Leader: Doris Washburn
Aug 1
Aug 1-2 -- Mt. Moosilauke - from Lost River area via Beaver Brook Trail to summit     Leader: Doris Washburn
Aug 15
Aug 15 -- Mt Hunger     Leader: Dave Otis
Aug 23
Aug 23 -- Corn Feed at Hubbard Park     Leader: Bill Doyle
1964 GMC Intersectional
Aug 30
Aug 30 (week of) -- Intersectional at Lake Eden, Mt. Norris Scout Reservation
Sep 12
Sept 12 -- Robbins Mt - new section of the LT     Leader: Dave Otis
Sep 14
September 14 -- Planning meeting
Sep 18
Sept 18-19-20 -- Adirondacks     Leader: Dick Babcock
Sep 26
Sept 26 -- Camel's Hump via Dean and Long Trails     Leader: Dave Otis
Sep 27
Sept 27 -- Camel's Hump via Forestry to Dean and LT, down Alpine to Callahan Trails
LTN XXIV 4 November 1964
LTN XXV 1 February 1965 1964 Fall and 64-65 Winter Schedule
Sun Oct 11
Sunday, October 11 -- Afternoon walk in Middlesex Notch     Leader: Juelia Desilets
Sun Oct 25
Sunday, October 25 -- Climb Mt Webster and Mt Jackson in New Hampshire. The views along the cliffs of Mt Webster are such that anyone with a normal appreciation of the grandeur of mountain scenery will add at least two hours for their enjoyment; there is nothing finer in the White Mtns -- so says the guide book.     Leader: Dave Morse
Sat Nov 7
Saturday, November 7 -- Climb Mt Mansfield to the Adam's Apple via the Bear Pond Trail (which includes the steepest half mile of trail to be found in Vermont) and down the Hell Brook Trail     Leader: Dave Otis
Sat Nov 21
Saturday, November 21 -- Mt Horrid, Cape Lookoff Mtn and White Rocks Mtn in Brandon Gap via the LT     Leader: Harlan Farnsworth
Sat Dec 5
Saturday, December 5 -- Corn chowder at Bolton Lodge     Leader: Marion Gorham
Wed Dec 16
Wednesday, December 16 -- Mystery moonlight snowshoe hike (Jones Brook Road in Middlesex)     Leader: Frances Holmes

Montpelier Section reports in the 1965 Long Trail News

© 2018 Montpelier Section of The Green Mountain Club, Inc.     Top    Sun 15 Apr 2018