Green Mountain Club
Montpelier Section


See GMC Archives for all
Long Trail News and Long Trail Guides.
Sources include published outing schedules, the Long Trail News (LTN), Trail Talk, and submissions to this web site.

Date

Report?

Photos?

Events and reports for 1959
Montpelier Section reports in the 1959 Long Trail News
1959 Winter Schedule
Sat Feb 7
Saturday, February 7 -- Snowshoe in Fayston, starting from Irasville
Sun Feb 22
Sunday, February 22 -- Beef stew at Wiley Lodge, curtesy of Burlington Section
Sat Mar 7
Saturday, March 7 -- Snowshoe at East Long Pond
Sun Mar 22
Sunday, March 22 -- Annual sugar-on-snow party
Sat Apr 4
Saturday, April 4 -- Snowshoe or hike to Glen Ellen from Mad River Glen's ski lift.
Sun Apr 19
Sunday, April 19 -- Snowshoe or hike in Groton State Park
Apr 23
April 23 -- Montpelier Section Annual meeting, at new home of Doris and Harland Farnsworth on Dewey Street; elected officers. GMC suggests that Montpelier take over the Barre Section, which has become inactive. Change the bank account name from Mount Hunger Section to Montpelier Section. Plan to purchase a 12 quart coffee pot. (Here are two notes about the Barre section, found at the Vermont Historical Society.)
1959 Summer Schedule
Sat May 9
Saturday, May 9 -- Camel's Hump from Duxbury along forest service trail.     Leader: Howard Bloom
May 23
May 23-24 -- Trail clearing at Sterling Lodge.     Leader: Jim Fearon.
Sat May 30
Saturday, May 30 -- GMC Annual Meeting, Long Trail Lodge.
Sun Jun 7
Sunday, June 7 -- Nichols Ledge. Family hike.     Leader: Miss Francis Holmes
Sat Jun 30
Saturday, June 30 -- Mt. Mansfield from Underhill to Forehead.     Leader: Harland Farnsworth
Jun 27
June 27 - 28 -- Canoe trip at Fish Creek Pond in New York, with Burlington Section.
Sat Jul 11
Saturday, July 11 -- Crystal Lake picnic and swim.     Leaders: Doris Farnsworth and Phil Corker
Sun Jul 26
Sunday, July 26 -- Mount Hunger in the Worcester Range.     Leader: Doc Bryant
Sat Aug 8
Saturday, August 8 -- Jay Peak. Unusual climb.     Leader: Mary Fearon
Sun Aug 30
Sunday, August 30 -- Corn roast at the Blooms in East Calais.     Leader: Mrs. Edith Bloom
1959 Fall Schedule
Sep 12
September 12 -- Glen Ellen Lodge, Stark Mtn. Start at Mad River Glen ski area.     Leader: Miss Francis Holmes
Sep 27
September 27 -- Elmore Mtn. Short hike to fire tower.     Leader: Doc Bryant
Oct 3
October 3 -- Camel's Hump * Juniors Club hike. For 7th and 8th graders.     Leader: Clarence Amadon
Oct 10
October 10 -- Spruce Peak in Plainfield.     Leader: Howard Bloom
Oct 18
October 18 -- Hazen Military Road in Cabot.     Leader: Henery Holmes
Oct 31
October 31 -- Beaver Meadow Shelter in Morrisville. Cook out stew.     Leader: Harland Farnsworth
Nov 6
November 6-7-8 -- Long Trail north from Hazen's Notch. Two nights.     Leader: Him Fearon
Nov 14
November 14 -- Scrag Mtn in Waitsfield.     Leader: Doris Newton
Nov 22
November 22 -- Smugglers' Notch and Elephant's Head Trail.     Leader: Mary Fearon
1959 Winter Schedule
Dec 19
December 19 -- Mt. Hunger     Leader: Miss Doris Newton

Montpelier Section reports in the 1960 Long Trail News

© 2018 Montpelier Section of The Green Mountain Club, Inc.     Top     Sat 10 Nov 2018 Sat, 10 Nov 2018 17:14:35 -0500